Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MLIS (Masters in Library and Information Studies)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 The White Queen

I got a reply from Claire -

Hi

Everyone has had some difficulty with this module; please register for the lecture and try for the module on Monday afternoon, it should be straightened out by then.

Many thanks

Claire

However I can't see the module on Monday so I'm just going to leave it until our orientation meeting.

I think Claire means they will fix it on Monday and that everything should work in the afternoon.
    She didn't reply to my e-mail, so no idea if Prof Issues will also be fixed by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

rottenhat wrote: »
    Anyone else being asked for a PIN and a new security question when they try to log on to SISWeb to register? I've tried a few things but each time I get PIN not valid - doesn't seem to be student number or the PIN from the online application system.

It's your date of birth. It had to have worked for you to get into SIS and to see that page. All it is asking is for you to re-enter your pin and set a security question. It's a pretty standard safety mechanism on websites.
    plainone wrote: »
    I hope so!:rolleyes:
    Why the rolleyes? From what I see here, you've already had confirmation from the School that things will be sorted out by Monday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

It's your date of birth. It had to have worked for you to get into SIS and to see that page. All it is asking is for you to re-enter your pin and set a security question. It's a pretty standard safety mechanism on websites.

Thanks, I thought I'd tried everything but obviously not DOB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Shammers

The bug in choosing Prof. Issues is sorted.

However, they have not fixed the bug in the Info. & Ref. Services yet.

As I'm a newbie to UCD - can anyone advise on whether Postgrads have access to lockers other than in the PG room in the library? Cheers!

Lockers can be got this way:
    http://www.ucd.ie/building/code/lockers.html

Many thanks!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 cazzywazzy

Weepsie wrote: »
    i just noticed that this monday at least, there's a class for me at 9, then orientation then another 2 hour class. Thankfully it's only for this week!

weepsie is it web publishing your taking at 9? I haven't registered for this module but was thinking of sitting in on the class and get more info on it and might change one of my modules. Do you know where it is being held??

Also is there anyone signed up for database design and got the times for it??

cheers

Database Design is not actually being offered...apparently it's only there for distance learning students from a university in China (or something equally bizarre) and you're not supposed to be able to register for it, even though you can.

No problem getting onto Blackboard for me.

Are you serious about Database Design? I was really looking forward to that course. I wonder when they plan on letting us know that we have to pick another course if it really is not being offered... How did you find out about it?

I was in UCD yesterday so I dropped in to ask Claire why it wasn't showing up on my timetable and after some digging she figured out that was what the problem was. She mentioned that a few other people had been asking about it during the week and was surprised that it wasn't being offered to us as there's clearly demand for it.

Weepsie wrote: »
    Jaysus, that should be a nice headache for them. I cant get on, ive a feeling its to do with my password being reset from when i was at UCD before. I emailed them during the week and no response however, maybe itll work on campus at least

What can't you get on to?

Just checking - the orientation meeting is it Monday 10am in Theatre Q, Newman Building?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭the west wing

Shammers wrote: »
    Just checking - the orientation meeting is it Monday 10am in Theatre Q, Newman Building?
    Yeah that's correct. I'll see you there!

Does anyone know why Management for Information Professionals isn't showing up on Blackboard? Does that module not use Blackboard?

Something is wrong with Blackboard as I just checked and although I am registered for System, Analysis and Design, it has now disappeared off my course list on Blackboard...

Cheers for the confirmation of the orientation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Miss Smilla

Something is wrong with Blackboard as I just checked and although I am registered for System, Analysis and Design, it has now disappeared off my course list on Blackboard...

Cheers for the confirmation of the orientation!
    Hey, I did the course last year and the system was a nightmare when it came to registering for things but don't worry...most courses have places for all interested (only Creating and Pub Digital Media was limited) and Claire is a whizz at sorting all things module related out and is super helpful.

Corwen wrote: »
    Just looking at the Info and Reference Services, weeks 1-3 are in 1 room, week 4 is in another, so maybe the practical is in a different room again for the remainder of the semester and the system just isn't able to acknowledge that.

Hi, sometimes you have labs in the computer room hence the room changes.

Yeah that's correct. I'll see you there!

Does anyone know why Management for Information Professionals isn't showing up on Blackboard? Does that module not use Blackboard?

Will probably be up and running soon. Would highly recommend you check out some of the other "business" options before committing. MIP was probably THE most unpopular module among the class last year-mostly lecturer related issues so check the others out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dangleroughly

I registered for Systems Analysis and Management for Info Profs, they were both on Blackboard yesterday, I guess now they're not there today it's a system glitch (I hope).

Hey, I did the course last year and the system was a nightmare when it came to registering for things but don't worry...most courses have places for all interested (only Creating and Pub Digital Media was limited) and Claire is a whizz at sorting all things module related out and is super helpful.

Many thanks Miss S! :) You are very good to allay my concern. I thought it was probably just a glitch with the system, as I could access everything on Blackboard on Thursday.

I hope all is going well for you now that you have finished with the MLIS and good luck in the job search if you haven't already secured your next step. :)

Will probably be up and running soon. Would highly recommend you check out some of the other "business" options before committing. MIP was probably THE most unpopular module among the class last year-mostly lecturer related issues so check the others out.
    Can I ask why this module was so hated? I was thinking of doing either that or Professional Issues in Information and Library Careers. Does anyone have any info on Pro Issues?

How did everyone get on?

Overall I thought it was grand. Web publishing sounds a bit scary, but really anything to do with computers scares the crap out of me!

Didn't love Archives Preservation, mainly though because of the lecturer. Found it boring though the content was interesting.

Management for Information Professionals was like Weepsie said fine. The course seems a little wishy washy but it seems relatively easy. Though was anyone else like 'wtf' when she says we have to bring snacks for the class!?!? Can't we all just bring food if we want to?

I was looking out for Boardsies but alas came across none :(

I talked to Claire about Database Design. You have to drop the class and choose something else, it's only available to students from some Chinese university and there is nothing she can do about it.

System Analysis & Design is tomorrow at 10 in LIB SIL 107 (so in the school of Information and Library Studies).

I didn't like Management for Information Professionals at all. I am going to give Human Resources a chance on Thursday.

Why didn't you like Management for Information Professionals?

Well, I’m not that interested in management as it is and this class really did not make me want to find out more about it. I guess I just don’t like the theoretical approach to management. And combined with the way this class will be assessed, it’s just not for me.
    I was looking out for Boardsies but alas came across none
    If you go to System Analysis & Design tomorrow you can try to meet me ^^ If your nickname comes from the tv series we should totally get along, because it's my favorite series! I brought the dvd's with me to Dublin :)

Well, I’m not that interested in management as it is and this class really did not make me want to find out more about it. I guess I just don’t like the theoretical approach to management. And combined with the way this class will be assessed, it’s just not for me.

If you go to System Analysis & Design tomorrow you can try to meet me ^^ If your nickname comes from the tv series we should totally get along, because it's my favorite series! I brought the dvd's with me to Dublin :)
    Yes my nickname is from the TV series but unfortunately I'm not doing System Analysis & Design. However if you bump into a girl called
    <snip>, that's me! Definitely say hello!

Yes my nickname is from the TV series but unfortunately I'm not doing System Analysis & Design. However if you bump into a girl called <snip>, that's me! Definitely say hello!

During Management you were somewhere on the right, quite high, I think? Not sure I would recognise you, but I'll do my best. My name is Jill btw.

Yup that was me!

Has anyone else encountered problems with the quiz for Info & Ref - I got the 100%, but Blackboard hasn't given me an option to view and print it to prove it's done and dusted?!

And tomorrow looks like a long aul day!

Has anyone else encountered problems with the quiz for Info & Ref - I got the 100%, but Blackboard hasn't given me an option to view and print it to prove it's done and dusted?!

And tomorrow looks like a long aul day!

The module co-ordinator will know you have completed it. They can track everything you do on Blackboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Out of interest, how many students are registered for either the Grad Dip or the MLIS this year do ye know?