Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ireland's Begrudgery - Good Thing or a Bad Thing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

IvySlayer wrote: »
    TO MARTHA!!

Anyway.

I don't know why there's a lot of hate towards Irish celebs. Bono, he's one of the most successful musicians of all time. He's good at it.

because of his preachy bullsh*t and moon-sized ego, he's thought of as a knob all over the world, not just by Irish people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

stovelid wrote: »

It's not. I think they are cunts.

Do you have any real reasons for hating bono or are you just following the sheep who hate him for no reason other than "everyone else hates him". What a crock of shít...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

On the other hand, I happen to have no problem with equally wealthy and famous Irish people like Robbie Keane and Phil Lynott so the begrudging argument is bogus.

Phil Lynnott was not liked when he was alive.

He got nothing but crap from people.

If you ever see an interview with his mother she always says that Phil wanted to be respected by people and he never got it.

He only became idolized after he died.

If you don't think that there is some undeserved begrudgery in this country then you are living under a rock.

Of course some people deserve it - I said that in the OP, but there are lot of people who's only crime is that they are succesful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

OutlawPete wrote: »

If you ever see an interview with his mother she always says that Phil wanted to be respected by people and he never got it.

He only became idolized after he died.

If you don't think that there is some undeserved begrudgery in this country then you are living under a rock.

give us some examples of people who are disliked for the wrong reasons then?

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    give us some examples of people who are disliked for the wrong reasons then?

If I do then you will just get posts saying:

"He's a wanker, always was .. I knew someone who knew him" blah blah.

What's the point?

You can't argue with people that just claim someone is a c*nt.

I don't mind someone like Degsy hating Gerry Ryan for instance as he can back it up.

He can tell you Gerry's a narcissistic bollox for A, B, C, D, E, F and f**king G and that's fine - I agree with him.

What I am saying is that there are people that if there name is brought up in public (or a public forum) you will a load of "He's a cnut" "He's just a scumbag" etc.

As I said, some people deserve the title others don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Look at Bono. We don't begrudge enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I don't buy this - look at our football team for example, very limited players like Zinedine Kilbane are national heroes ffs! We once had an open top bus for a snooker player. Where else would you get this? There might be a kind of hatred for the upper classes from lower classes, but i think this happens everywhere.

he most definitely is not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pete - you're saying that people can't make unsubstantiated statements like he's a cunt and you're issuing blanket statement like the above?

So nobody liked him whatsoever in Ireland. Was it a census entry? :pac:

I like Kilbane btw. He's a tryer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Do you have any real reasons for hating bono or are you just following the sheep who hate him for no reason other than "everyone else hates him". What a crock of shít...
    He's a muppet

So nobody liked him whatsoever in Ireland. Was it a census entry? :pac:

I didn't say "nobody liked him whatsoever" and to call me saying 'Phil wasn't liked' a "Blanket statement" is a joke - your smiley is apt so.

He wasn't liked anywhere near compared to how he is now.

If someone had told him that one day they'd put a statue of him outside his favourite boozer, he would have ahad some laugh i'd say.

He was looked down of being a junkie and mostly for being black.

He spoke in interviews of times when he was racial abused just walking the streets of Dublin.

At the heart of these requests for scientific evidence of Bono's cuntishness lies the begrudge principle. Some people just can't accept that you don't like some stellar Irish public figures. I think twenty plus years of listening to Bono's lyrics, his public pronouncements; seeing him in pubs occasionally, and reading his interviews gives me the right to light-heartedly dislike him without having to provide footnotes after every heretical utterance.

Doesn't mean he's not talented, or that I don't like some of U2s music, but so what?

He's a short arse as well. And what's with those clothes and shades at this age?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

At the heart of these requests for scientific evidence of Bono's cuntishness

Who's asking for evidence of Bonos cuntishness?

One guy did ask another poster why he didn't like Bono. Is that unreasonable? It's hardly asking for scientific evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Well, it isn't great at all. On the other hand, if you really wanna do something, then you'll do it, and not be a weak-minded sheep;)
    As stovelid said (I hope it was him, I'll look like an eejit :D) F*ck the begrudgers

Some people just can't accept that you don't like some stellar Irish public figures. I think twenty plus years of listening to Bono's lyrics, his public pronouncements; seeing him in pubs occasionally, and reading his interviews gives me the right to light-heartedly dislike him without having to provide footnotes after every heretical utterance.

Stove, you don't like Bono and you have given perfectly good reasons why you don't.

I don't class that as begrudging and I don't think anyone else would.

I clearly said in the OP that when people have a reason for not not liking someone then that is not what I consider begrudgery.

You are making out that people have a problem with you not liking Bono and other peole not liking someone when they have reasons.

That is not the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

You're lucky to have a mother that seems to be very wise.

A lot of people would tell you that most of the criticism and begrudgery that they have received, that has affected them the deepest their lives, has come from within their own family.

That's a very common trait whitin lots of Irish familys and of course it doesn't just stretch to becoming rich and famous either no , ordinary Joe /Julie Soap can feel that criticism and begrudgery to .

Who's asking for evidence of Bonos cuntishness?

One guy did ask another poster why he didn't like Bono. Is that unreasonable? It's hardly asking for scientific evidence.

Apparently someone asked him for "Scientific evidence" actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭irishdub14

Well, it isn't great at all. On the other hand, if you really wanna do something, then you'll do it, and not be a weak-minded sheep;)
    As stovelid said (I hope it was him, I'll look like an eejit :D) F*ck the begrudgers

In school, people actually dumb themselves down so they dont look like their good at something...!! I hate it, and when someones happy with a result, everyone thinks their bragging...! Only in Ireland!!! :(

One guy did ask another poster why he didn't like Bono. Is that unreasonable?

It's not necessary. That kind of dislike is a cumulative feeling borne of years of seeing the guy around town, reading his interviews; growing up with him in the media and listening to his music.

If I said he was criminal or paedo, proof would be required.

The very definition of what I'm saying about the fallacy of begrudgery is that one is expected to empirically justify their dislike because it's a stellar Irish figure that we're talking about.

And I actually like a lot of U2, albeit I don't like most of his lyrics and am more into the tunes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Mick Jagger doesnt attempt to save the world, does he?

Bono, a person who decided to re-locate U2s base the the netherlands for tax reasons, more or less thinks Africa would disappear off the face of the earth if it wasn't for him.

Given his vast wealth, surely he could just donate some of his money in true philantropic fashion, as opposed to continually engaging in the sheer hypocricy of whining on about all the worlds poverty and continuing to live a upper class lifestyle, dining with the world's elite. **** off Paul Hewson

You are making out that people have a problem with you not liking Bono and other peole not liking someone when they have reasons.

I got the feeling from these posts that it wasn't acceptable to just not like some public figures when it is - to me at least.

But fair enough.

I've said cunt enough for today as well, to be honest. :o

If I do then you will just get posts saying:

"He's a wanker, always was .. I knew someone who knew him" blah blah.

What's the point?

You can't argue with people that just claim someone is a c*nt.

I don't mind someone like Degsy hating Gerry Ryan for instance as he can back it up.

He can tell you Gerry's a narcissistic bollox for A, B, C, D, E, F and f**king G and that's fine - I agree with him.

What I am saying is that there are people that if there name is brought up in public (or a public forum) you will a load of "He's a cnut" "He's just a scumbag" etc.

As I said, some people deserve the title others don't.

One guy did ask another poster why he didn't like Bono. Is that unreasonable? .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Colm Meaney? Gotta love him for DS9

Damn right.
    Nobody ****ed with the Chief. Even the Bloody Cardies couldn't get him.

Here's an example of Irish begrudgery (and crime, but it's the only one I could think of off the top of my head).

I know a dude who faked having his car robbed so that he could claim off the insurance. Ok, I don't know for sure that it was faked, but that's the word on the street.
    Anyway, this guy's neighbour keeps throwing abuse because of the faked theft.
    The neighbour has done the exact same thing in the past, but can't do it any more because he has a criminal record and the Gardai don't particularly like him.

Dude then builds nice new garage at the side of his house and the neighbour is even more enraged.

Christ. Now I could go on all night about dodgy insurance claims. That's another thing Irish people are good at.
    Not me though. Passenger in several crashes and knocked down once and I've never claimed. /pats self on back for not causing insurance prices to rise through needless claims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭PLIIM

Oh man, The begrudgery in Ireland is pathetic.
    I got an infraction for personalizing (ie calling out the begrudgers) in a thread full of people attacking civil servants.
    Now im no bleeding heart and would not want to be a public sector worker for any money, but the treatment of them by others is very sad.

The very definition of what I'm saying about the fallacy of begrudgery is that one is expected to empirically justify their dislike because it's a stellar Irish figure that we're talking about.

That's a load of bulls*it.

Did you even read the OP Stove?

I clearly said that it didn't just apply to famous people.

I also clearly said that begrudery is directed at anyone in Irish society who has been a 'success'.

If somebody says something that is begrudging of another person's success then they should have reasons for that too - this is not about fame, stop suggesting that people are saying that it is.

PLIIM wrote: »

Originally Posted by stovelid View Post
    You have received an infraction at boards.ie
    Dear PLIIM,

You have received an infraction at boards.ie.

I had no idea of my secret powers?

I also clearly said that begrudery is directed at anyone in Irish society who has been a 'success'.

Well, I reserve the right to "unreasonably" dislike any or all of them lot too. Without justification.

I had no idea of my secret powers?

Nor did I, I was regretting being so strenuous in our discussion after reading that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭LeBash

Its classic that we cant accept someone has something we dont. Its such an Irish thing that kind of gets lost on foreign peoples opinion of us

Well, I reserve the right to "unreasonably" dislike any or all of them lot too. Without justification.

Fair enough, Option 1 for you in the Poll so .. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

He's a short arse as well. And what's with those clothes and shades at this age?

....not to mention his lovely hairdye and hair-transplant work. Not very RockNRoll?!

Here's a photo taken in 2002 with his 7yearsolder brother Norman. So that's a fair idea at what the pint sized poser 'should' look like in 2010. Vain little man in his frankenstein boots.

Fair enough, Option 1 for you in the Poll so .. :)

Done. :)