Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

have you ever been stalked?

• 26-04-2010 7:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

It must be a very distressing experience. I haven't been stalked myself but I used to work with a girl who had to get a restraining order out on a guy she had a brief thing with. What happened was she got with this guy when out drunk at an office xmas party once (he didn't work there, just happened to be in the same club). They parted ways next morning but she was sick with herself for having a one night stand with someone she had no interest in. The guy had different ideas though and was texting her continuously, sending letters to her home and work. He even used to drive around the estate where she lived in the evenings. This was after she had made it clear to him that she had no interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I have a stalker, anywhere I go she is always 10 steps ahead of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I am not far enough up my own ar*e to ever believe I have had a stalker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, twice in my home town and once by a nutcase on this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Biggins wrote: »
    i adore you Biggins ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Turtyturd wrote: »

It has nothing to do with being up your own arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

You keep moving and it is upsetting me . When are we going to Nice ;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

No:(

lonad wrote: »
    Biggins, you didn't tell me you had another stalker :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Just wow. Such ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I had a girlfriend once that would call me like 50 times a day,
    that's probably the closest I have come to having a stalker.

She didn't last too long, crazy biatch.

whiteman19 wrote: »

Joking aside it must be a very unnerving experience .

you mustn't have gone far enough. go farther next time and you'll see your stalker :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

i adore you Biggins ;)

The wife says hello and wants to have a nice "chat" with you.
    She says she wants to bring a friend of hers too. Someone called "Big Bertha" :D
    lonad wrote: »

Just as soon as you promise me sex every day for life. ;)

Its tough being popular but one gets used to it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

two words:p
    Jehovah Witness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Its an awfully humid evening isnt it?

Im sweating like a rapist here.

Just as soon as you promise me sex every day for life. ;)

/Runs screaming into the distance , screaming about jokes backfiring :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Never been stalked in a freaky kind of manner - actually enjoyed the attention.

I do have a stalker most mornings though if that counts. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I would like to take this opportunity to say hello to someone, HI o/, ye, if I haven't heard the phone the second time, I'm not going to hear it the tenth time! K! It's hugely distressing to look at your phone and see 10 missed calls, 17 new text messages, ugh.

Also know of a guy in college who was stalking this girl, he was asked to take a year off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

scareydoll wrote: »

Think again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

seanaor wrote: »
    Think again ;)

Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I found a stalker in your garden, but I warned him, this is my patch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I have. He was the completely loopy kind who convinced himself that we were in a relationship despite the ever so slight hurdle that he had never met or spoken to me. He would leave really creepy letters and presents on my doorstep. He broke into my home on several occasions, once while I was there. Other times, he would hide in the alleyway behind my apartment and watch me through the windows. And he showed up on my doorstep pretending to be a maintenance man in the hopes that I would let him in. I didn't because he didn't have any sort of official clothes on, and I had never called anyone about having maintenance done on my apartment. He broke in a few days later while I was home, and that's when I realized who he actually was.

Of course, a lot of this I didn't realize until after I moved far away, and he went even crazier and forwarded letters to me that revealed that he'd been in my home numerous times, and had been following/watching me for almost a year.

Needless to say, it was a really terrifying experience and took several years to move on from (and some therapy). I think it's especially hard when you don't know the identity of the person doing it. It ups the creepiness factor and you feel completely powerless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Shocking stuff, Metaoblivia.:eek:

Nope, I've never been stalked nor have I stalked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Needless to say, it was a really terrifying experience and took several years to move on from (and some therapy). I think it's especially hard when you don't know the identity of the person doing it. It ups the creepiness factor and you feel completely powerless.

Im not making light of that nasty situation Metabilivia, but a good thumping would have sorted that creep out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

yes when i first moved to the west, not where i am now, i did bar work, workin in 3 different bars at the time, and a local yokel used to go to all the bars i worked in, he would move up and down the bar to where i was, he would go mad when i spoke to other customers, i was so freaked out one night that i got another barman to watch while i went home. i lived across the road from this bar, the same night, the cops stopped him for drink driving. he blamed ME for his ban, stating that if i wasnt in the company of other men he wouldnt have to stay drinking, i moved shortly after, freaky experience, true story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Sorry to hear that, Meta. At least it's over now and you're OK.

I have an issue with the fact stalking is joked about quite a lot and made light of. It's certainly not funny or amusing for anyone who's been through it and in reality, it's frightening and as you said, makes you feel completely powerless.

Some of the attitudes in this thread are ridiculous. Having a stalker or admitting you might have a stalker is in no way linked to a person being up themselves or being cocky. Stalking is a criminal offense for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I was staked once, but thankfully it just missed my Heart.:)

Ahhh, ah, ah, ah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

scareydoll wrote: »
    If the stalkers really good you won't even know they're there so don't give up hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I have a stalker:D

Two years ago, during my first (and last) attempt at internet dating, I arranged to go out for a few drinks with a girl I'd been texting/talking to on the phone for about 6 weeks previously. Met up with her in a pub in Cork, and 5 minutes into the date I realised I had absolutely NOTHING in common with her. Stayed for 2 drinks to be polite, and then got the hell out of there;)

An hour later I got a txt from her saying she'd really enjoyed the date, and could we meet again? I didn't bother replying, because I'd no interest and I didn't want to give her false hope.

Thought she'd get the hint, but noooo......That was 2 years ago, and she still texts me 2 or 3 times a week, asking me what's wrong? why am I ignoring her? can she meet me? etc. etc. She also added me on bebo and facebook (she must have found me through my email address, obviously I didn't accept)

I have never ever replied to a single txt she has sent me since the night we met, but she hasn't given up!! She's a complete freak.

Thank God she doesn't know where I live:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Sure you did... Walter.:rolleyes:

I have a stalker:D

Two years ago, during my first (and last) attempt at internet dating, I arranged to go out for a few drinks with a girl I'd been texting/talking to on the phone for about 6 weeks previously. Met up with her in a pub in Cork, and 5 minutes into the date I realised I had absolutely NOTHING in common with her. Stayed for 2 drinks to be polite, and then got the hell out of there;)

An hour later I got a txt from her saying she'd really enjoyed the date, and could we meet again? I didn't bother replying, because I'd no interest and I didn't want to give her false hope.

Thought she'd get the hint, but noooo......That was 2 years ago, and she still texts me 2 or 3 times a week, asking me what's wrong? why am I ignoring her? can she meet me? etc. etc. She also added me on bebo and facebook (she must have found me through my email address, obviously I didn't accept)

I have never ever replied to a single txt she has sent me since the night we met, but she hasn't given up!! She's a complete freak.

Thank God she doesn't know where I live:D

Maybe you should have been upfront about it in the first place, 2 years :eek:, no point feeding her now though! Change your number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

There seems to be a lot of flippant comments on this thread ( it is AH I suppose ) but being stalked is no laughing matter and can be very disturbing. I know, I've had a stalker.
    I met this girl one night, seemed pretty normal, we had a few drinks and ended up spending the night in my place, which was fine, we had a good time.
    I always pride myself on being a gentleman so I called her a taxi in the morning (and even offered some money to pay if she'd just get my wallet from my trousers at the end of the bed). So she then left and all was well. Or so I thought.

The following day she text me! I couldn't believe it, did the whole swapping numbers thing but she had no right to actually text me! I had actually told her that I might text her!
    Needless to say I was a little concerned about this but it got worse... I logged onto facebook that evening and she had put in a friend request! A friend request!! It wasn't like she had any good reason to consider me a friend, but apart from that, she must have went to some effort to find me. At this stage I realised that this crazy b1tch was probably capable of anything

I obviously didn't go out the following weekend for fear of this psycho but went out the weekend after though I must admit I was petrified after a few calls from private numbers which I obviously didnt answer.
    Everything was great, I had a fantastic night..... Until I was at the taxi rank minding my own business eating my taco fries. Well I felt this pinch on my left buttock and hear 'Hello Slasher'. It was the crazy bint grinning like a maniac with these eyes.... these eyes that seemed to speak to me to say they were entitled to something....
    I can be honest here thanks to anonymity... I actually did a little **** from fear
    I then did what any reasonable man would do, I shoved those fcuking taco fries right into her face, pulled her jacket off and tied her legs together with it all the while screaming 'KEEP AWAY FROM ME YOU CRAZY WHORE' and ran all the way home crying until I could cry no more.

I dont think I'll ever be the same after that, in fact I know that I actually wont as I have not socialised since nor do I believe that I have the strength to. Its sad and its a pity that a simple exchange of bodily fluids can make one believe that they have a right to enter your private space.

That was in May 2007, I joined boards a week later. This is as close as I will let myself be to another human again.

So yes I have been stalked and it is no laughing matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

I can be honest here thanks to anonymity... I actually did a little **** from fear

i actually let a roar of laughter out at this part. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I wake up most mornings with a stalker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Why is it only attention whores that seem to get staked?

:eek: feckin hell. attention whores are vampires too? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I don't know if this counts as a stalker but it's definitely is in that ball park.

Back in my uni days, someone added me to MSN Messenger. Granted I should have asked more questions before I accepted but what the heck. It turned out she went to the same uni and not only that, she was on the same course. I asked her how she got my email address, she told me she went to the computer I was at in the comp lab and took my address from the last login on Messenger.
    I was a bit taken aback by this but continued the conversation, I asked her so are you in uni today. She replied 'Yeah, I'm in a computer lab', as was I at the time. "Which one?" I replied "3B40" she replies. A bit freaked at this stage I said 'So am I, where are you sitting?' 'Look to your left' :eek:

Ended up she was stinkin' so nothing came of it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

:(
    i actually let a roar of laughter out at this part. :D

You laugh at someones misery :confused::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

:eek: feckin hell. attention whores are vampires too? :eek:

Tough on attention whores, tough on the causes of attention whores.

:(

You laugh at someones misery :confused::(

no, i laughed at your misery :p

*ruffles slashers hair*

you little pooper you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

m@cc@ wrote: »
    I don't know if this counts as a stalker but it's definitely is in that ball park.

Back in my uni days, someone added me to MSN Messenger. Granted I should have asked more questions before I accepted but what the heck. It turned out she went to the same uni and not only that, she was on the same course. I asked her how she got my email address, she told me she went to the computer I was at in the comp lab and took my address from the last login on Messenger.
    I was a bit taken aback by this but continued the conversation, I asked her so are you in uni today. She replied 'Yeah, I'm in a computer lab', as was I at the time. "Which one?" I replied "3B40" she replies. A bit freaked at this stage I said 'So am I, where are you sitting?' 'Look to your left' :eek:

Ended up she was stinkin' so nothing came of it. :)

If she'd been hot, that'd be the most romantic story ever though, eh? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

... just look out your window ... I'm the guy on the bench with the laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If she'd been hot, that'd be the most romantic story ever though, eh? :)

Ah, I might have given it a lash. Ye never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Michaelrsh wrote: »
    ... just look out your window ... I'm the guy on the bench with the laptop.

Which one?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Got stalked by a mad one one time. She spent a year texting me without reply and then got a new phone and text my number on it to trick me into texting back. She also wielded an axe at a house party I was at, and sat on the sofa with a coat over her head for the rest of the house party. She also threatened to stab me if I didn't go out with her... Nice girl...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Was stalked by an ex a few years ago. 46 text messages in 1 hour while i was in Spain telling me he was going to be waiting for me at the airport when I got home. It continued when i got home. Not a nice time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Genuine question - Is looking people up on facebook considered stalking?

i hope not..

• I don't get why people think being stalked is funny or that only attention whores get stalked. It's horrendous. My experience was nowhere near as bad as others on this thread, but when I lived in Spain I had a guy who used to follow me around and jump out at me, once he grabbed me around the neck from behind. I had met him once at a party, literally said hello and made 2 minutes of small talk, but he somehow thought I owed him something. He acted like we had some sort of relationship. At first I was very cold and brusque but polite, and told him to stop doing it. Eventually after he'd done it a few times I snapped and told him to f**k off, stop stalking me and that I'd call the police. He told me he was going to kill himself and that I'd read about it the next day and feel so guilty. I told him I didn't care. Yes, horrible thing to say, but how dare he ruin my life and then guilt trip me? Needless to say he didn't kill himself. I contacted the police who kept insisting that we must have had a relationship or one night stand, insinuating that I should be more careful who I associated with. WTF like? I met him ONCE for TWO MINUTES! Am I supposed to be a recluse in case I meet a nutter at a party? This just confirmed to me that stalking is just not taken seriously by anyone. I left Spain when I was due to go home, last thing I heard he was taken into a mental hospital. I truly hope to God I never have to deal with someone like that again. It leaves you afraid to step outside your house.