Catweazles Half-Ironman or Chicken challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Maybe......
    What will probably happen is that Mrs C will change it for me and I will be beside her watching and nodding approvingly but not listening - she is much better at that type of stuff.........but keep your mobile close at hand tonight in case of a call out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Priceless! :)

Well one tube replaced but it took me ages, god help me if that happens in a race. Got it out ok but I found it difficult to get new tube in and tyre sitting properly over it, thought i had it a few times only to find that it wasnt on properly when pumped. Finally got it and when I was admiring my handiwork I noticed that the back tyre was flat too. Last night must have been a double blowout - no spare tube so more practice tomorrow :mad:

Got up early this morning for 1500m swim and found a nice little bog road just over 8k near my gym with some small but cheeky hills for a lunchtime run, I had hoped it would lead back to the road but running into some guys farm backyard with two sheepdogs barking got me turning back quickly

Friday 1200m morning swim

Saturday - The Lap of the mask 71k cycle

Having never done a cycling race or distance like this before i found it very enjoyable and superbly organised. Headed off with a friend on this and a few miles into it looked back and saw we were at the head of a big group of about 30/40 riders. Kept plugging away and after another 10 minutes realised that no-one was else was going to do the work here. My visions of some Tour de France like pelathon were crushed. Eventually fair play two lads took up the slack and after ten minutes off we took over again and finished at the half way point in Tormakeady.

At this point we agreed we were going to take it easy and sit in the back for the next stage, but foolishly took too long over our mandatory pints of cider and missed the slow pelathon heading off. The pros headed off with us but we were never going to be able to stay with them so it was just the two of us for the 2nd half.

We decided to do the extra 7k head of the Mask section which was tough, road wasnt great plenty of hills and you couldnt open up on the downhill sections because of this.

Neither of us had Garmins or watches so no idea of times, we were going at a decent clip for us though. I was comfortable enough until 60k and then the shoulder blades started to really give out.

Glad to get back to Ballinrobe at that stage but I was delighted at the increase in bike milage, a lot more of those needed before Swinford. The lack of drafting for us while a bitch at the time will be of greater benefit in the long run than coasting in a big group.

All in all a good day, marshals at every turn, a very well run event.

Had a late night saturday so was very happy to be just marshaling in the clubs 8k on sunday. Saw Ronanmac doing another pb resplendent in his boards AC top, hes come a long way since the Tuam 8k at the start of the year.

Went out for a longer run later in the day, 13k at around 5.15 pace. Its time to start increasing the miles again, I have a 1/2 marathon in Achill in early July. Although it will be very much a c race as Mrs C will be doing it as well with me. I am kinda glad of that as Achill is a real ballbuster of a race anyways.

Today 1300m lunchtime swim. I felt a bit better in the pool today, first time in a long time. Got a small lecture off the gym star swimmer last week to introduce some new drills or programmes or I will struggle with motivation. I think he hit a nerve as lately it is all been just about keeping my milage up

Did an unplanned sign up to a sprint Tri around NUIG in a forthnight, word in the club is that the swim will be quick so I decided I could do with a confidence booster before Athy.

I am going to justify putting this into the schedule as "hopefully" I am going to do the Croi Lough Corrib outing this weekend which is 120k and with a 71k spin last weekend I deserve a sprint outing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

catweazle wrote: »

the Croi Lough Corrib outing this weekend

Good to have warning of that.... I nearly killed a few cyclists last year :eek: Not really but I was in a group of cars behind a big group of cyclists at those really bad corners between cloghanover and corrandulla. Some eejit 5 or 6 cars backcouldn't wait 5 minutes and passed all the cars, was passing the cyclists on the corner on the right hand side of the road. I could see a car coming the other way from where I was but he couldn't. Honestly for a split second in my mind I could see bodies all over road but thankfully it didn't happen.... but I've never seen anything so close.
    I think I'll avoid the Headford road on Sat but good luck with it!

littlebug wrote: »
    Good to have warning of that.... I nearly killed a few cyclists last year :eek: Not really but I was in a group of cars behind a big group of cyclists at those really bad corners between cloghanover and corrandulla. Some eejit 5 or 6 cars backcouldn't wait 5 minutes and passed all the cars, was passing the cyclists on the corner on the right hand side of the road. I could see a car coming the other way from where I was but he couldn't. Honestly for a split second in my mind I could see bodies all over road but thankfully it didn't happen.... but I've never seen anything so close.
    I think I'll avoid the Headford road on Sat but good luck with it!

Thanks Littlebug.............I think :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Tuesday Lunchtime easy swim 1000m

Tuesday evening Claregalway 5k

Crap night lashing rain and puddles everywhere. I found this race much harder than last week.

Decided I would follow a club member who was close enough to 20 minutes last week. It was a tight start and I got held up by a runner straight away and lost him almost immediatley. Went through the first kilometre in 3.56, I checked the Garmin shortly around 1.25 and I saw my pace was was 4.21. This threw me as I didnt think I had slowed down at all, I think I had gone out a little too quick again and was slowing down near the end to bring it to 3.56 and didnt pick it up again on the 2nd k. I think I clawed back a little bit of time, not much 2nd k 4.16.

The third k had a killer hill on it, long and steep, legs burning and gasping for breath I was at 4.40 pace going up this, at this stage my old club rival came into view behind me and gave me a big cheery hello. He seemed awful fresh......was he playing mind games with me :confused: Another member who had missed last week also came up beside me. Neither of them went by me at this stage though unlike in Craughwell and Athenry, bastards were waiting :D. I think I clawed a bit back from 4.40 but not much on the 3rd k, came in at 4.30

4th K and I was wrecked, my usual rival (I think he can safely go in as my arch nemesis at this stage certainly in the 5k series anyways) moved ahead. My head dropped a bit and I was giving up the chase, his mistake was not to push harder from there, another few metres ahead and I would have been dropped altogether. But he was still there just 5 metres ahead 4k = 4.13. The other member had come up beside me for about a minute but dropped off the pace again

There is a nice downhill section in the end at Claregalway on the main road so I was holding out for that. I still didnt think I was going to be able to beat my friend but I didnt want to be too far off last weeks time. I picked it up just before the bend and was surprised by another hill when I turned the corner. Found this tough but knew once up it was downhill all the way, I started to gradually close on him and two others. I was all out at this stage but I was still gaining on them, gave him a quick come on John as I went by him, I hope he didnt think I was being cheeky but I wanted him to push on as well.

Kept going with the head down for the rest of the way, I felt someone motoring along behind me, had a sly glance saw it wasnt the club mate and didnt try to eek out an extra few strides to keep him away and he beat me on the line. I am kinda mad now about that I should have held him off, I admired all the runners who pushed it to the end when i was marshaling on sunday so I should have done it myself. Last k done in 3.58. I have a new pb on the heart rate of 194 - I will be taking on Macanri and Littlebug soon if that HR keeps going up

Position is encouraging 69th today, 97th last week so I am moving up although there was less runners out today with the weather. Loughrea next week and I was listening to horror stories after of a hill similiar to Mount Everest on the 3rd k there so it looks like another slow one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Good man CW, my heart rate hasn't been that high in quite a while now. Need to wait til the Raheny Shamrocks winter league comes around again and lamp it over a mile or two!

Nice report, you're getting towards that sub 20mins, on a less hilly course.

Maybe try leaving the watch at home for the next one (are you glancing at it a lot?) and run it on feel, start medium and build to hard pace.!! Just a suggestion, please feel free to tell me to feck away off.

Nice one CW. You're flying. That hill wasn't pleasant so fair play for holding on. Welcome to the high HR club ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Good stuff, catweazle, you have more arch-nemeses (?) than James Bond! Sounds like a pretty tough course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

ronanmac wrote: »
    Good stuff, catweazle, you have more arch-nemeses (?) than James Bond! Sounds like a pretty tough course.

Catweazle......is this really you???

drevil_bigglesworth6.jpg

Kept going with the head down for the rest of the way, I felt someone motoring along behind me, had a sly glance saw it wasnt the club mate and didnt try to eek out an extra few strides to keep him away and he beat me on the line. I am kinda mad now about that I should have held him off, I admired all the runners who pushed it to the end when i was marshaling on sunday so I should have done it myself.

I remember this happening to me at the Craughwell 10, a rake of people went past me at the end. It felt really dispiriting after the effort of the previous 10 miles! I promised myself from then on that I'd put in a spurt at the end of races and thought I was doing so until I saw a photo of the end of last Sunday's race. Not alone was I easing up, I seemed to have been stopping my watch before even crossing the line :o. A good way of ensuring PBs, I suppose :D.

By the way, did you feel much pressure yesterday, it being the home event?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

that 20 min mark is there for you on a flatter course alright well done on another good race
    personal battles are great for keeping you motivated in a race - and you have the cheek to slag me about the eoin ryan incident??
    For the ultimate psyc-out though you have to try that whole babyoil thing on the start line at Loughrea;) that arch nemises of yours will either DNF or lamp you!!

ronanmac wrote: »
    By the way, did you feel much pressure yesterday, it being the home event?!

Nah I am a complete blow in, dont know anyone really in the area, any socialising I do is in town
    DustyBin wrote: »
    and you have the cheek to slag me about the eoin ryan incident??

Touche although this guy was a fine footballer as well and never gave me a sniff of a ball so its personal :D

Slept it in this morning so did a quick 1000m in the pool and lunchtime easy run of circa 7k

The stars are aligning nicely for me this weekend for a good training schedule, Mrs C is away in Athlone on a hen on saturday and most of my mates are gone for a weekend booze up to London for the darts. Gently broached the subject tonight of heading off early on saturday for a run with the club ;) but secretly I am eyeing up the Burren half marathon. Havent ran this distance in ages but I am more going to do this for a bit of fun than anything else, it will make Achill look like a cakewalk hopefully.

If I come ok out of it, I will have a crack at the Lough Corrib cycle on sunday, by the time Mrs C is back on sunday I hopefully will have most of it done

that's a fair whack of training for the weekend CW
    it says a lot when with a weekend totally to ourselves we look forward to all the training we're going to do!!
    I'm the same, one particular time with Mrs DB away I didn't tell my Dad she was gone incase he suggested we do something, I was worried it would get in the way of my training - sad or what?

Enjoy your few pints of cider on the bike on Sunday you'll have earned them

DustyBin wrote: »
    that's a fair whack of training for the weekend CW

Ya sundays corrib cycle is very much dependent on how the legs feel the morning after when I wake up, a brief discussion this morning to Mrs C mentioning again the early morning on saturday drew no reaction so I am now officially entered. I am hoping I will treat this as a nice scenic LSR but it might not turn out like that, I tend to get excited during races and pacing goes out the window. Theres a few Gaelforce entrants from the gym running this as well. I will have a recovery week next week. Have been offered another pass if anyone else is interested in climbing mountains in the Burren on saturday, dont know how much she is looking for though :confused:

I am getting better at the early mornings now 2 days in a row....1600m swim. Still treading water though, I hope to start doing some open water next week which I hope will refire my swimming mojo.

8.5k run at lunch time today, went up the back roads behind the gym, took a wrong turn and got hopelessly lost. Managed to flag down a van for directions and he told me go back and take a right and it was around 5k away. Fair play he saw my crestfallen reaction to that and offered me a lift so I jumped in.

Found it tough going today, christ it was hot, short swim and shave tomorrow and then rest up for saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Managed to flag down a van for directions and he told me go back and take a right and it was around 5k away. Fair play he saw my crestfallen reaction to that and offered me a lift so I jumped in.

Fair play to him. Not quite the same thing but my mate BB ran out of steam about 16-17M into a 20M training run for the GLR a few months back and had to get a bus back into town. He had no money on him but the busdriver took pity on him given the state he was in and even dropped him back at his car after she finished the route and was bringing the bus back to the depot :D.

Friday easy 600m in pool

Saturday - Clare Burren Half Marathon

Signed up to this earlier in the week as a fun long slow run in fine weather. Ended up being a great event with a much bigger turnout than I expected.

Settled in around mid pack before the horn and was laughing at the PA announcer in the truck getting very worked up about the whole thing, Europes Rock Classic the Final Countdown had him well lathered up. Some guy said next to me that he was the local priest.

Siren sounded and away we went. It was 9am and the sun was baking down, I love the heat. Took it handy enough the first three miles just keeping it under 10 minute miles.

The turn for off road was around here, I was lucky it was such good weather as no way would the asics have handled it if it was wet. We hit the first mountain around the 4 mile mark, wasnt too bad was getting up it fine, chatting to 2 lads that were doing their first Marathon, now I thought Connemara was a tough one to start out on but this one would have been Connemara on steroids. At the top of the mountain there was a fork in the road I was half tempted to go with them as they were good craic, my previous attempts at chatting to other participants at around the same pace led to much show and bluster of turning off their ipods so they could respond. I like ipods for training but I cant understand why you would use them in mass participation events.......whats the fun.

The downhill off this mountain was gravelly and had to be taken with caution. The next mile or two was along some gravelly road ever so slightly uphill which was gradually sapping the legs. In the distance was the 2nd bigger mountain that I had been warned about, it was a bit like Connemara all over again with people cursing and dreading what was to come. I mentioned to the couple beside me that I was going to run this and not walk whereby a guy in front slowed down and said he would go with me. Nice guy doing his first tri in Athy soon, I might not have made it only for him, had a bad point around the middle and he started pushing on, but I clung on and eventually he had to walk so I kept going. It was great as I had gone out slow I was passing loads of people up this.

The downhill off this was cross country lots of marren grass and stones, so I was a bit chicken **** of hurting myself so I took this nearly slower than when i went uphill. There was a train of slowcoaches with me in the middle of it and the more braver flew down hopping from stone to stone. My hill partner gave me a shout as he went by. Cant seem to upload the garmin but I know at one stage I looked at the watch and I was over 15 minute miles......on a steep downhill :eek:

Finally got down and we got back on the road again, 3 miles left and I was feeling great. There was a big long straight ahead of me and I could see loads of people ahead. Decided I would go hard for the last three, so mile 10 7.40, mile 11 7.35 and a last 7.10. Was flying by people at this stage and near the end i had one more in front that I might catch, I was thinking of the 5k earlier in the week so I went all out with about 200ms to go, gradually reeling him in as he tried to stay ahead.

Of course the PA saw this battle and started shouting "will you look at him, hes legging it, hes bloody legging it, will he do it, will he do it" and I pipped yer man at the line to a big cheer :o

Finished in just over 2.12 I think, looking back on it if I had gone all out, I dont know if sub 2 would have been on for me. Maybe close i dont know, I doubt I would have made it up the 2nd mountain without walking if I was under 9 minute miles. And I clearly cant run quick on the real off road stuff

But it was the most enjoyable LSR I ever had, certainly I might give this a proper go next year, plenty of water and food at the stops and a great atmosphere in the village. The scenery goes without saying around there.

Hung around after the massage to applaud the first marathon runner in at 3.02, I reckon he was disappointed he didnt break 3 hours, crazy time on that course.

As an aside, decided to go for first open water swim of the year when I got home, Annaghdown Pier has been changed so no ladder, it is now a leap of faith into the water, it was lovely the cold was no bother at all. Did a quick 600m before home for the decking and a well deserved beer

Fair play CW. Sounds like a great but tough H.M. So off out cycling today and another race on Tuesday then? ;)

Afraid not Littlebug, I irritated my blister on the sole of my foot hopping along all those rocks yesterday. Tried everything last night to get rid of it, lancing it etc but it was still killing me this morning when I got up so skipped the cycle. Typical the cycling was the more needed this weekend as well. Presume I will be fine for tuesday though

Going to go down to Annaghdown pier again in a few minutes and go for a nice long swim instead, I see you were there yourself this morning, if you see a guy in a wetsuit whimpering like a girl before he jumps in thats me so say hello

Sounded like a good day but tough! Fair play on the sprint finish, that'll teach them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

makes Connemara sound like a treadmill event...:) Good going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well done mountainman:p, that sounded tough. A great strong finish there.

Compeed is great for the blisters, if you haven't tried it before, it's like a second skin.

Ya mrs C came home later yesterday and immediatley banned the swim as she thinks its infected, must run over and get the compeed on it as I have a tri on saturday.

I am tempted to go to the pool anyways at lunch I am guessing it should do me no harm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Wow thats sounds like a tough race, one for goats. Well done CW!

That's a nice little LSR there catweazle
    Think of HunnyMonster on her epic run this week and grit your teeth through the pain of the blister:p

No tumultuos 5k battle with my arch nemesis tonight. The blister has stopped giving me pain but its still pretty swollen so I dont want to mess up my race on saturday.

Monday Lunchtime 1600m swim Evening 10k on tribars - 10k in 22 minutes, christ thats pathetic!

Tuesday Lunchtime 16k on bike up hills, no watch. Tuesday evening 1000m approx in Annaghdown. Really enjoying the open water swims the wet suit is kinda replicating my pull bouy so I feel i am swimming better than in the pool. I havent measured the distance accurately but on mapmyrun it comes up as 250m from pier to rock. Its probably close to that, did the first lap in just under 12 minutes, went wrong direction on way out. 2nd lap was much better, 9.40, i took it slower but kept my stroke longer and felt more power in the arms, need to practice the sighting more though

First early morning swim outdoors 1000m- was a bit nervous jumping in at that hour of the morning, I thought it would be colder for some reason. Water was grand, it is taking me a while to find my rhythm, first lap was slow again but second lap was better. I need to start introducing a 3rd lap soon to get me back up to 1500m.

12k cycle at lunch 25 minutes, need to get more cycling in as usual so I am just going to leave the bike in the back seat and get out on it when I can. Blister still massive but not sore, I am thinking of bursting it again but I have the compeed over it so it is keeping it waterproof so i am going to leave it on for another day anyways.

I am in for the Galway Cope as well now, I gotta stop racing so much it costs me a fortune, although I am missing a 2nd night of a stag for it so I am probably saving money