Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post your favourite 20 albums and I'll rate your musical taste out of 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

First 20 that came to mind:

Beatles - Rubber Soul
    Bowie - Hunky Dory
    Bowie - Young Americans
    White Stripes - White Stripes
    White Stripes - White Blood Cells
    Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
    Traveling Wilburys - Traveling Wilburys Volume One
    Beta Band - 3 EPs
    Radiohead - OK Computer
    George Harrison - All Things Must Pass
    Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour
    Fleetwood Mac - Rumours
    Talking Heads - Remain In Light
    Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
    Bob Dylan - Blonde on Blonde
    Simon and Garfunkel - Wednesday Morning 8 AM
    Paul Simon - Graceland
    Lou Reed - Transformer
    Bob Dylan - Nashville Skyline
    Badly Drawn Boy - Hour of the Bewilderbeast
    Joy Division - Unkown Pleasures

Woefully obvious and mainstream I know, but still good I hope. You may also be able to see that when it comes to music I have a bit of a split personality!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Mine
    20.Tindersticks[II]
    19.Either/Or-Elliot Smith
    18.Sign O' The Times-Prince
    17.Aja-Steely Dan
    16.Dear Science-TV On The Radio
    15.Hex Enduction Hour-The Fall
    14.Scary Monsters-David Bowie
    13.Radiator-Super Furry Animals
    12.Bryter Layter-Nick Drake
    11.Stankonia-OutKast
    10.The Low End Theory-A Tribe Called Quest
    9.Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain-Pavement
    8.Meat Is Murder-The Smiths
    7.Imperial Bedroom-Elvis Costello
    6.Paul's Boutique-Beastie Boys
    5.Heartworm-Whipping Boy
    4.Something Else By The Kinks
    3.A Ghost Is Born-Wilco
    2.Remain In Light-Talking Heads
    1.Alligator-The National

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

Waitaminnit...

I assume Kold himself should be able to provide us with the definitive list then? The perfect 10.0?

Well, come on then... :p

By the way, I see your "Body Riddle" and raise you "Dig Me" (King Crimson)

It's 26 years old.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xh7wCF_73Rg

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

Heres my list of favourite albums in no order except alphabetical:

Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavillion
    Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
    A R Rahman - Slumdog Millionaire OST
    The Avalanches - Since I Left You
    The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
    The Beatles - The White Album
    Blink 182 - Take Off Your Pants And Jacket
    Bob Dylan - Bringing It All Back Home
    Coldplay - Viva La Vida
    Daft Punk - Discovery
    Elbow - Seldom Seen Kid
    Hard-Fi - Once Upon A Time In The West
    Herbie Hancock - Headhunters
    Justice - Cross
    LCD Soundsystem - LCD Soundsystem & 45:33
    Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II & Led Zeppelin IV
    My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
    Neil Young - Harvest
    Nirvana - Nevermind & In Utero
    Oasis - What's The Story (Morning Glory)
    Radiohead - The Bends, Ok Computer & Kid A
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magic
    Saint Etienne - Foxbase Alpha
    Sigur Ros - Takk
    Steely Dan - Aja, Countdown To Ecstasy & The Royle Scam
    Vivaldi - The Four Seasons
    Weather Report - Heavy Weather
    The White Stripes - Get Behind Me Satin

Too many albums to think of. There was no possble way i could get them down any further than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Resubmit;

Couldn't possibly get it down to 20, but if I leave out live albums and compilations, and only allow one from any band, I can whittle the very best down to 30

All About Eve - All About Eve
    Biosphere - Microgravity
    Blue Aeroplanes - Stagger
    Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks
    Can - Tago Mago
    Dead Can Dance - Aion
    Gong - Camembert Electrique
    Pink Floyd - Meddle
    Doors - LA Woman
    Derek and the Dominoes - Layla and other Love Songs
    Fields of the Nephilim - The Nephilim
    Flaming Lips - Hit to Death in the Future Head
    Grant Lee Buffalo - Fuzzy
    The Stooges - Raw Power
    JJ Cale - Naturally
    Jane's Addiction - Ritual de lo Habitual
    Jesus and Mary Chain - Psychocandy
    Jimi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland
    John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers - A Hard Road
    Joy Division - Closer
    Kraftwerk - Autobahn
    Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin
    Neil Young - Harvest
    Rage Against the Machine - Rage Against the Machine
    Spiritualized - Laser Guided Melodies
    Slint - Spiderland
    Smiths - Meat is Murder
    Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation
    Tool - Lateralus
    Velvet Underground - White Light White Heat

I don't think there's a single album there from the last 15 years, but maybe that's how long it takes for an album to become great
    There have been some very good recent albums from the likes of Sigur Ros, Fleet Foxes etc but nothing that makes my list. Maybe next time...
    I'm very curious:

1.Muse - Absolution
    2.Muse - Origin of Symmetry
    3.The Phoenix Foundation (Mostly) - Eagle Vs Shark Soundtrack
    4.Flight of the Conchords - Flight of the Conchords :D
    5.Bon Iver - For Emma Forever Ago
    6.Rolling Stones - Forty Licks
    7.The Killers - Hot Fuss
    8.Eddie Vedder - Into The Wild
    9.The Beatles - Love
    10.MGMT - Oracular Spectacular
    11.Empire of the Sun - Walking on a Dream
    12.Vampire Weekend - Vampire Weekend
    13.The Beatles - Revolver
    14.Grizzily Bear - Veckatimest
    15.Florence and the Machine - Lungs
    16.Jon Brian - Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind Sountrack
    17.Cream - Disraeli Gears
    18.Michael Jackson - Number Ones
    19.Maroon 5 -Songs About Jane
    29.The Phoenix Foundation - Happy Ending (well this first half rocks the second half meh)

I'm more of a songs here and there kind of person than albums but..uh anyway..
    Fandango wrote: »
    No order:

Radiohead - The Bends
    The Verve - Urban Hymns
    Damien Dempsey - Shots
    Aslan - Made In Dublin
    Led Zep - Remasters (ok, kinda a cheat!)
    Pearl Jam - Ten
    Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Chollie
    The Pogues - Rum Sodomy & the Lash
    Simon And Gar - Bridge over Troubled Water
    The Frames - Fitzcarraldo
    Radiohead - Ok Computer
    Jeff Buckley - Grace
    Rage Against The Machine - Rage Against The Machine
    Elbow - Asleep In The Back
    Dr Dre - 2001
    The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
    Supergrass - In It For The Money
    U2 - All That You Cant Leave Behind
    Manic Street Preachers - Everything Must Go
    Blur - Modern Life Is Rubbish (altho stuck between that and Leisure, but went with the one i listen to more)

I could add another 20 really but im far too lazy! :)
    Caveat wrote: »
    Can I do an alternative 20 to see how it fares?

It would be genuine too - like many people my 'favourite' albums change regularly.

I've a feeling it wouldn't fare much better though :)

Nah, one list each. This is me doing people a service remember?

Blisterman wrote: »
    Mine again
    Diamond Nights - Popsicle
    Kanye West - Graduation
    Lupe Fiasco - Food and Liquor
    Guns n Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    Van Halen - Van Halen
    Common - Be
    Empire of the Sun - Empire of the Sun
    Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy
    Blue Oyster Cult - Agents of Fortune
    Outkast - Speakerboxxx/Love Below
    NERD - In Search of
    Janes Addiction - Ritual de lo Habitual
    Nas - Untitled
    Beach Boys - Surf's Up
    Queens of the Stone Age - Songs for the Deaf
    Red Hot Chili Peppers - By the Way
    Stevie Wonder - Innervisions
    The Who - Tommy
    Noisettes - Wild Young Hearts
    Love - Forever Changes
    Nicolay and Kay - Timeline
    5.7 So much love for Guns & Roses in this country. Beggars belief.
    Superbus wrote: »
    First 20 that came to mind:

Beatles - Rubber Soul
    Bowie - Hunky Dory
    Bowie - Young Americans
    White Stripes - White Stripes
    White Stripes - White Blood Cells
    Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
    Traveling Wilburys - Traveling Wilburys Volume One
    Beta Band - 3 EPs
    Radiohead - OK Computer
    George Harrison - All Things Must Pass
    Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour
    Fleetwood Mac - Rumours
    Talking Heads - Remain In Light
    Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
    Simon and Garfunkel - Wednesday Morning 8 AM
    Paul Simon - Graceland
    Lou Reed - Transformer
    Bob Dylan - Nashville Skyline
    Badly Drawn Boy - Hour of the Bewilderbeast
    Joy Division - Unkown Pleasures

Woefully obvious and mainstream I know, but still good I hope. You may also be able to see that when it comes to music I have a bit of a split personality!
    There's personality here? Could've fooled me. A no frills 5.
    Mine
    20.Tindersticks[II]
    19.Either/Or-Elliot Smith
    18.Sign O' The Times-Prince
    17.Aja-Steely Dan
    16.Dear Science-TV On The Radio
    15.Hex Enduction Hour-The Fall
    14.Scary Monsters-David Bowie
    13.Radiator-Super Furry Animals
    12.Bryter Layter-Nick Drake
    11.Stankonia-OutKast
    10.The Low End Theory-A Tribe Called Quest
    9.Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain-Pavement
    8.Meat Is Murder-The Smiths
    7.Imperial Bedroom-Elvis Costello
    6.Paul's Boutique-Beastie Boys
    5.Heartworm-Whipping Boy
    4.Something Else By The Kinks
    3.A Ghost Is Born-Wilco
    2.Remain In Light-Talking Heads
    1.Alligator-The National
    Decent. 7.7
    Caveat wrote: »
    Waitaminnit...

I assume Kold himself should be able to provide us with the definitive list then? The perfect 10.0?

Well, come on then... :p

By the way, I see your "Body Riddle" and raise you "Dig Me" (King Crimson)

It's 26 years old.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xh7wCF_73Rg
    I posted up my current list on the thread asking for it. I like King Crimson a lot. Body Riddle is a savage album, I suggest giving it a look. Totem's Flare would also be one of my albums of last year.
    TO_ARTHUR! wrote: »
    Heres my list of favourite albums in no order except alphabetical:

Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavillion
    Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
    A R Rahman - Slumdog Millionaire OST
    The Avalanches - Since I Left You
    The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
    Blink 182 - Take Off Your Pants And Jacket
    Bob Dylan - Bringing It All Back Home
    Coldplay - Viva La Vida
    Daft Punk - Discovery
    Elbow - Seldom Seen Kid
    Hard-Fi - Once Upon A Time In The West
    Herbie Hancock - Headhunters
    Justice - Cross
    LCD Soundsystem - LCD Soundsystem & 45:33
    Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II & Led Zeppelin IV
    My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
    Neil Young - Harvest
    Nirvana - Nevermind & In Utero
    Oasis - What's The Story (Morning Glory)
    Radiohead - The Bends, Ok Computer & Kid A
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magic
    Saint Etienne - Foxbase Alpha
    Sigur Ros - Takk
    Steely Dan - Aja, Countdown To Ecstasy & The Royle Scam
    Vivaldi - The Four Seasons
    Weather Report - Heavy Weather
    The White Stripes - Get Behind Me Satin

Too many albums to think of. There was no possble way i could get them down any further than that.

5.4 despite some mind boggling tripe like Blink 182.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

Kold wrote: »
    mind boggling tripe like Blink 182.

And what else, may i ask?

TO_ARTHUR! wrote: »
    And what else, may i ask?

Viva La Vida and MPP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

1. The Prodigy- Music For The Jilted Generation
    2. Leftfield- Leftism
    3. Underworld- Dubnobasswithmyheadman
    4. Stone Roses- Stone Roses
    5. The Prodigy- Experience
    6. Primal Scream- Screamadelica
    7. Daft Punk- Homework
    8. Rage Against the Machine- Rage Against the Machine
    9. Bob Marley- Exodus
    10. The Specials- Specials
    11. Dr Dre- 2001
    12. The Prodigy- Invaders Must Die
    13. Daft Punk- Discovery
    14. Acen- 75 minutes
    15. Madness- One Step Beyond
    16. Dizzee Rascal- Maths + English
    17. Happy Mondays- Pills, Thrills, and Bellyaches
    18. Roots Maunva- Dub Come Save Me
    19. Faithless- Reverence
    20. The Prodigy- Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

In no particular order, and in terms of the 20 albums I've most enjoyed rather than the 20 that are musically superior:

Underworld - Second Toughest In The Infantas
    Future Sound of London - Lifeforms
    Blur - Blur
    Rheostatics - Music Inspired by the Group of 7
    Blur - Think Tank
    The Streets - Original Pirate Material
    Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense
    Soul Coughing - Ruby Vroom
    Underworld - Dubnobasswithmyheadman
    Paul Simon - Graceland
    Orbital - In Sides
    Beastie Boys - Hello Nasty
    The Lovin' Spoonful - Daydream
    Jurassic 5 - Quality Control
    Propellerheads - Decksanddrumsandrockandroll
    Jamie T - Kings & Queens
    The Fourth Dimension - Around the Day in 80 Worlds
    Elbow - The Seldom Seen Kid
    Portishead - Dummy
    Daft Punk - Homework

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

Kold wrote: »
    This is me doing people a service remember?

Ho ho! - impeccable taste, clever and vaguely aloof.

Are you sure you aren't actually David Bowie? :)

Sorry, maybe I'm blind but where was your list again do you mind me asking?

Have to say this thread is ingenious. Irritating, entertaining, educational and intriguiging in equal measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Might I ask what the high scores are at this point?I seem to have made it into the Top 10-15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Reposting...

Aphex Twin-Selected Ambient Works 85-92
    Augustus Pablo-King Tubbys meets Rockers Uptown
    Boards of Canada-Hi Scores EP
    Camp Lo-Uptown Saturday Night
    Casino vs Japan-Go Hawaii
    Charles Mingus-Mingus at Antibes
    The Congos-The Heart of the Congos
    David Axelrod-Songs of Innocence
    Dr. John-Gris-Gris
    Dr. Octagon-Dr. Octagonecologyst
    Gil Scott Heron-Glory the Gil Scott
    The KLF-The White Room
    Louis Armstrong-Hot Fives and Hot Sevens Boxset
    Lou Reed-Transformer
    LTJ Bukem presents Logical Progression Volume 1
    Miles Davis-Sketches of Spain
    Orbital-Snivilisation
    Quannum Projects-Spectrum
    T-Power-The Self-Evident Truth of an Intuitive Mind
    Vampyros Lesbos Sexadelic Dance Party

• Registered Users Posts: 41 irjudge

Radiohead - The Bends
    Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
    Beck - Odelay
    Pulp - Different Class
    Royskopp - Melody AM
    Gorrillaz - Plastic Beach
    A-House - Wide Eyed and Ignorant
    Paul Weller- Wild Wood
    The Beatles - Revolver
    Blur - Parklife
    Johnny Cash - Live at Folsom Prison
    U2 - The Unforgettable Fire
    Stevie Wonder - Innervisions
    Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dreams
    The Coral - The Coral
    Trainspotting - OST
    Galliano - 4:
    Sufjan Stevens - Illinoise
    The Specials - The Specials
    Radiohead - OK Computer

I never realised that I was so concerned about the approval of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

You're all saps for queuing up to have your musical taste pissed on by this by-the-book music snob dickhead.

I'd edit that quick before he gives you a one. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Not in any order except the order they come to me!

Ben Folds - Rockin' The Suburbs
    Ben Folds Five - Whatever and Ever Amen
    Talking Heads - Fear of Music
    Live - Throwing Copper
    Stan Ridgway - The Big Heat
    Big Night Music - Shriekback
    Ween - Chocolate and Cheese
    Emiliana Torrini - Love In the Time of Science
    DJ Shadow - Endtroducing
    Tom Waits - Raindogs
    Nine Inch Nails - Year Zero
    Jim White - No Such Place
    Kate Bush - Hounds of Love
    Everclear - So Much for the Afterglow
    Bebe - Pafuera Telaranas
    The Blue Nile - Walk Across the Rooftops
    Frou Frou - Details
    Pendulum - In Silico
    Dandy Warhols - Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia
    Weezer - The Green Album

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Nephilim Wolf

Some great lists so far. Here's mine in no order:

Fields of The Nephilim - The Nephilim
    David Bowie - The Man Who Sold The World (and it's not just because of the fantastic title song, there are other truly great gems as well)
    Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse
    Tiamat - Wildhoney
    The Mission Uk - Children
    Paradise Lost - Draconian Times
    Dissection - Storm of The Lights Bane
    Sisters of Mercy - Floodland
    Type O Negative - October Rust
    Iron Maiden - Piece of Mind
    The Cult - Sonic Temple
    Rush - Moving Pictures
    Dimmu Borgir - Enthrone Darkness Triumphant
    Iron Maiden - Somewhere in Time
    David Bowie - Ziggy Stardust
    Fields of The Nephilim - Elizium
    Cradle of Filth - Dusk And Her Embrace
    Nosferatu - Rise
    Thin Lizzy - Black Rose
    Rush - Exit Stage Left
    Sisters of Mercy - First And Last And Always
    The Damned - Phantasmagoria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

In no particular order but albums in bold would be my particular favourites

Automatic for the People-REM
    Fleet Foxes-Fleet Foxes
    Mercury Rev-Deserter Songs
    Arcade Fire- Funeral
    Oasis-Definitely Maybe
    Stone Roses-The Stones Roses
    Pixies-Doolittle

Pogues- Rum Sodomy and the Lash
    PJ Harvey- Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea
    Radiohead- Okay Computer
    Tracy Chapman- Tracy Chapman
    Nirvana- Unplugged in New York
    The Proclaimers- This is the Story
    Elbow- Seldom Seen Kid
    The Wonder Stuff- Eight legged Groove Machine
    The Smiths- Meat is Murder
    REM- Orange
    Damien Dempsey-Shots
    Wedding Present-George Best
    Public Enemy- It takes a nation of millions to hold us back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

Neil Young - After The Goldrush
    Tom Waits - Rain Dogs
    Bob Dylan - Time Out Of Mind
    Pixies - Trompe Le Monde
    Pixies - Doolittle
    Husker Du - Warehouse: Songs and Stories
    Replacements - Tim
    David Bowie - Ziggy Stardust
    The Rolling Stones - Exile on Main Street
    Dinosaur Jr - You're Living All Over Me
    Frank Black - Teenager of the Year
    Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works 85-92
    Violent Femmes - Violent Femmes
    The Stooges - Fun House
    The Velvet Underground - VU
    Leonard Cohen - I'm Your Man
    Sugar - Copper Blue
    The Kinks - Arthur
    Iggy Pop - Lust For Life

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

No particular order.
    Underworld - Second Toughest in the infants
    Van Morrison - Astral weeks
    Air - Moon Safari
    Pixies - Doolittle
    Orbital - Insides
    Kraftwerk - Radioactivity
    The Doors - Strange Days
    Paul Brady - Hard Station
    AC/DC - Back in Black
    PJ Harvey - Songs from the city songs from the sea
    Guns n Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    Placebo - Without you Im nothing
    Sufjan Stevens - Illinoise
    The Strokes - Is this it
    Nirvana - Nevermind
    Bruce Springsteen - Tunnel of Love
    GYBE - F-sharp, A-sharp, Infinity
    Pulp - Different Class
    Massive Attack - Blue Lines
    Leftfield - Leftism

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ironman76

Velvet Underground & Nico - Banana Album (as its known)
    Alice In Chains - MTV Unplugged
    Alice In Chains - Dirt
    Jeff Buckley - Grace
    Iron Maiden - Powerslave
    Buena Vista Social Club
    The Doors - The Doors
    Metallica - Kill Em All
    Metallica - Master of Puppets
    Beatles - Sgt Peppers LHCB
    Snoop Doggy Dogg - Doggystyle
    The Good, The Bad and the Ugly OST
    Johnny Cash - Live at Folsolm Prison
    Nirvana - Nevermind
    Sepultura - Kaos AD
    Public Enemy - Yo! Bum Rush the Show
    Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Majik
    Nirvana - MTV Unplugged
    DJ Shadow - Endtroducing

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭pauliewallie

great thread, fair play kold ...

here ya go - no order, just random picks of stuff I love from me brain

The Cure
    Massive Attack – Blue Lines
    Planxty – Planxty (The Black Album)
    Stone Roses – Stone Roses
    Blur – Think Tank
    The Band – Music from Big Pink
    Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band – Bluejeans and Moonbeams
    Damien Dempsey –Sieze the Day
    The Beatles – Abbey Road
    Pink Floyd – The Dark Side of the Moon
    Josh Rouse – Nashville
    Sigur Ros – ( )
    Wilco – A Ghost is Born
    Neil Young – After the Gold Rush
    Tom Waits – Closing Time
    Bob Marley and the Wailers – Natty Dread
    Kraftwerk – Minimum-Maximum
    Radiohead – In Rainbows
    Fionn Regan – The End of History
    Lemon Jelly – Lost Horizons

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭pansoul

A rough cross-section of my taste:

1. Dubblestandart - Immigration Dub
    2. Dub Syndicate - Echomania
    3. The Gladiators - Trench Town Mix Up
    4. Dream Warriors - And Now, The Legacy Begins
    5. De La Soul - 3 Feet High And Rising
    6. King Sunny Ade - Juju Music
    7. Orlando Julius - Super Afro Soul
    8. Etienne de Crécy - Super Discount 2
    9. Booka Shade - Movements
    10. Portico Quartet - Knee-Deep In The North Sea
    11. Harlem River Drive - Harlem River Drive
    12. Kíla - Lemonade & Buns
    13. Julie Fowlis - Uam
    14. Yelle - Pop Up
    15. The LK - Vs The Snow
    16. Cornershop - When I Was Born For The Seventh Time
    17. Dreadzone - Second Light
    18. Bloc Party - Silent Alarm
    19. Caetano Veloso - Domingo
    20. Serge Gainsbourg - Histoire de Melody Nelson

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭fluke

Cool thread Kold! Here is my lot (as of today anyhow...)

AC/DC – Highway To Hell
    Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
    Arcade Fire - Funeral
    Bob Dylan – Time Out Of Mind
    Chris Cornell – Euphoria Morning
    Foo Fighters – There is Nothing Left To Lose
    Jeff Buckley – Grace
    Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American
    Led Zeppelin III
    Lisa Hannigan – Sea Sew
    Metallica – Load
    Page & Plant – No Quarter
    Pearl Jam – Live On Two Legs
    Queens Of The Stone Age – Lullabies To Paralyse
    Radiohead – OK Computer
    Regina Spektor - Begin To Hope
    Sheryl Crow – S/T
    Soundgarden – Superunknown
    The Killers - Sam’s Town
    U2 – How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Josh Ritter - The Animal Years (Why are you making me choose albums? :( LOve all his music)
    Frank Turner - The First Three Years (Technically cheating because it's a compilation album, but has so much great music.
    Rory Gallagher - Photofinish
    Neil Young - After The Gold Rush
    Jimmy Eat World - Bleed American
    Dr. Dre - The Chronic
    Stephen Lynch - The Craig Machine
    Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
    Bright Eyes - Digital Ash in a Digital Urn (Love all the albums TBH)
    Elliott Smith - Either/Or (Couldn't actually decide, love all his albums so threw this down.)
    The Postal Service - Give up
    Nas - Illmatic
    James Taylor - James Taylor
    The Libertines - The Libertines
    Mic Christopher - Skylarkin'
    The Who - Tommy
    Mick Flannery - White Lies
    Lou Reed - Perfect Night Live in London (Compilation album, but still an album)
    SOAD - Toxicity.

It's a hard choice choosing albums TBH! And even I am not sure how accurate this is, I had to give it some variety like. But these are 20 of my favourite albums, maybe not my top 20 favourite. And they are in no particular order. Rate me! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭new fang

mine's probably right boring:

pixies - doolittle
    radiohead - in rainbows
    wu-tang clan - 36 chambers (enter the wu-tang)
    earth - pentastar: in the style of demons
    arctic monkeys - whatever people say i am
    beck - mellow gold
    outkast - stankonia
    beatles - white album
    david bowie - hunky dory
    the smiths - the queen is dead
    hot chip - the warning
    john frusciante - curtains
    talking heads - remain in light
    pavement - slanted and enchanted
    violent femmes - violent femmes
    kino - noci
    smashing pumpkins - siamese dream
    something by qotsa (couldn't decide between rated r and songs for the deaf)
    something by boris (smile, pink or heavy rocks)

i thought i was eclectic but oh well

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

new fang wrote: »
    mine's probably right boring ... boris

What a juxtaposition :p

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭new fang

well i meant it's just all quite well-known and for the most part quite revered - with the exception of kino, who are a soviet band, but one of their songs was on the GTAIV sound track for chrissakes. boris aren't exactly underground in terms of the internet pop culture. i was calling the list boring, not the records :)

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭next

next wrote: »
    right here goes , top 5 are my all time favs rest is just this month
    John Martyn -Grace & danger
    John Martyn - And
    Bob Dylan -Nashville Skyline
    Tom Waits - Blue Valentine
    Tom Waits - Rain Dogs
    John Mayall & Eric Clapton- Bluesbreakers
    Ron Sexsmith - Exit Strategy of the soul
    Nina Simone - Silk & Soul
    Various Artists -Jazzin the blues
    Gomez - Bring it on
    Buddy & julie Miller- Written in chalk
    Chuck Prophet - age of miracles
    Lenord Cohen -Live in London
    Cuban Cafe -Disc 2
    The Doors- Morrison Hotel
    Fela Kuti - London Scene
    be nice !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Jordan Berbatov

In no order, im not quite as obscure as some of ye on here but il give it a lash anyway. Im sure my mainstream(ish) taste will earn my a low score.

1. Lisa Hannigan - Sea Sew
    2. Justice- Cross
    3. The Libertines- The Libertines
    4. The Libertines- Up the Bracket
    5. Pete Doherty - Grace/Wasteland
    6. Rage Against The Machine- RATM
    7. Beach Boys- Pet Sounds
    8. The Stone Roses- The Stone Roses
    9. Vampire Weekend- Vampire Weekend
    10. Blink 182- Chesire Cat
    11. Arcade Fire- Funeral
    12. Alphabeat- This is Alphabeat
    13. The Commitments - The Commitments
    14. Rodrigo y Gabriela - re- Foc
    15. Nirvana- Unplugged
    16. AC/DC- Back in Black
    17. Arctic Monkeys- Whatever people say I am . .
    18. Babyshambles- Down in Albion
    19. Muse- Live from Wembley
    20. Damien Rice- O

Go easy now.