Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forum Feedback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    Will you ever just be quiet? You'd swear you were the mod of C&H or something. Jesus like you never even post here but the minute feedback opens your in here saying something. .
    Excellent counter-argument, way to attack the post, not the poster, I love how you addressed the argument, and totally just didn't go for the poster, completely refusing to rebuke his argument. Very mature.

I think you need to chill out man. In fairness, if you post up your facebook and Twitter and stuff on the forum, you really can't expect people to not comment on it either. If you don't want people to do that and want your privacy, you just shouldn't post it. It's not an attack on you from other posters, it's common sense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

popcorn.gif
    Seriously noel, what did you expect like?

Also, unknown13 is in here a lot, dont go making statements you know nothing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

jumpguy wrote: »
    Excellent counter-argument, way to attack the post, not the poster, I love how you addressed the argument, and totally just didn't go for the poster, completely refusing to rebuke his argument. Very mature.

I think you need to chill out man. In fairness, if you post up your facebook and Twitter and stuff on the forum, you really can't expect people to not comment on it either. If you don't want people to do that and want your privacy, you just shouldn't post it. It's not an attack on you from other posters, it's common sense...

To be fair, I wouldn't have said a thing if it was a simple copy and paste of what I had posted. BUT it's not the same. It's not the same at all. It wasn't any of his business to post up my stuff. It's MY business. Is it really that hard for anyone to comprehend like? Seriously everyone's trying to counteract the point of this back to "Oh you linked to your twitter." So what? If I linked someone to my Mother's facebook, does it make it ok for them to go screenshot it? No, it doesn't. It especially doesn't make it ok for them to screenshot the site and THEN to post it on another site. I certainly don't go around doing that to other people on here regardless of the fact if they've somewhere linked to one of their social networking sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I personally think everyone should let it go, got the whole ominous feeling when I saw new posts :P...in fairness, no one's wrong and no one's right. Colm probably shouldn't have posted that screenshot, but I highly doubt he meant it to come across maliciously or to create such a bother, and tbh Noel, you linking your twitter before did make a difference, it set a sort of precedent, if that's the right word for it. I do agree with you that it's completely your business whether any sort of personal details are posted and I'd be a bit uncomfortable in your position too but there's no need to get into petty arguments about it all.

*insert overused mean girls quote here and thank the person who replies with 'she doesn't even go here!'*

To be fair, I wouldn't have said a thing if it was a simple copy and paste of what I had posted. BUT it's not the same. It's not the same at all. It wasn't any of his business to post up my stuff. It's MY business. Is it really that hard for anyone to comprehend like? Seriously everyone's trying to counteract the point of this back to "Oh you linked to your twitter." So what? If I linked someone to my Mother's facebook, does it make it ok for them to go screenshot it? No, it doesn't. It especially doesn't make it ok for them to screenshot the site and THEN to post it on another site. I certainly don't go around doing that to other people on here regardless of the fact if they've somewhere linked to one of their social networking sites.
    I'm confused. Was the screenshot edited or something? How would copying and pasting have made a difference? Either way, it's the same content.

Yeah, the screenshot was edited out. Because with copying and pasting it wouldn't have had all of my details on it. I wouldn't have minded that, at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

But there's a difference. In this case you gave C&H your Twitter account and asked us to follow. I check Twitter in the morning and there's a hundred or so reposts. I screenshot my own twitter homepage, and post it as a valid response to another C&Her's question. That same user could see your Twitter page anyway as he was clearly reading the same thread in which you posted your twitter page, meaning I didn't reveal anything about you that you already didn't.
    So what? If I linked someone to my Mother's facebook, does it make it ok for them to go screenshot it? No, it doesn't.
    The difference is this, you don't own your mother's facebook page, nor is there 100 reposts from your mother on my twitter feed.

Whatever you say, would it not have been easier to PM me about this than awaken the beast that is the Forum Feedback thread? I'd have removed it without question.

EDIT: To clarify, this is what the screenshot looked like:

QKyuc.png
    It went on for about 5 reposts to prove my point.

Details? What details? It showed his username (meh) and his real name, which is on the twitter account he linked to. So I didn't post anything he didn't already show C&H. Whatever. I'm just totally confused by this drama outbreak.

EDIT2:

Clearly I can when not everyone can see my tweets.. I've a request to view profile.
    No you don't. Not even after you changed your username, but ehh, consider my unfollow a sign that this won't happen to you again

Yeah, the screenshot was edited out. Because with copying and pasting it wouldn't have had all of my details on it. I wouldn't have minded that, at all.

Details? :confused: I thought it just had your twitter username on it, or did I not look properly?

What d'you mean edited 'out'? :confused: I'm asking was the screenshot itself edited? Not like, edited out of the post, I know it was.

As for your details (such as your name) being revealed, wouldn't they have been revealed anyway when you posted the link to your own Twitter?

Colm! wrote: »
    But there's a difference. In this case you gave C&H your Twitter account and asked us to follow. I check Twitter in the morning and there's a hundred or so reposts. I screenshot my own twitter homepage, and post it as a valid response to another C&Her's question. That same user could see your Twitter page anyway as he was clearly reading the same thread in which you posted your twitter page, ergo meaning I didn't reveal anything about you that you already didn't.

The difference is this, you don't own your mother's facebook page, nor is there 100 reposts from your mother on my twitter feed.

Whatever you say, would it not have been easier to PM me about this than awaken the beast that is the Forum Feedback thread? I'd have removed it without question.

Details? What details? It showed his username (meh) and his real name, which is on the twitter account he linked to. So I didn't post anything he didn't already show C&H. Whatever. I'm just totally confused by this drama outbreak.

I didn't even KNOW that you were following me. You must have been following me with a lot longer than the other Boardsies, and I wasn't following you back, so I didn't even know you could see it.

Anyway, whatever, I'm far gone past caring considering no-one here seems to be able to comprehend what I'm saying.

Yeah, no, I think most people comprehend it, they just don't agree. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

.....who cares?.... This is turning stupid now.. *runs*

I didn't even KNOW that you were following me. You must have been following me with a lot longer than the other Boardsies, and I wasn't following you back, so I didn't even know you could see it.

OK Noel go for it, what are you trying to say?

Yeah, no, I think most people comprehend it, they just don't agree. :)

Regardless, it's still not the thing to do. Whether people disagree with it or not, it's not the right thing to do. But sure whatever.
    Slow Show wrote: »
    OK Noel go for it, what are you trying to say?

^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

This is being blown out of proportion and becoming stupid now. I don't think many people actually care now except Noel.

unknown13 wrote: »
    This is being blown out of proportion and becoming stupid now. I don't think many people actually care now except Noel.

Well I for one am finding it rather amusing...although it should have ended about two pages ago.

unknown13 wrote: »

I'm gonna apologise to you for overreacting up there^. It's the one thing I actually regret posting on here, so yeah, sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

+1. I've became more conscious of what I post since I realised that I posted my full name to boards in an old post and it showed up in google. If you post info on forums, you can't expect it to stay totally private. That is up to you to be careful of what you post.

Noel, you totally overreacted to this altogether. I didn't see the original post but from what I have pieced together of what happened, I'd have to agree you have completely over-reacted.

He didn't reveal anything that wasn't revealed in your previous posts except the content of your tweets. I just searched twitter with the account name you posted (@noelob93) and I can see your full name and your profile picture even though I don't have a twitter account. I can also see the other side of conversations between you and soccy and you and screamingmidget and that is only the first page of results (your side of conversation is hidden but your full name and your profile picture are visible).

The contents of your tweets were revealed to the world. You have said that you won't have had a problem if he had copied and pasted your tweets. That would have revealed the same amount of info so I don't get the fuss.

My 2 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Ah lads, ah lads. Whenever I see new posts in this thread, I want to cry. :/

And yes, all anonymity is given away whenever you post links to your own pages containing personal details... However, I've always found it bad form to post anything with anyone's name etc. In the past, I've noticed someone here referring to another boardsie by their real name (because they're friends in real life or whatever), I PM'd them to point out that the other person might not want their full name all over the place. And they kindly edited it out. Of course, I had absolutely no power to make them do so, not modding the place and all, but I knew both the poster and the person the post was about and didn't want to report the post etc.. Anyway, I'm rambling. Point is, it's still not particularly cool to put someone's details up here without their consent - even if they weren't quite wise in posting said details themselves.

Also, won't someone PLEASE think of the children etc...

Aoibheann wrote: »
    Ah lads, ah lads. Whenever I see new posts in this thread, I want to cry. :/

And yes, all anonymity is given away whenever you post links to your own pages containing personal details... However, I've always found it bad form to post anything with anyone's name etc. In the past, I've noticed someone here referring to another boardsie by their real name (because they're friends in real life or whatever), I PM'd them to point out that the other person might not want their full name all over the place. And they kindly edited it out. Of course, I had absolutely no power to make them do so, not modding the place and all, but I knew both the poster and the person the post was about and didn't want to report the post etc.. Anyway, I'm rambling. Point is, it's still not particularly cool to put someone's details up here without their consent - even if they weren't quite wise in posting said details themselves.

Also, won't someone PLEASE think of the children etc...

You said exactly what I meant! Like yeah I know I probably overreacted, but no-one seemed to understand how I didn't want someone else giving away my details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Jeez, I go away for a few days, and this thread resurfaces, can't leave you alone at all.

Anyway, if you wish to remain anonymous, and don't want the users of the forum knowing personal details, then don't post links to it anywhere in the forum.

If you have access to another posters facebook/twitter/bebo/whatever the hell, please respect their privacy and do not post anything here. We've had plenty of complaints about the crossover of facebook before, can this be treated in a similar manner, and people not constantly post about things that are being discussed on other sites.

Also, I think everything got a bit out of hand on the thread last night, and take this as a warning, do not attack the poster, attack the post (no personal attacks) and as always, if you have a problem with a post report it, don't just aggravate people any more.

Kateos2

You said exactly what I meant! Like yeah I know I probably overreacted, but no-one seemed to understand how I didn't want someone else giving away my details.
    No one needed to. You did a pretty good job yourself. I sent you a pm about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Colm! wrote: »
    +1,000,000

Does every little incident between two individuals have to become a public wrangle? It really isn't for the good of the forum, now or in the past.

It's especially ironic when the public argument is about someone making public (or slightly more public, I suppose) what someone else feels should have been kept more private ... and the argument is started by the person arguing for privacy!
    And you're right in principle.

I don't post up my RL name or personal info here or elsewhere, and I would skin any of the people who I know IRL on Boards who did so.

BUT ... I don't even use twitter, and all I had to do was put the @address you gave on this forum into the search box on Twitter just now and there you were (even with the changed name) including your picture, name, address.

So I'm not so sure any more what was made public that you hadn't released yourself, dude, or indeed what you meant earlier by saying that your profile was "request to view"?

One way or another, tbh this has become the March C&H

0w3azsg2mcg6m7u2kvj3fz2mdntz3ruezu1s.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

My feedback is that we need better feedback.

Davidius wrote: »
    My feedback is that we need better feedback.
    Ya, some positive feedback for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Banjo Fella

We don't have half enough spontaneous hugging going on here, honestly. We're well behind the quarterly quota. This very serious issue calls for stern, decisive and immediate action! By which I mean...

(>^.^)>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

I feel like I should say something seeing as it was me who first mentioned twitter a few days ago and it was my post that Noel responded to with his twitter link.

I can see where he is coming from though. It was alright for him to post his twitter - he was giving the permission to himself to do it but I can see why he'd be annoyed with someone else for posting a screenshot (which I didn't get to see, it had been edited out before I saw it)that showed his details in it. Technically he didn't give them the permission to post anything that had his details in. I would be annoyed too if it were my details that had been posted but Noel did kinda give them away himself earlier this week however his details were still posted again yesterday without permission.

So really both sides are right and both sides are wrong.

Just let ot go now I think tbh. All's well that ends well.:)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

^^ Is that... Jigglypuff?!?

I think last year's feedback debates swung things too far in a certain direction. Friendliness was mistaken for clique-ishness, and an important part of what made this forum so much fun was lost to a certain extent. Then again, other things changed as well. A lot of people just got too busy to post here as much as they used to. Maybe I'm just romanticising or being sentimental, but some of the loveliness seems to have dissipated since the arguments in the latter half of 2010.

I found/find the whole "I'm leaving C&H forever" thing a bit retarded really. It nearly made me dizzy how much I rolled my eyes. But anyway, that's all passed. I don't mind the forum like, it's certainly changed but I don't think it's that bad. The main reason I don't post as much these days is because of this fugging Leaving Cert yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I found/find the whole "I'm leaving C&H forever" thing a bit retarded really. It nearly made me dizzy how much I rolled my eyes.

Huge +1. If someone doesn't want to post here, then don't. But you can go away without subjecting us to a wanky, self-indulgent "ZOMG I LUV U GAIZ BUT I HAZ 2 GO OH NOES!!!!1!!!" post and expecting everyone to be "ZOMG NOOOOOOOOOO! :eek:" :rolleyes:

As for the forum changing; yeah. Of course it changed. People change. If it stayed the same forever, I'd be worried that everyone here was developmentally stunted! :p