Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The official Christmas FM thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭washiskin

thejuggler wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me the title and artist of the track Christmas FM is using on their test loop?. Its a frequently used festive piece bu I've never known who recorded it.

"Sleigh Ride" Leroy Anderson & His Pops Orchestra.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

I'll be up at 8am tomorrow hanging out of the ceiling trying to get Christmas fm on the radio!

I did that last year and was bitterly disappointed. I was expecting the DJ to say "and welcome back to Christmas FM for another year" or something like that. He just started up like it was any other time of the year and played a track. :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I remember that. It was very anti-climatic. I was like "I woke up at 8am on my precious day off for this!?" :p

12 hours until launch time, folks!! :D

It's baaaaaack! \o/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭washiskin

Posy wrote: »
    It's baaaaaack! \o/

Woooooooo Hoooooooo!!!! :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

It's baaaaaack! \o/

Bloody iphone app wouldn't work for it this morning :(

Had to tune it in using tunein radio app, and even that kept cutting in and out, the bits I did hear were great tho and the frost really made it a festive morning! But I need the app back working again!!

I have no idea what the first song played was, but it was crap. :o

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

I have no idea what the first song played was, but it was crap. :o

By the time I tuned in "Driving Home For Christmas" was playing and I love that song, so it made my morning, it's great hearing the Christmas classics on the radio, listening to them off a playlist on your ipod feels like you're cheating Christmas, haha.

Is it on tunein.com? I searched and got something that wanted me to download something. Think it's from last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Heroditas

It certainly helped me to cool down during my drive to work in that ridiculous traffic jam this morning.
    As others have said, the frosty morning really helped set the mood.
    I have to go out on site shortly so I'll have it on in the car for the rest of the afternoon. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

This was the first song for anyone interested :)

• Site Banned Posts: 152 ✭✭CUPimus

Michael Buble - Christmas

• Registered Users Posts: 6,805 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I can't find it on the Pure (the lounge) list. I'm sure I had it last year.

It's on the Roberts site OK (although the audio level is on the low side)

Seven Worlds will Collide

I do be listening to it off yizzer website (cos I canni get it in my gaff in wicklow on the radio) but it keeps cutting out :( it's a sadness that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I can't find it on the Pure (the lounge) list. I'm sure I had it last year.

It's on the Roberts site OK (although the audio level is on the low side)

Are you not able to get it online here http://www.christmasfm.com/ ? or is it another means you're trying to listen to it through?

star-pants wrote: »
    is it another means you're trying to listen to it through?

One of these lads !

http://www.pure.com/products/product.asp?Product=VL-61558

But works grand (if a little low) on one of these :

http://www.robertsradio.co.uk/Products/Internet_radios/STREAM205/index.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

ahhh... well now there's something I can't help with :o

Maybe Ronan will be able to help if he's about.

lockie1983 wrote: »
    it's great hearing the Christmas classics on the radio, listening to them off a playlist on your ipod feels like you're cheating Christmas, haha.
    But sure you have to use the old ipod when you're listening to your Christmas tunes in July! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Is it on tunein.com? I searched and got something that wanted me to download something. Think it's from last year.

Yes it is :)

I checked the tunedin on my android and compared with the website and both are in sync :)

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

For anyone who doesnt know a radio station called Christmas FM is now on the air for the next few weeks playing nothing but Christmas songs:).Money raised from texts etc goes to the charity Childline so its for a good cause too and all Presenters on the station are volenteer's(some are DJ's from other stations).Its only on though in Urban areas such as Dublin,Cork,Limerick,Galway and the South East around Wexford.Check the website for Tuning details.
    http://www.christmasfm.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭BuzzG

Any plans for Christmas FM to be available on the WiFi Frontier Internet Portal or is there a URL so that people can add it manually to their added favorite stations .. needs to be WMA, MP3 or Real Audio stream though and http URL?

Like the post above says it's already on the WiFi Frontier site.

http://ice6.securenetsystems.net/XMASFM

That post is from 2011, checked and I couldn't find it but open to correction on that. VanZan have you found it on the WiFi Frontier site?

This post:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81979241&postcount=345

So I went and search the Silicon Frontier site for "Christmas FM" and it was listed. Here's the URL to save you the trouble:

Cheers VanZan will give that a try.

• Company Representative Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭TheCostumeShop.ie: Ronan

Thanks VanZan,

Our live stream is at:

http://radio.securenetsystems.net/v4/index.cfm?stationCallSign=XMASFM

Which can be found on ChristmasFM.com

Also our App is #1 on itunes free apps section. Your guys are awesome for downloading it, we're really chuffed and blown away about everyone tell their friends about the station, especially in others countries, we never thought we would have such a world wide reach. We have such a limited budget to get the word out about us so please continue to let everyone know we're here for the next few weeks.

Sorry for the slow replies guys, been up to snowed under this week with work. I promise to keep a closer eye on this thread going forward.

So what do people of the station so far this year? Would love to hear any feedback good or bad.

I hated the first song. Next year play a better one to kick things off! :p

I'm finding the station very patchy this year on my phone radio and radio at home. A lot of static so I frequently have to change stations because the interference is bad. Apart from that no other complaints that I can think of, you guys all do an amazing job!

Are the ISPCC and childline the same charity or two different ones? I generally just give to animal charities like the ISPCA so I don't know a lot about them- are the proceeds being split between the two or is it the same charity? :o

I haven't managed to get it on the radio yet :( I am going to try all the different wavelengths yizzer on today in the hope of picking you up. I fear tis a lost cause though as I live as on the flat as you can right next to the sea with a big arse building in the way :(

I listen on the comp though, but that cuts out quite often which is a bit annoying. Love yiz though lads, keep up the good work. Might text in later for a shout out when I am putting up the tree :)

Like the post above says it's already on the WiFi Frontier site.

VanZan Thanks very much for that link, I was able to make a custom add on for my Pure Radio