Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traveller Weddings - Channel Four

• 18-02-2010 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭

On now, oh my God the dresses are hideous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 senbwcs

One of them is called Fanta. And they just admitted they're all inbred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

I feel sorry for Elsie without a reception for her girl, but .....if you did own an hotel.....would you cancel the booking?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

the dress with the butterflies............. :eek:

cyning wrote: »
    the dress with the butterflies............. :eek:

3-D Butterflies! They can't "play God with their bodies", but dress like lap dancers:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

It confirms pretty much every prejudice I've ever had about travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

the bride was just eating curry chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

senbwcs wrote: »
    One of them is called Fanta.
    This made me lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Do you know if it will be shown again as Ive missed most of it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Will this be up on 4od?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Did you here the one that said she's a little old to be getting married ya know in traveller terms!

She was 22:eek:

It confirms pretty much every prejudice I've ever had about travellers.

I know......they won't discuss money????!!!!! Bet they don't mention tax either. Shame though on girls being taken out of school so young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

All the wimmin's who were getting married would.........fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That Joan one is hot, traveler or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

doing the irish rep in england a lot of good this...........

the piebald horse! im in stitches here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

noooooo I had been waiting for this all week and totally forgot about it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

"Barbie dolls, a nice choice I thought"
    Yes mammy, you are right. Barbie dolls are a nice touch at a wedding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

No chance of a slow dance in that dress. Fuck me, the rack!

i feel a bit sorry for the joan one, clearly its an arranged marriage, in normal clothes shes decent lookin!

They went to the coast for there honeymoon

vanatbeach.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

<Post removed>

Yeah, because I take home every girl that I think is attractive :rolleyes:

Nice prejudice you added there too.. very original

dambarude wrote: »
    Will this be up on 4od?

yeah id say so, channel 4 put there shows on youtube now too. if you have digital itll be more than likely repeated on more4 id imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Roro4Brit

I really enjoyed the programme. Like the dress lady said...you have your good ones, and you have your bad ones.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

df1985 wrote: »
    yeah id say so, channel 4 put there shows on youtube now too. if you have digital itll be more than likely repeated on more4 id imagine.

No idea how long it will take to go up?

Her mother said that she had dreams.........banging out babies for the next 20 years.

Its the much older ones they are interesting to talk to . The younger ones I just dont like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

shivs wrote: »
    I know......they won't discuss money????!!!!! Bet they don't mention tax either. Shame though on girls being taken out of school so young.

Aye, they've enough money for these extravagant weddings, good cars etc, I bet the inland revenue hasn't seen a penny off the lot of em.

The children seem to be brainwashed into following the same life choices their parents made and their grandparents made, great-grandparents and so on. It dosen't seem like feminism has made much inroads into that culture.

Still I suppose that they might as well get married early since their life expectancy is so much lower than that of "country folk"

dambarude wrote: »
    No idea how long it will take to go up?

id imagine on youtube in the next few days.more4 repeat fairly quick, possibly tomorrow or over the weekend.maybe try the website, dunno if they give details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Felt really sorry for Joan,she obviously really wasn't ready or happy in getting married!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

df1985 wrote: »

Thanks for that dude your a star :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Bastards have blocked it in 'my' region.
    Bastards. Even the YouTube clip is blocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

"Not in a million, thousand, trillion year"

I think I had him for Maths in UCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

The children seem to be brainwashed into following the same life choices their parents made and their grandparents made, great-grandparents and so on. It dosen't seem like feminism has made much inroads into that culture.

Well, to be fair, some of those are the same people......

Grand. We heard you the first time.

Kivaro wrote: »
    Grand. We heard you the first time.
    Sorry, dodgy connection made me post twice.
    Actually, I'm not sorry at all, you relax will ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭highdef

I found it a bit odd that they said that they are entirely self sufficient and don't need anybody's help. Then why do traveller's constantly moan about not getting services such as bin collections, housing etc etc but don't pay anything back in taxes?

Also, why do they need a hotel for their weddings when they are entirely self sufficient. If they can afford to buy top of the range Audi's, Volkswagens, Range Rovers, Toyota Hiaces :P, then they can afford to buy a marquee and arrange to have the reception in their own site - there won't be any problems then. And it would make sure that there are no unwanted interactions with the "country" folk :rolleyes:

Sorry, dodgy connection made me post twice.
    Actually, I'm not sorry at all, you relax will ya!

I'm not the one playing with your connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

highdef wrote: »
    I found it a bit odd that they said that they are entirely self sufficient and don't need anybody's help. Then why do traveller's constantly moan about not getting services such as bin collections, housing etc etc but don't pay anything back in taxes?
    Not to mention all the social welfare payments, schools, roads, halting sites, Pavee Point, etc., all funded by the Exchequer and all upon which the noble independent itinerant depends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Enough inverted racism lads....ya heard it from the horses mouth.....we can call them Irish cu*ts......just don't call them pikeys....so...all together now....piiiiiikkkkkeeeeyyyyyysssssssss..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

The average engagement age is 14....

Sick sick sick

"They have the highest morals, blah blah blah"

Then why do they dress like skanks?

And the fake tan, I think I spotted Stacey from Eastenders in there somewhere (hey that rhymed!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

Really enjoyed that.

Wouldn't have the greatest opinion of travellers myself but that program would make you think. Some good ones, some bad ones like everyone else.

Probably the most positive portrayal of travellers I've seen on TV.

The girl at the end did seem really unsure of what she'd gotten herself into but I'm sure that happens at "settled" weddings all the time too. Felt for her.

Everyone in the program seemed decent enough people.

Some of the clothes are amazingly awful though!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Demonique wrote: »
    T

And the fake tan, I think I spotted Stacey from Eastenders in there somewhere (hey that rhymed!)

No wonder one of 'em was called Fanta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Felt sorry for the girl at the end that got married to Robbie Keane. Although he travels around that much from club to club it'd be a life that she'd be well accustomed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I'd agree with Finty, there's the usual stereotypical comments around here but it did give you an insight into the travellers culture (and that's all it is, I do not abide the claims they're an ethnic race). Some of the girls were quite genuine and you could see that the tradition is a huge thing to them, even though it appears that they may not like it deep down, you did feel sorry for that 22 year old girl, she seemed quite a nice person.

I had to admire some of the fancy cars there though, I wonder will the inland revenue be around the area this morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

So they can never marry or date a "settled" person...the kids arent allowed mix with non-travellers because they'll be learning "bad ways"..i think inbreeding has made them simple minded as well as racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Well I have to say it made me look at travellers in a different light most of them came across very well, it was a well made programme but that last girl Joan was a peach if you were in a disco and saw her how many guys here would be heading in her direction.

I hope that things work out for her, its a pity that we were not told where they went or how they are getting on.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Dammit, no way of watching this here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Degsy wrote: »
    So they can never marry or date a "settled" person...the kids arent allowed mix with non-travellers because they'll be learning "bad ways"..i think inbreeding has made them simple minded as well as racist.
    And they can't eat after midnight, get wet, and they're afraid of bright lights too.

Storm 10 wrote: »
    ...that last girl Joan was a peach if you were in a disco and saw her how many guys here would be heading in her direction.
    You wouldn't see her in a nightclub though.

She was a good looking girl though (in her normal day clothes that is), but as soon as she put on her traveller uniform she looked in bits.

It was hard not to feel sorry for her. Imagine having to deal with a new husband, sex for the first time, leaving home, giving up work all in one day.

There's a reason why "Country Folk" gave up that way of living years ago.
    Storm 10 wrote: »
    I hope that things work out for her, its a pity that we were not told where they went or how they are getting on.
    Probably has about six kids and is living in a halting site somewhere in Galway.