Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Samsung American Fridge Freezer Problems

• 09-11-2009 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭

Problems once again with Samsung Fridge Freezers.

I have already had to get a repair done that was covered by them as a major fault with their fridge freezers.

I have just registered for a home visit.

I want to let others know so that they could check. I am already registered with them from the last fault but not a word from them. Saw a post on another forum.

Mods, wasn't sure where to post, so move if you need to.

As it is what are the customers rights now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

What exactly did you want to let others know about?

Can you explain in a little more detail what's going on here? You have a problem with your fridge freezer and you've registered with Samsung for a home visit. Have they failed to contact you about this?

How long ago was it since you registed for a visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭loopymum

Sorry, will try to be clearer, I want to let others know that there could be a potentially very serious problem with certain Samsung American Fridge Freezers Model.

The link in my original post gives more specific details.

Also I am wondering do I have any more rights in regards to my fridge freezer as this is the second fault they will be out fixing.

I was also pointing out that even though they have my details and serial number from a previously reported and repaired manufacturers fault that no effort was made to contact me the customer.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

loopymum wrote: »
    I was also pointing out that even though they have my details and serial number from a previously reported and repaired manufacturers fault that no effort was made to contact me the customer.

You;ll likely find
    1. They've had a noti9ce on their website
    2. They likely did a notice in some newspapers

Both would be pretty standard, no company trys to track down all the people that bought its products

It's standard operating procedure to place ads in newspapers and other public media when an issue is found with an item.

They may have your details from a previous visit but they may not be aware of this. A lot of companies have a lot of disconnected and isolated data sources which do not communicate or share with each other.

I notice that they offer a home visit to check possibly affected freezers. You said that you've registered for that visit. How long ago was it since you registered and have they contacted you since?

Consumer rights - you had one issue with the fridge which was fixed. Now you MAY have a second potential issue. If the second issue is confirmed, then I would think that you have a good case to have the fridge replaced/refunded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dromiskin

This problem is very easy to fix! what's happened is, someone in the household has inadvertently left the fridge door ajar and the fridge went into overdrive trying to maintain a constant temperature. This has caused ice to built up around the fan inside the fridge compartment. The fan can be accessed by removing the light assembly and the fan cover just below the light cover (it is fairly simple to disassemble). Once this piece has been removed you will be able to see the offending ice build-up. use a hair dryer to melt away the ice, once melted refit the cover and light assembly and restart the fridge. Problem solved. Ensure you unplug fridge while carrying out this fix. Otherwise simply defrost the fridge over 24 to 36 hours. This fix will not however solve the larger problem that Samsung are having with this unit and as it has been recalled I would advise that you continue along these lines and allow the Samsung engineer to proceed with the check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

dudara wrote: »
    What exactly did you want to let others know about?

Can you explain in a little more detail what's going on here? You have a problem with your fridge freezer and you've registered with Samsung for a home visit. Have they failed to contact you about this?

How long ago was it since you registed for a visit?

Is clicking the link beyond you?

T-Square wrote: »
    Is clicking the link beyond you?

As moderator of this forum, my job is to determine if a thread belongs here in Consumer Issues.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

dudara wrote: »
    As moderator of this forum, my job is to determine if a thread belongs here in Consumer Issues.

dudara

Following the link would help you determine if the thread belongs.

Ahm, no.

The OP wasn't clear in her post about what she was seeking to acheive. Hence my asking her for clarification.

In addition, if you continue to have a problem with my decisions etc in this forum, then please stop clogging up the thread with off-topic posts and instead create a post in the Feedback or Helpdesk forums.

dudara

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

As always, the customer has the right to a repair. You haven't stated very clearly what your problem is exactly. All we know is that you have a Samsung fridge, which you have previously had repaired for an unspecified fault an unspecified amount of time ago. You've posted a link to a advisory from Samsung advising that two specific models need a home visit to remedy a possible fault.

You've arranged this home visit, so hopefully this gets sorted for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

with larger more expensive electrical/household items cars etc it is not unreasonable for the retailer/manufacturer to repair once or in some cases twice but in this case it is not so much a repair as a modification to rectify a problem you might otherwise have so i would have no problem with this and would not count it as a repair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

My mother recently had a problem with her Samsung RS21 American Side-by-side fridge freezer. It broke down once over two years ago and an engineer called out to fix it. In November 2009 she received a letter from Samsung stating that her fridge could potentially be a fire hazard as some component (twin cooler?) was prone to burning out and if she wanted it repaired to contact Samsung via the website and they would send somebody out to replace the part.

So, on the 29th of November an engineer called out and replaced the part for her. On December the 26th 2009 she woke up to a flooded kitchen due to the fridge freezer breaking down and defrosting in the middle of the night. All of the food (some €300 worth over the Christmas period) was defrosted and the temperature on the front screen for the freezer was reading 18 degrees celsius and for the fridge was somewhere in the 20's (think 25 degrees?).

She rang Samsung straight away and was speaking to a rep who promised an engineer would call out and fix the fridge again on the 30th of December 2009. Leaving her without a fridge freezer over the Christmas period (ok not their fault but generally if a fridge is fixed less than one month before you don't expect it to break down again!). 30th December came and no sign of an engineer so she rang Samsung again and spoke to a lady who said that no engineers worked over the Christmas period. She had the other persons name and asked to speak to him but was fobbed off.

Finally on the 6th of January 2010 an engineer came out and deemed that the fridge was dead and to contact Samsung for a replacement. Now may I point out that three years ago my mother paid €1100 for this model of fridge but the replacement she got (a different model) is now only worth €600. Furthermore to this Samsung sent out a claim form for the spoiled food, the value of which she can only claim €50!

There are several internet forums with threads on this matter. Samsung really need to step up and do a total recall on these fridges as there are too many faults with the RS20 and RS21 models.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

dromiskin wrote: »
    This problem is very easy to fix! what's happened is, someone in the household has inadvertently left the fridge door ajar and the fridge went into overdrive trying to maintain a constant temperature. This has caused ice to built up around the fan inside the fridge compartment. The fan can be accessed by removing the light assembly and the fan cover just below the light cover (it is fairly simple to disassemble). Once this piece has been removed you will be able to see the offending ice build-up. use a hair dryer to melt away the ice, once melted refit the cover and light assembly and restart the fridge. Problem solved.

Incorrect. Problem avoided for another month or two. It'll happen again and it doesn't just happen because the door was left ajar. Samsung know about this problem too. I have an RS21. I had a "repairman" sent by my retailer out twice and do the fix above with a steamer to melt the ice.
    The first time I wasn't there so when I got home I was told the repairman had come and fixed the fridge. Grand.
    Then the problem happened again 1 - 2 months later. I was there for that and saw that he was just defrosting the ice. I asked him how to prevent this he said you can't, it'll just keep on happening.
    When it happened a third time I did some research, found it was a known problem, contacted Samsung who sent out a guy (fridge was out of warranty but they've extended the warranty on this part) with a big part to replace. Problem hasn't appeared again.

Edit: Thanks for posting this OP. I have an affected fridge and I hadn't seen this notice before. I don't know if the previous repair replaced the problem part so I've registered too and will mention it to them when they contact me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

the best course of action is probably to use the small claims court to get a refund or replacement!

mickoneill30, you are welcome, I had forgotten about this till I was searching for another post of mine.

mickonill30 is absolutely correct about the problem and a hair dryer being feck all good.

Samsung turned about almost 4 weeks after I contacted them, good job it didn't go on fire or break down again.

Moderators I mainly put up this post so that others who may own or who know someone with a Samsung fridge would be able to get theirs checked as quite a few people I know have no idea that certain common models have alot of faults and are covered by an extended guarantee if you ring and explain.

The BBC watchdog made it very public in the UK but no-one seems to give a damn here, I for one do not check the Samsung website to see if there is fault with my fridge. I rarely buy a newspaper either so I for one rely on seeing posts in a consumer forum like this.

Surely it is a consumer issue as people who have purchased Samsung American Fridge Freezers are consumers and there is an issue with a huge amount of their fridge freezers or am I losing my marbles?

Adrieneanne, that is brutal service from Samsung. They really aren't great, when I was waiting last May / June for them to repair the first fault with the fridge freezer, I was planning a huge party and the weather was roasting and no fridge for 3 weeks and they didn't give a damn.
    I hope they give her some compensation.

Regards

Loopy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Panic

Thanks loopymum, I didn't know about the Samsung repair untill I followed your link. I have a RS21. The water dispenser has suddenly stopped working! I wonder is this another known fault?

Panic!

Panic, the water stopping working is part of the original problem that the BBC watchdog reported on them, it's actually the unit freezing up and then freezing the water pipe, definitely ring them up immediately.

I have had 2 more call outs for repairs since I last posted.

Hi all, for a bit of background please read this thread, and in particular this post by myself from same thread, quoted below:
    My mother recently had a problem with her Samsung RS21 American Side-by-side fridge freezer. It broke down once over two years ago and an engineer called out to fix it. In November 2009 she received a letter from Samsung stating that her fridge could potentially be a fire hazard as some component (twin cooler?) was prone to burning out and if she wanted it repaired to contact Samsung via the website and they would send somebody out to replace the part.

So, on the 29th of November an engineer called out and replaced the part for her. On December the 26th 2009 she woke up to a flooded kitchen due to the fridge freezer breaking down and defrosting in the middle of the night. All of the food (some €300 worth over the Christmas period) was defrosted and the temperature on the front screen for the freezer was reading 18 degrees celsius and for the fridge was somewhere in the 20's (think 25 degrees?).

She rang Samsung straight away and was speaking to a rep who promised an engineer would call out and fix the fridge again on the 30th of December 2009. Leaving her without a fridge freezer over the Christmas period (ok not their fault but generally if a fridge is fixed less than one month before you don't expect it to break down again!). 30th December came and no sign of an engineer so she rang Samsung again and spoke to a lady who said that no engineers worked over the Christmas period. She had the other persons name and asked to speak to him but was fobbed off.

Finally on the 6th of January 2010 an engineer came out and deemed that the fridge was dead and to contact Samsung for a replacement. Now may I point out that three years ago my mother paid €1100 for this model of fridge but the replacement she got (a different model) is now only worth €600. Furthermore to this Samsung sent out a claim form for the spoiled food, the value of which she can only claim €50!

There are several internet forums with threads on this matter. Samsung really need to step up and do a total recall on these fridges as there are too many faults with the RS20 and RS21 models.

So, the model of fridge that my mother was replaced with was the RSH1DBBP model, and 9 months after she received it, it has now broken down again with the same problem as before. Which, also seems to be a common fault with the RSH1 models, as documented here, here, and here.

My mother rang Samsung support today and the girl on the phone was arranging for an engineer to call out to her when my mother said that she is fed up of all the breakdowns (€100 worth of food has gone down the tubes this time) and that she now wanted a refund and not another repair or replacement. Which I would believe is well within her rights, they tried to fix the old fridge/freezer 3 times before they replaced it, but no, according to the manager in Samsung she now has to have 3 MORE repairs on the new fridge before they will refund her her money!

That can't be right, can it?

Threads merged

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

Cabaal wrote: »
    You;ll likely find
    1. They've had a noti9ce on their website
    2. They likely did a notice in some newspapers

Both would be pretty standard, no company trys to track down all the people that bought its products

Has the page that the OP links to changed since it was written? It currently describes an issue that has "potential fire risk" and may lead to a "personal safety issue", all of which they're concerned enough about to put notices in papers and do free call-outs. I don't see why you think that contacting customers whose name and address they have on file is above and beyond.

Zab wrote: »
    Has the page that the OP links to changed since it was written? It currently describes an issue that has "potential fire risk" and may lead to a "personal safety issue", all of which they're concerned enough about to put notices in papers and do free call-outs. I don't see why you think that contacting customers whose name and address they have on file is above and beyond.

No it hasn't, the part was a safety hazard according to the engineer himself who came out to fix it. Wonder what would have happened if someone's house burned down because of their Samsung Fridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Le_Dieux

Panic, the water stopping working is part of the original problem that the BBC watchdog reported on them, it's actually the unit freezing up and then freezing the water pipe, definitely ring them up immediately.

I have had 2 more call outs for repairs since I last posted.

Apologies if I am bringing up old shirt here....

I also have a Samsung american fridge/freezer. As I am now on my fourth unit, I can verify what Loopymum says above. I was also upset over this, but found their technician top notch. Each time, I was given a modified unit ( this is the cooler unit enclosed in white casing in the fridge section. I never had a problem with my freezer, but had problems with the fridge each time, as well as the water dispenser. The technician told me the problem was a build up of moisture around the enclosed bearing, then the moisture freezing. My last unit was installed in February. The technician ( same guy each time) assured me they found the problem, and that this unit should be the end of my problems.

I can only say I have not had any problems since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 myiamorrin

i have the same problems bought my samsung american style fridge ,
    the fridge keeps freezing over spoiling all the food. they have fixed it twice and still awaiting to called since december 15th 2012.

Rang them every week get put on hold, no ones rings back. rang salesline finally answered, now freezer isnt working all my food has defrosted.
    They say wont give me my replace fridge only give correctly value, after years and months trying get them to call out.

what can we do to get them to replace fridges....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭jmorrisey

myiamorrin wrote: »
    i have the same problems bought my samsung american style fridge ,
    the fridge keeps freezing over spoiling all the food. they have fixed it twice and still awaiting to called since december 15th 2012.

Rang them every week get put on hold, no ones rings back. rang salesline finally answered, now freezer isnt working all my food has defrosted.
    They say wont give me my replace fridge only give correctly value, after years and months trying get them to call out.

what can we do to get them to replace fridges....
    Do you have a model number for the one you bought? I bought one recently but wont be installing it for a while....bit worried now though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 myiamorrin

models rs21 and rs60, stay well away.

rang samsung every week, again promised today send engineer for third time,
    both sides fridge dont work, they drag out coming to fix it , so it be out of warranty, i think they should be taken to court,

good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

myiamorrin wrote: »
    they drag out coming to fix it , so it be out of warranty,

The date your reported the fault is the date used for warranty purposes, so I would worry about that part at all.

For those whose fridge part warms up, this is quite easily fixed and there are instructions about the place. (Turn off fridge, take inner part apart, get rid of ice by pouring hot water over the ice blockage and put everything back)

Takes about 30 minutes.

Once fixed, I kept temp at 4 degrees rather tha at 2 and have had no repeat of the problem for about a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭shot2go

having a problem with my fridge, its 2 years old. went very noisy and full off ice, it says 16 degrees on it and ive had throw out so much food.
    repair man on the way and its just over 2 years so out off warranty so il have to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Breno91st

HI folks, I had a problem with the RS21DCNS model. On 14th May 2012, I visited Boards.ie and found a link for the Samsdung website. On the website I found a home visit page request, and filled it in. (www.samsung.com/ie/homevisit). The website asked us not to contact the consumer hotline for 14 days. I was willing to sit and wait, until the fan began making lots of noise. At this point the fridge was registering 16 degrees, although set at 3. We rang the samsung ireland helpline on 24th May, told the lady the model number, and that we noticed on the internet that it was a recall, and the engineer was with us within 4 days. The parts were changed and he said there was no charge! Our fridge is at least 4 years in the house, and has no warranty cover. We have had no problems since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 lorrain

We had the same problem like many others with out samsung fridge freezer but lucky for us a family member was visited by an approved engineer from agsrefrigeration who we got in touch with. He came to see us over two years now and we have had no further problems with our fridge. While he was with us he explained that the reason why so many people have been having so many problems is that everyone basically defrost the machine and replace the fan system which in a majority of cases doesnt need replacing and that the problem will occur again and again. Basically he says if they know how to test components they would find the fault and that in most cases only one might fail. Well he has managed to get our fridge and a member of our family working now for a couple of years so he must be right and if you are located in london or surrey give them a call.www.agsrefrigeration.co.uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

Breno91st wrote: »
    HI folks, I had a problem with the RS21DCNS model. On 14th May 2012, I visited Boards.ie and found a link for the Samsdung website. On the website I found a home visit page request, and filled it in. (www.samsung.com/ie/homevisit). The website asked us not to contact the consumer hotline for 14 days. I was willing to sit and wait, until the fan began making lots of noise. At this point the fridge was registering 16 degrees, although set at 3. We rang the samsung ireland helpline on 24th May, told the lady the model number, and that we noticed on the internet that it was a recall, and the engineer was with us within 4 days. The parts were changed and he said there was no charge! Our fridge is at least 4 years in the house, and has no warranty cover. We have had no problems since then.

To all of you who unfortunately bought one of these pieces of crap (me included) Samdung will will fix it free (if it's a certain fault) up to 5 years from date of purchase

http://www.samsung.com/ie/support/troubleshootingguides/supportTroubleShootingGuidesMain.do

enter your model number or have a look at the troubleshooting guide list
    mine was out of warranty by 3 weeksicon8.gif
    I will never buy anything manufactured by them again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I had the engineer out to mine 3 times and then they had to give me a brand new fridge as I threatened legal action..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭Lumi

Have a Samsung RSH1NBRS purchased in 2008 with the same problem -noisy fan to start then fridge icing up with temp stuck at 16C - everything in the fridge was ruined when I got home from work yesterday

I checked here http://www.samsung.com/ie/homevisit/ but my model number was apparently not covered by the extended warranty & free home visit

I rang Samsung earlier this morning on 0818717100, mentioned 'known design flaw', BBC Watchdog etc and they agreed to send an engineer FOC to fix the fridge as a 'goodwill gesture'

Will update .....

Lumi wrote: »
    Have a Samsung RSH1NBRS purchased in 2008 with the same problem -noisy fan to start then fridge icing up with temp stuck at 16C - everything in the fridge was ruined when I got home from work yesterday

I checked here http://www.samsung.com/ie/homevisit/ but my model number was apparently not covered by the extended warranty & free home visit

I rang Samsung earlier this morning on 0818717100, mentioned 'known design flaw', BBC Watchdog etc and they agreed to send an engineer FOC to fix the fridge as a 'goodwill gesture'

Will update .....
    I got them out eventually after composing a stinker of an email and they sent out their service agents to look at it after which i was told that the compressor needed re-gassing which basically means it is f***ed as they apparently are not successful after it and the fridge is just over 5 years old from date of purchase. My fridge was going up over temperature but was not icing up as far as i know the compressor was really just running noisy.
    will update if i hear anything back. If you are not getting any joy out of SamDung you could do worse than give those guys a shout from talking to their service dept they seemed to be ok. PM me if you want the number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭Lumi

Lumi wrote: »

Will update .....

A Samsung engineer repaired the fridge FOC on Friday morning, less than 48hrs after I logged the fault. I'm pretty impressed with both the level and speed of the customer service I personally received from Samsung.
    Thanks to all who offered advice on this thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

I only had the noisy fan issue. Called them yesterday and an engineer called out today and replaced the faulty part.
    Fridge was out of warranty, but they fixed it as a 'good will gesture'.

Very happy with their response and service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

We returned from holiday on the 13th Sept to find our fridge and freezer not working. The contents of the freezer had thawed but some of the fridge contents were salvageable. Called Samsung and they told me as a good will gesture they would sent out an engineer labour & parts free. That was the 14th, he eventually arrived out on the 19th. We plugged the fridge in ( I had it plugged out) and he immediately said it was fuked, I think he said the compressor. He then called base in Cork and told them it was BER (Beyond Economic Repair). A few minutes later he said it was kicking in, this morning the freezer is defrosting again. I've managed to get to the contents before they were gone.

I called the engineer and eventually the service centre and they said it was gone to Samsung, what should I do now ? The engineer said we may get a new fridge or a discounted one outta Samsung.It was 5 years old also. There's obviously issues with these machines and customers could have been contacted about it.

We returned from holiday on the 13th Sept to find our fridge and freezer not working. The contents of the freezer had thawed but some of the fridge contents were salvageable. Called Samsung and they told me as a good will gesture they would sent out an engineer labour & parts free. That was the 14th, he eventually arrived out on the 19th. We plugged the fridge in ( I had it plugged out) and he immediately said it was fuked, I think he said the compressor. He then called base in Cork and told them it was BER (Beyond Economic Repair). A few minutes later he said it was kicking in, this morning the freezer is defrosting again. I've managed to get to the contents before they were gone.

I called the engineer and eventually the service centre and they said it was gone to Samsung, what should I do now ? The engineer said we may get a new fridge or a discounted one outta Samsung.It was 5 years old also. There's obviously issues with these machines and customers could have been contacted about it.

Keep after them I had the same problems and it dragged on for 3 weeks. I wrote an email that basically said that you willingly allowed a fridge freezer to be sold that was not fit for purpose and quoted the BBC Watchdog programme on the same fridge. (RS21) I also got the original invoice from the supplier that I bought it off from and sent them the copy to prove the purchase date and then I kept ringing them until they made a decision to replace it. The warranty was extended to 5 years on that particular fridge as they were having horrendous problems in the U.K. You need to ring them in the morning and if you are left on hold too long then hang up and ring again. They will never ring you back so you just need to be persistent. Mine was 3 weeks out of the 5 year warranty but they still replaced it with a new up to date model. And don't even bother ringing after lunchtime on any day especially on a Friday!

seaniefr wrote: »
    Keep after them I had the same problems and it dragged on for 3 weeks. I wrote an email that basically said that you willingly allowed a fridge freezer to be sold that was not fit for purpose and quoted the BBC Watchdog programme on the same fridge. (RS21) I also got the original invoice from the supplier that I bought it off from and sent them the copy to prove the purchase date and then I kept ringing them until they made a decision to replace it. The warranty was extended to 5 years on that particular fridge as they were having horrendous problems in the U.K. You need to ring them in the morning and if you are left on hold too long then hang up and ring again. They will never ring you back so you just need to be persistent. Mine was 3 weeks out of the 5 year warranty but they still replaced it with a new up to date model. And don't even bother ringing after lunchtime on any day especially on a Friday!

Would you mind PM'ing me the email address and number you chased them on ? The service fella in Cork said it's with Samsung now so I won't expect them to contact me anytime soon :mad:

Will do will have a look when I get home from work did you get a reference/case number from the service engineer? You will need that in all your correspondence with them

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 sharpman

Hi Guys thanks for all the info on the Samsung RS21 mine want faulty today after 5 years:mad:was going to buy a new fridge freezer tomorrow. Found all this helpful info on Boards site got the link to the Samsung web site found my fridge was one of the faulty ons sent the info see what happens.thanks everyone :)

Tried to ring Samsung Ireland today on hold for 50 mins no reply any one got any ideas Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭shot2go

I went through shop I bought mine in. No problems since

sharpman wrote: »
    Tried to ring Samsung Ireland today on hold for 50 mins no reply any one got any ideas Thanks
    Hang up & ring again and keep at it until you get an answer

Hi Guys thanks for all the info on the Samsung RS21 mine want faulty today after 5 years:mad:was going to buy a new fridge freezer tomorrow. Found all this helpful info on Boards site got the link to the Samsung web site found my fridge was one of the faulty ons sent the info see what happens.thanks everyone :)

Sorry to hear you're bad news, what exactly happened ? If I were you I would try and tackle your issue on two fronts, the manufacturer and the retailer you purchased from. If your retailer is willing to push on your behalf you'll fair out alot better. Curry's (Whom I purchased from) washed their hands off it completely, doing absolutely nothing. Having said that I was relatively content that Samsung were willing to offer a depreciated value on the unit which was finally paid just before Christmas. I've been informed that customers have been given new units where the retailer gets involved to assist the customer.

worked got then after 10 tries

Sorry to hear you're bad news, what exactly happened ? If I were you I would try and tackle your issue on two fronts, the manufacturer and the retailer you purchased from. If your retailer is willing to push on your behalf you'll fair out alot better. Curry's (Whom I purchased from) washed their hands off it completely, doing absolutely nothing. Having said that I was relatively content that Samsung were willing to offer a depreciated value on the unit which was finally paid just before Christmas. I've been informed that customers have been given new units where the retailer gets involved to assist the customer.
    Had to contact the manufacture direct hope to get a repair if not a replacement
    Fingers crossed will let you know Thanks:

worked got then after 10 tries
    Good stuff hope it works out for you. Even if they offer you a cash alternative don't be afraid to ask about a complete new replacement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭Carlow2011

Any chance you would PM details to me also, thanks

Good stuff hope it works out for you. Even if they offer you a cash alternative don't be afraid to ask about a complete new replacement

Hi had a very quick response from Samsung had an engineer call out at 9 o'clock this morning and top of all the other problems he told me the compressor is gone after 5 years he will put the report through to Samsung and they will contact me not holding much fate :(