Catweazles Half-Ironman or Chicken challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭El Director

Dude good luck on the morning! I will be there but alas the week didn't go as planned so I won't b racing. How would I recognise u? I will be doing cope too by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Only saw this now Director sorry about that, will catch up with you in the Cope. Not a bad race at all today, well organised and the rain stayed away. I tried multisport on the garmin and made a balls of it so I will write up a report later when I get the results back

No sign of full results yet from Tri3, this drives me nuts, considering we were chip timed whats the hold up.

Got a text yesterday with my own times, there was 250 entrants signed up

Swim 1000m 17.53 Position 94th

This surprised me I thought I would have been higher as it went well for me. Swam well but it felt like it went on for ever as the exit wasnt that apparent. Got caught daydreaming at the start so I missed the break, after the initial jostling I soon found a rhythm. I was determined during it to catch peoples feet, never seemed to get behind one guy for the full race but did manage to keep behind a few for a while. There is definetly a difference alright. I got out of the water and I wasnt heavy breathing, I am a bit one paced it seems. I dont think all the milage this year has improved the speed but it certainly has improved the endurance, I would have been around the same time but well shagged doing that distance last year.

Transition 1 - 3 minutes - I was in wave two and I came in high enough in the leading pack, did a terrible transition. I had trouble getting the clasp on my helmet to stick, began to panic and clasped it and tried to then put it in my head. Didnt work - went back to putting helmet on first and finally got it. I reckon i lost a minute there

Cycle 18k 34.07 Position 89th

This might not be the right distance, its on the site as 18k but I heard beforehand it might have been shorter. I was delighted with this position anyways, I have always come near the bottom in the cycle split so above mid pack is a huge improvement for me. Started out bad, a guy flew by me and then a girl in the most ill fitting bike went by straight after. Got down on the tri bars (and stayed down on them for the full race) and battled the girl all the way, she nailed me on all the uphills but I re-took her again on all the flats and downhills. We went by around 10 people which was great for me. and no-one overtook me after the first guy. Near the end down by the Westwood she slowed down at the lights whereas I trusted our magnificent Gardai siochana and blew through them. Had a right head of steam at this stage and didnt realise the marshals were signaling me to go left into NUI's grounds. I had to keep going but my luck was in and the lights on the bridge were green so i took the next entrance into NUI. The startled marshal gave me a look but he was laughing at it later when i mentioned it to him so I knew I wasnt going to be DQed

Transition 2 - 1.19

Elastic lace bust on me but I was able to just knot them instead so not too much time lost

Run 6k 27.29 Position 81

Really struggled with the brick here, my legs werent used to the quicker bike than usual. I had two in front of me but I was losing them. The first lap was fairly uneventful, saw one of the better club members coming up behind me so I though he must have got a puncture. 2nd lap he tells me, sh1t I thought as I was feeling it, I didnt realise it was two laps. Pgibbo cruised by us both effortlessly on his 2nd lap as well. 2nd lap and legs began to feel better overtook a good few but most of these were people from wave 3. A middle aged women then overtook me.....I had the knifes out at this stage for her so did my usual and kept her within reach. Got to the last k, I definetly seem to finish strong I think its the fact that the suffering is nearly over in my mind. I caught the woman and another guy and settled into getting ready for the sprint finish. Fair play to her she went for it way before I was planning it and got the drop on me, I resigned myself to just covering the other guy. Coming into the finishing straight she pulls up as if she is shot, hamstring went on her, I had a seconds indecision and then decided she had skinned me fair and square so I slowed down and jogged in with her. She was some runner.

Finsh time 1.23.38 Postion 88

Race was well organised although I heard there were problems up the front. A nice confidence booster before entering the lions den of Olympic athletes in Athy next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well Done CW thats good racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

catweazle wrote: »
    I had a seconds indecision and then decided she had skinned me fair and square so I slowed down and jogged in with her. She was some runner.
    Your too much of a nice guy for this racing lark. Your supposed to be baying for blood.

Good stuff.

Sunday - My second attempt at the Windy Gap (Cycle route for Swinford). Did the same route as last time just over 50k. No cider stop this time as I was on my own. Slow going there was a strong headwind all the way out and I was trying to have some energy in the tank for the summit.

There is a decent incline just before the Windy Gap, this will need to be watched on the day as it will take it out of you just before you hit it.

Got to the Windy Gap, I had been told to watch out for road markings so I saw them, 1k to go and in the granny gear. The first 600m are the hardest, tried to stand while cycling but this was killing me so back down on the saddle. Legs screaming at me after 600m but there is a slight decrease in the climb for 60-70 metres so you could draw breath. The last 300m are tough but not as bad as the first 600m, it definetly helped me to know where I was this time as I would have given up again only for I knew it was close. An auld guy with a stick was walking down it as I was coming up, he was skitting laughing at the struggle I was going through. So got up it this time without stopping.

The next stretch into Castlebar is superfast, was well over 60k for a lot of it. It still has some steep hills after the Gap but these need to be attacked at speed as you are almost up them before you have to pedal.

At about 45k the back started killing me again, i need more time in the saddle

Road surface is generally good except for the area directly before the Gap, I think they are going to resurface before the race. Country roads as well hardly saw a car on the route.

Did a 2k brick after but it was hardly worth doing as I faffed about putting the bike in the car for a few minutes.

Went in for a swim after and did a leisurly 500m in the pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Fair play on Tri3, sounds like a good day. I had a few friends who did it, they enjoyed it but didn't expect the swim to be as long. Have to make up my mind on whether I'll make the Cope Tri my triathlon debut. Should be some debut, considering I can swim for 17 consecutive seconds!

ronanmac wrote: »
    Have to make up my mind on whether I'll make the Cope Tri my triathlon debut. Should be some debut, considering I can swim for 17 consecutive seconds!

I havent done this one yet but from what I heard from last year the swim is tough. Might be a baptism of fire.

Another one that might be an option is the Portumna Triathlon, these ones are cheap, cheeful and low key.The swim is only 500m as well

http://www.runireland.com/events/2010-06-27/255-triathlon-series-portumna

Hey Cat, well done on Sat man, pity I didn't meet ya but there's always COPE. Did it last year and the swim was longer than 750m, nearer to 1,000m i thought, the day was awful, windy and lashing but I really enjoyed it, it was my second race. Fair play by the way for getting out on the Sunday after Galway tri3, good cycle.

Monday 1000m easy swim

Tuesday lunch 1500m straight swim with pull bouy

Tuesday evening 5k series Dangan 21.36 Position 81st

I just didnt have it this evening, the plan was to go out at 4.10 pace for the first three ks and try and pick it up from there but I just gave in. The two club members passed me at the start and I let them off but by 3.5k they were too far ahead and I was knackered. I lost motivation and didnt grind the last 1.5k out.

The new runners are just not working out, I have the compeed on in the same place again tonight as I can see them coming again. Its the first time i have ever been getting blisters from running. I might buy another pair before the weekend and Athy.

Said hello to Seres in her boards AC running by me at the start, "Hi Seres, I'm Catweazle". I thought it must have been a strange comment to her running partner only for her to come up after and introduce herself as Magnet

So the list of Internet alter egos I have met in person goes to 5, Pgibbo, Ronanmac, Seres, Magnet and Slogger Jogger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I was looking out for you cw. It's probably just as well I didn't meet you- I was a right moany old cow this evening:o Were you in the Westwood after? Did ya get the sweatshirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I'm enjoying reading your log CW. I'm also signed up to do Swinford but waaay behind in my training thanks to ankle ligament damage from my pathetic return to Junior level GAA!

Keep it up, safe in the knowledge that you'll be enjoying some ciders long before me on the day of Swinford!:D

Cheers Dave, I dont even like cider, but I can justify a pint of it for all the sugar energy in it :rolleyes:

I dont know about coming last, I visited their website the last day and didnt realise the cycle was 90k and not 80k, that put the fear of god up me judging by the state of my back after the slow 50k on sunday.

There is a Ryan Air flight out of Knock at 6.55pm that night to Portugal which Mrs C wants us to book, I have been doing the maths all night

Race starts at 9am

1 hour swim and transitions
    4 hours (minimum) on the bike
    2 hours (minimum) on the road

Around 7 ish hours and thats best best case scenario, divorce more than likely if I tip much over 7 hours which is more probable :eek:

Once again I need to step up the bike training, this is where all my time is going to be lost

littlebug wrote: »
    I was looking out for you cw. It's probably just as well I didn't meet you- I was a right moany old cow this evening:o Were you in the Westwood after? Did ya get the sweatshirt?

No didnt go to the Westwood I was on a promise with Mrs C to be home straight after for dinner. I didnt do the requisate amount of races but chanced my arm and got the t-shirt anyways. I was almost sorry I did as I was absolutely interrogated over the lies i was telling them over the missing race result, her mother was called over and all in a case of good cop bad cop. But I left clutching my ill gotten gains

You should have been in good form, last race about to be put to bed. I hated the course, my creaking bones dont like all the twists and turns, give me smooth tarmac any day

Up in dublin for the day, I wasnt expecting to do anything as I was held up. Traffic up there drives me daft, sudddenly realised that i might get to a open water session that the club has on wednesdays as I was going through Loughrea on the way home. Stopped off at that petrol station on the motorway with all the hot Polish women and yes, me being lazy I had my wet suit and goggles stuffed in the boot.

Great session, it was nice to do some short snappy stuff, it has all been about distance for me the last few months. I am struggling catrching the feet, I have no problem getting behind them but I find I struggle to adjust to their pace and fall off them again.

All in all I reckon about 1800m swam, I am getting more and more depressed about Athy. 8am registration............I am going to have to be on the road at all hours...and then the hassle of finding parking in such a big race..........why didnt I do Triburgh :mad:

Another one that might be an option is the Portumna Triathlon, these ones are cheap, cheeful and low key.The swim is only 500m as well

http://www.runireland.com/events/2010-06-27/255-triathlon-series-portumna

It's on the 27th of June, same day I head off on two and a half weeks holidays.... Yahooooooooo!!!!!!!

ronanmac wrote: »
    It's on the 27th of June, same day I head off on two and a half weeks holidays.... Yahooooooooo!!!!!!!

Are you in the public service,you are only back from a weeks holiday?

Lunch 8k run in old shoes to mind the blister

Had a bit of time on my hands tonight so I decided to do a recon trip to Lake Callow where the 1/2 Ironman swim is. Got good directions so found it no problem.

Initial impressions is it is a cute little lake, quite picturesque and sheltered, its a small sunken lake surrounded by hills. The transition area is a large field directly beside it so there will be plenty of room.

The proposed swim is directly across the lake to a bridge maybe 400-500m then a sharp right and out and around a small island and then back to the start. Water is shallow for about 5 metres and then deep water for the rest.

Visibilty is average, not enough to see the bottom but good enough to see feet in front of you. Swam about 1700m, stopped just before the island as I was warned about agressive swans.

Enjoyed it bumped into a few members of the Swinford club after who were going out on the lake, seemed nice they are certainly looking forward to the big day.............no more than myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Best of luck in Athy catweazle, will give you a much better feedback than the swim you had in Limerick, just go nail it now :D
    Much better than Tri-burgh anyway, sure did you not know that its western Europe's fastest Olympic course!! (see bottom of last page)
    Good luck and enjoy

DustyBin wrote: »
    Best of luck in Athy catweazle, will give you a much better feedback than the swim you had in Limerick, just go nail it now :D
    Much better than Tri-burgh anyway, sure did you not know that its western Europe's fastest Olympic course!! (see bottom of last page)
    Good luck and enjoy

Ha that was before they ruined it all and decided to have the first 600m upstream, interesting article though.

Not too worried about this one as long as I beat my time in Joey Hannon I will be happy

Plenty of race reports to read this weekend though, great stuff

Good luck tomorrow dude! Might see you there!

Are you in the public service,you are only back from a weeks holiday?

Semi-state, actually (cheeky b*stard!) I get called in a fair bit to work weekends, and seeing as we get time off in lieu as opposed to being paid overtime, I tend to be able to accumulate the occasional bonus week off every now and again!

Good luck with Athy, and no mercy for any little old ladies near the finish line!

Saturday Tri AThy Olympic 2.47.38 Position 430/691

Friday night - Went to bed at 10 for an early start. 12.30 still awake and getting more and more cross.

Saturday - Alarm goes off at 4.30am and I am as cross as a bear. AA Route Planner tells me it is just under three hours to Athy so I figured 2.5 hours to get there, left at 5 got there at 6.40. I could have had another hour in bed :(

Signed up and registered and was first bike in transition, bike steward wasnt there yet so I had to wait 15 minutes till he came along. It took ages felt like I was getting an NCT, he was way too overzealous, no sign of a helmet sticker for me so he wasnt letting me in untilI went back and got one, which I refused to do. Waited till it got busy and then snuck in and racked the bike.

Good atmosphere and after a few coffees I was looking forward to the day, I wasnt out till 11.20 so I had a good bit of waiting around to do. The swim was a concern as I had spotted some of the better swimmers in our club going by me at around 24 minutes with another 200m or so to go. The swim was obviously tougher than previous years.

The first 600ms upstream took ages, had the odd glance back and there was a few behind me so I was happy enough. I had hoped to stay in by the bank to avoid the worst of the current but surprise surprise stayed out in the middle all the way. Caught no-ones feet but some guy had mine all the way as he was slapping my feet a good bit. Once we headed downstream I decided to try and push a bit harder, I still feel pretty one paced but was happy enough with my swim time 31.21. Again feeling nice and relaxed and no tiredness.

The cycle was a flat and fast 20k loop x 2, went out fast and caught my club mate after 5k, I felt good on the first loop but slowed the second loop as I was feeling the pace. I managed to stay down on the tri bars for maybe 30k but my balls were on fire after that so plenty of standing up and repostioning for the last 10k. 1.17.38 for the 40k while its still on the slow side for the bike it was a big improvement on my 1.26 for the 38k of Joey Hannon. I even went by my first TT bike, god love him he had the Cervalo TT bike, the shades and the aero helmet but no engine, you could see people almost giggling to themselves going by him on the cheaper bikes. So many TT bikes flew by me it was nice to get one up on one of them

My runs have gone to pot lately, i was struggling from the 1st k and could never get out of the funk I was in. I didnt like the run at all, it was a bit tight to the cyclists for the first 2k then you run on these rubber mats for the 200-300 metres which just sapped the energy from your legs. Then its most grassy trails for the rest of the 10k. I was really struggling here and had to look back a few times to see if the club member was catching me but there was no sign of him either. Passed a good few but on the second lap I was overtaken a lot. Finished in 53.39 which is pants for me, some small consolation is that most of the club members were also down a few minutes as well but 53.39 is very poor. Maybe the extra pushing i am doing on the bike is killing me on my run times. I will be slowing it down in Swinford because there is no way I could run the half marathon yesterday after only 40k on the bike.

Happy enough though took 8 minutes off my Joey Hannon time and was nowhere near the bottom of the results like my last time so its improving :)

Well done Cat, terrific to see improvements. What a balls re the unnecessary early start dude. Will I be seeing you in Galway next Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Good stuff, great improvement. I was glad I only had to do 200m upstream, i'd say 600m was very tough.

Well done Cat, terrific to see improvements. What a balls re the unnecessary early start dude. Will I be seeing you in Galway next Sunday?

Ya looking forward to it, hopefully fridays stag wont be too heavy. My mother has just confirmed she will be in attendance also. She was at Loughrea last year and loved all the action

16 years ago I staggered out of a strip joint in Rhode Island and thought a tattoo would be a great idea, so its time to man up and wear the tri suit where its clearly visible on the back.

I will leave it to Mrs C to explain on the sidelines where that tattoo came out of, hopefully she will have it smoothed over before I get in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well Done CW, good going. I don't think that too many were impressed with the run going by the event thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Great time...know what you mean about the run..bit of a leg crusher.

Having looked at my Athy splits my running has gone downhill, I have got a little lazy since the marathon so I want to bring in some more running again

Sunday Morning 8k with Mrs C, easy enough pace but I was as stiff as a board.

Monday afternoon - I had planned to go green today with a 22k slow run but having had a good few beers in town the night before I gasped my way through one 11k loop with the beer pouring out of me and packed it in

Tuesday afternoon - Needed 9k today so snuck out of work early for lunch and got them in. Hard going for the first 5k, only running around 5.30's but started feeling better and did the last 4k in under 20 minutes. First time the runners werent at me for the blisters so hopefully I am getting used to them.

Went for a swim in Annaghdown Pier tonight with the flippers and kickboard as I wanted to measure accurately the distance to the rock i swim to. I got lost half way out and went past the rock but I reckon it is between 260 and 280 metres. So out and back 4 times we will say 1000m anyways

In dublin tomorrow but hoping I have meetings arranged right to get me to club swim at 7.30

Fair play on Athy, Catweazle, didn't get time to read reports until today. Good to see that you're improving all the time. As for the run, I find that grassy trails seem to take more out of the legs than a hard surface. I've decided to hit my crazy notion of doing the Croi Triathlon on the head, there are a few us talking about doing the cycle/Croagh Patrick leg of Gaelforce on Sunday instead. Less chance that I'll drown on top of the Reek :o.