have you ever been stalked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes, twice in my home town and once by a nutcase on this forum.

Sure you did... Walter.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I have a stalker:D

Two years ago, during my first (and last) attempt at internet dating, I arranged to go out for a few drinks with a girl I'd been texting/talking to on the phone for about 6 weeks previously. Met up with her in a pub in Cork, and 5 minutes into the date I realised I had absolutely NOTHING in common with her. Stayed for 2 drinks to be polite, and then got the hell out of there;)

An hour later I got a txt from her saying she'd really enjoyed the date, and could we meet again? I didn't bother replying, because I'd no interest and I didn't want to give her false hope.

Thought she'd get the hint, but noooo......That was 2 years ago, and she still texts me 2 or 3 times a week, asking me what's wrong? why am I ignoring her? can she meet me? etc. etc. She also added me on bebo and facebook (she must have found me through my email address, obviously I didn't accept)

I have never ever replied to a single txt she has sent me since the night we met, but she hasn't given up!! She's a complete freak.

Thank God she doesn't know where I live:D

Maybe you should have been upfront about it in the first place, 2 years :eek:, no point feeding her now though! Change your number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

There seems to be a lot of flippant comments on this thread ( it is AH I suppose ) but being stalked is no laughing matter and can be very disturbing. I know, I've had a stalker.
    I met this girl one night, seemed pretty normal, we had a few drinks and ended up spending the night in my place, which was fine, we had a good time.
    I always pride myself on being a gentleman so I called her a taxi in the morning (and even offered some money to pay if she'd just get my wallet from my trousers at the end of the bed). So she then left and all was well. Or so I thought.

The following day she text me! I couldn't believe it, did the whole swapping numbers thing but she had no right to actually text me! I had actually told her that I might text her!
    Needless to say I was a little concerned about this but it got worse... I logged onto facebook that evening and she had put in a friend request! A friend request!! It wasn't like she had any good reason to consider me a friend, but apart from that, she must have went to some effort to find me. At this stage I realised that this crazy b1tch was probably capable of anything

I obviously didn't go out the following weekend for fear of this psycho but went out the weekend after though I must admit I was petrified after a few calls from private numbers which I obviously didnt answer.
    Everything was great, I had a fantastic night..... Until I was at the taxi rank minding my own business eating my taco fries. Well I felt this pinch on my left buttock and hear 'Hello Slasher'. It was the crazy bint grinning like a maniac with these eyes.... these eyes that seemed to speak to me to say they were entitled to something....
    I can be honest here thanks to anonymity... I actually did a little **** from fear
    I then did what any reasonable man would do, I shoved those fcuking taco fries right into her face, pulled her jacket off and tied her legs together with it all the while screaming 'KEEP AWAY FROM ME YOU CRAZY WHORE' and ran all the way home crying until I could cry no more.

I dont think I'll ever be the same after that, in fact I know that I actually wont as I have not socialised since nor do I believe that I have the strength to. Its sad and its a pity that a simple exchange of bodily fluids can make one believe that they have a right to enter your private space.

That was in May 2007, I joined boards a week later. This is as close as I will let myself be to another human again.

So yes I have been stalked and it is no laughing matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

I can be honest here thanks to anonymity... I actually did a little **** from fear

i actually let a roar of laughter out at this part. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I wake up most mornings with a stalker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Why is it only attention whores that seem to get staked?

:eek: feckin hell. attention whores are vampires too? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I don't know if this counts as a stalker but it's definitely is in that ball park.

Back in my uni days, someone added me to MSN Messenger. Granted I should have asked more questions before I accepted but what the heck. It turned out she went to the same uni and not only that, she was on the same course. I asked her how she got my email address, she told me she went to the computer I was at in the comp lab and took my address from the last login on Messenger.
    I was a bit taken aback by this but continued the conversation, I asked her so are you in uni today. She replied 'Yeah, I'm in a computer lab', as was I at the time. "Which one?" I replied "3B40" she replies. A bit freaked at this stage I said 'So am I, where are you sitting?' 'Look to your left' :eek:

Ended up she was stinkin' so nothing came of it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

:(
    i actually let a roar of laughter out at this part. :D

You laugh at someones misery :confused::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

:eek: feckin hell. attention whores are vampires too? :eek:

Tough on attention whores, tough on the causes of attention whores.

:(

You laugh at someones misery :confused::(

no, i laughed at your misery :p

*ruffles slashers hair*

you little pooper you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

m@cc@ wrote: »
    I don't know if this counts as a stalker but it's definitely is in that ball park.

Back in my uni days, someone added me to MSN Messenger. Granted I should have asked more questions before I accepted but what the heck. It turned out she went to the same uni and not only that, she was on the same course. I asked her how she got my email address, she told me she went to the computer I was at in the comp lab and took my address from the last login on Messenger.
    I was a bit taken aback by this but continued the conversation, I asked her so are you in uni today. She replied 'Yeah, I'm in a computer lab', as was I at the time. "Which one?" I replied "3B40" she replies. A bit freaked at this stage I said 'So am I, where are you sitting?' 'Look to your left' :eek:

Ended up she was stinkin' so nothing came of it. :)

If she'd been hot, that'd be the most romantic story ever though, eh? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

... just look out your window ... I'm the guy on the bench with the laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If she'd been hot, that'd be the most romantic story ever though, eh? :)

Ah, I might have given it a lash. Ye never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Michaelrsh wrote: »
    ... just look out your window ... I'm the guy on the bench with the laptop.

Which one?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Got stalked by a mad one one time. She spent a year texting me without reply and then got a new phone and text my number on it to trick me into texting back. She also wielded an axe at a house party I was at, and sat on the sofa with a coat over her head for the rest of the house party. She also threatened to stab me if I didn't go out with her... Nice girl...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Was stalked by an ex a few years ago. 46 text messages in 1 hour while i was in Spain telling me he was going to be waiting for me at the airport when I got home. It continued when i got home. Not a nice time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Genuine question - Is looking people up on facebook considered stalking?

i hope not..

I don't get why people think being stalked is funny or that only attention whores get stalked. It's horrendous. My experience was nowhere near as bad as others on this thread, but when I lived in Spain I had a guy who used to follow me around and jump out at me, once he grabbed me around the neck from behind. I had met him once at a party, literally said hello and made 2 minutes of small talk, but he somehow thought I owed him something. He acted like we had some sort of relationship. At first I was very cold and brusque but polite, and told him to stop doing it. Eventually after he'd done it a few times I snapped and told him to f**k off, stop stalking me and that I'd call the police. He told me he was going to kill himself and that I'd read about it the next day and feel so guilty. I told him I didn't care. Yes, horrible thing to say, but how dare he ruin my life and then guilt trip me? Needless to say he didn't kill himself. I contacted the police who kept insisting that we must have had a relationship or one night stand, insinuating that I should be more careful who I associated with. WTF like? I met him ONCE for TWO MINUTES! Am I supposed to be a recluse in case I meet a nutter at a party? This just confirmed to me that stalking is just not taken seriously by anyone. I left Spain when I was due to go home, last thing I heard he was taken into a mental hospital. I truly hope to God I never have to deal with someone like that again. It leaves you afraid to step outside your house.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

If I do have a stalker then they must be very good cause I dont even know they are there.. :D

But on a serious note, there are some complete fruitcakes out there, I know a few girls who have had stalkers, one used to sit outside her house at night in the car with lights off and drive off when she came out, he would also follow her really closely when she was driving at night with full lights on.. completely freaked her out and this went on for about 12 months.

The Gardai were absolutely no use, they didn't even bother to do anything about it when she managed to find out who he was even though she kept reporting it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

A few women that kept hastling me with texts/phonecalls etc.. Nothing major. One of them used to like cutting herself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

no, if they put up on facebook, it's there for the whole world to see. if they don't want people looking at them, they should make their profile private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Maybe you should have been upfront about it in the first place, 2 years :eek:, no point feeding her now though! Change your number?

I won't change my number cos I'v had it for years, loads of people have it and it would be just too much hassle. My Bebo account was deleted a year ago, and I blocked her on facebook (and my profile is private anyway).

She only ever txts non-threatening things, it's just become more of a joke at this stage!! I want to see how long she keeps txting before she gives up and realises I'm not the perfect woman she thinks I am.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Wouldn't really call it stalking but I had a one night thing that turned in to a two night night with some American girl who was here for two weeks.

Seems she was looking for some big holiday romance. Told her it wasn't for me. Next day she was outside my workplace at the time and the day after that. Told her to fcuk off but it didn't really hit home. Then was calling to my house uninvited. Bit weird but not as bad as some of the stories on here!

At least she was gone after a few days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Kissed a dude one night and swapped numbers.
    Once he rang my phone right after getting my number to make sure I had given him the right one....I knew I had encountered a fruit loop -.-

He constantly texted everyday for months and had it in his head we were heading somewhere and he wanted me to be part of his 3 year plan of settling down and getting married.

I told him I was moving islands (living in NZ at time) he still texted that he would fly up and see me and make it work. :confused:
    (I'd never seen him after that first night):eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

ToniTuddle wrote: »

He constantly texted everyday for months and had it in his head we were heading somewhere and he wanted me to be part of his 3 year plan of settling down and getting married.

3 year plan!! Some people really are deluded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I had someone text me constantly for a few weeks who then started to say if I didn't sleep with them they would do X, Y and Z to me. I showed them messages to a mutual friend who rang them and gave out s****e to them so they stopped pretty soon after. I never really thought they were all that serious just a bit lonely so wouldn't call them a stalker perse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Kissed a dude one night and swapped numbers.
    Once he rang my phone right after getting my number to make sure I had given him the right one....I knew I had encountered a fruit loop -.-

I told him I was moving islands (living in NZ at time) he still texted that he would fly up and see me and make it work. :confused:
    (I'd never seen him after that first night):eek:

uh oh ... I've done that .... but its more to give her my number I'll dial her number easier/faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Abigayle wrote: »
    It has nothing to do with being up your own arse.
    I think though what was being referred to there Abz is the way some people claim they're being stalked merely if they're getting a bit of unwanted attention from someone whom they don't fancy, but would be loving it if it was someone whom they DID fancy - and they certainly wouldn't be deeming the latter "stalking".

Some bunnyboiler here was harassing me for ages all right, and a guy whom I'd met once for a few seconds kept texting me after that (got my number off a mutual drunk friend) for months. The fact I could barely remember who he was was what made it particularly strange. In both cases though, ignoring worked. However, those are just minor - real-life stalking must be terrifying, and not so easy to ignore...