Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Yep. We tested the discs and one I saw was NTSC was Dusk Til Dawn. I looked up the original views at an old archive site. It's listed as a proper, solid player. :)

I was very close to buying it when I saw the price. But there's no way in hell I'd have gotten it into the house. :D

Any of the discs you got from him rare? Or was he fairly tuned into the laserdisc scene in that regard?

How much does that Darius one go for as a matter of interest?

Yeah, just running through my consoles there, likes of the PS, Saturn, DC and GC would they be alright straight into a multiscart then into the TV? All with the best hookups I can get for them. Or better off putting them through an upscaler etc?

The MD, SNES and nes, whats the best way to sort them out?

Original Xbox is composite anyway so thats no problem

PS, Saturn, DC, MD, Snes - all into a multi scart via RGB cables into the RGB slot on the tv.

GC - is there something better than RGB with this? I'm actually not sure.

NES - composite AV :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Depends again what your display is and what's being fed in to the scaler.Some have trouble with different types of output from older systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Think your right, there was a composite for GC, but if i remember right, its very expensive

But do you reckon that theres no need to be upscaling and all that jazz. Good hookups and a 4:3 ratio on my lcd should do alright?

Master of the Universe

I guess it's whatever you're happy with.

I've been playing my Saturn on my LCD a bit lately via RGB. I do miss the scanlines, but it works without fine.

That scanline generator would look great though!

o1s1n wrote: »
    I was very close to buying it when I saw the price. But there's no way in hell I'd have gotten it into the house. :D

Any of the discs you got from him rare? Or was he fairly tuned into the laserdisc scene in that regard?

How much does that Darius one go for as a matter of interest?

He was an older guy, really sound too. He loved his AV, he had all sorts of stuff in his collection.

I don't think any of the titles are rare but some are sought after Criterion editions.

The Darius disc is around ¥8000-10,000 I think. Personally I've never, ever seen it anywhere before, there's no rips of it online as far as I can see and doing a search throws up next to no info on it at all. It's not the 'perfect' version on YouTube, that's just a Superplay LD.

Having it in my collection would be amazing, but it is a lot of money just for a disc. :(

I guess it's whatever you're happy with.

I've been playing my Saturn on my LCD a bit lately via RGB. I do miss the scanlines, but it works without fine.

That scanline generator would look great though!

o1s1n is spot on. Go with what is best for you. Personally I'm an AV nut so I enjoy tinkering with this stuff but really you can have a great set up with just a console and a TV.

That's not to say the gadgets are useless, far from it. I use my SLG all the time and would be lost without it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Since I have the input on my TV should I get one of these? Or stick with a VGA box?

http://www.racketboy.com/store/sega-dreamcast/dreamcast-vga-cable-box.html

Depends, what do you currently have? That cable is grand, else you can easily source one on eBay. I have the orange and white boxed one commonly found on eBay.

Oh, amid the Laserdisc excitement, I did get something else new today. A 3600mAh battery and back cover for my PSP 1000. Both new and sealed. :)

EDIT: Which are now installed and amazingly, the battery is fully charged! Looks like I'm due some Darius Burst on the train tomorrow. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Looks like Christmas is called off due to Eartbound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

PS, Saturn, DC, MD, Snes - all into a multi scart via RGB cables into the RGB slot on the tv.

GC - is there something better than RGB with this? I'm actually not sure.

NES - composite AV :(

Here's my setup on a 50" screen

360 - HDMI

PS1&2, Saturn, MD, SNES, PC Engine, USA N64 via RGB Cables > into Sync Strike > into cga2vga scaler > into SLG3000 > into VGA port on TV. I took a few close up pics of the screen quality and posted them here a couple of months back - scanlines really give it an authentic CRT feel.

DC - VGA Box > into SLG3000 > into VGA port on TV

GC - use a Wii instead with component cables directly into TV. Boot cube games holding down the B button for progressve scan. The cube component cable is too expensive and why bother if the wii can do the same quality?

NES - looks pretty dark and colourless through composite. Not much you can do with this except rub vaseline in your eyes and sit as far back as you can :D

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Looks like Christmas is called off due to Eartbound.

Who needs Christmas when you have clean pants, a bowl of pick n mix and a copy of Earthbound?

Congratulations! Show us some snaps of it! Is it boxed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Depends, what do you currently have? That cable is grand, else you can easily source one on eBay. I have the orange and white boxed one commonly found on eBay.

Oh, amid the Laserdisc excitement, I did get something else new today. A 3600mAh battery and back cover for my PSP 1000. Both new and sealed. :)

EDIT: Which are now installed and amazingly, the battery is fully charged! Looks like I'm due some Darius Burst on the train tomorrow. :)

Where did you get the psp battery pyong?

Got it on eBay from a seller in New York. I got a brand new battery and a back battery door, both new and sealed for just shy of €6 delivered from the USA.

Fits like a glass slipper! Very speedy delivery too, got here in just under a week. :)

Got it on eBay from a seller in New York. I got a brand new battery and a back battery door, both new and sealed for just shy of €6 delivered from the USA.

Fits like a glass slipper! Very speedy delivery too, got here in just under a week. :)

Is it a genuine one? Tim from Rewind Bits told me a while ago he had trouble getting them as they were no longer manufactured, & the market was swamped with cheap knock offs that don't work too well...

Nope it's not a Sony battery, just an third party job. Seems grand to me. Charge held overnight, no signs of meltdown yet! :)

Master of the Universe

The Darius disc is around ¥8000-10,000 I think. Personally I've never, ever seen it anywhere before, there's no rips of it online as far as I can see and doing a search throws up next to no info on it at all. It's not the 'perfect' version on YouTube, that's just a Superplay LD.

Having it in my collection would be amazing, but it is a lot of money just for a disc. :(

That's just shy of €100 isn't it? It doesn't seem to bad for something which is as rare as you're saying.

I'll keep an eye out for it in my daily hunt for rarities anyway!

Here's my setup on a 50" screen

360 - HDMI

PS1&2, Saturn, MD, SNES, PC Engine, USA N64 via RGB Cables > into Sync Strike > into cga2vga scaler > into SLG3000 > into VGA port on TV. I took a few close up pics of the screen quality and posted them here a couple of months back - scanlines really give it an authentic CRT feel.

DC - VGA Box > into SLG3000 > into VGA port on TV

GC - use a Wii instead with component cables directly into TV. Boot cube games holding down the B button for progressve scan. The cube component cable is too expensive and why bother if the wii can do the same quality?

NES - looks pretty dark and colourless through composite. Not much you can do with this except rub vaseline in your eyes and sit as far back as you can :D

Nice!! I'll get around to investing in one of those SLG3000s for the bedroom I reckon. I have a 28 inch Trinitron CRT downstairs, but the house is too cold this time of the year to be in the front room!

Actually, any of you guys know if there's a direct way of going HDMI>SLG3000? Or do you need one of those box things which Andrew76 had in his cab? (cant remember what it was called).

It's just I play a lot of arcade games on my LCD via my laptops HDMI out. Would be excellent if I could get some scanlines going on those games.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Actually, any of you guys know if there's a direct way of going HDMI>SLG3000? Or do you need one of those box things which Andrew76 had in his cab? (cant remember what it was called).

Hey,

I use an Extron RGB 580xi and Sync Strike but you wouldn't need either of them. Afaik that SLG3000 has VGA in and out, does your lappy have a VGA port on it? Or is that old school these days. :) Otherwise is there such thing as a HDMI to VGA cable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Who needs Christmas when you have clean pants, a bowl of pick n mix and a copy of Earthbound?

Congratulations! Show us some snaps of it! Is it boxed?

It would be a box of wheetos not pick n mix.

Only paid for it the other day. So should have it next week and I'll take pics then.

It boxed and complete with the guide and even has the scratch n sniff cards. I hole I can figure out what the mystery smell is. It's in very good condition too

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Is there such thing as a HDMI to VGA cable?

There is indeed, I have one. eBay is a good source for these. That said, those cables don't convert anything at all, you you still need a yokiebob.

As for the Darius disc, I'm in negotiations to buy it now but I think someone else has snagged it ahead of me. Waiting to hear back.

I was tempted to walk away because it's a really expensive yoke, but it really is super rare. I've tried my hardest to find any info I can on it and am drawing blanks at every attempt.

I did find some info on other Darius LD's too. Darius, Darius II, Darius Gaiden and Darius Shooting Perfection all received LD releases. Finding them is the hard part.

Master of the Universe

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Hey,

I use an Extron RGB 580xi and Sync Strike but you wouldn't need either of them. Afaik that SLG3000 has VGA in and out, does your lappy have a VGA port on it? Or is that old school these days. :) Otherwise is there such thing as a HDMI to VGA cable?

Ah I see! Thanks.

Good question about the port..I would have assumed it has a VGA out but maybe that is indeed old school :pac: I'll check when I go home.

So VGA out on lappy> SLG3000 >Sync Strike>RGB out> LCD?

Seems straightforward enough. Only issue now is the funds!

Ah I see! Thanks.

Good question about the port..I would have assumed it has a VGA out but maybe that is indeed old school :pac: I'll check when I go home.

So VGA out on lappy> SLG3000 >Sync Strike>RGB out> LCD?

Seems straightforward enough. Only issue now is the funds!

The North Korean chap knows more about these gubbins than I but I would have thought you only need: VGA out on lappy (or HDMI to VGA) > SLG3000 > VGA to LCD? Or is some sort of scaler needed between SLG and LCD?

The Sync Strike is for connecting SCART consoles to VGA displays (and looking after any sync issues), that's my understanding anyway.

Master of the Universe

Ah sorry, forgot to add, my LCD tv doesn't have a VGA input. So I'd be getting the SyncStrike to dodge that issue. To take the VGA out of the SLG3000 and allow it to go into an RGB scart socket on the LCD television.

Ah that makes sense alright. :)

Maybe Pyong could clarify but I'm thinking maybe you wouldn't need a scaler between SLG and LCD since your laptop is not outputting a low resolution that the LCD couldn't handle, I'm guessing you play at resolutions well higher than 640x480 etc.

Aye you should be grand with just the SLG, however if you plan to plug a Saturn in, be careful. I had to use the Sync Strike as I was connecting via SCART and without power running from both the SLG and the SS you'll get a rolling picture.

So the best setup, using a Saturn and other SCART connected consoles as an example do the following:

CONSOLE > SYNC STRIKE > SLG > LCD

or

LAPTOP > VGA OUT > SLG > LCD

One other important factor to pay attention to is the actual output of the console itself as the SS and SLG don't scale anything. So some consoles may require upscaling before they reach the source else you'll get no picture or a dodgy picture.

Don't forget on the SS you need to plug phono to the breakout and plug in to an amp, or plug them in to a phono > 3.5mm output jack and use that.

So, an ideal solution would be:

SOURCE > SS > SCALER > SLG > LCD

You shouldn't need the scaler for a laptop. However if you do buy the scaler it comes with a cable to hook in to the 5v power input and is then connected to two screw in terminals on the SS which will give it power, then you just flick the dip switch on the SS to PSU instead of drawing power from the SCART (the other dip setting) which is best practice anyway.

Hmm, that plops it up a bit. The SS takes a SCART input, strips and syncs it and outputs to VGA only (with phono breakout).

If your LCD has no VGA input but only SCART, then you won't be able to use the SLG or SS as they both output VGA only.

If your LCD has HDMI inputs, you may be able to use a VGA>HDMI cable, however that still might not work, in which case you would then need to buy a VGA to HDMI converter box (most likely I would have thought as the cable does nothing).

At that point you may as well buy a monitor with VGA inputs instead as it'll cost you more or less the same for a VGA>HDMI converter.

EDIT: Personally I would contact Jochen at Arcadeforge and just order the full kit that comprises SLG, SS and Scaler plus the PSU for the scaler. Then buy a new monitor rather than getting a VGA>HDMI converter. Else you'll end up hosing money on all sorts of gubbins, it's not worth it.

Don't forget to check out FaginRS500 on YouTube, he's the oft dubbed 'Godfather of the scanline'. Lots of good info there. :)

Quality info Pyong. I totally forgot the SS has VGA out not SCART. I'd also recommend buying the PSU for it rather than power it by SCART if someone was getting one. It was the only way the SS would work in my scenario.

Without a doubt, Greek Mother is correct. :)

Definitely get the full kit from Jochen and use the PSU he supplies in the kit to power the scaler. You then use one of the two cables that is supplied with the scaler to hook in to the scaler and screw in to the input on the SS. Flick the dip on the SS to PSU and you're all set.

I've yet to see a SCART cable that can channel enough power to the SS (with the dip set to SCART) and to the output and actually work.

However, if you just want to use a laptop and aren't planning on using consoles at this time, I'd suggest buying a new monitor with VGA in and an SLG and you'll be set. The extra stuff is only needed if you plan to hook up any consoles.

Master of the Universe

Don't forget to check out FaginRS500 on YouTube, he's the oft dubbed 'Godfather of the scanline'.

You're getting dangerously close to being pinned with that title yourself :p

Thanks for all the advice lads!

You're getting dangerously close to being pinned with that title yourself :p

Thanks for all the advice lads!

He's the goodfella of scanline thingamajigs

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I think there should a dedicated scanline forum cos I have no idea what in the hell you guys get talking about....