Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Becoming a Real Runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

liamo123 wrote: »
    Good running man... Steady as a rock....

Thanks yeah it felt controlled. Didn't see you after, you must have scarpered. How was your race?

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

menoscemo wrote: »
    Thanks yeah it felt controlled. Didn't see you after, you must have scarpered. How was your race?

No didnt hang around.. Got a dose of the shivers after the race so legged it home... Lets just say it was a race of two halves...Went off too fast and my God did I pay 4 it :eek:... will write a report in the next while...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Great running meno, well done

5 miles recovery today (9:30 pace). Met up with Digler and CL and had an enjoyable run. Digger was wearing his new Irish 50k championship t-shirt despite him being the only one not to run the event :rolleyes:
    Legs very creaky to start but felt great by then end and I was dying to speed up/go further. Should be ok for a full weeks training next week.

Weekly total 7 days running 64 Miles

2011|No. of days Running|Miles|2012 |No. of days Running|Miles
    January|28/31|256.3|January|28/31|290.1
    February|24/28|236.9|February|17/19|181.5
    March|23/31|221.9|||
    April|22/30|176.4|||
    May|25/31|198.5|||
    June|24/30|180.6|||
    July|28/31|269.4|||
    August|23/31|244.6|||
    September|22/30|200|||
    October|26/31|187.5|||
    November|28/30|210.1|||
    December|24/31|194.3|||
    Total|297/365|2576.5|Total|45/50|471.6

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

A sub 3:30 marathon, a sub 8:00 pace 50K. And I just knew you'd have the runners on again today. Making it look easy. Great running, well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Congrats on the awesome run yesterday! Sounds like it went better than you could have imagined. Tickled to death for you!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Well done Meno. Sounds like one you enjoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Well done again bud! God I was cursing you on that recovery yesterday but I’ve no doubt that I’d be in an awful state right now if it wasn’t for it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 40 baldymolloy

thanks for the good paceing on sat enjoyed most of it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

There you go Meno...the man popped his (boards)cherry especially for you!:p

Fair play baldymolloy, you seemed fairly comfortable when lapping us with Meno (I assume that was yourself!).

Cheers paul.
    I think it is a race where you definiely need company for the most part. Have you reconsidered trying to do those extra 8 miles in April?

belcarra wrote: »
    There you go Meno...the man popped his (boards)cherry especially for you!:p

Fair play baldymolloy, you seemed fairly comfortable when lapping us with Meno (I assume that was yourself!).

yes that was me

Cheers paul.
    I think it is a race where you definiely need company for the most part. Have you reconsidered trying to do those extra 8 miles in April?

that race is sold out next year might give it a go :eek:

Monday
    6.2 miles recovery in Tymon. Met Aimman half way around my first lap so joined him for a few miles then did another lap solo. Legs felt stiff all day but were fine when I was running.

Tuesday
    6.2 miles Met with my sister for the first part of the run, she is training for a 10k. first 3 miles with her were at 11 min/mile and the second part of the run at 8:18/mile. First day off sweets for lent and I was getting the sweats and withdrawals :eek:

Wednesday
    7.3 miles in 58 minutes (7:50/mile I think :confused:). This is my normal run home form work. I looked at the garmin after a mile to discover I had already travelled 10 and was doing 40 seconds/mile. I hit lap to get a new reading but the pace still seemed ridiculously fast for an easy run. Turns out the garmin thinks I was running about 1km west of where I actually was running and my end point is about 1.5 miles south west of where I actually stopped. My HR is also messed up (nothing new there) but I have a run cadence reading despite not wearing a foot pod. Hopefully this is just a temporary blip and my garmin is not messed up.
    Here's the link for anyone interested: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/151719372

WTD 3 days running 19.7 Miles

February|24/28|236.9|February|20/22|201.2
    March|23/31|221.9|||
    April|22/30|176.4|||
    May|25/31|198.5|||
    June|24/30|180.6|||
    July|28/31|269.4|||
    August|23/31|244.6|||
    September|22/30|200|||
    October|26/31|187.5|||
    November|28/30|210.1|||
    December|24/31|194.3|||
    Total|297/365|2576.5|Total|48/53|491.3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Just catching up Niall well done in Donadea, well paced and set up nicely for your target time in Conn.

Thursday
    A.M
    7.3 miles Back into work at recover pace. Legs feel great but I am getting really tight around the hip/pelvis area. Was hobbling about after this run. Tried to get an appointment for a massage but RQ is all booked up to next week so I have to hobble on through it :pac:
    P.M.
    I planned to go down to the club for intervals but with the tightness int he hips thought it best not to risk it. Settled for a handy 5 miles instead. Fell better when running than when not :D
    12.3 miles for the day

Friday
    5.6 miles Very handy after work (8:18/mile). Lots of rolling and stretching on friday night so the hips felt better.

Saturday
    A.M. 7.3 miles into work. I always do these early morning runs into work as slow as possible and don't concentrate on the watch. This was my fastest ever for the run (8:36/mile). Mightn't seem like much but I think it's a fair indicator. Flew up the hill at the end much faster than normal without breaking weat.
    Afternoon 10.3 miles @ 7:58/mile. Ran back home with a detour. This was just a few hours after my morning run but a coffe and a sandwich and I feel much more like running a bit faster. Didn't really check the watch or think about pace so am surprised to see my cruising pace under 8 min/mile. Normally I'm a lazy runner so I have to force myself to run this pace :pac:. Lovely afternoon for a run. The shorts and short sleeved t-shirt combo got their first outing for the year.

17.6 miles for the day

Sunday
    20 miles @ 8:48. Met up with Graham Oisin (fresh from a marathon yesterday) and Micilin Muc in clontarf for the LSR up through the hills in Howth. Micilin was doing a PMP run (targetting 4hrs) so we decided to go out at that pace. He stuck in no bother even up through the big hills between sutton and howth. I was getting a bit of ITB due to my tight hips so myself and Oisin picked up the pace for the last few miles as when I lift the knees a bit more it goes away. Wore the HRM since it was a nice day knowing i'd sweat a bit and maybe get a good reading. Happy that the HR is around 138 for the run excluding the silly spikes in the first 3-4 miles.

Looking forward to getting a massage on the legs next week. They badly need it at this stage.

WTD 7 days running 75.2 Miles
    Solid week coming off the 50k race last saturday. hope to hit 80 for the first time next week.

February|24/28|236.9|February|24/26|256.7
    March|23/31|221.9|||
    April|22/30|176.4|||
    May|25/31|198.5|||
    June|24/30|180.6|||
    July|28/31|269.4|||
    August|23/31|244.6|||
    September|22/30|200|||
    October|26/31|187.5|||
    November|28/30|210.1|||
    December|24/31|194.3|||
    Total|297/365|2576.5|Total|52/57|546.8

Monday
    5.1 miles recovery. 8:43 pace. Recovery pace a bit faster than usual. Hips were stiff as a board but loosened up as I ran. Again felt better at the end of this run that at the start

Tuesday
    10 Miles @ 7:15 pace. Run home from work I decided to do this at PMP effort as I have Blackpool marathon on sunday week. was hoping for a 7:30 pace but after the first mile I found myself running sub 7 off little effort. Tried to reign it back a bit but decided the effort felt fine and let it go. Felt fresh as a daisy at the end, could have kept going. The run felt much better than my lasy PMP effort a few weeks ago which was shorter and 15 seconds/mile slower. Was dying to see the HR stats for last night but the HRM is ballsed up. Food for thought ahead of Blackpool next week.

Wednesday
    A.M. 7.3 miles recovery into work. Stiff as a board. No movement in the hips

P.M.
    4.1 miles recovery. Better. Stiff to begin but loosened up. Followed this with a sorts massage which hopefully gives the hamstrings and hips some relief.

WTD 3 days running 26.5 Miles

February|24/28|236.9|February|27/29|283.2
    March|23/31|221.9|||
    April|22/30|176.4|||
    May|25/31|198.5|||
    June|24/30|180.6|||
    July|28/31|269.4|||
    August|23/31|244.6|||
    September|22/30|200|||
    October|26/31|187.5|||
    November|28/30|210.1|||
    December|24/31|194.3|||
    Total|297/365|2576.5|Total|55/60|573.3

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

Hey meno, some great running lately, be careful of the hips and hamstrings, sounds like me at the start of my injury woes. Ignored the stiffness as it cleared after a mile or two but it got progressively worse till I broke down with a list of complaints, dont ignore the strength and flexability work like I did.

ronnie085 wrote: »
    Hey meno, some great running lately, be careful of the hips and hamstrings, sounds like me at the start of my injury woes. Ignored the stiffness as it cleared after a mile or two but it got progressively worse till I broke down with a list of complaints, dont ignore the strength and flexability work like I did.

Thanks Ronnie. Yeah it has been worrying me quite a bit. I have started a strenghthening routine as per this article. I aso had a nice massge last night. Just this weekend to come and I'll be tapering down the mileage for the Conn Ultra so hopefully that will clear it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Nice solid start to the year - what are the primary goals for this year.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Nice solid start to the year - what are the primary goals for this year.

Connemara ultra at the start of april then Berlin Marathon in September. I should be able to knock out a few other targets along the way (sub 19 5k and sub 40 10k).
    Hopefully I'll get as close as possible to 3hrs in Berlin and set up a sub 3 in 2013.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Connemara ultra at the start of april then Berlin Marathon in September. I should be able to knock out a few other targets along the way (sub 19 5k and sub 40 10k).
    Hopefully I'll get as close as possible to 3hrs in Berlin and set up a sub 3 in 2013.
    I reckon those three targets are well within your grasp meno, your doing some training lately.

neilc wrote: »
    I reckon those three targets are well within your grasp meno, your doing some training lately.

Yeah It's all long stuff towards the Ultra but my general times are coming down too. Last year I was just able to do big miles in prep for Connemara, this year I've managed to up the miles a little while doing 1 or 2 quality sessions a week.
    The Raheny 5 says (31.32) I should do a sub 40 10k tomorrow handily but I am not gonna get a chance until the Kclub race on 21st April. Hopefully I am over Conn by then and can put in a good performace.

I am 75% that I'll run the MSB 5k on 18th of this month but it depends how much Blackpool marathon next sunday takes out of me. If I run it I'll give sub 19 a good bash.

Thursday
    Headed down the club. 3.1 mile warm up followed by 14 x 400m. Unfortunately the turnout was poor for this one and none of the faster runners turned up so The reps were a little slower than normal (mostly 84-85 seconds. Still a good session as it was the first time doing this for a few weeks and good to get a bit of speed in the legs.

8.7 miles total

Friday
    5 miles recovery with Aimman in Tymon

Saturday
    Got a lift with Aimman to bray and got the dart to Howth for the second Annual 30 mile howth to Bray Run. Marthastew, Mr Stew and friend joined us at Glenageary and we met Graham, Micil Muc, Niall and Alan out in Howth. It was a lovely day and I really enjoyed the run. The group stuck together as far as poolbeg lighthouse and then started breaking up a little. Some were only doing 18 or 22 miles. We had 3 stops in shops along the way so the group generally met back up.
    I only had a bottle of water, a powerade a mountain dew and a banana on the run as I am off sweets and chocolates. I had gels with me but didn't feel the need for them. Our last stop was in Dalkey with 7 miles to go so myslef Mathastew, alan and Niall ploughed on up killiney hill and down to bray where we awaited Aimman and Graham to come home.

Great weather, lovely run and good Craic all the way round.

30.1 miles at 9:12 pace

Sunday
    I was a little bit hungover for this one but though the legs were fine (heavy but no niggles or stiffness). It was tought o force myself out the door to be honest but I really wanted to get my first 80 mile week so i took a can of HTFU and went out. Enjoyed it once I was out there. Lovely sunny weather except for a freak hail stone shower in the middle of the run.

10.2 miles @ 8:50 pace

Weekly total 7 days running 80.5 Miles

Gotta be happy with the week, biggest ever mileage and 2 quality sessions aswell as the 30 miler. Next week will be easier with hopefully a speedy marathon at the end.

February|24/28|236.9|February|27/29|283.2
    March|23/31|221.9|March|4/4|54
    April|22/30|176.4|||
    May|25/31|198.5|||
    June|24/30|180.6|||
    July|28/31|269.4|||
    August|23/31|244.6|||
    September|22/30|200|||
    October|26/31|187.5|||
    November|28/30|210.1|||
    December|24/31|194.3|||
    Total|297/365|2576.5|Total|59/64|627.3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Gotta be happy with the week, biggest ever mileage and 2 quality sessions aswell as the 30 miler. Next week will be easier with hopefully a speedy marathon at the end.
    :confused::confused::confused::confused:
    What time are you targeting? Are you going for a PB?

:confused::confused::confused::confused:
    What time are you targeting? Are you going for a PB?

Yeah a bit unconventional alright but my PB is ridiculously soft so I should destroy it no sweat. Conn Ultra is the target so I'll just be taking this week easy as a 'mini taper' for Blackpool on Sunday. I set my Current PB (3:24 in Barcelona last year) in even more unconventional circumstances having raced the Donadea 50k the week before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

You going for 3:10/15 this weekend then?

shels4ever wrote: »
    You going for 3:10/15 this weekend then?

We'll see, as long as the wind plays ball 3:15 should be achievable. Blackpool is run up and down the Coast like the Clontarf Half so if it's a windy day all bets are off.
    Loose plan is to head out at 7:2x pace and see how I'm feeling half way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

You're in great shape for the weekend.
    Not a bother on you on Saturday, I got the impression you were just warming up when we hit Bray!:D
    I really enjoyed it, a great way to run 30 miles

• Registered Users Posts: 12,849 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Well done on Donadea. Good running.