Catweazles Half-Ironman or Chicken challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

catweazle wrote: »
    said how can I cycle with the cleats back to front.......

Brilliant champ ! :D thanks for that ....
    BTW I think getting a bike fit is underrated to be honest. People can end up spending alot of time on the bike training and racing and often begrudge money spent fitting and seem to be happy enough to pay for a physio later in the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Catweazle - started following your log once I saw you post on the Humbert challenge which i'm doing too.
    Where did you get the fitting done, as i've only been getting cycling properly a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Hi Dave will send you a pm

1500m lunch today, 1000m drills and 5*100

1.41 / 1.42 / 1.46 off 2.10
    1.48 / 1.48 off 2.20 * (*went out too hard in first two so was knackered)

Small brick session this evening 12k up and down main road testing new tri bar position, felt much more steady in the saddle although my back isnt used to it. 3k run straight after averaging 4.20, really felt this, legs were really suffering. Will be going out at 5 mins pace at Joey Hannon and hopefully pick it up after the legs work themselves out, need to get a few more of them in pronto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Your run mileage will stand to you. Going out at 5min pace and building into it might be a good tactic. Just 10 more days..

cleats on backwards... classic!

Yesterday 1400m in the pool, 1000m drills was going to do a 750 TT then, but in comes the school kids, pulling and dragging off the ropes, running though my line so just ended up swimming 400m to bring it to 65,000 on the challenge. Meant to do another small brick session but got lazy and said I would leave it till tomorrow morning

Brick session this morning didnt happen was in a bit of a rush and got frustrated trying to pump up the tyres. Decided to do an 8k run instead. Tried to go out at 5 minute pace but could only hold this for 3k, slowed to 5.30 min pace for the last 5, i was exhausted after so I can only come to the conclusion that my legs are nowhere near recovered from the Marathon.

Will take it easy on the running again and am considering offering mrs C the chance to run the first of the Galway 5k series on tuesday and hopefully I will be in better shape for Joey Hannon on the 2nd

Splashed out on some new runners today, did the Gait analysis and I have a neutral stride. Told Ronanmacs hippy runners would suit me best but no way was i buying them so went for the second best option instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Splashed out on some new runners today, did the Gait analysis and I have a neutral stride. Told Ronanmacs hippy runners would suit me best but no way was i buying them so went for the second best option instead

Both my runners and I take umbrage at the term "hippy." We would have seen ourselves as more "acid retro" but you are entitled to your views... As it happens, they (the Noosa's) are a great pair of shoes. I'm actually beginning to replace the Kayano's with them for long runs as well as short runs. Out of curiosity, what did your perfect neutral gait get shod in in the end?

ronanmac wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, what did your perfect neutral gait get shod in in the end?

He told me pretty much anything but the Kayanos and another pair would suit me. They were the two most expensive pairs in the shop so it was nice to avoid them. I went with the Gel 1140 in the end, there was a real thin white Asics pair with orange soles that I was more inclined towards as I was looking for lightest possible for the shorter races but was talked out of them. I might get them yet though, no harm in having two pairs on the go.

They have a new pair of tri specific shoes as well but they are really ugly, multi coloured again with big "Run" "Bike" and "Swim" emblazoned all over them, awful looking things

Was in Bantry for the weekend with Mrs C did very little besides drink and eat, hen season is starting for her now so the next few weekends will be good training weekends hopefully, did 2,500m in the pool over the two days

Monday Pool swim - 1500m straight, finished in 30.24 although I might have miscounted and did 2 laps less

A poor day at the office today, no way was Mrs C running in that weather so off i went instead for the first of the 5k series. Before the start the objective was to take it easy, my running has been non-existant since Connemara and any time I have ran since it has been a struggle.

Anyways more or less straight at the start I met one of the guys in the club who regularly beat me last year. To hell with caution I decided I would target him and see what happens. Shadowed him for the first 1k, 3.56, second k came in at 4.02. He slowed at this stage so I decided to go ahead, around 2.5k the tiredness in the legs set in. I shut up shop straight away and ran the last 2.5k at 4.45 pace.

The timing chip fell off at 3k, I could have sworn I saw it fall off and doubled back to get it, mooched around on the ground for a few seconds, couldnt find it so set off again.

Came in fairly comfortable on the Garmin at 23.35, l am ok with this, last week I couldnt run at 5 minute pace so the running is coming back. Sub 20 might be out of my reach though, I wont be trying for it next week after Joey Hannon but maybe in race 5 or 6 I will have a go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Well done Catweazle. That bit in the middle was tiring on the legs alright. You weren't the only one to lose your chip. I heard someone near me say the same thing not long after the start line. I wonder can you get a replacement? The cable ties didn't seem to do the job so I tied mine in with my laces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Good luck in "Joey"...great to see the events coming thick and fast now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

You'd be surprised what's possible if you use the races as good fast races. You should see improvements week on week. At least that's what I'm hoping for. :) Over 550 runners last night. Very enjoyable.

BTW, we'll have to get you a new hat. A golf hat at a road race just doesn't look right! :D

Only for i paid so much for it at the time, that golf hat would have joined my Connemara sweatband on the side of the road. Sweating like Christy Moore underneath it. I will see how I got on at Joey before committing to running next week, Mrs C now wants to race one herself so it might be the one to give her and keep her happy.

Although word on the street is Tuam is the flattest, looks like sub 19 should be yours fairly soon barring disaster, met Sean after well pleased with his time, but said his warm down run with you was faster than his race pace :D

On another more middle aged pervy note.............there was an awful lot of attractive young women at the race last night. Great to see!

:rolleyes: New Username = CatSleazle.

I'll take that Littlebug, I have been called worse :D

800m in pool today, wasnt feeling very strong so left it at that and went for a shave instead with the remaining time.

I am on the road all day tomorrow so I went for a quick brick session tonight before the Champions League, 15k on the bike and 3k off it.

Legs were stiff before I started but I seemed to loosen them up on the run, feeling stronger on the runs the last few days. So hopefully my legs are nearly back to 100%

Well done on the 5k. Would have loved to sign up myself, awkward working hours rule me out though. I notice that Predator triathlon are organising an 8k in Kilcornan on May 16. You running it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Good luck in Limerick catweazle
    No perving at the fit young ones mind, littlebug will be watching!!

A friend of mine took the olympic route on the bike leg of a sprint tri he was doing last year after he became entranced by a rather luvly bottom on the bike in front of him (and when I say friend, I don't mean me)
    Missed the sprint turnoff and had to keep going to complete the full oly cycle. Turns out she was a lot fitter than him after all, as he lost sight of her soon after :D

I will be safe enough, I am in the slow wave for the swim so most of the tall lithe, nubile young athletes will be long gone. Much and all as I enjoy following behind a pert bottom it certainly wouldnt be enough of a distraction to slip up and add an extra 20k cycle.

Ronanmac, I might run it but its almost more enjoyable to marshal it and heckle you again as you run by. I will see how they are fixed for marshals first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭griffin100

A friend of mine took the olympic route on the bike leg of a sprint tri he was doing last year after he became entranced by a rather luvly bottom on the bike in front of him (and when I say friend, I don't mean me)
    Missed the sprint turnoff and had to keep going to complete the full oly cycle. Turns out she was a lot fitter than him after all, as he lost sight of her soon after biggrin.gif

At least she didn't have a well worn tri suit on which essentially became transparent across the ass when she was in the aero position......whats the expression Tunney uses? I would never repeat it here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

All the best for Joey Hannon tri CW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Best of Luck Sunday CW! Might see you afterwards if you are hanging around

Good luck on sunday catweazle and remember eyes down.., no up... no eh ah feck it whatever gives you inspiration to move faster :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

I will be safe enough, I am in the slow wave for the swim so most of the tall lithe, nubile young athletes will be long gone. Much and all as I enjoy following behind a pert bottom it certainly wouldnt be enough of a distraction to slip up and add an extra 20k cycle.

Do the slow waves not go out first? Watch out as they burn you on the bike :D

Hope you have a good race Catweazle. Are you heading straight back after or will you watch the rugby match in Limerick?

Nah will have to go straight back. I know the routine, Mrs C arrives back from her hen at one, I will have to rush home and tend to her every need as she lies on the couch for 10 hours eating grapes from her belly

Yeah i forgot we will be out first, i remember in Nenagh last year, setting out on the bike and some TT bikes scream by me. I thought it was a lightsabre coming behind me.

Turned out from logging on here, I realised I was the first guy Tunny passed on his magnificent first win.

A proud moment for both of us :D

Best of luck tomorrow, Catweazle. Hope the day goes well for you, you've certainly put in the training.

These tough days at the office are getting more frequent!

Race day started at 7.15, not 6.15 like I thought I set my phone alarm. I have just got an I-phone and I am useless with it.

Registration is closing in UL at 8.15 and here I am in bed in Galway at 7.15. Had a long debate would i bother and then jumped out of bed, threw clothes into my bag and flew off. I think I drove down in less than 50 minutes :eek:

Fair play to Limerick after some sweet-talk they let me register dead late, rushed down to transition as that was closing at half nine. Checked the bag what was the damage....no food or water, no garmin or HRM, no race belt, no pump, no sunglasses and no protein drink

Got set up and then went down to race briefing, saw two of my targets in Ballina in July at the race briefing but was surprised when i saw them in the sprint, I thought they would be Olympic.

This was my first Olympic race and I could immediatley see a difference with the entrants than last year. Tri suits abounded, TT bikes everywhere and the physiques were much more streamlined than normal. I am in with the big boys this time.

My next problem was that I had left my swim/run/cycle togs in transition, luckily I had a pair of swimming togs in the bag but these were the "tight" ones. Left it late to emerge from the changing rooms to minimise the visual impact.

Swim lane discussion was grand, fastest swimmer was 29 minutes, two on 30 and two on 31, I was next after offering what I thought would be a comfortable 33 minute swim and a few more went behind me. Set off and for the first six laps or so everything was fine, I was tight behind the guy in front of me. Then I kept getting slapped on the legs behind me, was getting angrier and angrier as I was tight to the guy in front. Let him past me at the lane end, then I started to struggle really badly and completley paniced. I reverted to a 2 stroke breathing technique which I have never done, I always breathe every three. Things just went from bad to worse, I saw a few coming to lap me so I stopped just after I pushed off to let them through and I got a terrible cramp. I dont know what time I ended up with but I was one of the last to finish and everyone in my lane lapped me at least once. Knew it was a bad idea but levered myself up off the lane end and got another cramp so 30-40 seconds of stretching was needed.

Out to transition and one benefit of being next to last was the bit of privacy, didnt bother with a towel and threw off the swimming togs and put on the running and cycling togs over them. It felt like a very poor transition.

The cycle was pretty boring all I could see were people coming back from the earlier wave. While I could feel the benefits of getting down on the tri bars I couldnt hold the position for long due to back pains. The most exciting thing that happened was the chain coming off, I know its me thats causing it, shifting from big ring to small ring is causing it, I am not doing it right. Lost two places while fixing it. On the way back I finally passed one person. As usual the bike was a killer for me even though it was relatively flat.

Onto the run, I felt much beter here, it was a two lap 5k route so there was still plenty of action around which improved my humour as it was lonely out on the bike. Immediatly took a few places but I presumed these were on their second lap, ticked along at I am guessing was 4.50 pace. I enjoyed the second lap more as anyone that was ahead of me then was behind me if I caught them. I spent the last 2k trying to chase a guy down who was a long way ahead of me, what do I do when I catch him....I start encouraging him to keep with me in one last effort. Bastard them beat me on the line in a sprint finish, I need to have more of a killer instinct :p

Anyways I was a bit downhearted all the way through, I met one of the clubmates who was convinced he would get nowhere near three hours on the way back and he was well ahead of me so I assumed I was going to be over 3 hours. But on the run in I heard the tannoy telling us we came in at 2.55 so I was delighted with that. The club mate will be walking on air I would say.

Thoughts after needless to say I am upset over the swim, with all the swimming I have put in I just cant put a finger on what went wrong. It ended up being almost a carbon copy of Nenagh last year although this year I thought I had underestimated my time. Cycle was poor but I dont mind that so much, I havent put in the work here to feel I deserve any better. Run I was happy with, after a tight first few kilometres with the brick I ran on well.

Lot to do before Swinford :eek:

I will need to get at least one more Olympic in before Swinford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Congratulations on the sub 3 hr catweazle, you got well under it in the end :)
    Feeling so disapointed with your race but getting such a great result is surely good, showing you that the training you've been putting in makes what feels like a bad performance result in a better than expected time.
    It's easy get disoriented in the type of situation you found yourself in at the pool, and perform below the level you're capable of. Maybe get yourself into a sprint or oly over the next couple of weeks to ease your own doubts?
    Still though, great result and well done! Great report too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Well done on the sub 3. Pool tri's seem to be fairly tough and i'm sure its really hard to get into any sort of rhythm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Nice one...particularly with the eventful start!

Pool tri's strike me as being a bit of a pain in the ar$e...it is one thing being "swam over" in the Liffey or wherever, but in a pool?:)