Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Is it Now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Wed 4 miles steady

Tonight is an absolute howler! The wind is gusting in every direction, rain lashing down, dark as a witches arse: perfect conditions for Art O'Neill training!

Entered the forest with the headtorch lighting up millions of horizontal missiles of rain, all making a bee-line for my face. My new OMM jacket was put to its best test yet, and performed brilliantly. After half a mile I was a comfortable temperature, and dry, and stayed that way throughout the muddy splashfest. My pace was a little faster than intended, which I'm putting down to the sheer Joy of Running. Knee felt good, the stretches afterwards, allied with a proper warm-down, seem to be doing the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Tell me more about the OMM jacket - have you discovered a jacket that you can run in, in the rain, without becoming a sweatball? Or do you just not sweat anyway?

Cheers!

brownian wrote: »
    Tell me more about the OMM jacket - have you discovered a jacket that you can run in, in the rain, without becoming a sweatball? Or do you just not sweat anyway?

Cheers!

Check out this thread in the gear section. I got the OMM kamleika, its brilliant. Much lighter than goretex, its stretchy, covers well, keeps you dry and its breathable. Best jacket I ever wore, by miles. A friend has the Haglofs Ozo Pullover, which is lighter still, but more expensive, and he swears by it.

I do sweat in the jacket, but not in any way thats uncomfortable. I don't find I overheat in it either, like I say, tonight was cold and very wet, but I was comfortable throughout the run.

Fri 3 miles and 4 miles

/Aft/ Whence the younglings being departed to Pictoriums afar, mine eyes did fall on my beloved, and thoughts of afternoon delights to be had. Alas, my wooings fell on deaf ears, so her accompanym'nt to deciduous jogging was I, for three of His Majesties own miles. Discourse was the only course served, inter alia.

/Moontime/ Girded with covering fabrics, and a Cyclopean Prometheus abrim my nog, into the dark grasses of Annagh to venture. A steady march up yon hill, oft dowsing my glow, the better to drink in views afar. Some faster motion once ridgeward, under a lunar orb. Pitted and surprizeful was the ground, and better than not, the excursion. A tonic of four miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

A tankard of ale for your travels. Well done sire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Fri 3 miles and 4 miles

/Aft/ Whence the younglings being departed to Pictoriums afar, mine eyes did fall on my beloved, and thoughts of afternoon delights to be had. Alas, my wooings fell on deaf ears, so her accompanym'nt to deciduous jogging was I, for three of His Majesties own miles. Discourse was the only course served, inter alia.

/Moontime/ Girded with covering fabrics, and a Cyclopean Prometheus abrim my nog, into the dark grasses of Annagh to venture. A steady march up yon hill, oft dowsing my glow, the better to drink in views afar. Some faster motion once ridgeward, under a lunar orb. Pitted and surprizeful was the ground, and better than not, the excursion. A tonic of four miles.

Sat 6 miles easy

Saying hello to the same dog walkers from last week, a couple of loops of Micks trails. Back on the rugby pitches, for 1.5 miles barefoot.

Sun 8 miles hike

I've never been up the table track section which ends the Art O'Neill, so I took the young fella for a hike on what was the most perfect day for a stroll. He did very well, refused to turn back when offered, so we made it all the way to the peat hags overlooking the Three Lakes. Jumping from stack to stack is great fun, at any age. The views were incredible, and I got some useful recce work done.

Saw some silhouette tearing up the side of Camenabologue, but couldn't ID them. Fess up; who's getting a headstart on winter training?

Mon 6 miles steady

Black night, backroads of Carnew, running with minimal green light. The eyes are getting used to nocturnal vision.

Wed 7 miles steady.

Gradually, the knees are coming back to me. Running form seems stronger, pain is less often and less pronounced, and seems to be on its way out. I put this down to post session stretching, and shedding some weight. A fair bit to shift yet, but for the moment I'm happy to be able to string a couple of weeks together without incident.

Tonight's was a steady run, under a full moon. I managed to douse the torch for much of it, which was just as well, as I was getting blinded by the afterimage of my illuminated breath in fog. One dark section of the forest, I was almost running on wits, I could barely see any trail. Upped the tempo a bit here, for the thrill of it. Running fast in the dark: can only be bettered by running fast in the dark, downhill. To be continued.

Sat 14.5 miles hilly, Moonlight Challenge

This fundraiser for the Mountain Rescue lads clashed with IMRA's Powerscourt race, so runners were always going to be limited in number. The overall turnout was fantastic though, about 480 signed up to raise enough funds so they can finish their rescue base. From what I could make out, only 4 were running, so I came in either showered in joint-3rd glory, or shamefully paddy last :). Carparking and registration done with, we were all bussed to the start in Crone woods. The night was mild enough, but no stars or moon were visible on the ride out, and by the last embers of dusk we could just about see Djouce covered in low cloud.

I travelled on the bus with Philip B, orienteer and organizer of the Lug relay- a handy man to have at your side across a mountain in the dark- so we elected to run together, at least for the first section across Djouce. The two other runners took off, and we set off up the forest, dodging the packs of walkers ahead of us. This was to be my first test of how far the knee could bring me, and I was content to climb in comfort, pain free. No incidents all the way to the Dargle, steady enough. We were held up a couple of minutes at the river crossing, and then had to run up through congestion, as the first packs of earlier starting walkers were caught up with. Cloud was becoming an issue, visibility was getting progressively worse, and the climb up towards Djouce was very mucky. Once we were on White hill, the cloud was a soup; hard to see more than two meters ahead. We hit the boardwalk just ahead of a pack of walkers, and indeed only met 4 of their vanguard on the sleepers, who all generously stood aside for the runners. I found progress swift here, not being able to see the fall from the sides being of some benefit, and I had to pull back the pace at times, felt pretty good. We refueled at the first checkpoint (the first two lads having later told us they could see out headlamps coming, just as they were leaving). Drink, hand over checkpoint ID, and off into the soup again.

This road section became even worse- you know how your headlamps light up fog when driving, so you can't see? Well, that's how it was for the next 10k, becoming so bad that we in fact bumped into each other several times. Philip hadn't run this section before, but like everyone else knew it from the WW relay as the "chick leg", overall downhill. But he was surprized at the never-ending gradual climb in the forest, its tough to keep plodding upwards when there's literally no end in sight! Keeping on the track was hard enough too, even the sides of the trail were difficult to make out. Soon we reached the forest, and went through it, for the nice downhill trail. I let loose here, finding it harder to hold back. Felt great at the time (and no knee pain), but my legs weren't used to that in a while, and I knew I'd pay for it later.

Another checkpoint at the stile (the organization throughout was superb), took a gel, and ran down to the road section at Oldbridge. Its just a plod here, and when we hit the uphill, my legs immediately began to complain. Certain muscles were starting to cramp- thats to be expected given my limited training of late. So while Philip plodded ever upwards, I began to run/walk, trying to get life back. Seemed to work ok, and after saying hello to marshall Izzy, we were back in the forest, towards Paddock Hill. The cloud was beginning to lift by now, and the moon made its contracted titular appearence, which made for a much better experience. Headlamps were turned low, and we started up the final climb to Paddock Hill. My legs were hurting at this stage, I knew it was a matter of dragging them up. I guess thats a weight factor too, because I felt fresh as a daisy come every flat or downhill, and could have charged ahead (but would be paying for that now!). PosNeg was his usual precise self marshalling the final bend- where everyone else had been lying to us, "Just 3k to go lads!", "Only two k downhill left, keep it up boys!"; he informed us we had "somewhere between 1600 and 1700m lefy, mainly downhill, mucky in places, watch out for the turns".

But this was the end, and we gladly ran down through the muck, trail, and then onto road, before coming in to the base, for some very welcome hot food and drinks. Took us about 2:56 including stops, the other two boys were home about 10 mins ahead of us. We certainly slowed a bit over the closing stages, but neither of us minded that, as we had kept up the conversation right the way along the route. Personally, I was delighted that my knees had played ball the whole way, and I enjoyed the whole experience immensely. It was probably the best organized event I ever took part in, and deservedly a huge financial success for the (unpaid) Mountain Rescue volunteers. The four of us exchanged war stories back at the base over soup. The two leaders had upped the pace after the first checkpoint, having been convinced for the remainder that we were just a flashlight beam behind:D Maybe next year lads, for this year I was more than happy with the whole evening. We left soon after- it would be more than an hour before the first walkers were expected (and fair play to so many of them who stood aside and encouraged us runners). Great event, well worth doing for any runners next year, a straw poll of us four gave it 10/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Well done mate. Sounds great. Another well organised event by mountain rescue continuing the standard they set last year. The clash with the imra race was unfortunate as it would be great to have the running numbers upped.

Mon 6 miles easy

More torchlight fun, I was unable to get in a recovery run yesterday, and it was needed. Legs were still today, aches where I keep my uphill locomotor apparatus. It feels better after a stretch tonight, six easy miles around Carnew backroads.

Tue 4 miles easy

The plan was to warm-up a couple of miles and then do some hill repeats, but a few niggles during the initial run told me that hills are a bit soon. I'm going to buy a cross trainer, I need to get in some non-impact aerobic exercise in lieu of "hitting the roads" days. Figure I'll try it for a while, and keep any running days to trail and grass.

Wed 4 miles fartlek, 1 mile warm down

I got a bit of slagging about my intended cross-trainer purchase, so needed to prove that I wasn't going to turn into a gym bunny. It was a miserable afternoon, so while Mr. "Tough Talk 2011" noshed down on ham and cheese sambo's in his slippers, I headed into the howling rain for a lunchtime run. The first mile was steady, coming in at under 7 mins- thats a lot faster than I've run in a while, and felt relatively tough. For the next three miles I alternated strides over various distances, with minimal recovery. It felt good to be running fast again, on this first real workout I've had in some time. Fartlek is all about effort- no matter what your fitness level, you should feel fairly wrecked after each burst of speed, and so it was with me. The forest is an ideal arena for this free running, as you can run to a tree or a bend, rather than judging effort based on distance or watch. This was a decent session, hopefully the start of a more structured training cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭PositiveNegativ

It was re-heated pasta slop, a staple for tough talking BS'ers.

If you want to risk dirtying your leotard how about putting aside next Wednesday for a stroll in the hills. I've a few probationary types that need working over. Three would be 50% more entertaining than two.

It was re-heated pasta slop, a staple for tough talking BS'ers.

If you want to risk dirtying your leotard how about putting aside next Wednesday for a stroll in the hills. I've a few probationary types that need working over. Three would be 50% more entertaining than two.

I went to see the cross trainer, tried it out and after 20 seconds something loud went "Twang!" from the resistance plate, which no longer gives resistance. So no cross trainer for me, I may well take you up on your offer of probing and reheated pasta next Wed. What hill have you in mind? Daylight or darkness?

What hill have you in mind? Daylight or darkness?

Hill, singular. You're funny.

Daylight, I have to be back in time for training at 8pm so probably looking at 6 to 8 hours of speed marching through the arse end of Wicklow.

Hill, singular. You're funny.

Daylight, I have to be back in time for training at 8pm so probably looking at 6 to 8 hours of speed marching through the arse end of Wicklow.

Firstly, I meant no insult in suggesting you might polish your boots for a mere hill of the unitarian singular sui generis. I must remember you are made of stern Wicklow Round stuff, so please accept my humblest apologies, I was speaking above my station, consider me suitably chastened. Mega-multi-Omnihills of the spawning, abounding, and manifold oodle-kind, are grist to your mill, and never let that be forgotten.

On the other hand, I pour scorn and venom at your girly excursions in daylight, guided by Sol as eloquently as Turkey-Lurky and Ducky-Lucky guide a child towards poetry; hand in sunny glove with your shining custodean leading a timid pack of boy scouts on their Big Adventure where they will all receive "managed to discern an obvious trail in daylight" badges, before setting down to illuminating campfire tales of "Wot 'Orrible Dangers Lurk Between Hours 10 to 15". Mind you don't trip on that well-burnished, radiant, unobscured, divot, lads!!

Quoi? Qu'est-ce que tu dis?

"tu". Ahhh. You big softie :D

So, are you up for that stroll? I'm doing it as time on the feet prep for the Art O'Neill. Right up your alley I'd have thought, if you can put your speed limiter on.

It would be perfect except I have to be home at 3pm on Wed. Could leave at 9:30am, and do some.

I doubt I'll get much time on feet stuff beyond 3 or 4 hours before the AON (they have Sherpa's to carry you the rest of the way, right?). Anyway, endurance isn't a factor for a fat lad like me, so long as I'm eating right on the night. Figure I'll jog the road bit, and run/walk the rest.

I'd be well into any dark night recce of an off road section that you felt might be useful. I'll leave the thesaurus at home for that.

Fri 5.5 miles easy hilly

Up Mangan's for an easy pace with PosNeg, running and chatting going up, chatting and running coming down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Good grief you are fun to read!

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Good grief you are fun to read!

:) Thanks! We can form a mutual appreciation society, your own log is a welcome addition and excellent read!

Sat 4 miles @ 7:19 pace, 1.25 miles warmdown

Youngster was at rugby training, which means its the morning when I continue to grow friendships with the dog walkers on Mick's loop. I figured I would put the foot down a little on this one, to see where I was at, so the effort was quite noticeable throughout. It's hardly flat either, and some of the hill bursts took a bit out of me. Still, I was happy to get progressively faster as each mile ticked by, and was happy to see a final mile of 6:51. Things are going in the right direction, at least.

Finished by getting my socks wet and muddy for ten minutes barefoot round the pitches.

Tue 6.5 miles hilly

Beautiful morning, so I donned my finest running apparel, and elected to have a look at Annagh route, which hadn't been canvassed for some while. Keeping my own council, I muttered most unparliamentary language up the tough initial climb, jogging until the calves rebelled. The central governor was in control for the rest of the powerwalk to the summit.

The boggy masses along the top were quite downtrodden, but the clear air and fresh views of many parishes, great for the constitution. After some further rocky patches and hard ground, I rose up again, voting to stay the course for the full term instead of resigning myself to any dissoluted shortcuts. Negotiated the final stretch at a civil pace, and back home to sate the hunger. No bread in the house, but plenty of cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Qu'ils mangent de la brioche!

Wed 6.5 miles easy

Late evening run, with the legs a little sore from yesterdays elevation. Try as I might, I just can't walk down those great downhills, and I'm suffering today as a result. Anyway, this run was easy pace, so I just ignored the jabs of pain, and soon they weren't there. My ipod unearthed itself from a long-lost drawer, so Radiohead drowned out any external sounds. And for good measure, I angled the headtorch into the trees, and switched it to its dullest blue light, taking care of sense number three. I've no sense of smell to speak of (boom-boom), so if it wasn't for the lingering taste of chorizo from tonight's dinner, I may has well had been running in space.

It's always a good sign when the problem with the easy runs is keeping the pace down, as with tonight. Fartlek tomorrow, legs feel good for it.