Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post your favourite 20 albums and I'll rate your musical taste out of 10

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I know this thread was a joke but how the hell has it gone on so long. Reading through its obvious you nothing about music and this paragraph sums it up. I'd rather poke my own eyes out with a screwdriver than post my favourite albums to be rated by anyone.

Your face is a joke. I assume the eye pokery would be a vast improvement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

im reeal looking forward to see what you think of mine haha

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Kid V

hmmmm

Kid A - Radiohead
    The Bends - Radiohead
    Turn On The Bright Lights - Interpol
    In The Aeroplane Over The Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel
    Odelay - Beck
    Dark Side Of The Moon - Pink Floyd
    Its A Wonderful Life - Sparklehorse
    Silent Shout - The Knife
    Hounds Of Love - Kate Bush
    Either/Or - Elliott Smith
    Strawberry Jam - Animal Collective
    Rounds - Four Tet
    Slanted & Enchanted - Pavement
    Sound Of Silver - LCD Soundsystem
    Entroducing - DJ Shadow
    New Adventures In Hi Fi - R.E.M
    Takk - Sigur Rós
    For Your Pleasure - Roxy Music
    Funeral - Arcade Fire
    Boxer - The National

hmmm??:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ByrdsFan

Here's a few for ya. Changes quite regularly, and in no particular order.

Steely Dan - Cant Buy A Thrill
    The Band - Music From Big Pink
    Neil Young - Rust Never Sleeps
    Quicksilver Messenger Service - Happy Trails
    Jefferson Airplane - After Bathing At Baxters
    Pink Floyd - Piper At The Gates Of Dawn
    Grateful Dead - Anthem Of The Sun
    Pixies - Dolittle
    Jimi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland
    Frank Zappa - Freak Out
    King Crimson - In The Court Of The Crimson King
    The Byrds - Younger Than Yesterday
    Crosby, Stills & Nash - Crosby, Stills & Nash
    Spiritualized - Ladies & Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space
    Funkadelic - Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On
    Led Zeppelin - Houses Of The Holy
    Talking Heads - Speaking In Tongues
    Velvet Underground - Velvet Underground & Nico
    David Bowie - Station To Station
    Santana - Santana

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Computerworld - Kraftwerk
    L.A. Woman - The Doors
    Amelie - Yann Tierson
    Hello Nasty - Beastie Boys
    Violator - Depeche Mode
    Close To The Edge - Yes
    From The Secret Laboratory - Lee 'Scratch' Perry
    Physical Graffiti - Led Zeppelin
    Talkie Walkie - AIR
    Selected Ambient Works - Aphex Twin
    Odelay - Beck
    Leftism - Leftfield
    Dark Side Of The Moon - Pink Floyd
    Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme - Simon & Garfunkel
    Nevermind - Nirvana
    La Peste - Alabama 3
    Abbey Road - The Beatles
    Ziggy Stardust - David Bowie
    We Hear You - Luke Vibert
    (doesn't really count as an album as such but Live At Wembley - Queen)

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Beave

Ok, in no particular order....

1. Abbey Road Beatles
    2. The Wall Pink Floyd
    3. The Presidents of the united states of america POTUSOA
    4. Skyscraper David Lee Roth
    5. Ten Pearl Jam
    6. Machine Head Deep Purple
    7. Surfing with the Alien Joe Satriani
    8. Images and words Dream Theater
    9. Forward Turn
    10. Flight of the cosmic hippo Bela Fleck and the flecktones
    11. Used songs Tom Waits
    12. Play Brad Paisley
    13. Back in Black AC/DC
    14. Rust in piece Megadeth
    15. Songs for the deaf Queens of the stoneage
    16. Extraordinary machine Fionna Apple
    17. Rumours Fleetwood Mac
    18. Alien love secret Steve Vai
    19. Antipop Primus
    20. Fear of pop Fear of Pop (ben folds)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 oconnm11

1. Nick cave, your funeral my trial
    2. Jesus Lizard, goat
    3. Slint, spiderland
    4. Drive like jehu, yank crime
    5. the libertines, the libertines
    6. Sonic Youth, Daydream nation
    7. The Fall, hex enduction hour
    8. Shellac, at action park
    9. Fugazi, repeater
    10. Liars, they threw us in a trench and stuck a monument on top
    11. Dinosaur jr, your living all over me
    12. Sonic youth, goo
    13. the birthday party, mutiny/the bad seed
    14. Interpol, turn on the bright lights,
    15. Talking heads, remain in light
    16. Archie bronson outfit, derdang derdang
    17. yeah yeah yeahs, is is ep
    18. Tom waits, swordfishtrombones
    19. Iggy pop, the idiot
    20. pil, metal box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Cured_Alright

1. In Rainbows - Radiohead
    2. Kid A/Amnesiac - Radiohead
    3. Hail To The Thief - Radiohead
    4. OK Computer - Radiohead
    5. Have One On Me - Joanna Newsom
    6. Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennae to Heaven - Godspeed You! Black Emperor
    7. Takk... - Sigur Ros
    8. ( ) - Sigur Ros
    9. Vespertine - Bjork
    10. Drukqs - Aphex Twin
    11. Yellow House - Grizzly Bear
    12. Tri Repetae [US Version] - Autechre
    13. Kind of Blue - Miles Davis
    14. Ringer EP - Four Tet
    15. Drum's Not Dead - Liars
    16. Thriller - Michael Jackson
    17. Roseland NYC Live - Portishead
    18. 3 - Portishead
    19. A Whole New Thing - Sly & The Family Stone
    20. Ege Bamyasi - Can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 TonythePony

1. The Queen is Dead - The Smiths
    2. From the Lion's Mouth - The Sound
    3. For Your Pleasure - Roxy Music
    4. Assembly - The Wake
    5. Far Away Trains Passing By - Ulrich Schnauss
    6. Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes
    7. Cold Fact - Rodriguez
    8. Live at Newport- John Lee Hooker
    9. Le Monde Fabuleux Des Yamasuki- Yamasuki Singers
    10. Don't Try this at Home- Billy Bragg
    11. Real Life - Magazine
    12. Bringing it all Back Home - Bob Dylan
    13. We Thrive on Big Cities - Director
    14. Viva Hate- Morrissey
    15. Shouting Quietly- Bradford
    16. What's Going On- Marvin Gaye
    17. Blue Train - John Coltrane
    18. Head Hunters- Herbie Hancock
    19. LC- Durutti Column
    20. Trans Canada HighWay- Boards of Canada

Monzo wrote: »
    Neil Young - After The Goldrush
    Tom Waits - Rain Dogs
    Bob Dylan - Time Out Of Mind
    Bob Dylan - Blonde on Blonde
    Pixies - Trompe Le Monde
    Pixies - Doolittle
    Husker Du - Warehouse: Songs and Stories
    Replacements - Tim
    David Bowie - Ziggy Stardust
    The Rolling Stones - Exile on Main Street
    Dinosaur Jr - You're Living All Over Me
    Frank Black - Teenager of the Year
    Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works 85-92
    Violent Femmes - Violent Femmes
    The Stooges - Fun House
    The Velvet Underground - VU
    Leonard Cohen - I'm Your Man
    Sugar - Copper Blue
    The Kinks - Arthur
    Iggy Pop - Lust For Life
    Alright 6.3
    kmick wrote: »
    No particular order.
    Underworld - Second Toughest in the infants
    Van Morrison - Astral weeks
    Air - Moon Safari
    Pixies - Doolittle
    Orbital - Insides
    Kraftwerk - Radioactivity
    The Doors - Strange Days
    Paul Brady - Hard Station
    AC/DC - Back in Black
    PJ Harvey - Songs from the city songs from the sea
    Guns n Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    Placebo - Without you Im nothing
    Sufjan Stevens - Illinoise
    The Strokes - Is this it
    Nirvana - Nevermind
    Bruce Springsteen - Tunnel of Love
    GYBE - F-sharp, A-sharp, Infinity
    Pulp - Different Class
    Massive Attack - Blue Lines
    Leftfield - Leftism
    Ironman76 wrote: »
    Velvet Underground & Nico - Banana Album (as its known)
    Alice In Chains - MTV Unplugged
    Alice In Chains - Dirt
    Jeff Buckley - Grace
    Iron Maiden - Powerslave
    Buena Vista Social Club
    The Doors - The Doors
    Metallica - Kill Em All
    Metallica - Master of Puppets
    Beatles - Sgt Peppers LHCB
    Snoop Doggy Dogg - Doggystyle
    The Good, The Bad and the Ugly OST
    Johnny Cash - Live at Folsolm Prison
    Nirvana - Nevermind
    Sepultura - Kaos AD
    Public Enemy - Yo! Bum Rush the Show
    Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Majik
    Nirvana - MTV Unplugged
    DJ Shadow - Endtroducing
    great thread, fair play kold ...
    here ya go - no order, just random picks of stuff I love from me brain
    The Cure
    Massive Attack – Blue Lines
    Planxty – Planxty (The Black Album)
    Stone Roses – Stone Roses
    Blur – Think Tank
    The Band – Music from Big Pink
    Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band – Bluejeans and Moonbeams
    Damien Dempsey –Sieze the Day
    The Beatles – Abbey Road
    Pink Floyd – The Dark Side of the Moon
    Josh Rouse – Nashville
    Sigur Ros – ( )
    Wilco – A Ghost is Born
    Neil Young – After the Gold Rush
    Tom Waits – Closing Time
    Bob Marley and the Wailers – Natty Dread
    Kraftwerk – Minimum-Maximum
    Radiohead – In Rainbows
    Fionn Regan – The End of History
    Lemon Jelly – Lost Horizons
    6.8 although tempted to subtract a point for all the code crap that comes up when I quote your post.
    pansoul wrote: »
    A rough cross-section of my taste:
    1. Dubblestandart - Immigration Dub
    2. Dub Syndicate - Echomania
    3. The Gladiators - Trench Town Mix Up
    4. Dream Warriors - And Now, The Legacy Begins
    5. De La Soul - 3 Feet High And Rising
    6. King Sunny Ade - Juju Music
    7. Orlando Julius - Super Afro Soul
    8. Etienne de Crécy - Super Discount 2
    9. Booka Shade - Movements
    10. Portico Quartet - Knee-Deep In The North Sea
    11. Harlem River Drive - Harlem River Drive
    12. Kíla - Lemonade & Buns
    13. Julie Fowlis - Uam
    14. Yelle - Pop Up
    15. The LK - Vs The Snow
    16. Cornershop - When I Was Born For The Seventh Time
    17. Dreadzone - Second Light
    18. Bloc Party - Silent Alarm
    19. Caetano Veloso - Domingo
    20. Serge Gainsbourg - Histoire de Melody Nelson
    Not for me 4.5
    fluke wrote: »
    Cool thread Kold! Here is my lot (as of today anyhow...)

AC/DC – Highway To Hell
    Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
    Arcade Fire - Funeral
    Bob Dylan – Time Out Of Mind
    Chris Cornell – Euphoria Morning
    Foo Fighters – There is Nothing Left To Lose
    Jeff Buckley – Grace
    Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American
    Led Zeppelin III
    Lisa Hannigan – Sea Sew
    Metallica – Load
    Page & Plant – No Quarter
    Pearl Jam – Live On Two Legs
    Queens Of The Stone Age – Lullabies To Paralyse
    Radiohead – OK Computer
    Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
    Sheryl Crow – S/T
    Soundgarden – Superunknown
    The Killers - Sam’s Town
    U2 – How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb
    Dull as a dull thing. 4.6

Josh Ritter - The Animal Years (Why are you making me choose albums? :( LOve all his music)
    Frank Turner - The First Three Years (Technically cheating because it's a compilation album, but has so much great music.
    Rory Gallagher - Photofinish
    Neil Young - After The Gold Rush
    Jimmy Eat World - Bleed American
    Dr. Dre - The Chronic
    Stephen Lynch - The Craig Machine
    Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
    Bright Eyes - Digital Ash in a Digital Urn (Love all the albums TBH)
    Elliott Smith - Either/Or (Couldn't actually decide, love all his albums so threw this down.)
    The Postal Service - Give up
    Nas - Illmatic
    James Taylor - James Taylor
    The Libertines - The Libertines
    Mic Christopher - Skylarkin'
    The Who - Tommy
    The Beatles - The White Album
    Mick Flannery - White Lies
    Lou Reed - Perfect Night Live in London (Compilation album, but still an album)
    SOAD - Toxicity.

It's a hard choice choosing albums TBH! And even I am not sure how accurate this is, I had to give it some variety like. But these are 20 of my favourite albums, maybe not my top 20 favourite. And they are in no particular order. Rate me! :)
    No redos!
    new fang wrote: »
    mine's probably right boring:

pixies - doolittle
    radiohead - in rainbows
    wu-tang clan - 36 chambers (enter the wu-tang)
    earth - pentastar: in the style of demons
    arctic monkeys - whatever people say i am
    beck - mellow gold
    outkast - stankonia
    beatles - white album
    david bowie - hunky dory
    the smiths - the queen is dead
    hot chip - the warning
    john frusciante - curtains
    talking heads - remain in light
    pavement - slanted and enchanted
    violent femmes - violent femmes
    kino - noci
    smashing pumpkins - siamese dream
    something by qotsa (couldn't decide between rated r and songs for the deaf)
    something by boris (smile, pink or heavy rocks)

i thought i was eclectic but oh well
    Solid enough really 7.3
    In no order, im not quite as obscure as some of ye on here but il give it a lash anyway. Im sure my mainstream(ish) taste will earn my a low score.

1. Lisa Hannigan - Sea Sew
    2. Justice- Cross
    3. The Libertines- The Libertines
    4. The Libertines- Up the Bracket
    5. Pete Doherty - Grace/Wasteland
    6. Rage Against The Machine- RATM
    7. Beach Boys- Pet Sounds
    8. The Stone Roses- The Stone Roses
    9. Vampire Weekend- Vampire Weekend
    10. Blink 182- Chesire Cat
    11. Arcade Fire- Funeral
    12. Alphabeat- This is Alphabeat
    13. The Commitments - The Commitments
    14. Rodrigo y Gabriela - re- Foc
    15. Nirvana- Unplugged
    16. AC/DC- Back in Black
    17. Arctic Monkeys- Whatever people say I am . .
    18. Babyshambles- Down in Albion
    19. Muse- Live from Wembley
    20. Damien Rice- O

Go easy now.
    grenache wrote: »
    I don't like the idea of this thread, but here goes anyway, in no particular order:

Genesis - Invisible Touch
    Genesis - We Can't Dance
    Duran Duran - Rio
    Aerosmith - Pump
    Roxy Music - Viva
    Roxy Music - Flesh & Blood
    Blondie - Parallel Lines
    Bon Jovi - Slippery When Wet
    Bon Jovi - Keep The Faith
    Queen - The Works
    U2 - War
    ELO - Discovery
    Garbage - Version 2.0
    Ocean Colour Scene - Moseley Shoals
    The Police - Synchronicity
    Thin Lizzy - Live & Dangerous
    Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms
    INXS - Kick
    The Cars - The Cars
    Robert Palmer - Heavy Nova
    next wrote:
    right here goes , top 5 are my all time favs rest is just this month
    John Martyn -Grace & danger
    John Martyn - And
    Bob Dylan -Nashville Skyline
    Tom Waits - Blue Valentine
    Tom Waits - Rain Dogs
    John Mayall & Eric Clapton- Bluesbreakers
    Ron Sexsmith - Exit Strategy of the soul
    Nina Simone - Silk & Soul
    Various Artists -Jazzin the blues
    Gomez - Bring it on
    Buddy & julie Miller- Written in chalk
    Chuck Prophet - age of miracles
    Lenord Cohen -Live in London
    Cuban Cafe -Disc 2
    The Doors- Morrison Hotel
    Fela Kuti - London Scene
    Seriously lacking contemporary. 5

Lukker- wrote: »
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers - By the Way
    The Jam - The Gift
    Gorillaz - Gorillaz
    Pendulum - Hold your Colour
    Justice - Cross
    DJ Shadow - Entroducing
    The Prodigy - Music for the Jilted Generation
    Jay-Z - Black Album
    Daft Punk - Homework
    Smashing Pumpkins - Adore
    Fila Brazillia - Another Late Night
    Aphex Twin : Druqks
    Buena Vista Social Club
    Dr.Dre - 2001
    Fatboy Slim - You've Come a Long Way Baby
    Daft Punk - Discovery
    The Smiths - The Queen is Dead
    Pink Floyd - the Dark Side of the Moon
    Jimmi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine
    5.8 Your hip hop requires work
    Balmed Out wrote: »
    REM - New Adventures in Hi Fi
    The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
    Beastie Boys- Hello Nasty
    Ocean Colour Scene - Mosley Shoals
    Primal Scream - Screamadelica
    The Clash - London Callling
    Blur - Blur
    Oasis - Definately Maybe
    Badly drawn boy - About a boy soundtrack
    Suede - Coming Up
    Pink Floyd - The Wall
    Mercury Rev -Deserters Songs
    the avalanches - since i left you
    The Jam - Sound Affects actually no ill go with the gift instead
    James -Gold Mother
    The Strokes - Is this it
    The Who - Who's Next
    The Dandy Warhols - The Dandy Warhols Come Down
    Radiohead - The bends
    Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    Pixies Doolitle
    Oh and ill throw in The Frank and Walters - Grand Parade too.

Im a few over but cant decide who to remove
    I'll remove them for you so... The Libertines, Mosely Shoals and the Dandy Warhols.
    Tidied it up a little. 6.1
    fergpie wrote: »
    These always get a listen to...

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile
    Tool - Lateralus
    A Perfect Circle - 13th Step
    Radiohead - The Bends
    Radiohead - OK Computer
    Pearl Jam - Vitalogy
    Mogwai - Happy Songs For Happy People
    Sigur Ros - Takk
    Incubus - Make Yourself
    Seether - One Cold Night
    Slipknot - Vol 3 The Subliminal Verses
    Deftones - White Pony
    David Grey - White Ladder
    Bell X1 - Neither am I
    Bruce Springsteen - Greatest Hits
    Smashing Pumpkins - Greatest Hits
    BickNarry wrote: »
    Repost cuz never got rated...

Steel Pulse-Handsworth Revolution
    Fugazi-Repeater
    Black Uhuru-Red
    Chumbawamba-Pictures of Starving Children Sell Records
    Crass-Penis Envy
    Rory Gallagher-Rory Gallagher
    The Specials-The Specials
    The Disposable Hereos of HipHoprisy-Hipocrisy, the Greatest Luxery
    The Smiths-Meat is Murder
    Harry J Allstars-The Liquidator
    Public Image Ltd.- Metal Box
    The Clash-From here to Eternity
    The Slits-Cut
    The Ruts-In a Rut
    The Stone Roses-The Stone Roses
    Chumbawamba-The Boy Bands Have Won
    The Dead Kennedys- Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables
    Various Artists-Let me tell you, boy! (Female Rocksteady classic)
    Bob Marley -African Herbsman
    Vital Disorders- Prams E.P
    Given my opinion of myself depends on other peoples opinion of me (and my taste in Music) I said I would post this again in the hope that almightly Kold rate me! :P

Josh Ritter - The Animal Years (Why are you making me choose albums? LOve all his music)
    Frank Turner - The First Three Years (Technically cheating because it's a compilation album, but has so much great music.
    Rory Gallagher - Photofinish
    Neil Young - After The Gold Rush
    Jimmy Eat World - Bleed American
    Dr. Dre - The Chronic
    Stephen Lynch - The Craig Machine
    Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
    Bright Eyes - Digital Ash in a Digital Urn (Love all the albums TBH)
    Elliott Smith - Either/Or (Couldn't actually decide, love all his albums so threw this down.)
    The Postal Service - Give up
    Nas - Illmatic
    James Taylor - James Taylor
    Mic Christopher - Skylarkin'
    The Who - Tommy
    The Beatles - The White Album
    Mick Flannery - White Lies
    Lou Reed - Perfect Night Live in London (Compilation album, but still an album)
    SOAD - Toxicity.

It's a hard choice choosing albums TBH! And even I am not sure how accurate this is, I had to give it some variety like. But these are 20 of my favourite albums, maybe not my top 20 favourite. And they are in no particular order. Rate me!
    These are the albums I'm gonna go with so; Stephen Lynch is an automatic -3
    mayordenis wrote: »
    At the Drive-In - Relationship of Command
    Queens of the Stone Age - Rated R
    Beastie Boys - License to Ill
    Lars Fredricksen and the Bastards - Lars Fredricksen and the Bastards
    Metallica - Ride the Lightning
    Blur - Parklife
    Andrew WK - I Get Wet
    Chromeo - She's in Control
    The Divine Comedy - Fin De Siécle
    Rancid - And Out Come the Wolves
    Slayer - Reign in Blood
    Deftones - White Pony
    Neil Young - Life
    The Hellacopters - High Visibility
    Pulp - Different Class
    Justice - †
    The Offspring - Smash
    Hüsker Dü - Warehouse: Songs and Stories
    Eagles of Death Metal - Death by Sexy
    Kraftwerk - The Man-Machine
    duckworth wrote: »
    Here's my 20 - there's a few compilations because I tend to like alot of music made before LPs were widespread.

And I didn't throw in Illmatic or Straight Outta Compton to make myself look cool either. Hip-Hop has no great albums in my opinion, only great singles.

The Mississippi Sheiks - Stop and Listen
    Bob Dylan - World Gone Wrong
    Bob Dylan - Live at the Royal Albert Hall '66
    Radiohead - Kid A
    D'Angelo - Voodoo
    Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings
    2 Sides of Sam Cooke - Sam Cooke & and the Soul Stirrers
    Captain Beefheart - Safe as Milk
    Velvet Underground - 3rd album
    David Bowie - Low
    DJ Shadow - Endtroducing
    Van Morrison - Moondance
    Tom Waits - Alice
    Harry Smith's Anthology of American Folk Music
    Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic era
    Beatles - The White Album
    Otis Redding - Otis Blue
    Hank Williams - The Essential Hank Williams
    Arcade Fire - Funeral
    Ray Charles - The Atlantic Years

The bold part disappoints me. Take your 6 and go listen to Deltron 3030.

A V A wrote: »
    in no order my 20=

angels and airwaves - we dont need to whisper
    joy division - unknown pleasures
    mr hudson - straight no chasers
    the presets - apocalypso
    blink 182- self titled ablum
    blink 182 dude ranch
    human league - travelouge
    john foxx - metamatic
    felix cartal - popular music
    foals - antidotes
    the xx - xx
    the drums - summertime
    the smiths - meat is murder
    the cure - disintegration
    the postal service - give up
    take that - the circus
    depeche mode - speak and spell
    human league - dare
    the maccabees - wall of arms
    deadmau5 - for lack of a better name

you forgot mine :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

A V A wrote: »
    you forgot mine :D:D

feckin hell man keep your pants on :p he'll get around to you eventually.

i was way before most of the guys he quoted and marked hehe im just dying to see what his taste in music thinks :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Feck this is difficult. I've tried my best to get a good sample from across the decades, and from various genres, although rock/indie is definitely my favourite. There are so many good albums and artists that are not represented, but I tried to focus on the true pioneers.

The Velvet Underground - The Velvet Underground & Nico
    The Beatles - White Album
    Led Zeppelin - IV
    The Stooges - Raw Power
    The Clash - London Calling
    Talking Heads - Remain in Light
    The Cure - Disintegration
    Dinosaur Jr. - You're Living All Over Me
    Pixies - Surfer Rosa
    Pavement - Slanted and Enchanted
    Joy Division - Substance (A compilation I know, but as most of there music was never released on a studio album I decided to include it)
    A Tribe Called Quest - People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm
    Nirvana - Nevermind
    Radiohead - Ok Computer
    Sigur Rós - Ágætis byrjun
    The Strokes - Is This It?
    Interpol - Turn on the Bright Lights
    Arcade Fire - Funeral
    LCD Soundsystem - Sound of Silver

Edit:- shit left out pixies don't know how that happened, added surfer rosa, removed weezer pinkerton.
    Edit2.0: - wanted to add Talking Heads 'Remain in Light', but didn't know what to remove, Pavements 'Slanted and Enchanted' or Oasis 'Definitely Maybe', went with Oasis because they're generally over represented in these lists, and Pavement tragically unrepresented.
    Edit3.0: - Left out Joy Division, was forced to remove sage francis.

Unrepresenting rap and electronic tbh, but hey that's just the way I lean.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

White Butterfly - InMe
    Good Apollo I'm Burning Star IV - Coheed and Cambria
    One Day Remains - Alterbridge
    Signing Off - UB40
    Vagabonds of The Western World - Thin Lizzy
    Believe - Disturbed
    Twelve Year Silence - Dark New Day
    Greyest Of Blue Skies - Finger Eleven
    Crisis - Alexisonfire
    Dirt - Alice In Chains
    Hold Your Colour - Pendulum
    Overgrown Eden - InMe
    The Sufferer & The Witness - Rise Against
    Those We Leave Behind - I Am Ghost
    Hybrid Theory - Linkin Park
    Farewell To Kings - Rush
    Purpendicular - Deep Purple
    Made In Japan - Deep Purple
    Come Clean - Puddle of Mudd
    Alice In Chains - Alice In Chains

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Originally Posted by Lukker-
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers - By the Way
    The Jam - The Gift
    Gorillaz - Gorillaz
    Pendulum - Hold your Colour
    Justice - Cross
    DJ Shadow - Entroducing
    Jay-Z - Black Album
    Daft Punk - Homework
    Smashing Pumpkins - Adore
    Fila Brazillia - Another Late Night
    Aphex Twin : Druqks
    Buena Vista Social Club
    Dr.Dre - 2001
    Fatboy Slim - You've Come a Long Way Baby
    Daft Punk - Discovery
    Pink Floyd - the Dark Side of the Moon
    Jimmi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine
    Originally Posted by Kold
    5.8 Your hip hop requires work

There's a Pendulum album in there and it's his hip hop that requires work?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

There's a Pendulum album in there and it's his hip hop that requires work?

By The Way is there as well :confused:

Jay P wrote: »
    By The Way is there as well :confused:

Excellent point!

Miles Davis - In a Silent Way
    Nas - Illmatic
    Zakir Hussain, John Abercrombie & Jan Garbarek - Making Music
    Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
    Calibre - Second Sun
    Dead Kennedys - Fresh Fruit For Rotten Vegetables
    Breakage - This Too Shall Pass
    Ghost Face Killah - Iron Man
    Jan Garbarek - I took up the Runes
    Keith Jarret - Koln Concert
    Photek - Modus Operandi
    Burial - Untrue
    Sabres of Paradise - Haunted Dancehall
    Roger Waters - Amused to Death
    Steve Reich - Music for 18 Musicians
    Goodie Mob - Soul Food
    Jeff Mills - Live At the Liquid Room
    Metalheadz presents: Platinum Breakz Volume 1

No particular order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Hexagrams

In no particular order:-

1. Pink Moon - Nick Drake
    2. Songs For The Deaf - QOTSA
    3. In The Aeroplane Over The Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel
    4. 10,000 Days - Tool
    5. White Pony - Deftones
    6. Blood Mountain - Mastodon
    7. Green Album - Weezer
    8. Reise, Reise - Rammstein
    9. Clutch - Blast Tyrant
    10. Battle Of Los Angeles - RATM

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kold wrote: »
    I'm happy enough with this, if a fan of alternative stuff rated my taste highly, then i would be worried.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

System of A Down-Toxicity

Weezer-Pinkerton

Weezer-Blue Album

Radiohead-Ok Computer

The Raconteurs-Broken Boy Soldiers

My Bloody Valentine-Loveless

Manic Street Preachers-The Holy Bible

Manic Street Preachers-Journal for Plague Lovers

Jawbreaker-Dear You

Jimmy Eat World-Bleed American

Arcade Fire-Funeral

Arctic Monkeys-Favourite Worst Nightmares

Arctic Monkeys-Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not

Bad Religion-Stranger than Fiction

Blur-13

Brand New-Daisy

Brand New-The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me

Brand New-Your Favourite Weapon

Bruce Springsteen-The Rising

Foo Fighters-Foo Fighters

I regret nothing.

OP I know your a busy man,any chance of a rating?

ye same

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Funkfield wrote: »
    9. Faith No More - "Angeldust"
    12 Jurassic 5 - "Quality Control"
    14 TOOL - "Aenima"
    15 Mr Bungle - "Mr. Bungle"
    18 Pantera - "Vulgar Display Of Power"
    19 Pig Destroyer - "Phantom Limb"
    20 Primus - "Pork Soda"
    This guy deserves 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

Haha, let's do this.

Two notes:
    1. Yes, I know a lot of this music is new, I guess I just prefer newer music. I'm open to music regardless of age, but this is the result.

2. I've been open to hip-hop, but none of the albums I've heard to date have made the list. I've not been a fan of the "WU TANG CLAN AIN'T NOTHIN TO **** WIT" old-school hip-hop, nor can I stand the mainstream hip-hop on the radio. I know that there's a middle ground, and I've promised to give hip-hop another chance soon. If I HAD to add a hip-hop album, I'd add Kanye West's The College Dropout.

In NO order, one-album-by-artist.

1. Funeral by Arcade Fire
    2. By The Way by Red Hot Chili Peppers
    3. Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not by Arctic Monkeys
    4. Alive 2007 by Daft Punk
    5. In Rainbows by Radiohead (comment: only other radiohead album I heard was OK Computer, I liked it but it doesn't deserve to be here)
    6. Live at Rock Werchter by Damien Rice (comment: I have no shame)
    7. Good News For People Who Love Bad News by Modest Mouse (comment: I still have not listened to The Moon & Antarctica or any of their earlier stuff. I don't know why.)
    8. Cross by Justice (comment: This wouldn't have been the case before, but it really has grown on me)
    9. Tonight: Franz Ferdinand
    10. Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix by Phoenix (comment: I also love some of the Phoenix Remixed disc that comes with the deluxe version of the album)
    11. Absolution by Muse
    12. Sigh No More by Mumford & Sons
    13. Mirror's Edge: The Original Videogame Score by Solar Fields
    14. The Dark Side of The Moon by Pink Floyd
    15. Urban Hymns by The Verve
    16. Let's Dance by David Bowie
    17. Antidotes by Foals (comment: It was REALLY hard to choose between this and Total Life Forever, but I've got Antidotes+B-Sides and the B-Sides were awesome)
    18. Demon Days by Gorillaz
    19. Brothers by The Black Keys
    20. Silent Alarm by Bloc Party

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Ihackedboardz

Pink Floyd- The Dark Side of The Moon
    Radiohead-Ok Computer
    Moby- Evertyhing is wrong
    Orbital - Snivilisation
    Pixies - Surfer Rosa
    ACDC - Back in Black
    Chemical Brothers- In dust we trust
    The Cure - Disintegration
    David Bowie - Ziggy Stardust
    Ocean Colour Scene - Moseley Shoals
    The Orb - Adventures Beyond the ultraworld
    Paul Hartnoll - The Ideal Condition
    The Rolling Stones - Exile On Main St
    T Rex - Electric Warrior
    Tricky -Maxinquaye
    Underworld -Dubnobasswithmyheadman
    Vangelis- Bladerunner (yes a soundtrack but what a soundtrack!!)

in no particular order

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Joe_Dull

Ascendancy - Trivium
    Blackened Sky - Biffy Clyro
    The Vertigo of Bliss - Biffy Clyro
    Images & Words - Dream Theater
    Black Clouds & Silver Linings - Dream Theater
    Take a Look in the Mirror - Korn
    Take to the Skies - Enter Shikari
    Harvest - Neil Young
    Abbey Road - The Beatles
    Revolver - The Beatles
    Colony - In Flames
    Soundtrack to Your Escape - In Flames
    A Certain Trigger - Maximo Park
    Natural Born Chaos - Soilwork
    Doppelganger - The Fall of Troy
    The Fame Monster - Lady Gaga
    L'inventaire - Christophe Willem
    Man Vs Monster - Fighting With Wire
    Start Something - Lostprophets
    System of a Down - System of a Down

That list isn't exhaustive, but a pretty good cross-section. I didn't include any musical OSTs, but I really enjoy them as well (Sweeney Todd, RENT etc.)