Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favorite Type of Tractor

• 01-01-2010 6:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭

IMO you couldn't bate a 35x with a stick...

and any one that thinks that's a strength of Salvia is a Townie and can GTFO!!

Favourite Type of Tractor 78 votes

D'auld Massey
    0%
    John Deere For the Green ****ers
    56%
    Ruu_OldefbR0otDonkeyStyle \o/mikemacIshmaelIckle Magoociano1marco_poloNiall098k2q1gfcz9s5d4Borneo FnctnRun_to_da_hillsmenoscemoGERMAN ROCKSJulyTPDktulu123Jev/NitsallaboutheL 44 votes
    New Holland (it's really a ball of **** fiat sshh!)
    26%
    entropiRozabeezRoviRoenDermot2468offaly1ashylestakerhumberklogcherryghostzonEEElee_aramaDamoDLKvincenzolorenzoAodan83ZwillingeMy name is URLMmcdjd007Midnight_EG 21 votes
    Dats Far (anyone that gets this is a bog warrior)
    0%
    Renault (for frog farmers)
    10%
    pickarooneyfitzeyboyParsley[Deleted User]Cookie_MonsterMycroft Hendasmailvaltra8150 8 votes
    "Case" in point you're a sh1t Kicker
    0%
    Agri Jaguar........
    6%
    mukkimthdRMDIrish_polizeiAgricola 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

A Massey is classy, but a Zetor is bether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

I find for comfort you can't beat the Chirotractor. Great on the back. Tis yer only man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

John Deere ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The beams are handy during galactic chases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

No Zetor.

Poll fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

ColmDawson wrote: »
    A Massey is classy, but a Zetor is bether.
    Ah now, Zetor are a decent tractor, but they're no Massey. Of cousrse, if it's a small, cheap tractor you're looking for, Komatsu are your man. I'm telling ya now, for the price ye'd pay for one of 'em your gettin a fair ould tractor. Personal choice has to be the John Deere though. Sheer class there like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

No Zetor.

Poll fail.

Zetors are Tractor Fail....

All true culchies know this

GTFO Townie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Ah now, Zetor are a decent tractor, but they're no Massey. Of cousrse, if it's a small, cheap tractor you're looking for, Komatsu are your man. I'm telling ya now, for the price ye'd pay for one of 'em your gettin a fair ould tractor.

Sure havn't they the Perkins engine and all?

You wouldn't be goin far wrong like..

Plowman wrote: »
    Where's the Toyota Prius option?

*Loads The Double Barrel*

Get outa my field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Confucius say: The Massey is classy but the Zetor is better:pac:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Fordson (shows my age, I know, but then again I can remember seeing Binders and Threshers on the farm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

It's a thractor. (I've true Kiltimagh blood, I does)

Lamborghini ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Agri Jaguar........
    Ive an aul International 574. Got a hydraulic loader for her there last year. Hure to start in the frost. Compression is ****e on em. Day-cent tractor other that that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

No Landini fans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

As a young boy, I was completely obsessed with tractors. I had pictures of tractors all over my bedroom walls; I had tractor toys, tractor T-shirts, a tractor carpet, and duvet cover, the whole works. I ate, drank and slept tractors. On my 17th birthday I was thrilled to get an invitation to go to a tractor factory nearby and test-drive a brand new tractor.

My excitement was incredible as I told my family and friends. The great day came and I went to the factory for the test-drive. Unfortunately something went terribly wrong with the tractor when I was driving it and it flipped over, trapping and breaking my leg and fracturing my skull.

I was so upset and tried to sue the tractor company for negligence. But the company would have none of it and told there was no liability and I could get lost!

You can imagine I was very annoyed with tractors after this and vowed to shed them from my life completely and forever.

All the posters came down, the toys were given away - tractors were GONE.

Many years later, I went into a bar for a drink. Inside, the cigarette and cigar smoke was terrible but through it I saw a beautiful girl seated at the bar on her own. Tears were streaming down her face.

I asked her what was wrong and she said that the smoke was making her eyes sting and stream with tears.

With that, I looked around and then took a huge breath, sucking in all the smoke. I then walked outside into the car park and blew all the smoke out again. I went back into the bar where the air is now clear and sweet and sat down next to the girl.

"That was amazing!" she said, "How did you do that?"

"No problem" I said

"I'm an ex-tractor fan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I've been driving Ferguson's since I was a wee scut. Far superior to the Ford or the Renault(LOL Renualt drivers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

I've been driving Ferguson's since I was a wee scut. Far superior to the Ford or the Renault(LOL Renualt drivers).
    Jesus, Renault! Sure they can't even make a decent car, never mind a tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

This one. Imagine the chicks you could pull at the mart with that baby. Oh yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Agri Jaguar........
    Mods, look at what you're doing to AH.

Feckin tractor topics!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yankee spelling in thread title makes my slurry-sense tingle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Massy 365.

A fine machine ;)

Yankee spelling in thread title makes my slurry-sense tingle.

It was just so the Townies could understand, i think you'll find that once you've opened the thread it does in fact revert to d' good auld "favourite"!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Would ya shhhtop, buy a massey and she'll fall to the chassey!

Buy a zetor and you'll live to regret her!

Keep her Case and keep her country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Joe Cool wrote: »
    As a young boy, I was completely obsessed with tractors. I had pictures of tractors all over my bedroom walls; I had tractor toys, tractor T-shirts, a tractor carpet, and duvet cover, the whole works. I ate, drank and slept tractors. On my 17th birthday I was thrilled to get an invitation to go to a tractor factory nearby and test-drive a brand new tractor.

My excitement was incredible as I told my family and friends. The great day came and I went to the factory for the test-drive. Unfortunately something went terribly wrong with the tractor when I was driving it and it flipped over, trapping and breaking my leg and fracturing my skull.

I was so upset and tried to sue the tractor company for negligence. But the company would have none of it and told there was no liability and I could get lost!

You can imagine I was very annoyed with tractors after this and vowed to shed them from my life completely and forever.

All the posters came down, the toys were given away - tractors were GONE.

Many years later, I went into a bar for a drink. Inside, the cigarette and cigar smoke was terrible but through it I saw a beautiful girl seated at the bar on her own. Tears were streaming down her face.

I asked her what was wrong and she said that the smoke was making her eyes sting and stream with tears.

With that, I looked around and then took a huge breath, sucking in all the smoke. I then walked outside into the car park and blew all the smoke out again. I went back into the bar where the air is now clear and sweet and sat down next to the girl.

"That was amazing!" she said, "How did you do that?"

"No problem" I said

"I'm an ex-tractor fan"

Ah the wonders of copy and paste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Universal 445

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Star Trek Tractor-beam.

/end sh1ttest thread of 2010.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

ejmaztec wrote: »
    /end sh1ttest thread of 2010.
    Not quite.
    You must have missed the slurry thread over in the Culchie Forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

jd007 wrote: »
    Ah the wonders of copy and paste!

Yes. What an age to be alive.

Wasn't just copy & pasting; there was editing involved too, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    Not quite.
    You must have missed the slurry thread over in the Culchie Forum.

I've got a cold and couldn't smell that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Massey 365 FTW

/(Hopes someone gets reference)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

IMO you couldn't bate a 35x with a stick...

You know the 35x, fair play.
    Tell me, imagine if you were travelling with a over-fillled transport box weighing down so much that your front wheels were only occasionally touching the ground......... how would you steer albeit dangerously?

mikom wrote: »
    You know the 35x, fair play.
    Tell me, imagine if you were travelling with a over-fillled transport box weighing down so much that your front wheels were only occasionally touching the ground......... how would you steer albeit dangerously?

Brakes, come on man give me some credit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Brakes, come on man give me some credit!!

Fair play. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I hear the Lamborghini tractor is the Lamborghini of tractors.

on my grandads farm (197?) we used to have this old Ford, it had seen better days so now it was only used for flattening silage! The exhaust pipe was a bit of old scaffold tube and it used to blow perfect smoke rings every time you took yer foot off the accelerator and the spring under the seat had gone as well. :eek:

Namlub wrote: »
    I hear the Lamborghini tractor is the Lamborghini of tractors.

Oh! don't forget all the Chelsea tractors they drive in town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

The Fendt is the Mercedes of tractors dey say, but t'is hard to bate d'aul Davy Brown, dey could do almost 25 mph downhill y'know.
    And dem aul Valtras are fair ugly lookin yokes,d'are so dey are

I put this in another thread, it really belongs here! ;)
    I like the jet powered one! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Just for the record, the 'cool kids' who voted 'Agri Jaguar', actually voted for...

...a FORAGE HARVESTER!:

Eejit townies :D

SAME did a Jaguar model tractor though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

BluesBerry wrote: »

Ah sure she just a fine machine..... :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

massey for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

are we talking newish tractors or old stuff? John Deere 5020 = animal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Why wasn't I informed of this sooner.... :eek:

TVO ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭746watts

Massey 165 and mine is a 1967 with the 4203 engine. It will out drag any modern heap of electronic dirt anyday.

Slidey wrote: »
    Why wasn't I informed of this sooner.... :eek:

TVO ftw

only stumbled across it myself while ago (lots of time on my hands now that im ice bound :rolleyes:)

whats your mix for making TVO ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Massy Ferguson boi, can't bayht it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

corkcomp wrote: »
    whats your mix for making TVO ?
    There is actually a post here on boards on how to make TVO and a more detailed one here on the www

Slidey wrote: »
    There is actually a post here on boards on how to make TVO and a more detailed one here on the www

too tired to read all of that, but does 5 gal kerosene, 1 gal petrol and 1/2 litre engine oil sound right? been playing around with different ones recently and found I can get away with straight kerosene sometimes