Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JOBS IN WATERFORD.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

To all the cheapskate companies in Waterford that post jobs on Fas website, offer paying jobs not these internships/jobbridge jobs.

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭inlikeflynn86

likewise, in this together! :P

They just left the rejection message on my voicemail :-(

STIG83 wrote: »
    To all the cheapskate companies in Waterford that post jobs on Fas website, offer paying jobs not these internships/jobbridge jobs.

Rant over.

Actually cracking up here looking at all these intern "jobs"

But anyway, anyone hear anything about MotoReach... they are looking for sales advisors

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Amsxx

how do i go about applying for the job?

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

Amsxx wrote: »
    how do i go about applying for the job?
    Are they recruiting at the moment? Or are you sending it in speculatively?

To follow on from rant about internships, why are companies going down this route instead of taking on people and paying them?
    Before the recession there was none of this rubbish, for instance today I saw Hasbro have an ad posted looking for a Health and Safety Assistant(internship)

They hire people in their busy time and pay them but only going to give a person €50 on top of their dole for this Health and Safety assistant role?

I rather stay unemployed than work 40 hours a week for 50 quid

• Registered Users Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭Nuts102

STIG83 wrote: »
    To follow on from rant about internships, why are companies going down this route instead of taking on people and paying them?
    Before the recession there was none of this rubbish, for instance today I saw Hasbro have an ad posted looking for a Health and Safety Assistant(internship)

They hire people in their busy time and pay them but only going to give a person €50 on top of their dole for this Health and Safety assistant role?

I rather stay unemployed than work 40 hours a week for 50 quid

Companies can hire somebody and pay them or get an intern and pay nothing. Who can blame these companies for taking advantage. Finding a full paying job is very difficult and it is only going to get worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 linny88

how hard is it to get a job in this city?? all i see are these intern jobs..no way! as for eishtec ive heard awful storys! my friend just quit hers for all the pressure she was under & has warned me not to unless i want to be miserable! i got the same story from 3 more people! id be happy with a job in a supermarket... as ive 5 years experience!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

linny88 wrote: »
    how hard is it to get a job in this city?? all i see are these intern jobs..no way! as for eishtec ive heard awful storys! my friend just quit hers for all the pressure she was under & has warned me not to unless i want to be miserable! i got the same story from 3 more people! id be happy with a job in a supermarket... as ive 5 years experience!

Waterford has the highest overall "internship" participation rate, since 2011.

http://www.thejournal.ie/jobbridge-placements-breakdown-per-county-march-1375970-Mar2014/?lightbox=ReportContent

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

its a numbers game in regards to these internships..its papering over the cracks.

sure things are on the way up.

those pushing this are scum of the earth.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 linny88

how can they expect people to be motivated to go do these interns? there was one i was really interested in till i noticed it was an intern a CE one where they were only offering an extra 20 euro!!! we need proper paying jobs! what bills am i going to pay with 20 euro?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭Nuts102

It really is impossible for the unemployed in this City. You have three options go to Eishtec and hate it, go on a CE scheme and hate it or be lucky enough you know somebody who can get you in a job somewhere. Roughly 90% of the jobs advertised start with the intern will get experience it has got out of hand. It's only going to get worse as more businesses take advantage and minimum wage jobs will be like winning the lotto. Looking everyday hoping for a job and everything that goes up is an intern role for what should be a paying job is just disgraceful. I am thinking of going back to do my Masters but i doubt their will be a paying job in the future to justify paying the fees of doing a masters.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭saintchrisburg

Nuts102 wrote: »
    It really is impossible for the unemployed in this City. You have three options go to Eishtec and hate it, go on a CE scheme and hate it or be lucky enough you know somebody who can get you in a job somewhere. Roughly 90% of the jobs advertised start with the intern will get experience it has got out of hand. It's only going to get worse as more businesses take advantage and minimum wage jobs will be like winning the lotto. Looking everyday hoping for a job and everything that goes up is an intern role for what should be a paying job is just disgraceful. I am thinking of going back to do my Masters but i doubt their will be a paying job in the future to justify paying the fees of doing a masters.

Unless you'd do it in some specific field with high demand for workers, then you'd just be an unemployed person with a masters. That was exactly the case for me until I threw in the towel and applied for a job in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭deisediva

I want to return to work now my kids are a bit older. Not signing for credits or anything (know I should be) so not entitled to ce scheme .

Have been searching for part time jobs and there has been loads on fas that would suit over last few months but all these ce schemes.
    Cannot afford to pay for a course so left in the hope something turns up not on CE scheme.
    Not fair that companies are using people on these type of schemes .

Maxol are advertising for staff for new garage on the Cork Road.
    Details are in this weeks News & Star

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

Maxol are advertising for staff for new garage on the Cork Road.
    Details are in this weeks News & Star

Looks like a nice job, are they not keeping the old staff?

Not Waterford related but the ESB have a recruitment drive at the moment for apprenticeships, have thrown my name into it.
    All info on their website.

Havnt a clue, but hey! Its Jobs. They could possibly still have a few old staff but by the looks of it today its gona be a big garage so theyll need more staff!!

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Clutchkick

Anyone Know anything about An Post? A freind and myself were talking earlyer about delivering post in the vans, it looks like a grand auld job to have. Do they take on often? i can't really find anything about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭Speak Now

If the new place is similar to the place on the Dunmore road then they'll need the old and new :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Its a new company running it no relation to the old manager

• Registered Users Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭sparkling sea

Nuts102 wrote: »

I know a fair few people working in Eishtec and to be honest most of them don't mind it at all. I know some people hate it but then again there are plenty who don't

• Registered Users Posts: 37,787 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

eishtec is a hard place to get into.

Im surprised i didnt get in there, didnt even get into round 2:(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

I am currently on a CE scheme & it's great. I work 19.5 hours per week & I get €208pw. Now before everyone gets indignant about working for €20 extra per week, let me explain. I have children under 3 years of age, so childcare is required. On this scheme, it's paid for while I am working. I contribute €2 per day per child. I have a professional qualification & have always worked until I had my children. I was signing for credits prior to starting the scheme as my husband is in full time employment. If I was to now return to my chosen career & work a 40hr week, I would earn max 550 per week net. Out of that I would have to pay full time crèche fees myself (approx 220pw, per child). So do the sums there, I would be worse off financially. I don't think people sit down & think about the benefits this particular scheme had to offer. They just see it as working for €20pw. Internships are different in that it's a full 40hr week & I don't think there is a childcare supplement.

Samsgirl wrote: »
    I am currently on a CE scheme & it's great. I work 19.5 hours per week & I get €208pw. Now before everyone gets indignant about working for €20 extra per week, let me explain. I have children under 3 years of age, so childcare is required. On this scheme, it's paid for while I am working. I contribute €2 per day per child. I have a professional qualification & have always worked until I had my children. I was signing for credits prior to starting the scheme as my husband is in full time employment. If I was to now return to my chosen career & work a 40hr week, I would earn max 550 per week net. Out of that I would have to pay full time crèche fees myself (approx 220pw, per child). So do the sums there, I would be worse off financially. I don't think people sit down & think about the benefits this particular scheme had to offer. They just see it as working for €20pw. Internships are different in that it's a full 40hr week & I don't think there is a childcare supplement.

Im not being smart here or anything but if you were signing for credits in the first place (getting no payment) then how are you earning 208 euro per week? on CE scheme?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Im not being smart here or anything but if you were signing for credits in the first place (getting no payment) then how are you earning 208 euro per week? on CE scheme?

I had previously been on Jobseekers but it expired. Before it expired I had been interviewed for and offered the job. It took two months for Garda Vetting to come back after the job offer so I was signing for credits until I started work.

okay get ye now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Sign in the window of The Gingerman looking for kitchen staff apply within.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 RelaxBoy

Eishtec is minimum wage (8.65 per hour x 40 hours a week. Your actually out there 42.5 hours per week, but lunch is unpaid) plus commission (if you hit a number of target "metrics" ) Your first 6 months will be a prohibation period, so you'd want to consistently hit the targets during that time to be kept on Full time.

Targets are constantly changed, as is the bonus structure, so don't expect to earn much more than about 300 a week after tax. Paid every two weeks, bonus targets are monthly.

You would handle an average of 30-40 calls a day, however it can be a lot busier when new phones are launched e.g iPhone and also depends on how many calls you would get which are actually for your department, as you can transfer out to billing, tech support etc.

There are also standard call centre target metrics such as average call handling time and after call work, which must be strictly adhered to.

You get 26 days holidays a year, as you work for a UK based company, you will be working all Irish bank holidays(& British ones) so you get the few extra paid days off than normal. There is overtime available, and also for any Sunday you work the rate is €10 per hour.

If a current employee has referred you,even handed in your CV, then if you pass your prohibation and get a full time contract, they get a referral fee.

You have to work 1 in every 3 weekends, with a Lieu day off either side of that weekend. Dress code is business casual Mon-Thurs, "casual" on a Friday and weekends, however you cannot wear a tracksuit or even a sports jersey as it may seen as 'offensive' and create unnecessary/unwanted 'banter' in and around the office during working hours. I used to work there and was told one day to never wear a particular jersey again by management.

You are answering phones out there all day; 'Sales' is actually an open queue and is actually Retentions, billing, tech support anything really, and due to the reputation of the company you are taking calls for ( EE, Orange & T mobile) it is non-stop irate customers. Also the 'in-house' agents from the UK speak to you like you are dirt.

'service' out there is billing queries and technical support, and are actually paid a slightly higher wage, due to the fact they don't have to hit any sales targets or sell anything ** now on service agents have the tools to upsell certain products! and can earn a bonus**

Typical call centre environment, I've actually worked in both ringey dolphin and eishtec, and staff there are mostly excellent, friendly, out going, up for a laugh people, and you do socialise quite a bit with these "team nights out" (mostly arranged my team members and attended by about 3 people in a local pub!)

You will be trained in on all systems and product knowledge,and also there is a "Grad bay" for a 2 week period after your in-class training, so all you need really is a small bit of computer literacy. This 2 week period will get you used to handling calls, if you've never done so before, and multitasking.

Anyone that starts there is all enthusiastic about the place and the job role at first, but the realisation soon after sinks in. You will likely be split from your training group, along with one other, randomly may I add, and be thrown onto an existing team on the floor, so don't get too attached to someone you're having a laugh in training with! I have heard of them allowing two individuals together on one team for the purpose of car pooling, though.

Just said I'd post this as I'm sick of reading posts in various threads where it is asked what does eishtec do etc and what it's like out there, and people post wrong answers and speculative gossip! I have neither praised nor slated the place with this post; and I am en ex-employee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

RelaxBoy wrote: »
    Eishtec is minimum wage (8.65 per hour x 40 hours a week. Your actually out there 42.5 hours per week, but lunch is unpaid) plus commission (if you hit a number of target "metrics" ) Your first 6 months will be a prohibation period, so you'd want to consistently hit the targets during that time to be kept on Full time.

Targets are constantly changed, as is the bonus structure, so don't expect to earn much more than about 300 a week after tax. Paid every two weeks, bonus targets are monthly.

You would handle an average of 30-40 calls a day, however it can be a lot busier when new phones are launched e.g iPhone and also depends on how many calls you would get which are actually for your department, as you can transfer out to billing, tech support etc.

There are also standard call centre target metrics such as average call handling time and after call work, which must be strictly adhered to.

You get 26 days holidays a year, as you work for a UK based company, you will be working all Irish bank holidays(& British ones) so you get the few extra paid days off than normal. There is overtime available, and also for any Sunday you work the rate is €10 per hour.

If a current employee has referred you,even handed in your CV, then if you pass your prohibation and get a full time contract, they get a referral fee.

You have to work 1 in every 3 weekends, with a Lieu day off either side of that weekend. Dress code is business casual Mon-Thurs, "casual" on a Friday and weekends, however you cannot wear a tracksuit or even a sports jersey as it may seen as 'offensive' and create unnecessary/unwanted 'banter' in and around the office during working hours. I used to work there and was told one day to never wear a particular jersey again by management.

You are answering phones out there all day; 'Sales' is actually an open queue and is actually Retentions, billing, tech support anything really, and due to the reputation of the company you are taking calls for ( EE, Orange & T mobile) it is non-stop irate customers. Also the 'in-house' agents from the UK speak to you like you are dirt.

'service' out there is billing queries and technical support, and are actually paid a slightly higher wage, due to the fact they don't have to hit any sales targets or sell anything ** now on service agents have the tools to upsell certain products! and can earn a bonus**

Typical call centre environment, I've actually worked in both ringey dolphin and eishtec, and staff there are mostly excellent, friendly, out going, up for a laugh people, and you do socialise quite a bit with these "team nights out" (mostly arranged my team members and attended by about 3 people in a local pub!)

You will be trained in on all systems and product knowledge,and also there is a "Grad bay" for a 2 week period after your in-class training, so all you need really is a small bit of computer literacy. This 2 week period will get you used to handling calls, if you've never done so before, and multitasking.

Anyone that starts there is all enthusiastic about the place and the job role at first, but the realisation soon after sinks in. You will likely be split from your training group, along with one other, randomly may I add, and be thrown onto an existing team on the floor, so don't get too attached to someone you're having a laugh in training with! I have heard of them allowing two individuals together on one team for the purpose of car pooling, though.

Just said I'd post this as I'm sick of reading posts in various threads where it is asked what does eishtec do etc and what it's like out there, and people post wrong answers and speculative gossip! I have neither praised nor slated the place with this post; and I am en ex-employee.

How hard are they on giving people a job?