Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lotto All Or Nothing - 94 draws so far an no winner

• 09-01-2010 12:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭sold

I have been playing the all or nothing lotto since it launched. Its daily and over the last 94 draws there has been not one top winner of the 500K prize (so I spent 188)

I know the odds a very slim, but after 94 draws not to have 1 winner on the whole country? They should let the jackpot accumulate It would be 47,000,000 today!.... I think they know thw odds are non exisitant of someone winning the 500K. Even the runner up prize of 5000euros is not won every day.

Looks like the odd are a lot higher than the lotto and the normal lotto is cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

sold wrote: »
    I think they know thw odds are non exisitant of someone winning the 500K.

NO WAI!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭trench foot

are you serious?

you need a system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why is the prize money not rolled over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

What exactly is "nothing"? Is it none of the 6 drawn numbers in your line? I'd imagine that'd be a fairly common occurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

bonerm wrote: »
    What exactly is "nothing"? Is it none of the 6 drawn numbers in your line? I'd imagine that'd be a fairly common occurance.
    It's 12 numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

bonerm wrote: »
    phasers wrote: »
    It's 12 numbers.

Form 24. I'd imagine a better chance of winning the regular lotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Would you not have been better off waiting until the game was well established, to see how often the jackpot is won, before playing religiously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Would you not have been better off waiting until the game was well established, to see how often the jackpot is won, before playing religiously?

Some people just love paying their taxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭sold

Yes, Hindsight is a great thing. Anyway I have given up, 14 euros a week was a waste of time, I think I would have better odds with euromillions, atleast the jackpot gets acculmulated and divided our when its not won after 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Better odds at the bookies TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

I have been playing the all or nothing lotto since it launched. Its daily and over the last 94 draws there has been not one top winner of the 500K prize (so I spent 188)

I know the odds a very slim, but after 94 draws not to have 1 winner on the whole country? They should let the jackpot accumulate It would be 47,000,000 today!.... I think they know thw odds are non exisitant of someone winning the 500K. Even the runner up prize of 5000euros is not won every day.

Looks like the odd are a lot higher than the lotto and the normal lotto is cheaper.

YOUR WRONG......SIMPLES!!!

All Or Nothing - Friday 30 October 2009
    Top Prize €500,000
    Winning Numbers
    1 3 5 6 8 9 11 13 18 20 22 23
    Match 12
    Winners 1
    Prize €500,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The game is called "All or Nothing", so what did you expect ?

Re the jackpot accumulating, this is something I have a serious problem with. Why should one person win millions ? Better all round to have a weekly winner of a decent, life-changing amount (pay off your mortgage and buy a car and go on holiday, and come back comfortable for the rest of your life) rather than give a fortune to someone who only played it because it hit a couple of million and they're greedy fvcks.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭sold

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    The game is called "All or Nothing", so what did you expect ?

Re the jackpot accumulating, this is something I have a serious problem with. Why should one person win millions ? Better all round to have a weekly winner of a decent, life-changing amount (pay off your mortgage and buy a car and go on holiday, and come back comfortable for the rest of your life) rather than give a fortune to someone who only played it because it hit a couple of million and they're greedy fvcks.....

Ok, Then if the Jackpot in not won it should be shared with next level of winners. As it stands nobody since the game started has won the top prize and no many the 2nd prize (5000)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

The Lottery - Voluntary tax for those who can't do maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Read in the paper this AM it was won in Athlone. If I read correctly, the gamble on the lotto was 94 Euro....must be a mistake! Seemingly, the winner also scooped 5 numbers and 4 numbers on other lines. The numbers were not quick pick but chosen by winner's 7 year old son.Nice win though!

I think I would be slow to have gone public on it, though!

If I was a winner I would most definitely give a good share to the victims of the earthquake in Haiti! That was my pledge?

Anybody else have a pledge if they win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I remember a member on here referring to it before as an "idiot tax"

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

OP, so you need to pick the wrong numbers?

You fail at failing. That sucks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Mark200 wrote: »

Posts are ignorant, what you think to be absurd and idiotic, others do not. What you think to be logical and "normal", others may think it to be absurd and idiotic. Can you manage, even in the slightest, to comprehend that?

People who play the lotto know what they are getting themselves into, they know the odds and unlike some jealous begrudgers, they can afford to play the games on a regular basis. They are not idiots, nor is it a tax, but a game, a game they wish to play for a prize.

Anyone who plays the lottery to win a prize without a doubt does not understand the odds.

I have no problem with people playing the lottery just for the fun with no real expectation that they might win, or people who play with the idea that the money is going to a good cause so it doesn't matter if they win or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The lottery is just a tax on the poor and credulous anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Odds are more in favour of you getting hit and killed by a meteor on your way to the shop to buy a ticket, than the ticket being a winner.

That's why I don't play, I don't want to be killed by a meteor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

suitseir wrote: »
    If I was a winner I would most definitely give a good share to the victims of the earthquake in Haiti! That was my pledge?

Anybody else have a pledge if they win?

Hookers and blow!

Anyone who plays the lottery to win a prize without a doubt does not understand the odds.

I have no problem with people playing the lottery just for the fun with no real expectation that they might win, or people who play with the idea that the money is going to a good cause so it doesn't matter if they win or not.

So everyone who plays the lotto is bad at maths? What a crock of sh!t. Maybe they can afford the extra 10 or 20 quid a week to pay for a few tickets, maybe they do understand the odds, which a lot do, and play anyway. Just maybe they win. Concluding that people do not understand math, or the odds for the lotto is simply ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Why is the prize money not rolled over?
    At a guess, they don't get anywhere near the number of players in this specific draw to make it pay for itself if they did that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Magnus wrote: »
    Odds are more in favour of you getting hit and killed by a meteor on your way to the shop to buy a ticket, than the ticket being a winner.

I guess a good few in my family are pretty lucky to be hit by a meteor so..

Have to lol at those who say it's a tax on stupidity or that people don't understand the odds.
    You do get the point of odds right? It means that there is a CHANCE of it happening, however small. Now considering the little amount of money it costs and with the potential return.. Are ye REALLY still going to go with that "stupidity" approach?
    Good for ye so.. But eh.. Enjoy workin the rest of your life, i'm still just happy my family likes to play, paid off pretty well so far ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Magnus wrote: »

Is it not strange to compare going to a shop to buy a lottery ticket to having a meteor kill you?

So everyone who plays the lotto is bad at maths? What a crock of sh!t. Maybe they can afford the extra 10 or 20 quid a week to pay for a few tickets, maybe they do understand the odds, which a lot do, and play anyway. Just maybe they win. Concluding that people do not understand math, or the odds for the lotto is simply ignorant.

Anyone who plays the lottery to win:

SV wrote: »
    Have to lol at those who say it's a tax on stupidity or that people don't understand the odds.
    You do get the point of odds right? It means that there is a CHANCE of it happening, however small. Now considering the little amount of money it costs and with the potential return.. Are ye REALLY still going to go with that "stupidity" approach?

Have you started building your nuclear bunker yet?

Because, there is a CHANCE that Ireland will be nuked to death, and the potential return is huge.

I believe the odds of winning the normal lotto are 8145060\1.

The odds of winning the all or nothing draw are 2704156\1.

If my calculations are correct are you surprised there hasnt been a winner after 94 draws.

Anyone who plays the lottery to win:

You automatically consider everyone who plays the lotto to win as stupid. They do not understand the odds... Well most do understand the odds, but it's not a problem.

I can understand that it is difficult for some extremely ignorant people to understand this, but this is the case.

Because, there is a CHANCE that Ireland will be nuked to death, and the potential return is huge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The bookies odds are far far better at winning something, even a few hundred quid. I don't know anyone who plays the National Lotto anymore bar the onlslaught of panic buying when the jackpot is rolled over a few billion times!

gurramok wrote: »
    The bookies odds are far far better at winning something, even a few hundred quid. I don't know anyone who plays the National Lotto anymore bar the onlslaught of panic buying when the jackpot is rolled over a few billion times!

If you consider this example,

The usual odds for selecting 2 numbers in the 6 number lotto draw (excluding bonus) that are given by most bookmakers are 55\1.

The actual odds are 66\1.

They are guaranteed a one sixth profit become a number is drawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

OP you need Derren Brown.

Yeah, well done.
    Enjoy work?

I havn't read any replies but I'm hoping someone else has pointed out just how little the All or Nothing draw is played.. That's why it's not being won.

It's got alot better odds than the regular lotto but the regular lotto has a million extra lines played on it each week I'd say. I'd say the All or Nothing draw only has ten or twenty thousand lines played daily which makes sense that it hasn't been won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I havn't read any replies but I'm hoping someone else has pointed out just how little the All or Nothing draw is played.. That's why it's not being won.

It's got alot better odds than the regular lotto but the regular lotto has a million extra lines played on it each week I'd say. I'd say the All or Nothing draw only has ten or twenty thousand lines played daily which makes sense that it hasn't been won.

Its selling so poorly that they are giving tickets away as a bonus prize on match 3's at the moment to try and promote it.

I was sure it was going to be more popular than it has been because it plays on the players oft quoted moan, "Jaysus, I didn't even get one number" In All or Nothing, you win the Jackpot if you "don't even get one number". The clever idea of the game seems to have gone over most peoples head. :rolleyes:

Another possible theory...I think maybe they shot themselves in the foot with it being a 7 day a week game though. They forgot the following psychology of Lotto players.

Most people play both main lotto draws, ie Wednesday and Saturday. Hardly anyone just plays one or the other because they'd kick themselves if they only played on a Saturday but their numbers came up on the Wednesday. So they play both. Even players who play quickpicks and don't have to worry about 'Their' numbers coming up in a draw they didn't enter, mostly play both nights. "Sure its only another €4".

Ditto with the Lotto Plus. Most people pay the extra for the plus because they know they would kill themselves if their numbers came up in the Plus 1/2 draws but they had only entered their numbers in the main draw. This obviously applies to both 'my Special numbers' players and quickpick players.

However with All or Nothing being on every night, that kind of psychology of players means they would need to invest 7x€2=€14 minumum a week. Ironically the name of the game is very apt. People look at the €14 'minimum'
    outlay and say to themselves, "I either play All of these AON draws or I play None of them. I either have to give the Lotto another €14 of my money every week or I don't play this game and give them nothing. At least this way I don't have to worry about my numbers coming up on a night I didn't play.

Seems most people in these recessionary times have decided not to play. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

You can always view the lotto as a form of charity, considering funds to go various organisations such as:

Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government
    Department of Education and Science
    Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism
    Arts Council
    Department of Health and Children
    HSE
    Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs

So it's a form of charity, sorta. With a potenial lump sum for all your do-gooding.

In saying that I felt lucky last Saturday, spent a tenner on the lotto (never do it) and didn't win :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Yeah, well done.
    Enjoy work?

How classy.

The lottery is a tax on those who don't understand the odds, they have to pay out to the odd pleb to keep the others interested.

How classy.

The lottery is a tax on those who don't understand the odds, they have to pay out to the odd pleb to keep the others interested.

lol, you don't have a clue who I am or who any of my family are so eh..keep your pleb comments to yourself there like a good chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

As the thread suggest - 94 draws etc. - and the amount of money invested in the winning numbers was in the region of 94 Euro for Saturday's winning draw!

The winner of the Lotto was just on Liveline and said that over the weeks she has been listening to Liveline and is aware of the charities that are in need and those in need in recent days. Nice to know.

She and her family and friends are on their way to collect the cheque! So much for all the talk about odds etc. Well, the odds worked for her and they were numbers chosen.

Cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

lol, you don't have a clue who I am or who any of my family are so eh..keep your pleb comments to yourself there like a good chap.

You certainly come across as a pleb, wasn't the implication that you won some money?

Related to Dolores?

"Enjoy work" lol, enjoy sponging.

You certainly come across as a pleb, wasn't the implication that you won some money?

Related to Dolores?

"Enjoy work" lol, enjoy sponging.

I've won some myself alright.
    As have many members of my family.
    Not a pleb though, and I still work ;)

lol, yeah ok. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Faithless

The lotto is a scam just like those late night TV quizzes.

All that money going to waste, how on Earth can TV producers sit around watching middle aged men and women crawl over to "Diamond Tables" and spins wheels worth hundreds of thousands without answering one question?

Who in their right mind would find that even remotely interesting? That's like asking someone to pick a colour because green is worth 10euro and blue is worth 15euro...no questions. Winning Streak is a shame, I remember when winning big actually meant something, like Who Wants To Be A Millionaire - now that was a real game, until Gay Burne did the Irish version, then it went under.

What's wrong with the odd four euro every now and then? Are you really that tight with your money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Fanthomas

Iam a regular player of all or nothing.Does anybody know why over the last few days they doubled all the winnings but today they had returned to the old ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I bet all the millionaires it's created feel real stupid and cry every night because people on the internet think they are idiots.

People spend huge amounts more on obviously rigged things like horse racing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Naos wrote: »
    You can always view the lotto as a form of charity, considering funds to go various organisations such as:

Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government
    Department of Education and Science
    Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism
    Arts Council
    Department of Health and Children
    HSE
    Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs

So it's a form of charity, sorta. (

People have some funny ideas on what constuitutes "charity"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

You're less likely to win the All or Nothing than you are the regular lottery. I don't understand why people actually play it.