Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meteor Smart lite plan offering free meteor calls & texts

• 12-05-2010 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

Meteor are offering free meteor calls and texts with their smart lite bill pay plans if you sign up online by the end of May

So for €30 a month you get
    200 minutes
    200 texts
    free meteor talk and text
    1 gb of internet
    no contract

thought this was a good offer especially for smart phone users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

But are the free talk and text to meteor for life or only for the first month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭phunkymonk

Im on this plan, pretty sure its for life....

its a good plan on it about 3 months now and have never reached my quota of 200 free txts or minutes - obviously not using it as much as i should but its good to have for only 30 quid..didnt realise there was an internet allownce...

one thing i will say is that you have to be on this plan for 2 months(2 bills have to be paid) before roaming is set up,i found this out the hard way..in london for a weekend and no phone working = pure disaster! never got round to complainin tho..my bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheGooseLicker

id reach 200 texts in a week... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Hogzy wrote: »
    But are the free talk and text to meteor for life or only for the first month?

I think its for 12 months
    Where Qualifying Customers subscribe during the Promotional Period, the Offer involves, in addition to the standard monthly allowances with such plans, a free Meteor-to-Meteor talk and text add-on for a period of 12 months from instigation, covering calls and texts to numbers on the Meteor Network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭dave oc

Also its only for new customers i.e. coming from another network, existing prepay or payg cant get it. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Dave6195 wrote: »
    Also its only for new customers i.e. coming from another network, existing prepay or payg cant get it. :mad:

Port away and port back. Technically its meant to be 30 days, but ring them and tell them you are going to leave if you can be switched to it, and see will they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

id reach 200 texts in a week... :eek:
    Those texts/calls are to numbers that aren't on Meteor. So if you're texting someone on Meteor it does not count towards the 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭maninaskirt

Davy wrote: »
    Port away and port back. Technically its meant to be 30 days, but ring them and tell them you are going to leave if you can be switched to it, and see will they.

I did that, called them to change tariff, got told it was for new customers, I said ok off to O2 I go....they passed me to the retention dept and 5 mins later I had the new tarrif....new contract tho. The girl I spoke to regarding retention was really helpful and polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Skidmcmarx

Will The "threaten to leave" thing work for PAYG does anyone think? This plan would be perfect for me like.

Skidmcmarx wrote: »
    Will The "threaten to leave" thing work for PAYG does anyone think? This plan would be perfect for me like.

Thinking the same too, I'm payg. Not sure they'd care if I threatened to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Macca3000

Might call into meteor shop today. On O2 prepay and they have nothing like this. Spend about 40 euro/month on credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭kendragon

Man... i only switched to meteor bill pay last month to get the HTC Legend... no offer like this mentioned to me. Just reading about it on their site says its sim only and only if you get it online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭phunkymonk

I was Pay as you go customer then i went into metoer and they switched me no hassle...that was back in January...have the rules changed?

all in all,good package!:D

Kendragon...although its bill pay, if i want to upgrade my phone i have to buy a pay as you go phone...as far as im aware your not eligable to avail of the bill pay prices...hence why they wouldnt offer you the deal.You wudve had to buy the HTC as pay as you go then switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

how does net work?
    iphone?

I called them up and they switched me no hassle. Apparantly moving from PAYG to bill pay is technically the same as being a new customer. i rang their customer service, explained what i wanted and was told no problem. They put a note on my account saying i could have the smart lite offer and i called into my local meteor shop and switched straight over. The note on my account told the rep instore exactly what to do to switch me over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Baza210 wrote: »
    Those texts/calls are to numbers that aren't on Meteor. So if you're texting someone on Meteor it does not count towards the 200.

I dont know if this is the case......

bill_pay_smart_lite_table-top.gif

Under out of bundle costs it says:
    Calls to other networks/Landlines (ROI) 25c per min
    Texts to other networks (ROI) 10c per text

out_of_bundle_costs.gif

Baza is correct. I have free meteor to meteor calls and texts, then 200 any network mins (other than meteor) 200 free texts to any network (again, other than meteor). Calls and texts to meteor are not included under the 200. That 25c/min is for every minute you go over your allotted 200 to networks other than meteor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

What kind of usage is 1Gb of mobile internet?
    Is there a way of monitoring this on Meteor?

Skidmcmarx wrote: »
    I called them up and they switched me no hassle. Apparantly moving from PAYG to bill pay is technically the same as being a new customer. i rang their customer service, explained what i wanted and was told no problem. They put a note on my account saying i could have the smart lite offer and i called into my local meteor shop and switched straight over. The note on my account told the rep instore exactly what to do to switch me over.

So you got the free meteor calls texts aswell??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Dey were Sooted

phunkymonk wrote: »
    one thing i will say is that you have to be on this plan for 2 months(2 bills have to be paid) before roaming is set up,i found this out the hard way..in london for a weekend and no phone working = pure disaster! never got round to complainin tho..my bad!

"if u put down a deposit of around 40 euro u can roam straight away" - at least that's what i think a guy said to me in the shop when i purchased a new plan a few weeks ago

Hey dave, yup i got free calls and texts too. All it took was a polite call to customer service rep.

Typical, i called meteor just there and no luck. The girl asked her supervisor and said it had to be a new number and I couldnt move move from pre pay(and get the online offer). Dont mean to harp on about this but what exactly did you say??

No problem dave. I got the exact same the 1st two times I called. Just be persistant. I got a really nice girl the 3rd time I called. Basically I said I had anecdotal evidence that ppl had been switched in my situation. I said from what I'd heard it was the retentions dept that had switched them over so I asked what the storee was there. The girl said she'd go ask her supervisor and call the retentions dept. She was back in 2mins and said the retentions dept said that's no problem, she then left a note on the account and told me to call to my nearest store. I was just polite nd all that kinda stuff. Don't believe in hassling Cust support reps.

That's just my experience.

Thanks for the reply. Phoned a few times more. First times I was onto 1747 (prepay support number), third time phoned the number on their online store page and got through to a very helpful assisitant. She said theyre currently reviewing this offer to allow prepay customers apply 'officially' and could be updated next week. Her supervisor wasnt in so she couldnt get it approved but said she would phone me back on Monday having asked her supervisor, so id say i'll get it then.

Thanks for the help!

Glad to be of any help.

I'm happy they are tring to make it official. It makes no sense at all to restrict current customers from of availing of the offer.
    My iphone is a much happier phone right now becaude of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Can you get any good cheap phones on this bill pay plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭jedijamie

Hey lads,

I'm from the Meteor store in the Ilac Centre... The offer that you are highlighting is a online offer only eg the 200 mins, 200 texts and 1gig of data with free meteor to meteor texts. However we can do the same offer without the 1gig of data... and it doesn't matter who you're with (meteor, O2, Voda...). So for €30 per month you get 200mins, 200 texts and free unlimited calls and texts to Meteor for as long as you stay on the offer.

It is a sim only offer and is only a month on month rolling contract so if you don't like it you're only on it for a month (although there is no reason why you wouldn't).

If you want to call into us, do and we'll get you set up for it. (you need to bring Passport/Driving Licence/EU ID Card and a Utility Bill/Bank Statement and Bank details)

Any of the guys in the shop will be more than willing to help ya out.

Hope this helps guys!

Any other questions HIT ME!

PS for all you smart phone users we have some great in store plans for those too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

jedijamie wrote: »
    Hey lads,

I'm from the Meteor store in the Ilac Centre... The offer that you are highlighting is a online offer only eg the 200 mins, 200 texts and 1gig of data with free meteor to meteor texts. However we can do the same offer without the 1gig of data... and it doesn't matter who you're with (meteor, O2, Voda...). So for €30 per month you get 200mins, 200 texts and free unlimited calls and texts to Meteor for as long as you stay on the offer.

So is there a benefit by going to you instead of going online and getting the 1gig allowance too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

So basically, anyone who signed up to an 18-month contract with the original "Bill Pay Smart" plan (about 6 months ago) — wasn't really getting such a Smart deal after all? :(

Or can they switch to this without penalty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

I rang the phone line on the website and they told me to sign up for a new number and port it over when I get the sim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Hey lads,

It is a sim only offer and is only a month on month rolling contract so if you don't like it you're only on it for a month (although there is no reason why you wouldn't).

If you want to call into us, do and we'll get you set up for it. (you need to bring Passport/Driving Licence/EU ID Card and a Utility Bill/Bank Statement and Bank details)

Any of the guys in the shop will be more than willing to help ya out.

Hope this helps guys!

Any other questions HIT ME!

PS for all you smart phone users we have some great in store plans for those too!

Hi jedijame,

Is this offer only from the Meteor store in the Ilac Centre?

I've been a Meteor bill pay customer for the past few years and am paying some ridiculous bills. Would I be able to change over to this contract?

Hi jedijame,

Is this offer only from the Meteor store in the Ilac Centre?

I've been a Meteor bill pay customer for the past few years and am paying some ridiculous bills. Would I be able to change over to this contract?

So long as you aren't in contract you should be able to call customer care on 1905 and they will transfer it across no problem!

So is there a benefit by going to you instead of going online and getting the 1gig allowance too?

The only advantage is from my experience dealing with the online store is tricky if you've any problemo's and the in store offer is not specific to you porting in from a different network (which the online is!). But if you are coming from a different Network it's all up to you buddy!

J

peckerhead wrote: »
    So basically, anyone who signed up to an 18-month contract with the original "Bill Pay Smart" plan (about 6 months ago) — wasn't really getting such a Smart deal after all? :(

Or can they switch to this without penalty?

The "lite" plan is a Sim Only, month on month rolling contract where as the other smart plans are there to get a heavily subsidized handset. You won't be able to move down as you would have signed into it sadly. However chances are you have a new awesome phone so enjoy!

Typical, rang meteor yesterday as I didnt hear back from them. Got told that I couldnt avail of the offer as I would have to be a new customer, port over, etc. Even got talking to the same girl I think and was being told I couldnt, completely different to the weekend... Just my luck.

Oh well stuck with payg so.

The "lite" plan is a Sim Only, month on month rolling contract where as the other smart plans are there to get a heavily subsidized handset. You won't be able to move down as you would have signed into it sadly. However chances are you have a new awesome phone so enjoy!
    Meh. It's my wife's phone, and the difference between the monthly €30 for this plan and what she spends on the "old", Smart plan would buy her (very basic) handset three times over in the 12 months she still has to go.

It still stings when you sign up to a Fabulous New Offer, lock in for 18 months, and are then excluded from the Even More Fabulous offer that pops up 5-6 months later. Boo, Meteor! :mad:

Meh. It's my wife's phone, and the difference between the monthly €30 for this plan and what she spends on the "old", Smart plan would buy her (very basic) handset three times over in the 12 months she still has to go.

It still stings when you sign up to a Fabulous New Offer, lock in for 18 months, and are then excluded from the Even More Fabulous offer that pops up 5-6 months later. Boo, Meteor! :mad:

Smart Lite came out at the same time as the 18 month smart tariffs and before the smart plans were around, there was Bill Pay Lite also... the only reason for going with the 18 monther was to get the handset. The specific tariff with the 200mins, texts, free meteor to meteor and 1gb of data is a specific online offer to porting customers only.

You're still on a smashing offer my good man... and sure if you were happy with it you'd stay for 18 months anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

i'm on the bill pay lite for 30 euro, hardly ever use my 200 mins or texts because so many I know are on meteor.

I'd switch to the 18 month contract but they don't offer the free calls/texts to meteor on it, so will stick with my 30 a month it's definitley cheaper than PAYG

Smart Lite came out at the same time as the 18 month smart tariffs and before the smart plans were around, there was Bill Pay Lite also...
    I know, I'm on the old Bill Pay Lite 10 plan myself. But I don't yap as much as she does; 60 minutes is enough for me.
    The missus was getting crucified for her out-of-package minutes at 25c/minute...
    ...the only reason for going with the 18 monther was to get the handset!
    Eh, no, the main reason was to get the plan for €30/month instead of €35/month (with a 12-month contract).
    The specific tariff with the 200mins, texts, free meteor to meteor and 1gb of data is a specific online offer to porting customers only.
    Exactly. Existing Meteor customers, even out of contract, can't get it. Hence the 'stung' feeling I referred to).
    You're still on a smashing offer my good man... and sure if you were happy with it you'd stay for 18 months anyway!
    Eh, I have no choice about it, that's my point.

Don't get me wrong; I don't suggest for a minute that Meteor are unique in subsidising newer, better deals on the back of their existing customers. It's standard industry practice. I'm just calling it what it is. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ronan1001

Dave6195 wrote: »
    Typical, rang meteor yesterday as I didnt hear back from them. Got told that I couldnt avail of the offer as I would have to be a new customer, port over, etc. Even got talking to the same girl I think and was being told I couldnt, completely different to the weekend... Just my luck.

Oh well stuck with payg so.

I managed to get switched over to this deal today, and I'm an existing meteor customer. This worked for me, so worth a try.

I was on the original bill pay lite 30, and had a 5 euro (250 mb) internet add on making it 35.

I told them that I was moving to a Vodafone Simply 20 euro plan with a 2gig data add on costing 10, making it 30 overall, and how that was better value for me compared to what I was on.

The rep put me on hold for 2 mins, then put me through to retention who offered me the plan with free calls and texts. Only thing is that I have to stay with meteor for 6 months which suits me fine, but mightn't suit others so just be aware of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

I did the same as Ronan, but was talking to an operator who told me that it wasnt possible for her to transfer me over even if i did cancel my existing bill pay lite contract, rang back 10 mins later and got transferred over in about 60 seconds so it seems abit hit and miss!

Oh and i didnt have to agree to stay for 6 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭jame5_b

If your an existing meteor customer could you port to o2 and port back in a few days as a new customer to get the offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

Is it not possible to do this online if you are an existing PAYG customer?

It looks like you can from here: https://phones.meteor.ie/bp/choose_a_plan

ronan1001 wrote: »
    I managed to get switched over to this deal today, and I'm an existing meteor customer.
    I presume you're already out of your original contract, though?

Fair play to you for making them do the right thing, anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ronan1001

I presume you're already out of your original contract, though?

Fair play to you for making them do the right thing, anyway...

No I was on a 30 day contract (bill pay lite), but was paying extra to have data as an add on.

I won't get switched over till the end of my current bill, which is the start of june, but didn't have to give 30 days notice or anything.

The key thing is getting through to retention dept., i had spoken to a normal rep and they told me i couldn't switch, it was only when I explained that I was going to move network that I got changed to the plan.

Gotcha. I'll give it a spin. I'd be quite happy to sign Herself up for another 18 months — without the data add-on — if they would just let her move onto that new Lite plan where calls to Meteor numbers don't come out of the 200 minutes.

Girl just lurrrrves to talk... :(

If anyone has any luck signing up to this from Meteor payg let me know, I'd be interested to know what you tried! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭nicker_s

Haven't finshed going through it yet but, im currently prepay on Meteor, i signed up online (put myself down with my own number but on another network) they said they would give me a new sim temporarily and then i could have my current number switched onto it once I got the sim and rang customer service. I've been told this can be done by a couple of the customer service reps. I've paid the sneaky deposit and i'm waiting on the temporary sim. Offer runs out on Monday, i'll post if all goes well before then. If it doesn't i'll go ape with them, it should though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Just talking to Val in CC,

He reccommended signing up to it and then porting an existing number over to the new sim, round about way but at least he was helpful. Shame it wasn't mentioned that I need o sign stuff nd send it back to them before the sim will be sent out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭clancyoo7

I was an existing customer with meteor prepay and went into the meteor store with a bill and passport and got signed up for the smart lite offer no problems. Only problems for those going on holidays soon is you have to pay 60€ deposit to roam up front