Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Is it Now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭PositiveNegativ

What time is the Carnew dash at? Might show up for some Boards 'weakness in depth'.

What's this? Stirrings in the long grass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Good luck on Sunday. I hear they are waxing your tractor as we speak. ;)

And I'm waxing my legs for that photo ;)
    What time is the Carnew dash at? Might show up for some Boards 'weakness in depth'.

What's this? Stirrings in the long grass?

Jaysuz Mick, would you not find your own ball to play with? All the girls come out to support their dreamboat and suddenly you're interested? :D

Race starts at 7:30pm. Entry fee €300. Directions: Turn left at the bridge in Athlone and keep going :D

Fri 2.5 miles fast-ish

Grabbed the limited window of opportunity to get out tonight, for a leg-warming run in the forest, under a blazing moon. Ran faster than I have for a while, felt good throughout. Recent training has helped give a bit of speed in the legs, and strength to the body: but I'm still carrying far too much weight for this to translate into anything useful on hills. I've lost a bit of weight, but am carrying too much excess which limits uphill speed. I've been working hard to shed a few pounds, wonder what else I can do to lose more? Hmm, something to ponder, (over my 26th glass of robust Bordeaux this week.)

Sat 4 miles hilly

While the young lad was playing rugger in Arklow, I took the opportunity to run up the hill behind the pitches, Glenteige Hill. I took a direct line up through young plantation, and got a good workout in lifting the knees through the high grass and foliage. Soon I hit trails, and soft and grassy to run on are they. The view across the bay to Wales is stunning. I tried to battle through the dense foliage to hit the summit, but all I got was torn up legs for my troubles, so turned back after a while. Next time I'll bring a machete.

Back down through some fields, lovely surface to run fast through. I'll head up here again, its one of those special places that no-one seems to know about.

Sat 4 miles hilly

Back down through some fields, lovely surface to run fast through. I'll head up here again, its one of those special places that no-one seems to know about.

Known to a few as the almost impoosible summit. You'll need more than a machete. Send the boy to break your path.

http://mountainviews.ie/summit/972/?mtn_ct_pic_size=maximum

Known to a few as the almost impoosible summit. You'll need more than a machete. Send the boy to break your path.

http://mountainviews.ie/summit/972/?mtn_ct_pic_size=maximum

Ah, so that's the Marilyn that scarred you so. It has the delicious shore-dweller appeal of a reasonable jaunt with- surely- reasonable access to the summit. Not so, my bare legs were slashed to pieces, bloodied in strips. Thorns, briars, gorse; all now adorn my shredded legs. I did notice some extra attention from the rugger moms back at the sidelines; they seem to like a lad with battle scars to show for his day. Sucked in the gut and exulted in their admiring lechery.

Junior will make a good Sherpa next time. I'm reasonably confident I could push him aside and sprint the final 10 meters to the trig point glory...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Gashes, wounds, and embedded random prickly folliage on top of freshly waxed legs. I'm thinking it was the poetic contrast and contradiction of that leggy landscape that lured the ladies in. ;)

Sun 4.5 mile Santa Dash

Met with a pumped-up SJ an hour before the race to collect our Santa costumes. I was surprised by how well the wide trousers fit, and after the assembled photos, we took off, chasing twenty kids who tore down the main street at full sprint. There was a good few more runners today than last year, and some of them were fairly decent too. I had three of fours local lads on my back, which had a target on it from last year. SJ forged into the lead, and we turned for the first long hill climb. One lad of about 12 or so was running very well, and in football boots too! I went into 2nd half way up, and just kept plugging away. Hearing breathing drawing nearer, at the next turn I was joined by my next-door neighbour, who is a very good climber, and would do very well in IMRA races (she placed 4th lady in her first IMRA race, last years Annagh Hill). "Are we nearly finished Paul?" she asked me, and I gave her the good news that the 5k was in fact over 7k. We ran along the top road together, and a turn for the long downhill beckoned. I stretched away a bit here, my longer legs giving me an advantage, but not enough, there's a sharp uphill to follow, which broke me. Lucy passed by, as I gasped up. Along the main street to the finish, 3rd, in a little over last years time.

Overall I've no complaints. If I had not run yesterday, or dug deeper, or had remembered my inhaler for the breathing; I might have held on for 2nd. But to be honest I ran better than I had anticipated, and am happy for this to mark a start to proper winter training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Lucy passed by, as I gasped up.

Pops can't believe you fully accepted 3rd position after been chicked.
    Something to do with the trousers fitting well? :D

Abhainn wrote: »
    Pops can't believe you fully accepted 3rd position after been chicked.
    Something to do with the trousers fitting well? :D

Something to do with that all right. I have a fear of popping a calf, so I'm tentively upping my training. Yesterdays race was harder than I have run for a while, and the fast mile downhill, on a road surface, was a test for my legs. It crosses a stream and immediately pulls upwards at a steep angle, and that crossing was a bridge too far, I wasn't going to risk the calf by running up hard. Not dressed in a Santa suit anyway. So Lucy didn't drop to far behind on the downhill, and took me by continuing the battle, while I gave up. She's a very competitive woman, and was the stronger runner on the day. I broke, she didn't, she gets to look back on her race as a success, I get to question.

In truth, I was beat going into the race with that attitude. Like I said, I'm content with how the race went- I found out I could run hard for a while. Next time I'll run harder, longer. But its not a winning attitude at all, and if I don't risk injury by giving 100% in races, I'll never get anywhere. I'm a big fan of your training methods Joe, you put in the hard work- that's the extra work when its already hurting- and you get the rewards from that. I need to get some of that hurt into my training and racing. Yesterday told me I am ready to bring some of that hurt- my knees and calves were in good shape for all the pounding they got.

Mon 12th Dec 2011 9 miles 70 mins

With some of the ^above^ to think about, I decided to run a Punishment/Reward loop around the dark Carnew backroads. This means running all the hills hard, and the downhills easy. So, while DOMS was still at bay, I ran mile one steady, and upped the pace for the second. Now for the ugly part, a twisting uphill with no end in sight. I reached the point where I was hurting, and ran harder. Felt sick, breathing heavy, legs screaming: remember giving up yesterday. Keep going. Eventually a "Yield" sign is reflected in the distance, which signifies the turn. Keep the legs moving until it draws level, stop, hands on knees, nearly threw up my dinner.

Fine, catch my breath, start running at a steady pace again. Soon its the start of another hill, bring the pace up a bit. I can feel my thighs harden, so I use that to propel upwards. I've no idea where the summit is in the dark, but this climb isn't to steep, so I up the effort until I'm hurting as before. Again, I know this hurt will stop, again, I remember yesterdays race. Ignore the pain, keep going up round the bends, and run hard to past the road sign. Closer to puking this time, but recovered.

Jog, then ease into a steady pace. There are demons telling me to jog the rest of the way back, but they are yesterdays demons, they had their day. The last real hill is a long relentless slog, but its on the road, so can never be considered steep. Start running at a faster pace, soon I'm striding up, using the arms to propel forward. My form seems good on this one, and I know its the last, so I keep up the pace all the way. The hurt just seems normal now, something to be bourne until it ends. Hit the summit, and I am a couple of miles from home. Again, a jog becomes a faster steady pace, and I finish the final mile at a fast pace, ending right by where yesterdays race ended. More content with my run today than yesterday, I can't have any more excuses.

Not to rub salt in the wound, but you could've had your pick.....

2127.jpg

Wed 6 miles Annagh Hill

I didn't manage to get out for my 4 miles recovery pace yesterday. Going to have to realise "easy" recovery runs can't be skipped, they set you up between the harder sessions. So todays run of the Annagh Hill course with PositiveNegativ was done an aching muscles. The first climb went as expected- I run to the wall crossing and walk the rest, as PN runs all the way to the top. It's just a matter of getting out on this hill loads of times, and running a bit more each time. We were following someones else's footprints in the snow, along the ridge. Might as well have been on top of the world, its a magical place on a crisp day like today, when you can see for miles around you. (Photos from last year here).

Anyway, along the trails through the forest, and down through at a bit of a clip. I pushed it down here to close the gap a bit on PN, but was suffering for it come the slog climb. Sore calves, stitch in my side. I took a short cut and we met up again to climb the ridge in reverse. Plod, plod, walk. Broke again. Decided to try and run up as fast as I could, and it took a bit of effort. No adverse reaction from the legs, stitch was gone; I'm going to have to keep doing a lot more of this type of stuff. Running hard uphill gives good reward for its effort.

Back down the frozen trails, at a tentative pace lest slip on the ice. It was a bit warmer inside the forest, so we could stretch the legs a bit here. Very hard not to let go at some stage on this downhill! 6 miles done, happy enough with the loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Well done.

Jealous ;)

Well done.

Jealous ;)

There'll be plenty of opportunity to get up again over the coming months. Loads and loads :D. Route looks good, a bit bashed from the 4x4's in places, but a bit more compacted from them in others. Brashings have been put down in places furthest out, but they add to the fun. The final downhill zigzags seem a bit safer than it was last year, deep tyre rutting isn't quite so deep anymore. Which hopefully means no more broken legs!

Thurs 4 miles easy

'Ello 'ello 'ello, evening all, wot's all this then? Whenever I run at night on roads with the blue light, cars slow right down, start indicating when they pass me, go 30kph in a 50kph zone. Such good drivers around these parts when they think I'm a cop. No such obedience from the birds in the forest, who get frightened and start kamakazi swoops towards my torch. Ah well, its worth putting up with for the sublime tranquility (besides the birds) of night forest running.

4 easy miles, almost blind for most of it, but didn't put a foot wrong. A bridge to bridge race in pitch black: now there's something to mull over.

It's just a matter of getting out on this hill loads of times, and running a bit more each time.

Not so sure it's that easy.

I've run once a week for 5 weeks AND haven't pulled a cork in 6 whole days. I've even ridden my bike, once.
    Where's the reward for such sacrifice? I'm no faster, I haven't lost weight. Sod hard work, maybe I need a Garmin or an ipod or some app from an online guru. That's what's missing.
    I'm saved.

... haven't pulled a cork in 6 whole days....

...I'm no faster, I haven't lost weight...

What have we learned?

What have I learned?

I miss my Côtes
    (De Blaye & De Bourg).

What have I learned?

No Côtes = {No faster + No weight loss}

Therefore:

Côtes = {faster + weight loss}

I must lend you my book on logic.

Fri 2.4 miles easy

I'm running over marathon length tomorrow (Glendalough to Marlay along the WW), so tonight called for my pre-marathon ritual run along the riverbank. Twilights last gleaming for company, puddles turning to ice, excitement in my belly from anticipation...

Take your Garmin!! To see your path would be grand.

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Take your Garmin!! To see your path would be grand.

I have it charging here with you in mind Dory :)

Try not to break it this time. Enjoy the run. I'll be green tomorrow, but rest assured it won't be envy.

I'll be green tomorrow, but rest assured it won't be envy.

Woo hoo!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Fri

I'm running over marathon length tomorrow ..

wat happened to "im stayin away from dat long stuff":)...1 left;)

ultraman1 wrote: »
    wat happened to "im stayin away from dat long stuff":)...1 left;)

This is training (my one real LSR) for the Art O'Neill. I had the form filled out in my jacket for your one some weeks back, cash in the envelope, but was short in the wine store one evening, so put it to better use. ;)

I'll let you know tomorrow, if I'm still in one piece!

Sat 19 mile mountain run, 4 mile warm down

Didn't get over marathon distance in the end, but I'm happy with that.

We all (10 or so) met up in Dublin to start the car pool dance, on the 4th running of kiwirunner and Excuseless's annual Xmas stay-far-away-from-the-shops-athon. The run is from Glendalough to Taylors pub (beside Marlay park), and once we posed for a frozen photo at the start, into a hard steep climb skirting Brockagh hill. Its a tough start, as you could easily get too much lactic into cold muscles, with a long way to go. The ground was frozen in lots of places, that would be the flavour of the day. I fell in with GoHardorGoHome and JeffonTour, who were both happy to run at 6 hour pace. But at this early stage, there was no huge gaps- while I invariably held a brave rear, conversation flowed between the assembled forward and back movement of runners.

The grassy pass over Paddock Hill afforded us with our first great view of the day- clear, crisp, mountains, valleys, and plains. Coming off it, along the farmers track was lethal covered in ice, so progress was considered, tucked close to the warmth of living gorse where footfalls might gain traction. Onto the icy road by Oldbridge, which is equal parts monotony and boring slog climb. It was a relief to get into "Woddle's Field", and back onto track and mountain. As we ran through the forest, the wind was picking up, and Djouce loomed large ahead, frozen with snow and portent. At the gate, we had a quick bite, and kiwirunner suggested breaking into two groups from here, a fast and a slow, if no-one had objections? General concensus all round, apart from me who objected for the sake of having been given the opportunity. My hand went down quickly when kiwirunner said "All for one, one for all" would mean increasing the pace to his desire, rather than slowing to the shuffling excursion of my wont:) He assured us we could harvest his frozen corpse should he run too fast and bonk, so the deal was made.

Up the road along by Luggala estate, more ice, but as we rose, we were given some of the best views of the day. The aspect from this run will stay with me for a long time- just enough snow to add character to already impressive mountains, especially where the snow might lie and pick out a meandering trail against the browns and ochres of Wicklow heather. As soon as we hit the boardwalk to Djouce, conditions changed. A sharp wind cut into your face, snow soon obscured the footprints of the leading group, white and grey became the only discerning features. We met a few walking groups coming down as we ascended. Normal rules are slow gives way to fast on the narrow boardwalk, and most walkers stepped aside to let us past (and thanks to them!:)). However, I soon came to a twisted she-hag lost from the pages of Macbeth, garbed as though she was donning Everest, two walking poles forming a Zimmerframe to her twisted stature, and a face on her that- to put it mildly- suggested she wasn't quite enjoying this blizzard tundra wasteland as much as she expected to, when she signed up for the Rotary Club active 55's Christmas Ramble. I had to quickly step off the boardwalk, into ice, foot went crashing through, shoe and sock wet and freezing cold. With the wind and snow the way it was, this was some large discomfort for the next hour or so.

Anyway, we continued up, wrapped as best we could against the cold gale, any exposed skin whipped and raw. Finally we were sheltered by the aptly named White Hill, and some good running could begin. For miles, from here to the Dargle, we ran comfortably and strong, shoes landing well in snow that was just soft and shallow enough to make purchase. Coming down the flank off Djouce, the cloud lifted, and I couldn't believe how vivid were the colours of the low far fields. Our snowy vantage point looked down on what could have been a summers day. The run to the Dargle was a joy, hitting grass and heather at will, skipping past ice where it lay, and I have to say it was probably one of the most joyous runs in my life.

A walk up from the river brought us to the hard trail down to Crone Woods. To be honest, I don't care for the remainder of the Wicklow Way to Dublin, being on hard trails and nondescript mountains. How could anything compare to that snowy run across Djouce? We were at 15 or 16 miles (of a 28 mile run), and my enthusiasm was waning. I decided to split from Jeff and Eamonn at Curtlestown, and get the bus back from Enniskerry. So at 19 miles we parted, and I ran to Enniskerry, bussed to Ballaly, and ran to the pub (about another 4 miles in total). Having only run a couple of 14, 15 mile runs recently, I was concerned about doubling that milage on a hilly run, so am content with what I opted for. My legs aren't too wrecked right now, and I reckon this was just the long training run I needed for the Art O'Neill. I could have slogged for another couple of hours and finished the course today, but I'd prefer to keep that for finding out in four weeks time.

Good craic, food, and company, back at the pub. Great memories from this run, I really enjoyed it!:D

(Sorry Dory stupid Garmin won't upload or turn on now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Sounds like a great run.
    I've just started reading "Feet in the Clouds" and I'm alternating between "these people are dangerously insane" and "maybe..."
    'insane' is well out in front, but I'm a bit worried that 'maybe' will gain ground over the course of the book :eek: