Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People's opinions of non-alcohol drinkers

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Congrats Wingman! I've seen how hard that is to do! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I just realised I'm off drink 10 months today :D It's kind of funny the way you forget about it! Living the dream now :p

How've you been enjoying your Sundays?

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Wingman2010

cantdecide wrote: »
    How've you been enjoying your Sundays?

Bloody amazing. Words can't describe the feeling of waking up so fresh on a Sunday morning. I have taking up cycling so I do be on my bike any free time I have now.

I would really recommend that anyone thinking of giving up drink take up a new activity or go back to a hobbie that you previously enjoyed.

It must be noted I wasn't a big drinker though. I was just like the majority of people in their twenties in Ireland; I would have few pints at weekends. But saying that I'm a lot happier without them few pints!

I can only encourage others to follow this road.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭tigerblob

I'm actually fairly lucky in that I don't often get negative reactions. Most people don't pass any heed or they just say good for you etc. Thank god!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Just stumbled over this forum out of curiosity and boredom.

Must say from reading (and of course I already know) that there is a definite fixation on alcohol in Irish society. (what a revelation, I know)

Where I'm from alcohol is an accepted part of the culture and people do get drunk sometimes and I'm sure some get drunk a lot if the times. But there would never be what I'd almost call a divide between drinkers and non-drinkers. People wouldn't even think of categorising themselves like this. Unless you were an alcoholic it would never enter your head whether you were a drinker or a non-drinker. Consequently on a night out nobody would even register much whether you'd drink one or two or three or a lot or nothing. We'd often meet with colleagues mid week in the pub for a meal and a few beers and sure on a good night when the mixture of people is right and the conversation and the music is good - whatever - a good night basically, we could have a couple of beers too many and it might get late. But most nights I'd say I'd have three or four 'halves' and so would everyone else but not because they feel they're disciplined or something, they just have enough and wanna go home. None of my mates or colleagues I ever heard saying 'once I have one or two I have to go all the way'.
    I'm not saying one way is better than the other. I mean a large part of the Irish friendliness and the craic and the humour is surely related to the way drink has it's place in the culture. I just find it baffling how there is such a difference. My people are stereotyped to be good beer drinkers too (german in case you're wondering) but it's all very different I think. Which makes me wonder how these cultural differences come about? Are Germans really that bit stiffer? Can't let go or something? Or is it somehow drummed into ye from childhood that drinking is the ultimate pastime?

I was out last night. I had 4 or 5 club oranges It was so weird today; it was like a hangover until around 2pm! Me thinks I need to stick to the mineral water :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Pints? Club orange is my 'poison' too and I'd have 3/4 over a whole night usually. I've never felt a sugar hangover coming on as a result of soft drinks.

cantdecide wrote: »
    Pints? Club orange is my 'poison' too and I'd have 3/4 over a whole night usually. I've never felt a sugar hangover coming on as a result of soft drinks.

4 glasses; so 2 pints you could say:) In future I will just have one soft drink and stick on the water!

People will think I'm stone mad if I say I'm dying with a 'sugar hangover' :D But I rather this hangover than the conventional one most people have on Sunday mornings!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Negative reactions?

I got slagged off by the barman last week for not ordering alcohol at a Christmas party! Out of 170 people, there were 3 non-drinkers and every time we went to the bar we got eyes rolled at us and questions like "why not?" and "what's wrong with you?!". I guess it is weird to find 19/20 year olds who don't drink.

A reaction that really annoyed me: A while ago, a friend asked what I was drinking - I replied "7up, why?" and she shook her head, whispered "Sure it could be 7up and vodka" and winked. Why should I pretend to be be drinking?!!! I actually don't care and most of my friends don't either. I don't go about bragging or making a big show of ordering minerals, it's just my decision and I don't mind if they're drinking or whatever.

It shouldn't be such a big deal! Like no-one comments on the food you're eating, so why do they get so obsessed with what you're drinking?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Hey all, just thought I would chip in with my story here.

I gave up drinking about 8 years ago, I'm 30 now so have spend a good part of my youth as a non-drinker. Now, I didn't have a drink problem, only that I stopped enjoying it.

I still go out regularly, head to clubs and have a deadly time. What some drinkers don't realise is that you can actually get a plasbo like effect from being in the company of drunk people. I actually perfer the company of drunk people as crazy as that sounds. When people have had a few they are more lose and you can have a bit of a laugh with them.

Now, of course I get the why don't you drink questions all the time and I explain to them that I just don't like it, and I kinda make a joke of it. I tell people how I always get the "fair play to you" and "I tell you I couldn't do it" comments and they all realise that I'm still fun to be around despite being sober.

Some people do worry about me noticing everything, but this is how people built trust in you. You tell them that you will keep whatever you see to yourself and you do. Simple as that, then the next time you are out, they are almost telling people for you how great you are because you don't drink. I literally have friends who are proud of me for not drinking and have a huge amount of respect for me because of it.

There is a slight downside, but not a terrible one. I hate having sex with drunk girls. I always feel like I am taking advantage of them, plus they are not too appealing when you can see that glazed look in their eyes. So the alternative to that is to take their number and date them, but that always puts you in the boyfriend category.

but overall, I find it almost impossible to put on weight, despite the fact I spoil myself rotten :), I look younger and I feel better. Now no offence to the drinkers out there, but I look around and see all these slobs who are seriously overweight

• Registered Users Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Floppybits

kjl wrote: »
    There is a slight downside, but not a terrible one. I hate having sex with drunk girls. I always feel like I am taking advantage of them, plus they are not too appealing when you can see that glazed look in their eyes. So the alternative to that is to take their number and date them, but that always puts you in the boyfriend category.

Yep that's the downside. I was always very wary of going home with a drunk girl. I usually did what you did, gave them my number.i'd say there is nothing worse than waking up and the person that wakes up beside you doesn't remember your name or anything about the night before. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

I find not drinking has more effect in a rural town than in an urban situation, In my local town I always find its rubbish but if I go out with the same lads in Galway, Limerick I always have a good time cause You meet girls that arent drunk of there faces which just isnt possible in my home town, Me personally wouldnt go off with a girl at the end of the night who was wrecked, Saying that Ive a few friends who dont drink much but I always feel they are holding back when I go out with them, I just feel Ireland has a drinking mentality abit like britian which is bred into them at a young age that the way to have fun and socialise is to go out and get hammered something i just dont enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

First year uni student here, and stumbling across this forum has really given me a sense of relief and reassurance, that I'm not the only young adult who doesn't drink, not because I think I'm better than other people, and not for religious reasons, simply because I don't like the culture associated with young drinkers in Ireland and for my own personal reasons. I suppose I've been fortunate enough in the fact that I've never been directly pressured by my friends, but I do worry that this year is going to be a tough one. Last week I nearly drank, even got a few cans of Bulmers. Not sure who or what I was trying to prove, guess I was trying to fit in more than anything. Didn't end up drinking though.

I guess what I find the hardest is the responses I get when I tell people I don't drink. Some people are literally taken aback and shocked, and you get the impression that they assume you're a dry ****e, so you don't get to connect with them as much as they would with other drinkers. I enjoy a night out, and I am most certainly not a dry ****e, but without a drink in my hand it's hard to prove this. I suppose it's made worse by the fact that the majority of pubs don't cater to non-drinkers, so you're usually stuck with an obvious pint of water or an overpriced mineral drink. I just wish Ireland had a more balanced view towards alcohol like the rest of the world but I can't see it happening anytime soon. Alcohol is so ingrained in our culture, people don't even see it as a drug or anything like that, it's just the done thing. Of course there is nothing wrong with alcohol in moderation, but the majority of people my age don't drink in moderation often, and the stuff they drink is cheap and vile, may as well eyeball it or inject it into you if you want to get drunk that easily.

If and when I do decide to start drinking, I will do it for the taste, not to get intoxicated. Hoping I meet someone special out there that doesn't drink either, that can relate to how I feel.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    First year uni student here, and stumbling across this forum has really given me a sense of relief and reassurance, that I'm not the only young adult who doesn't drink, not because I think I'm better than other people, and not for religious reasons, simply because I don't like the culture associated with young drinkers in Ireland and for my own personal reasons. I suppose I've been fortunate enough in the fact that I've never been directly pressured by my friends, but I do worry that this year is going to be a tough one. Last week I nearly drank, even got a few cans of Bulmers. Not sure who or what I was trying to prove, guess I was trying to fit in more than anything. Didn't end up drinking though.

I guess what I find the hardest is the responses I get when I tell people I don't drink. Some people are literally taken aback and shocked, and you get the impression that they assume you're a dry ****e, so you don't get to connect with them as much as they would with other drinkers. I enjoy a night out, and I am most certainly not a dry ****e, but without a drink in my hand it's hard to prove this. I suppose it's made worse by the fact that the majority of pubs don't cater to non-drinkers, so you're usually stuck with an obvious pint of water or an overpriced mineral drink. I just wish Ireland had a more balanced view towards alcohol like the rest of the world but I can't see it happening anytime soon. Alcohol is so ingrained in our culture, people don't even see it as a drug or anything like that, it's just the done thing. Of course there is nothing wrong with alcohol in moderation, but the majority of people my age don't drink in moderation often, and the stuff they drink is cheap and vile, may as well eyeball it or inject it into you if you want to get drunk that easily.

If and when I do decide to start drinking, I will do it for the taste, not to get intoxicated. Hoping I meet someone special out there that doesn't drink either, that can relate to how I feel.

As someone who barely drinks (one a night would be way more than average) I wouldn't worry too much. In my 2 years of college I have never faced any problems about my drinking. Most people just go fair enough and keep drinking tbh. They'll only cause a fuss if you shove it in their face, which I have seen another guy do (who then became a complete hypocrite by starting to drink). If you just act normal and don't give out to anyone else for drinking then there is no problem. Sure you'll get the "ah, I'll get you drunk) but they never mean it!

And regarding a "someone special" it shouldn't matter to you whether they drink or not. My boyfriend drinks and we've been together over four years, since we were 15! He is just aware as to not get too drunk around me which I think is fair for both of us. I'd never stop him drinking because I don't. I have personal reasons, but thy aren't his and I can't make them be

Tl;dr: don't (openly anyway) judge others and then you'll have no problems, in college, romance or life in general!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Only once was my not drinking mentioned to me as an issue. Ordinarily, I'm very forthright about the fact that I don't drink. I guess I say it in a tone that suggests I'm very strong-minded about it, so people tend not to go there. If they do, they'll have to endure one of my monologues :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I saw an article in some magazine yesterday about how it's becoming more (popular? prevalent?) among younger people to stop drinking altogether. Think it was a UK mag though :(
    I have to admit despite my original rant I haven't had a single problem since. People might sometimes ask "oh only water/coke?" if I'm not drinking, I shrug and say yeah, everyone nods and moves on

bluewolf wrote: »
    I saw an article in some magazine yesterday about how it's becoming more (popular? prevalent?) among younger people to stop drinking altogether. Think it was a UK mag though :(
    I have to admit despite my original rant I haven't had a single problem since. People might sometimes ask "oh only water/coke?" if I'm not drinking, I shrug and say yeah, everyone nods and moves on

I think it also depends on the circle that you move in, and your age. I'm 28 (almost 29 :(), and almost nil of my friends have ever displayed an issue with my outlook, even though they all enjoy getting drunk once in a while*. They're extremely tolerant actually. I just wouldn't associate with people who would have a problem with it. I'm sure it's the same for them. I never, ever criticize their activities.

I must stress the once in a while part. If they got drunk week in and week out, I don't think we'd be friends, not because of alcohol reasons, but because our outlooks would be so different that a friendship would probably never have started to begin with.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Tremelo wrote: »
    I think it also depends on the circle that you move in, and your age. I'm 28 (almost 29 :(), and almost nil of my friends have ever displayed an issue with my outlook, even though they all enjoy getting drunk once in a while*. They're extremely tolerant actually. I just wouldn't associate with people who would have a problem with it. I'm sure it's the same for them. I never, ever criticize their activities.

I must stress the once in a while part. If they got drunk week in and week out, I don't think we'd be friends, not because of alcohol reasons, but because our outlooks would be so different that a friendship would probably never have started to begin with.

It does depend on the circle, yeah, my friends aren't "lets all go out on the lash!" types. My friends were used to me having mostly given up by the time I was legal to drink so they're all well used to it; and anyone I've met since, well, I guess I just pick them well :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,356 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Are ye not drinking, then?
    Ah, I'm grand thanks, yeah.
    So, you don't drink at all?

Have had this kind of vibe a few times...generally people are OK. I'm not a teetotaler, just drink maybe 5-6 times a year. I generally don't like the taste of beer. I didn't drink when I was in the US earlier this summer and was expecting the 'omg, you're Irish and don't drink!111!!!?!??!' response, but thankfully this didn't materialise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Destroyer666

I know a few and they are mighty craic. However if you dont drink I couldnt understand how you can enjoy a night out with those who do. Mad drinker myself, but nights out where I couldnt drink listening to my drunken mates it was painfull and unenjoyeble.

+1. I'll happily sit in a quiet pub with friends on a week night or a Sunday night, but I never go anywhere near a pub on Fridays or Saturdays. I couldn't think of a worse way of spending a night.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Tl;dr: don't (openly anyway) judge others and then you'll have no problems, in college, romance or life in general!

I`m on a Spanish keyboard and can`t find the plus symbol :o but plus 1 to this.

Going into my 3rd year in college, still don`t drink. It can be tough because people associate drinking with fun, so if you dont drink, you must never have fun... But I`ve always found that once people realise that it makes no difference on a night out, they usually dont care. As long as you don`t sit there looking disapproving and tutting at people drinking, it`s fine. Most of the time I don`t even mention the fact that I`m a non drinker unless someone asks, I`ve been out with people who never even noticed.

There are people who will act like tools about it, but that`s a quick way to find out who you DON`T wanna be friends with :P

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭hubba

Going into my 3rd year in college, still don`t drink. It can be tough because people associate drinking with fun, so if you dont drink, you must never have fun... But I`ve always found that once people realise that it makes no difference on a night out, they usually dont care. As long as you don`t sit there looking disapproving and tutting at people drinking, it`s fine. Most of the time I don`t even mention the fact that I`m a non drinker unless someone asks, I`ve been out with people who never even noticed.

There are people who will act like tools about it, but that`s a quick way to find out who you DON`T wanna be friends with :P

You are so wise, honestly. I wish I had your insight and common sense when I was your age. Keep it up, you are an inspiration!

hubba wrote: »

You are so wise, honestly. I wish I had your insight and common sense when I was your age. Keep it up, you are an inspiration!

You would be surprised as to how many of us there are out there. Despite common beliefs not every student sets out to get locked every night! I have actually met a good few people who hold the same beliefs. Surprising even me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Another one here :)

Wrote this recently.
    Some of you might enjoy it and feel the same :)

Wrote this recently.
    Some of you might enjoy it and feel the same :)

Love it :-)

Love it :-)

Thanks! :)

Thanks! :)

As a 26 year old non drinker I relate to most of this! I still go out most weekends dancing like a fool etc :-)

One thing I learned two weeks ago however is that its not a good idea to drink soft drinks all night! I did this and I woke up with a major headache. Water all the way going forward; ha..

As a 26 year old non drinker I relate to most of this! I still go out most weekends dancing like a fool etc :-)

One thing I learned two weeks ago however is that its not a good idea to drink soft drinks all night! I did this and I woke up with a major headache. Water all the way going forward; ha..

No other way to do it!