have you ever been stalked?

• 26-04-2010 08:25PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

It must be a very distressing experience. I haven't been stalked myself but I used to work with a girl who had to get a restraining order out on a guy she had a brief thing with. What happened was she got with this guy when out drunk at an office xmas party once (he didn't work there, just happened to be in the same club). They parted ways next morning but she was sick with herself for having a one night stand with someone she had no interest in. The guy had different ideas though and was texting her continuously, sending letters to her home and work. He even used to drive around the estate where she lived in the evenings. This was after she had made it clear to him that she had no interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I have a stalker, anywhere I go she is always 10 steps ahead of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I am not far enough up my own ar*e to ever believe I have had a stalker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, twice in my home town and once by a nutcase on this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Biggins wrote: »
    i adore you Biggins ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Turtyturd wrote: »

It has nothing to do with being up your own arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

You keep moving and it is upsetting me . When are we going to Nice ;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

No:(

lonad wrote: »
    Biggins, you didn't tell me you had another stalker :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Just wow. Such ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I had a girlfriend once that would call me like 50 times a day,
    that's probably the closest I have come to having a stalker.

She didn't last too long, crazy biatch.

whiteman19 wrote: »

Joking aside it must be a very unnerving experience .

you mustn't have gone far enough. go farther next time and you'll see your stalker :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

i adore you Biggins ;)

The wife says hello and wants to have a nice "chat" with you.
    She says she wants to bring a friend of hers too. Someone called "Big Bertha" :D
    lonad wrote: »

Just as soon as you promise me sex every day for life. ;)

Its tough being popular but one gets used to it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

two words:p
    Jehovah Witness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Its an awfully humid evening isnt it?

Im sweating like a rapist here.

Just as soon as you promise me sex every day for life. ;)

/Runs screaming into the distance , screaming about jokes backfiring :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Never been stalked in a freaky kind of manner - actually enjoyed the attention.

I do have a stalker most mornings though if that counts. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I would like to take this opportunity to say hello to someone, HI o/, ye, if I haven't heard the phone the second time, I'm not going to hear it the tenth time! K! It's hugely distressing to look at your phone and see 10 missed calls, 17 new text messages, ugh.

Also know of a guy in college who was stalking this girl, he was asked to take a year off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

scareydoll wrote: »

Think again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

seanaor wrote: »
    Think again ;)

Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I found a stalker in your garden, but I warned him, this is my patch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I have. He was the completely loopy kind who convinced himself that we were in a relationship despite the ever so slight hurdle that he had never met or spoken to me. He would leave really creepy letters and presents on my doorstep. He broke into my home on several occasions, once while I was there. Other times, he would hide in the alleyway behind my apartment and watch me through the windows. And he showed up on my doorstep pretending to be a maintenance man in the hopes that I would let him in. I didn't because he didn't have any sort of official clothes on, and I had never called anyone about having maintenance done on my apartment. He broke in a few days later while I was home, and that's when I realized who he actually was.

Of course, a lot of this I didn't realize until after I moved far away, and he went even crazier and forwarded letters to me that revealed that he'd been in my home numerous times, and had been following/watching me for almost a year.

Needless to say, it was a really terrifying experience and took several years to move on from (and some therapy). I think it's especially hard when you don't know the identity of the person doing it. It ups the creepiness factor and you feel completely powerless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Shocking stuff, Metaoblivia.:eek:

Nope, I've never been stalked nor have I stalked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Needless to say, it was a really terrifying experience and took several years to move on from (and some therapy). I think it's especially hard when you don't know the identity of the person doing it. It ups the creepiness factor and you feel completely powerless.

Im not making light of that nasty situation Metabilivia, but a good thumping would have sorted that creep out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

yes when i first moved to the west, not where i am now, i did bar work, workin in 3 different bars at the time, and a local yokel used to go to all the bars i worked in, he would move up and down the bar to where i was, he would go mad when i spoke to other customers, i was so freaked out one night that i got another barman to watch while i went home. i lived across the road from this bar, the same night, the cops stopped him for drink driving. he blamed ME for his ban, stating that if i wasnt in the company of other men he wouldnt have to stay drinking, i moved shortly after, freaky experience, true story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Sorry to hear that, Meta. At least it's over now and you're OK.

I have an issue with the fact stalking is joked about quite a lot and made light of. It's certainly not funny or amusing for anyone who's been through it and in reality, it's frightening and as you said, makes you feel completely powerless.

Some of the attitudes in this thread are ridiculous. Having a stalker or admitting you might have a stalker is in no way linked to a person being up themselves or being cocky. Stalking is a criminal offense for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I was staked once, but thankfully it just missed my Heart.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I was staked once, but thankfully it just missed my Heart.:)

Ahhh, ah, ah, ah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

scareydoll wrote: »
    If the stalkers really good you won't even know they're there so don't give up hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I have a stalker:D

Two years ago, during my first (and last) attempt at internet dating, I arranged to go out for a few drinks with a girl I'd been texting/talking to on the phone for about 6 weeks previously. Met up with her in a pub in Cork, and 5 minutes into the date I realised I had absolutely NOTHING in common with her. Stayed for 2 drinks to be polite, and then got the hell out of there;)

An hour later I got a txt from her saying she'd really enjoyed the date, and could we meet again? I didn't bother replying, because I'd no interest and I didn't want to give her false hope.

Thought she'd get the hint, but noooo......That was 2 years ago, and she still texts me 2 or 3 times a week, asking me what's wrong? why am I ignoring her? can she meet me? etc. etc. She also added me on bebo and facebook (she must have found me through my email address, obviously I didn't accept)

I have never ever replied to a single txt she has sent me since the night we met, but she hasn't given up!! She's a complete freak.

Thank God she doesn't know where I live:D