Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

600 yd target pics

• 10-01-2010 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭

well lads im gettn a 300 win mag built at the mo and was thinking to myself" self what can i expect to be grouping at 600" so no better place but ere to ask the question......

the rifle in question will be:
    26 inch sheilen with a light/ med palma contour...
    HS presision varmint stock
    rem 700 blue printed action
    bedded and all the good stuff
    nxs 8-32 x56
    20moa rail
    jewell trigger

the list goes on but im sure ye know what I mean....

does a rig like this have the potential to shoot 5 inch groups at 600 or even better?

and would love to see some target pics of 600 yd shots if ye have them available...

rgds
    Dwighet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I reckon that rifle should be well capable of sub 5" at that range, but it's a lot more about shooting ability at that range than the rifle. I had a go of an F/TR rifle at 600 yards before and was keeping it inside 8 inches, due to my own lack of experience. was doing my best, but I just don't have any familiarity with the more subtle wind-reading skills needed at that range. I reckon with a bit of practice, you could get under the MOA mark handily enough. Should be easier with the extra poke of the .300. Enjoy it and stick up some of your groups. I really enjoy shooting those ranges, need to do more of it. Was looking for the target I shot at 600 there for you, but can't find it, sorry. Said it before, but that sounds like a really good rifle. Personally, I'd go with the light palma contour if you're going to make it a hunting rifle, it's still a pretty heavy barrel. Good luck with it though, looking forward to hearing the results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i reckon the rifle will be well up to shooting tight groups at 600yds ,the Aussie end of thinks ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

jwshooter wrote: »
    i reckon the rifle will be well up to shooting tight groups at 600yds ,the Aussie end of thinks ?.

Im sure it will JW...I have a good man putting it together for me...
    It should be a bit of fun dropping a few bombs way out....

its good crack ,we do a bit of long range varminting hear along the summer.

the 243 is as good as any .cheep fun

its good crack ,we do a bit of long range varminting hear along the summer.

the 243 is as good as any .cheep fun

Im sure it is;)
    I`ve alway wanted a 300 winnie from when I first started shooting...I think i was reading to much yankee shooting and watching too many best of the west dvds....
    Came into a few pound befor xmas so spoke to the boss(me mrs) and she gave me the nod.... I told her it was for my mid life crisis....and its cheaper than a harley or a red sports car..god bless her little cotton socks!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭sharky0922

dwighet wrote: »
    Im sure it is;)
    I`ve alway wanted a 300 winnie from when I first started shooting...I think i was reading to much yankee shooting and watching too many best of the west dvds....
    Came into a few pound befor xmas so spoke to the boss(me mrs) and she gave me the nod.... god bless her little cotton socks!!!!

i hope you will tell us about it when you get your rifle, and share some pics (?) :D whats the price for 300 i wonder? comparing to 308 and 243
    i read that recoil can be pretty nasty too..

sharky0922 wrote: »
    i hope you will tell us about it when you get your rifle, and share some pics (?) :D whats the price for 300 i wonder? comparing to 308 and 243

It's something I've been considering as well, so rang around a few places. Ammo tends to be a few quid more, but there's really not much in it, maybe a fiver a box at most, from what I'm hearing from dealers. Recoil varies from report to report. I'm going to guess it's just a case of a good, well-fitted stock. After that, nothing hurts too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I ain't gun shy, but the one I fired after one shot made me shy of it :eek:

Saur hunting rifle, sweetest action I ever seen on a rifle though

Ammo is around 30-40 quid a box
    as far as rifles go there pretty much the same as 243-308..
    A good muzzle break helps..
    I shot one with a can on it and in all fairness it was quite tame....
    Was like shooting a 308 without a can...

I ain't gun shy, but the one I fired after one shot made me shy of it :eek:

Saur hunting rifle, sweetest action I ever seen on a rifle though

I can imagine a lightweight hunter in 300wm would put manners on ya...espesially if it had no break on it.

No can or muzzle break :eek:

Mine will have a bit of weight in it..
    Will very similar to your swift but Greene is doing me a break based on this design for it and it will have an ase ultra jet mod aswell.
    That should keep it under control...

:cool:

Mine will have a bit of weight in it..
    Will very similar to your swift but Greene is doing me a break based on this design for it and it will have an ase ultra jet mod aswell.
    That should keep it under control...

when i was getting the 270 built i got a brake made , recoil is like a .22 ,noise is like a french 75.

ouch jw, thats baaadass. is it drilled in the barrel?

I have ordered a good set of ear defenders;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Id say your going to be very happy with your build ,Dwighet.Especially with the man you have building it .Best of luck ;)

tomcat220t wrote: »
    Id say your going to be very happy with your build ,Dwighet.Especially with the man you have building it .Best of luck ;)
    Thanks...
    I have no doubt it will be sweet...This will be my 2nd rifle from him...I remember when I collected the first rifle he told me "you`ll be back for another" He was right...

Hehe, that's the build I have in mind. Light, fast handling, no brake. Threaded for a can, just in case I used it in a stalking role, but it'll primarily be a foreign game rifle, designed for quick standing shots. Took a lot of the design idea from your 7mm-08, dwighet. Was able to hold that dead steady on a target at 200 yards, standing. Fantastic piece of engineering to do that, so I'd stick a bigger cartridge in it, make it a little heavier all around and get on with things. :)

ouch jw, thats baaadass. is it drilled in the barrel?

no its on a 14x1 thread .as you can see its no wider than the barrel .
    the guy that made done the holes in a spiral .recoil comes straight back so the rifle does not move at all.

Its tidy alright..Thats for sure..thats what ya pay good money for...;)

Hehe, that's the build I have in mind. Light, fast handling, no brake. Threaded for a can, just in case I used it in a stalking role, but it'll primarily be a foreign game rifle, designed for quick standing shots. Took a lot of the design idea from your 7mm-08, dwighet. Was able to hold that dead steady on a target at 200 yards, standing. Fantastic piece of engineering to do that, so I'd stick a bigger cartridge in it, make it a little heavier all around and get on with things. :)

Its a nice bit of kit....
    Its just a shame I cant get out to use it latley due to te weather...Fingers crossed we get some rain during the week to clean off the roads...

so next question have to be, who is doing that? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Its a nice bit of kit....
    Its just a shame I cant get out to use it latley due to te weather...Fingers crossed we get some rain during the week to clean off the roads...

Thaw is a coming D. :D:D:D

Ice is melting big time around these parts.

Whats the roads like nearer Cork and Kerry anyone???????????????????

Conditions have softened up big time here in north Wicklow. Could be able to get out in the next few days.

steve kershaw in the uk . its proofed along with the rifle its self.

705yards shot with a 80gr soft point federal in a T3 with a 17" barrel ,nightforce 4.5-15x50 on top

70.5 yds.... :eek:
    Thats a good bit of shooting mate......
    Thats the sort of craic im after this summmer....

clivej wrote: »
    Thaw is a coming D. :D:D:D

Ice is melting big time around these parts.

Whats the roads like nearer Cork and Kerry anyone???????????????????

Clive im camping in kerry this weekend.....feck the weather the freezer is not looking good at all......you coming?

should be fine for the weekend..... Thank ****!!!!! If I have to spend another weekend at home Im sure I will be Banned from Boards all together:D:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Okay before you loose it with me, i'm just asking some questions not calling you a liar or anything.
    705yards shot with a 80gr soft point federal in a T3 with a 17" barrel

What calibe?
    ,nightforce 4.5-15x50 on top

I assume you mean a 3.5-15X50 as Nightforce don't make a 4.5-15?

I'm only asking questions here, remember.

Its just that a 5" bull at 600yds looks small through a 12-42 Nightforce, so i'm just trying to picture a rabbit at 100+ more yds with a lesser powered scope. What kind of elevation have you got on it? Then there is the wind.

One hell of a shot.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

ezridax wrote: »
    Okay before you loose it with me, i'm just asking some questions not calling you a liar or anything.

What calibe?

Its just that a 5" bull at 600yds looks small through a 12-42 Nightforce, so i'm just trying to picture a rabbit at 100+ more yds with a lesser powered scope. What kind of elevation have you got on it? Then there is the wind.

One hell of a shot.

pretty sure it is his 243 EZ

Cracking shot though!!!! no matter what caliber..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

pretty sure it is his 243 EZ

Cracking shot though!!!! no matter what caliber..

+1 a great shot indeed

Clive im camping in kerry this weekend.....feck the weather the freezer is not looking good at all......you coming?

should be fine for the weekend..... Thank ****!!!!! If I have to spend another weekend at home Im sure I will be Banned from Boards all together:D:D

any one ever see brokeback mountain . hope you guys have two sleeping bags

I`ll have my tazer mate....
    Mammy always told me never to trust an Essex lad:eek:
    http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1943099/dueling_banjos_scene_clip_from_deliverance/

What calibe?

One hell of a shot.

had to look into the safe its a 3.5 ok .its a 243.

dermot and myself shoot a lot of long range 400yds is not a real problem if there is no wind.not so much this summer with the wind and rain .
    we have many kills over 500 ,a few over 600 .the shot in question was on a mountain where we shoot foxes .
    the first shot landed just short to the left the second high dont know how it missed and third spot on.it was ranged and witnessed by dermot.

the rifle was set for 200 ,not using the elevation clicks i was just off the vertical post.shooting up hill.
    had a snap shot on a fox at 334yds on sat .we live close to a mountain range and all the shots are taken on safe ground BTW.

i

reckon he might be into a bit of bondage. keep her loaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

weather not too bad down around killarney last week was out on my usual spot and it was very nice few snow showers on the tops of the mountains got a little chilly as the evening wore on
    wear thermals and you'll be fine:D

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1943099/dueling_banjos_scene_clip_from_deliverance/

o ya squeal like a pig aussie boy.

Think maybe a bit more than dat...Dirty auld fecker he is!

....we live close to a mountain range and all the shots are taken on safe ground BTW.

Would never question this. Have read other posts of yours and you seem a keen/avid hunter so you obviously know how to handle and shoot safely.

Thanks for the reply and again nice shot.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

ouch!!!!!!!! youve been wit a few aussies then? We just squeal to make Paddy feel big!!!!

Only messn lads..... dont get fired up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

HAve to see if the Meds have kicked in yet:eek:

One double bag is all thats needed to keep us warm. :D

And it's ture wot they say about us ESSEX boy's. The only County with true SEX in it
    If you can keep the voltage up I'll take the stock

Ye ha r!de em cowboy
    Think maybe a bit more than dat...Dirty auld fecker he is!
    Wots new

sick puppy :P.

but the best of luck the weekend .

clivej wrote: »
    HAve to see if the Meds have kicked in yet:eek:

One double bag is all thats needed to keep us warm. :D

And it's ture wot they say about us ESSEX boy's. The only County with true SEX in it

If you can keep the voltage up I'll take the stock

Ye ha r!de em cowboy

Wots new
    New it wouldnt be long till ya jumped in for the craic.....
    Welcome to......I forgot what this thread was about but who cares....
    I think it had something to do wit racism....Pommy git!!!!!
    paddy mick and aussie bollocks

sick puppy :P.

but the best of luck the weekend .

I am a bit...
    Cheers mate... Will give it me best shot..

Reading through the posts and this comes to mind,

Who is the one with the long hair is up to ye lot.:D

Reading through the posts and this comes to mind,

Who is the one with the long hair is up to ye lot.:D
    That would be Clive.....

enough of that now...:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Can't wait to see the 300 winnie kick Clive about like the 7mm did :D:D

Your an evil man fish.....
    I cant wait either....

I had a look on the build progress today....Its coming together nicely ;)