Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[CoD Black Ops] News and Discussion

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Sprrratt wrote: »
    The cameo it had in one of the MW2 single player levels it pure raped. No recoil but the power of the Barrett or Intervention.

Yep it was in a good few levels on MW2 single player. It's grand for that but for multiplayer kopfschuettel.gif

I shudder at the thought the amount of hours put into completing the the Dragunov(and M14) challenges in COD4. Hitmarker after hitmarker constantly and the recoil was insane. Difficult to get that 2nd shot in if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Yep it was in a good few levels on MW2 single player. It's grand for that but for multiplayer kopfschuettel.gif

I shudder at the thought the amount of hours put into completing the the Dragunov(and M14) challenges in COD4. Hitmarker after hitmarker constantly and the recoil was insane. Difficult to get that 2nd shot in if needed.

I remember well. God I miss the COD4 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Shaun McInnis joins David Vonderhaar at Treyarch to learn the ins and outs of multiplayer in Call of Duty: Black Ops.

A few points from this video:

-Havana footage on Domination
    -Vahn insists that as you level up, guns don't get better, just different
    -Base classes meant to represent all weapons of that type
    -All perks unlocked for purchase at level 5
    -Face Paints unlocked at level 31 (I feel like this is old news, but can't remember)
    -Lightweight Pro confirmed as No Fall Damage
    -Hardened Pro confirmed as extra bullet damage against aircraft and turrets, and flinch less when shot
    -Sleight of Hand challenges:
    150 ADS kills
    Kill an enemy within 5 seconds of reloading 30 times
    Reload and finish off the enemy you wounded 10 times
    -Tactical Mask Pro confirmed as Reduce the effect of Flash and Concussion Grenades, and reveal the position of a flashed or stunned enemy
    -Marathon Pro confirmed as Unlimited Sprint
    -Marathon Pro challenges
    Sprint for 26 Miles
    Get the First Blood Medal 10 times
    In Capture the Flag, get Flag Capture Medal 15 times while using Marathon
    -Official Nuketown footage. Double Rainbow all the way across the sky!
    -Nuketown is smallest multiplayer map
    -People pretend to pose as mannequins in small games? Seems unlikely, probably just like Robert Bowling said people thought he was the clown in Carnival
    -Nuketown population sign changes with number of people in game
    -Nuketown has specialized crossmap route useable by RC-XD
    -Nuketown has some special surprise when match ends
    -Definitely no invincibility during fall into Second Chance, kills a guy before he hits the ground
    -Blowing off the heads of all the mannequins in record time leads to surprise, need full team of professionals
    -Nova Gas blurs screen, enough to be disorienting, but not entirely debilitating
    -SR-71 Blackbird back to constant, direction showing UAV, no sweeping
    -When you commit suicide by neglecting to throw a frag grenade, killfeed says [Name] Mistakes were made.
    -Firing Range map bigger than Nuketown, but still fairly small
    -Helis used to fly in Care Packages can be shot down, will drop cargo where destroyed
    -Playing the objective gets more experience in Demolition -- +500 for planting or diffusing
    -Nuketown always has Nuclear explosion at end when scoreboard is shown
    -Camouflage unlocked at level 22, but all camos unlocked at once
    -Reticule at level 25
    -Lens at level 28
    -Clan tag at 19
    -Emblem at 16
    -New SMG unlocked every six levels, with the MAC11 starting at level 11
    -It seems that from about level 6 to level 10(?), a new gun is unlocked in every category
    -One in the Chamber footage on Crisis, Jungle
    -Map boundaries on larger maps (such as Cracked, Launch) changed to keep Wager Matches playable
    -Gun Game footage on Grid
    -When player in first shoots in Wager Matches, gold dot appears on mini map
    -Suicide in Gun Game sets you back a tier, must be careful with explosives
    -Possible story hint, Vahn mentions Russian rockets being used "to launch satellites, chemical weapons, who knows? into space."
    -Final Sharpshooter rounds gives double points for kills
    -If any doubts about the menu were to be had, it's legit, they show it in the background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Tallon wrote: »
    Oh thank jaysus, you can quick scope :p

Grizz was asked by a sub how he found QS in BOps and he said, with the standard scope it's meh, with the infrared one it's better and with ACOG it's awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Kersmash wrote: »
    Grizz was asked by a sub how he found QS in BOps and he said, with the standard scope it's meh, with the infrared one it's better and with ACOG it's awesome.

Lovely stuff

Tony Hawk set up will be making a triumphant return then. Great.

I don't think they've off-set the scopes yet though like they said they would, they probably realised the game would be better if they didn't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Shammy wrote: »
    Tbh not enough time spent on it at all, i think if you liked waw then this is a step up.
    Is it as good as mw2 ? i'll tell you in a month ha ha, i've a soft spot for IW its they who made cod and imo its treyarch who put a downer on it with cod3 and waw , but each to there own.

I was big WAW fan, although took me a while to get into it. The maps do seem brighter than before which is a definite plus.

Here Shammy, Clive is calling over to mine Thursday night, you call over and bring BOPS with you icon10.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

claiva wrote: »
    I'll be there. Loving it again for some reason. I think its Prestiging that renews the interest. And the fact that when we have 3 or 4 in our party we are very difficult to beat.....which is nice. :D

I had Nuke on last night in a 5, 11, 25 set up. Only got up to 9 kills once !!!!

I'll be back on tomorrow night. Hoping for a nuke but won't be searching for it.

While I'm not as fussed about quickscoping as others. Hardscoping takes one extra second or two, so no problemo in my book.

____

Watched the 2nd half of the vid I posted earlier. Chamber mode, sticks and stones and gun game sounded great.. and now can properly see it, it looks great.

<<< Gambling and COD :pac: :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

While I'm not as fussed about quickscoping as others. Hardscoping takes one extra second or two, so no problemo in my book.

____

Watched the 2nd half of the vid I posted earlier. Chamber mode, sticks and stones and gun game sounded great.. and now can properly see it, it looks great.

<<< Gambling and COD :pac: :cool:

sounds great alright,like beating two birds with the one stick !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Lads, theres already a big thread on QS in BO here

Tallon wrote: »
    Lads, theres already a big thread on QS in BO here

I'll be cleaning things up when I get a moment don't worry.

Sorry boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Thor

LOL

:p

Thor wrote: »

Trying to do 3 things at once here ok :pac:

Been moving and editing a lot of posts in the last few days, kinda ridiculous now that people are creating replicate threads. In fairness to Tommy he's a newbie but some people have no excuse and in my eyes are being somewhat lazy dare I say.

Ahhhh I like modding the gambling forum, there's nowt to do there really :D

edit - Posts moved to quickscoping thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭tommy_irish23

Trying to do 3 things at once here ok :pac:

Been moving and editing a lot of posts in the last few days, kinda ridiculous now that people are creating replicate threads. In fairness to Tommy he's a newbie but some people have no excuse and in my eyes are being somewhat lazy dare I say.

Ahhhh I like modding the gambling forum, there's nowt to do there really :D

edit - Posts moved to quickscoping thread

Sorry :( i`m usually around adverts :)
    Shammy drafted me in here with the black ops thing.

Sorry :( i`m usually around adverts :)
    Sammy drafted me in here with the black ops thing.

Don't apolgise mate :pac: You weren't exactly to know. Tbh, if I could have keep everything in the one thread I would have but little point in doing that know. Though what Treyarch have done to quickscoping probably did deserve it's on thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭MarkY91

whats the infrared scope?..im guessing a version of the thermal scope from back in them times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

The theatre mode hasnt really been touched on here , for those that want to edit/render their games , you buy (cough cough) programs like sony vegas , cyberlink etc to do your editing .
    Knowing activision you will get x amount of slots(space) and if like halo you can get extra slots for a "small" price.

Anyone know anything more about the theatre mode , like how much space you actually get , can you upload to your pc straight ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Nodferatu

shawpower wrote: »
    I'll be there later too. Might get into your lobby if I'm early enough!

Clive, I'd say you're better off starting the nuke trail with 7 rather than 5 killstreak. It might be harder to get to 7, but presuming you only get 1 kill with the pred, then it's still another 5 kills to get to your 11 streak which is tough.
    Keep trying for 7 and when you get it be patient. Be prepared to sit in a corner for a while waiting for a few red dots to appear on the screen, or better still a UAV. Then call it in for your bombstrike. You could get a couple of kills just from the bomb strike, and then a few more from the machine gunner. Enough to get you to 11 anyway.

i thought treyarch said kills from killstreaks dont add up to getting your next killstreak??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Nodferatu wrote: »
    i thought treyarch said kills from killstreaks dont add up to getting your next killstreak??
    I assume he's talking about getting a nuke in MW2 before it's abandoned for Black ops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Stockholm Syndrome

Anybody know of anywhere in North Dublin/ City Centre that still has copies of the hardened edition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 eskoflip

Nodferatu wrote: »

Kills from "care packages" don't add to your kill streak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

I'm literally touching cloth at the prospect of using the AK74-u again!!

It's a bit of a baesht all right :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Does anyone know whether Gamestop will have extra copies of the hardened edition at their launch even if it is unavailable to pre-order? I know last year they were offering Hardened edition to everyone, regardless of their pre-order. I have found somewhere where it is still available but they aren't doing a midnight launch. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

The one thing I always had a gripe with CoD was the ****ty gunshots, in all the Battlefields they would sound epic, the pure boom and echo! Compared to CoD's ''skeleton having sexy time in a biscuit tin'' like gunshots :p.

Well after watching this video I am well happy, good job Treyarch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scody94

do you buy the guns in black ops like you buy the attachment or do you unlock them