Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Seve OB wrote: »
    PC I am not.

Understatement of the year. I've met ^ in real life. He'd embarrass god. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Felexicon wrote: »
    Point to the evidence that shows if he was more "in shape" he would be in the worlds top 20
    Title of this thread should give you a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Title of this thread should give you a clue.

Well I certainly don't recall Shane being in the same shape as Rory or Tiger when winning that tournament so my question stands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Well I certainly don't recall Shane being in the same shape as Rory or Tiger when winning that tournament so my question stands.
    If Lowry ever wins the Masters they'll have to phone Kingsize in Grafton street for a green jacket. Now be off.

Ah right. Good argument there pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

I'm not criticising him 'personally' - I'm two stone overweight myself. I just think it's regrettable that someone with a gift, someone who could be Top 20 in the world at their chosen profession, doesn't make the most of that talent for reasons well within their control.

WTF?!

Not sure who Shane is working with now but certainly when in Ireland he seemed to do quite a bit with Robbie Cannon. You don’t need the physic of Tiger to be a top 20 player.

I have no doubt the fitness Shane has works for him and his game/swing and he does what he needs to do.

It’s absolute horse s**t to think his fitness is why he is not top 20 in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

it is possible to be fit and overweight at the same time

i don't imagine for one second that Shane is unfit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

The last few pages of this thread are a stark reminder why i took a long break from even looking at this forum. Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Dbu

it is possible to be fit and overweight at the same time

i don't imagine for one second that Shane is unfit

Of course he is fit..he may not run a marathon for you, but for golf he would be extremely fit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

The last few pages of this thread are a stark reminder why i took a long break from even looking at this forum. Jesus wept.

It's like a bi-annual thing unfortunately. Don't worry, it will be over shortly and then it will be back to golf talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭slingerz

read my opening line again.

I am 100% with you on that.

but that wasn't my point at all, was it?

I wasnt disagreeing or critizing you.

anyone who thinks that a being in better condition would not help Lowry perform better is crazy IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭slingerz

Ah now I don't think Shane is showing any signs that he is suffering from tiredness during rounds. It's not like he's one desert away from a mobility scooter.
    He only needs to walk around at a leisurely pace for a few hours. He has a caddie to carry his bag and there are refreshments available at every tee box at that level.

No amount of conditioning will make you immune to heat having some form of effect on you.

Of course the heat will have an effect on everyone. But those in better condition will be less affected.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Plenty of golfers lost lots of weight over the years and for most of them they lost their swing with it .
    Darren Clarke. John Daly. Jason Dufner . Bubba lost 2 stone last year due to illness . All of those have out most of the weight back on or most of it . Bubba and Dufner def playing better. John Daly won on the seniors tour .
    Lowrys problem is his putting has deserted him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭benny79

Has anyone played 4 rounds of golf 4 days in a row? Trust me it does take a lot out of you thats without travel pro am's warm ups etc... All Pro's are fit and most would work out. I know Shane and Beef regularly do just because they dont look it doesn't mean there not.

It really is a tiresome argument! We always have to seem to find fault with our national sports stars...

slingerz wrote: »
    Of course the heat will have an effect on everyone. But those in better condition will be less affected.

Not at all. In fact the best way to reduce the effect heat will have on you is to get your body acclimatized to it. By moving to Florida he's already addressing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

A guy with a tendency to put on weight and a fondness for his grub (he once posted a picture of the breakfast buffet in his hotel) moves to a place where supersize is a regular option and there's an International House of Pancakes (IHOP) on every 2nd corner.

What could possibly go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

I think Shane’s problem if you call it a problem is he’s a home boy. He likes to be close to his family and friends.

A week or two maybe 3 at a push is ok but after that he’s likes to be visiting home again.

Maybe with his wife and child moving will help when things settle down. Problem is he could be struggling to keep his card. Pga tour seems to get harder to keep your card each other.

Big few months ahead if he’ll get in us open and challenge for Ryder cup spot. He got a good start with end of last season but done nothing since I’m standings.

I’d prefer to see him doing desert swing especially it’s back to back in uae now. Good points and money but each to their own.

He reminds me of Harrington at the moment. Goes well but can have a bad few holes as tourney over. Just needs a good week and everything back to normal. Poulter prime example. A year ago he’s career in gutter. Lucky break and in winners circle in a year. Back in top 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,466 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

First Up wrote: »
    A guy with a tendency to put on weight and a fondness for his grub (he once posted a picture of the breakfast buffet in his hotel) moves to a place where supersize is a regular option and there's an International House of Pancakes (IHOP) on every 2nd corner.

What could possibly go wrong?

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,027 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Is there a chance he is just not playing well and adjusting to his new environment.
    Just a chance.

He has moved over full time -a good bit going on in his life and adjustments on and off the tour.

Moving over to America when you have loads of money - the weather etc, sounds like it should be easy. But the guy is a professional and his full professional network was based around Ireland. Everything from his practice routine to even practice surfaces have changed.

I'd say give him a bit of time - I'd say he will win in next few months again.

I think he will win a major at some point - The US suprised me in a pleasant way - but would have had him as a certain for The Open Championships.

The guy has won in US and an Irish Open and in Europe- as Irish golf fans that is a luxury and something we should never ever take for granted.

He is a no nonsense guy who has a personality and is fun - he offers an opinion that can be a rare thing in modern sports.
    And being from where he is - they are straight talkers and wouldn't tolerate the nonsense around slow play - we need lads like Shane around if the pro game is to make any progress in slow play.

Hopefully he doesn't learn anything from Padraig on slow play - but at a top major - the two lads working together and having a little contest at The Open
    You couldn't but be proud - even other pros looking at them curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,609 ✭✭✭valoren

To win the Irish Open as an amateur was incredible. We forget what an achievement that really was. Turning pro I am sure his expectations as a professional golfer was to gain financial security. Some high finishes helped massively. Job done. What next? Win in Europe as a professional? Check. Now what? Win on the PGA Tour? Check. It wasn't a journeyman tour event like the Booze Allen classic which is held parallel to a bigger tournament. It was a big one. What next? Win a major? A solid final round and he would have won the US Open. The toughest major on the toughest US Open course. His credentials are solid and he has absolutely nothing to prove to anyone except himself.

So that's what it boils down to. Expectations. Only Shane knows what his expectations are and being a pro he will do what he needs to do to accomplish them. Saying that, Golf owes neither him nor any other pro anything. Expectations can be dangerous. All we can expect is to wish him the best and enjoy watching him play his best golf.

The funny thing with golf is that one expectation met invariably leads to another. Expectations are dangerous because they can never be fully met.

So you won the order of merit? But you didn't win a tournament, it means nothing!
    Now that you've won your first major, justify it by winning another!
    So you won the PGA? But then you did lose that play off to win The Masters and we know that's more prestigious than the PGA!
    You're so good you won 3 of the 4 majors? You're nothing unless you win the grand slam!
    Tiger, you won 14 majors? Laughable! Sure Nicklaus won 18!
    Yeah Greg so you won the Open. Twice. But you never won a major in the USA!
    I know you won the US Open and the Masters Angel but who knows you might win the Open if you quit the fags!
    etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭Trampas

Back in local surroundings and looks like his season has finally started.

Trampas wrote: »
    Back in local surroundings and looks like his season has finally started.

Bar the 18th

A good double bogey in the end

AGC wrote: »
    Bar the 18th

A good double bogey in the end

I missed it. A bit like him on the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Lowry had a good first round today in his US Open qualifying. Serious lineup in this one!

kwfTNa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

callaway92 wrote: »
    Lowry had a good first round today in his US Open qualifying. Serious lineup in this one!

kwfTNa.jpg

Tied 2nd after 8 holes in round 2, 14 spots up for grabs.

He is flying it - as is Adam Scott

I think I might put a small bit each way on Lowry in the US Open itself - think he’s due a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,643 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

callaway92 wrote: »
    He is flying it - as is Adam Scott

I think I might put a small bit each way on Lowry in the US Open itself - think he’s due a result

(Paddy power rubs his hands with glee!)

Rikand wrote: »
    (Paddy power rubs his hands with glee!)

Yup - few quid each way equals PP rubbing his hands.

Is his exemption on pga tour continue into next year or does he need to retain?

Trampas wrote: »
    Is his exemption on pga tour continue into next year or does he need to retain?

Needs to retain his card. Indicated on Newstalk on Wednesday that if he does he will head back out to states full time and just play there.

That’s the impression I got.