Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Very disappointed today on both minor and senior results.
    I feel both teams should have won, the sending off and Cillian O'Brien ****ing around with a ball that was going wide were both crucial factors in that loss, although saying that seriously impressive points tally by Cork over 60 minutes.
    The senior game was an improvement on last season, Shane O'Donnell was very impressive at times, I think Pat O'Connor is finished, Cathal Malone and Jack Browne should be no where near the squad.
    I can't understand taking David Reidy off, Conor McGrath was running aimlessly around with the ball afternoon.
    I'd like to see Jason McCarthy getting a lot more time, I think he's a great player to take the game by the scruff of the beck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Very disappointed today on both minor and senior results.

The senior game was an improvement on last season, Shane O'Donnell was very impressive at times, I think Pat O'Connor is finished, Cathal Malone and Jack Browne should be no where near the squad.
    I can't understand taking David Reidy off, Conor McGrath was running aimlessly around with the ball afternoon.

I thought Cathal Malone was one of your best players today as well as Reidy,Kelly and O'Donnell.

They said on commentary that Reidy had cramp so that's why he was taken off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭corks finest

Game was very even in the first half with Cork recovering after a slow start. In the second half I felt Cork improved and got the goals at vital stages. I think Clare will always find it hard to win games as they always concede high scores.

It could have gone either way yes but I always felt Cork had that extra gear when required.

Agree ref cork having extra gear etc,but Clare left it behind them via too many wide's,and a host of missed opportunities near goal, forwards trying to walk in , instead of tapping it over,cork fan obviously,but GAA fan first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭corks finest

I thought Cathal Malone was one of your best players today as well as Reidy,Kelly and O'Donnell.

Thought the Clare number 14 was fine, surprising ye took him off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

hard to fault the effort of any player in a clare jersey today , scored 1-21 , played well for most of the game but baffling calls from the sideline didnt help ,

great comment above about us being a team that can mix it with any team for 65 minutes roughly before the inevitable happens and the opposition pulls away late on

when you are preparing for championship you really need to blood more then 25 players through a 6 game league , and even if you refuse to do that when it comes to championship you dont start blooding players then , espically when you take of your top scorer and free taker for a young lad that has less then 45 minutes of senior hurling played in his career ,

mike ryan used every half decent hurler in tipperary this year in the league , and while they lost to a good limerick side today i still expect to see them operate at the business end of the championship,
    do you think brian cody would have set back for 55 minutes today doing nothing while his captain and corner back gets the run around ? at least make a positional change !
    when they finally decided enough was enough they brought on a wing forward to slot in at corner back :confused:

play players in there natural positions, john conlon for clonlara plays inside the 20 , he is a serious operator there , peter duggan is a midfielder or half back for his club , sometimes a half forward but not a full forward , mikey o malley as mentioned has rarely of ever played at corner back , putting him there was a total joke ,

criticizing players is stupid when there are so many inaccuracies on the sideline , its almost like fitz is back in charge again :rolleyes: late in the game today i heard a clare supporter who was old enough to know better launch abuse at cathal malone which i wont repeat , it was a disgrace
    the players are doing what they are told , today they stuck to a game plan that gave them little chance of wining and probably sums up the last 5 years of clare hurling as to why we find it hard to get back to croke park

Thought the Clare number 14 was fine, surprising ye took him off

he is our top scorer all year and last year too i think , but peter duggan is the scapegoat in the team and management always take him off first if things are not going to plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Another game we left behind us really. Had so many opportunities that we didn’t take or just messed up with a poor last pass or decision. We simply missed that killer instinct and composure when it really mattered.

Not sure what was up with Duggan today but his touch was just awful. Nothing went right for him. Really glad for SOD. Gets criticized so much but finally shows what he can do when he actually gets quality ball and isn’t double marked. A couple of poor wides though.

Thought Cork got the tactics better in the second half and flooded their half back line and midfield and once they turned us over they had plenty of space and picked off scores much easier.

Couldn’t fault the work rate and I thought we did reasonably well in defense and good to see us trust in our one on one defense.

Huge game next week and can’t see us having the same space to run into and create goal chances like we had today so we need to remain patient and choose the correct option.

malone is not a popular choice with some clare supporters , he did ok today , we need him in my opinion for his hight but anything he dose wrong in a game it will be highlighted

Another game we left behind us really. Had so many opportunities that we didn’t take or just messed up with a poor last pass or decision. We simply missed that killer instinct and composure when it really mattered.

Not sure what was up with Duggan today but his touch was just awful. Nothing went right for him. Really glad for SOD. Gets criticized so much but finally shows what he can do when he actually gets quality ball and isn’t double marked. A couple of poor wides though.

Thought Cork got the tactics better in the second half and flooded their half back line and midfield and once they turned us over they had plenty of space and picked off scores much easier.

Couldn’t fault the work rate and I thought we did reasonably well in defense and good to see us trust in our one on one defense.

Huge game next week and can’t see us having the same space to run into and create goal chances like we had today so we need to remain patient and choose the correct option.

to be fair it seemed the game plan was to go for goals ,especially in the first half , had we chipped away with points we would have been 2 or 3 points up at half time

cork adopted a blanket defense or for a better word a counter attacking defence where they dropped back there half forward line and ran at us , very much a gaelic football tactic but they used it really well in the second half and credit has to go to cork for executing there scores so well on the break

in terms of duggen , he is our top scorer and free taker , the game was in the balance we needed him on the field darragh corry is too inexperienced to make a difference in such a situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Clare are never going to have a proper sustained championship run conceding 2-23 or there abouts every game. We are woefully poorly trained and disciplined in how to defend properly. Cork don't have the most talented set of backs in the world, but they defend as a unit, are physical and get the hooks and blocks in. When we got a run through on their back line (and we did a truck load of times), every Cork player within the vicinity scrabbled back to put their body on the line. We just don't have the same urgency throughout the team to put everything into stopping the other team from clearing a ball, or shooting for goal. What was Seadna at there for the finish letting Harnedy go past him so he could go for a hook. He should have challenged him square on and not let him inside. We are just not physical and aggressive enough when we dont have the ball, to get it back.

Also, as said our decision making in front of goal was appalling. When you are 40 yards out with space, you take your point. We were constantly forcing things and you could see the frustration creeping into our game. You need to be tapping those over the bar and settling the team down into a rhythm, especially being the first game of the championship. I put alot of blame on the management for the strategy.

I'd drop Morey, O'Connor and Malone for McCarthy, Shanahan and Ian Galvin. McCarthy won't need to play corner back against Waterford. Duggan goes on the 40, its ridiculous he was at 14 again, all his best hurling is at wing forward. There's been alot of calls/decisions the management made this year, particularly around tactics and how they are utilizing the squad, I think are highly questionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

malone is not a popular choice with some clare supporters , he did ok today , we need him in my opinion for his hight but anything he dose wrong in a game it will be highlighted

I'm not one for cutting down players but he was infuriating to watch today. Got on so much ball but no end product be it scoring himself or creating chances for others. Conor McGrath seems to have lost his pace aswell which is a shame when you think back of some of the wizardry he was capable of but I guess that's the injuries of the last few seasons catching up. Our striking in the forwards seemed very poor/slow/laboured not really sure what you'd call it but I can't remember another game where they got hooked, blocked and closed down so much.

Actually thought the backs played fairly well for the most of the game, the goal at the end put a bit of a gloss on it for cork but they had it in the bag at that stage I thought. If we could improve in front of the posts we could trouble any team but seems unlikely enough looking back over the last few years. We were a way slicker outfit in 13. Never thought I'd see the day I'd back the footballers to close out a tight game before the Hurlers but that seems to be the way it has gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

How do you all rate Cork? Will they beat Tipp next Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

feargale wrote: »

If it's the same tipp that played limerick today they will.

feargale wrote: »

think they look solid given how well they operated there game plan in the second half , you cant allow tipperary that amount of goal chances , or chances inside your own 20 as they are far far stronger up front then us

middle 3rd cork are excellent , coleman was fantastic today , fitzgibbon got the better of kelly for most of the game and the half forward line can be serious when they click

i reckon it will be a high scoring game next week both teams shooting the lights out , if cork bring the same tempo and pace to thurles next week they will win , today might not have been the best skill wise at times but definitely played at a far higher pace then any other game in the championship this year

letowski wrote: »
    Clare are never going to have a proper sustained championship run conceding 2-23 or there abouts every game. We are woefully poorly trained and disciplined in how to defend properly. Cork don't have the most talented set of backs in the world, but they defend as a unit, are physical and get the hooks and blocks in. When we got a run through on their back line (and we did a truck load of times), every Cork player within the vicinity scrabbled back to put their body on the line. We just don't have the same urgency throughout the team to put everything into stopping the other team from clearing a ball, or shooting for goal. What was Seadna at there for the finish letting Harnedy go past him so he could go for a hook. He should have challenged him square on and not let him inside. We are just not physical and aggressive enough when we dont have the ball, to get it back.

Also, as said our decision making in front of goal was appalling. When you are 40 yards out with space, you take your point. We were constantly forcing things and you could see the frustration creeping into our game. You need to be tapping those over the bar and settling the team down into a rhythm, especially being the first game of the championship. I put alot of blame on the management for the strategy.

I'd drop Morey, O'Connor and Malone for McCarthy, Shanahan and Ian Galvin. McCarthy won't need to play corner back against Waterford. Duggan goes on the 40, its ridiculous he was at 14 again, all his best hurling is at wing forward. There's been alot of calls/decisions the management made this year, particularly around tactics and how they are utilizing the squad, I think are highly questionable.

missed this post earlier , most of what you said was running through my head through the match today i think the term "ground hog day" is the best way to describe today and the last few years , but i am convinced the management need to be held accounted for todays loss ,

roll on 2025 when the bulk of our u17 team are in there prime :pac: taught we had some excellent displays today in that game lets hope we can get the ball rolling again underage and build on today some really good young lads coming through they were the bright spark of a slightly disappointing day

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Another extremely frustrating day out, almost every match now we should/could win except for missed opportunities or chances. It seems like once players get the ball they just put the head down and keep going until their are tackled, why they can't hit the ball over the bar from 60m out when they are free I don't know, time and again they don't lift their heads. At 1 stage in the second half Reidy (I think) drove at the Cork backs and got to the end line, without looking he hit the ball back to the 14 yard line, unfortunately 2 Clare forwards had ran past the 14 and the chance was lost, if any of the 3 players actually thought about what they were doing rather than just putting the head down there was a great goal chance.

SoD had a good second half with 2 good points and a goal setup, unfortunately he had a poor first half, he had 2 terrible wides and he also had a number of clean possessions that he wasted every one of.

I haven't watched the match back yet but my take from it yesterday was that our midfield wasn't at the races at all, Cork were able to run through midfield which put our backs under terrible pressure, 2-23 is a very high score to concede. Next week is a must win game for us now, if we lose this we might as well forget about going any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

SOD was very lucky Nash made a balls of it for the Clare goal. If Nash did his job properly SOD would be slated for not taking his point instead of trying to play the killer pass (which he regularly tries). Clare are over complicating things and trying to walk the ball into the net.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Smith614 wrote: »
    SOD was very lucky Nash made a balls of it for the Clare goal. If Nash did his job properly SOD would be slated for not taking his point instead of trying to play the killer pass (which he regularly tries). Clare are over complicating things and trying to walk the ball into the net.

SoD should be concentrating on scoring but he's consistently looking to pass whereas the rest of the team are looking to do anything but run into a tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Gael85

footballers line out tonight without sean o'donohue or ciaran russell , sean has returned home to chicago for the summer to spend time with his family and ciaran has temporarily dropped out of the panel due to work commitments

both huge loses to the panel , o'donohue was outstanding in the league , gordon kelly returns tonight also after his 3 month ban , jerome henery and his officials can hang there heads in shame over that disgrace of a decision :mad:

the team lines out as follows , below is the full panel for the championship , great to see young players like gavin cooney and ross phelan called up from last years minor sides ]

tough game in store tonight in my opinion ,only a point separated the sides last year tonight will be equally close , limerick will be stronger then what they were at any stage of the league , especially with the return of ian corbet

https://twitter.com/Clare_Football/status/997443882429370369

clare_footballers_profile.png

Hopefully Russell returns. Are Martin McMahon or Kevin Harnett on panel? Good win for footballers Saturday. About time they put up a big tally against Limerick as games between them are usually tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Agree ref cork having extra gear etc,but Clare left it behind them via too many wide's,and a host of missed opportunities near goal, forwards trying to walk in , instead of tapping it over,cork fan obviously,but GAA fan first

In a nutshell yes. And you could have written the exact same comment after the Munster final last year v Cork, or indeed most Clare games over the past few years.

Very frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Clareman wrote: »
    SoD should be concentrating on scoring but he's consistently looking to pass whereas the rest of the team are looking to do anything but run into a tackle.

Sod cant score points unless hes in front of goal as he did twice Sunday. He had 2 other opportunities to shoot from a scoreable angle but renaged on one and sent another wide. I dont think he has much confidence when shooting points.

Gael85 wrote: »
    Hopefully Russell returns. Are Martin McMahon or Kevin Harnett on panel? Good win for footballers Saturday. About time they put up a big tally against Limerick as games between them are usually tight.

dont think martin macmahon is coming back , not this year any , hartnett is recovering from an operation was not on the bench last saturday night , russell has been stationed up the country with the guards he is concentrating on that at the moment but probably wont see him for the rest of the championship ,

Davys Fits wrote: »
    Sod cant score points unless hes in front of goal as he did twice Sunday. He had 2 other opportunities to shoot from a scoreable angle but renaged on one and sent another wide. I dont think he has much confidence when shooting points.

the 3 efforts in the first half were really frustrating , its been the same story all year really , management are shooting themselves in the foot with this tactic of going for goals , we could easily have been 5 points up at half time had we done the simple stuff

I don't know if it's management or more the players playing so much with their heads down that they end up so close to goal they have to go for goal even if they're surrounded by defenders. Our players have an awful habbit of playing with their heads down, that is except for SoD who seems to fall every time he goes near the ball and then when he gets possession he looks around to see what to do, plan a is pass and plan b is shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,344 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Whats the recommendations for parking on Sunday guys?

Clare county council normally open their car park, take the Tulla Road exit off the motorway and come towards town, there's normally loads of sign posts, otherwise there's normally loads of parking around, personally I'd aim for Dunnes/Templegate to get parking.

Probably a stupid question, but do I have to print off my ticker for the match tomorrow or will it be ok just to show it on my phone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Clareman wrote: »
    Probably a stupid question, but do I have to print off my ticker for the match tomorrow or will it be ok just to show it on my phone??
    Make sure your phone is intact! I was behind a guy at the stiles going into Nowlan park last week who was trying to scan a ticket on a screen. The ticket wouldnt scan. On closer inspection, the phone screen was in bits. He was eventually waved through as the crowd behind were starting to get restless.

huge game today , lose here and we could be heading for an early exit , the one worry i have today is the team is unchanged , pat o'connor and malone starting again is an insult to guys on the bench trying to fight for a place in the team ,

lets hope for no more rush of blood to the heads on the sideline when making decisions today also ,

Was over by the park earlier, there's vans from the Munster Council and RTÉ trying to get in but there's no one around, quite amusing the lads in the van are very unhappy.