Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Date-rape drink spiking 'an urban legend'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

This reminds me of Alex Fergusons [insert opposing managers name here] post match interviews. He'll insinuate and suggest that maybe the referess decisions throughtout the match were wrong, he will then blame todays defeat on the referees decisions. The Fans will eat that garbage right up and believe it. If anyone asks why their team lost they'll give the alex ferguson spiel. Its a great smoke screen. No one questions whether the managers decision to play certain players and leave out others, did he choose the right formation, did he gets his tactics right, should he brought someone else on, were the players he picked fit, is his coaching technique becoming outdated etc etc etc. Just look at the state the soccer forum is in at the moment and you;ll realise this.

Is this "spiked" business just having too much to drink yet needing a smokescreen to cover that up? Would you tell a rape victim that in actual fact she was partially responsible for getting herself into that situation in the first place ?

Personal responsibilty doesnt exist in todays society. Its easier to just make excuses

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Is this "spiked" business just having too much to drink yet needing a smokescreen to cover that up? Would you tell a rape victim that in actual fact she was partially responsible for getting herself into that situation in the first place ?

I don't think anyone is excusing rape, wether the girl is genuinely drugged or just mouldy drunk. Rape is never the victims fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

Personal responsibilty doesnt exist in todays society. Its easier to just make excuses

what are yout talking about? Rape even if the girl is legless is only the perpetrators fault. Thats like saying. You wore provocative clothes so you deserve it.Backwards Irish mentality.

I'm sure some spiking occurs.I do think there are females out there who use spiking as an excuse for when they do blackout etc etc from drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

This reminds me of Alex Fergusons [insert opposing managers name here] post match interviews. He'll insinuate and suggest that maybe the referess decisions throughtout the match were wrong, he will then blame todays defeat on the referees decisions. The Fans will eat that garbage right up and believe it. If anyone asks why their team lost they'll give the alex ferguson spiel. Its a great smoke screen. No one questions whether the managers decision to play certain players and leave out others, did he choose the right formation, did he gets his tactics right, should he brought someone else on, were the players he picked fit, is his coaching technique becoming outdated etc etc etc. Just look at the state the soccer forum is in at the moment and you;ll realise this.

Nooooooooooo.
    It doesn't matter if the victim is a hooker, a nympho, a partner or whatever. There is never an excuse for rape and the victim is never at fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Lads, this one time I was seriously spiked.

I was out in the pub a couple of week ago with a friend, it was for a society ball, there were €3 pints for the night and I was just having good time. All of a sudden after a good few drinks (I can't remember how much) I can only remember bits and pieces of the night, and I can't remember the last hour or so at all.
    I asked my friend about it the next day and he says I was stumbling a bit and saying really stupid stuff, which isn't like me at all.
    But the scary part is, he barely remembers more of it than I do, so obviously he was drugged too.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

Pygmalion wrote: »

I was out in the pub a couple of week ago with a friend, it was for a society ball, there were €3 pints for the night and I was just having good time. All of a sudden after a good few drinks (I can't remember how much) I can only remember bits and pieces of the night, and I can't remember the last hour or so at all.
    I asked my friend about it the next day and he says I was stumbling a bit and saying really stupid stuff, which isn't like me at all.
    But the scary part is, he barely remembers more of it than I do, so obviously he was drugged too.

That sounds really like me afew weeks ago where I got locked and couldn't remember getting home.......

I was LOCKED. Thats all nobody spiked you. You talk shizer when your very drunk and sometimes you black out.Sometimes you have to ring your mate and ask them what happened.

I know It might not be your general behaviour but on $3 drinks I'm fairly sure they weren't of the best quality and you just ended up on your ear

• Registered Users Posts: 34,564 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If that's the case I must get spiked every time I go out to a bar. You were drunk, simple as. And so was your mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

I had heard something similar to this from a Garda that it was rare in Ireland that a drug had been used in date rape cases and that 9/10 times it was to much booze. But they could have been talking out there arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Terry wrote: »
    Nooooooooooo.
    It doesn't matter if the victim is a hooker, a nympho, a partner or whatever. There is never an excuse for rape and the victim is never at fault.

I find it strange that any other crime where the person does something foolish they are criticised but with rape it is an instant "no fault" situation. I am not saying anybody is never a victim but to remove all fault is another thing completely. Nobody should be robbed but if they are drunk and walk down an alley way with people knowing they have valuables on them are they completely faultless?
    Rape shouldn't have magical qualities that means any victims is faultless for the situation they are get in. The crime is what it is nothing more or nothing less.

Date rape drugging appears to be an urban myth yet drugs used to commit crimes are not. Possible does not make it probable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Rape is an emotional topic so it's nearly impossible to have a proper conversation about it.

For example, I will no doubt get flamed for posting the following paragraphs:

Many (note to retards: I haven't said "all") of the women who claim they were drug raped actually just drank too much, had sex with a sleaze, and woke up with very little memory of what happened. Rather than accept personal responsibility for her actions (she had a very drunken one night stand) she takes the easier route and claims she was drugged and possibly raped.

Obviously in some cases rape will actually have happened, but many times the problem is simply drinking too much alcohol, losing control of yourself, and doing stupid things. And I have to say, you're doing yourself no favours if you make yourself an easy target, e.g. getting ****ing plastered and wandering the streets on your own, or going home with a stranger whose name you don't even know.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,564 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Kipperhell wrote: »
    I find it strange that any other crime where the person does something foolish they are criticised but with rape it is an instant "no fault" situation. I am not saying anybody is never a victim but to remove all fault is another thing completely. Nobody should be robbed but if they are drunk and walk down an alley way with people knowing they have valuables on them are they completely faultless?
    Rape shouldn't have magical qualities that means any victims is faultless for the situation they are get in. The crime is what it is nothing more or nothing less.

Date rape drugging appears to be an urban myth yet drugs used to commit crimes are not. Possible does not make it probable

Excusing rape would be like excusing the muggers for mugging that poor drunk guy down the alley. Which pretty much says it's okay to take advantage of people in a vunerable state because they're some how stupid/at fault/deserve it.

Fault is a different thing. I do think that sometimes people are at fault by letting theselves get into a drunken stupor. I still don't think it ties in with excusing rape though.

\edit - Agree with you on the date rape drug point. Always thought it was a load of bollocks. Why bother when double vodkas are legal.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Excusing rape would be like excusing the muggers for mugging that poor drunk guy down the alley. Which pretty much says it's okay to take advantage of people in a vunerable state because they're some how stupid/at fault/deserve it.

It's never okay to take advantage of a person. And the perpatrator should never be excused for the crime because of the victims state of mind at the time.
    It comes down to what people generally mean by "fault". People see "fault" in somebody putting them self in danger and generally are meaning it from that sense when they say a victim is at fault. It is separate and not condoning the perpetrators behaviour. The is no saying it is OK to take advantage of vulnerable people from what I have said at least.

An assault of any nature may be caused by the persons actions some of which can certainly be called the persons "fault". Rape is a brutal assault and that is it but it shouldn't absolve the victim from all behaviour or reckless behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

that's the way alcohol made me feel every time i drank,till i stopped,no need for spiking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

One of the lads has been out of work and into hospital for the last 2 days cuz he got date-rape drugged at the weekend. Supposedly a nice mix of rohipnol, ketamine, and a bunch of other things.

Got a nice little puddle of puke at the end of his bed too. Yum.

One of the lads has been out of work and into hospital for the last 2 days cuz he got date-rape drugged at the weekend. Supposedly a nice mix of rohipnol, ketamine, and a bunch of other things.

Got a nice little puddle of puke at the end of his bed too. Yum.

Couple of questions if you don't mind...

Was he drinking alcohol?
    Was he taking drugs (prescription or illegal)?
    Has the hospital found actual traces of rohipnol?

It's strange how Irish hospitals say they've never found this stuff in anyone's system, yet it has happened to so many people and their friends according to this thread...

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Couple of questions if you don't mind...

Was he drinking alcohol?
    Was he taking drugs (prescription or illegal)?
    Has the hospital found actual traces of rohipnol?

It's strange how Irish hospitals say they've never found this stuff in anyone's system, yet it has happened to so many people and their friends according to this thread...

Yes - pint no.4 apparantly.
    Nope - he's squeeky clean, doesnt even smoke.
    Yes - he only found out when the toxicology report (or something) came back. Before that there were theories of meninjitus based on symptoms.

He has to bring the hospital report/doctors note into work when he comes back so maybe i can get him to scan it and post if you really need evidence!

I get your point though - he's prob the 5th or 6th person i know to have "got spiked" (ye bollox, you were just pissed as hell). But this is the first case i know someone to go and get proof from the hosdibul.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Rohypnol turns drinks blue. Anyone who claims they've been spiked with it is bull****ting.
    Anyone who can see the colour of their drink in a dark nightclub should get a prize!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

seahorse wrote: »
    Ireland is flooded with that particular drug, and many others besides. I could walk out my door right now and buy any amount of 'Robies' I wanted, and I haven’t bought drugs for over ten years.
    I have my doubts, how do you know so many drug dealers if you don't buy drugs? These aren't even your standard drug dealer because I've never met one that sells date rape drugs. Maybe ones that sell cheap Viagra but never a date rape drug. Please do show me how you can get these drugs and post prove of your purchase. This thread can be prove of this only being an experiment should you get caught.

There's no need for these drugs when there's a ready supply of alcohol. With drink the predator doesn't need to try and sneak around he can simply offer it to his victim and she will more than likely take it. Want to knock out her memory start giving her shots, when I drink shots of tequila along with pints I can't remember a thing the next day. Why should any one with badness in their mind run the risk or put the effort into getting fancy drugs when alcohol does it better.

I get your point though - he's prob the 5th or 6th person i know to have "got spiked" (ye bollox, you were just pissed as hell). But this is the first case i know someone to go and get proof from the hosdibul.

I would think it would hit the media if it was proven. Did anything happen to him? Just don't see why anybody would drug somebody randomly for no reason. It just seems pointless. It equates to somebody is just randomly doing it. If the stories were to be believed it is actually a ton of people doing it this way. Yet the police here don't have any evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

ScumLord wrote: »
    I have my doubts, how do you know so many drug dealers if you don't buy drugs? These aren't even your standard drug dealer because I've never met one that sells date rape drugs. Maybe ones that sell cheap Viagra but never a date rape drug. Please do show me how you can get these drugs and post prove of your purchase. This thread can be prove of this only being an experiment should you get caught.
    Personally I've never heard of it being sold on the street, but if I asked around I could definitely get valium. Rohypnol isn't identical but it falls within the same class as diazepam and it's used recreationally as well to a lesser extent. I don't think it's completely unfeasable if you had the right contacts.
    Just don't see why anybody would drug somebody randomly for no reason. It just seems pointless. It equates to somebody is just randomly doing it.
    Some people do it for the craic. Here's a post I made in a similar thread some months back about how I sort-of accidentally ended up spiking someone:
    Funny you should say this. I was out in a club with my mates well over a year ago. We were out in the smoking area and some chick was going round swiping drinks off tables. She was brazen; I caught her trying to fleece my double vodka & blackcurrant at least twice. I finished the drink off anyway and asked my mates to get me another while I went to the jacks. When I got back my drink was sitting there but I felt something was amiss as my friends were looking a bit sheepish. Intuition and past experience told me there was something up with the drink, so I examined the glass and sure enough there was an unusual white froth at the surface of the vodka, and little pieces of undissolved pill floating about in it. I didn't have anything to do the next day, and since it was a fairly dull night I was pretty happy with this turn of events. I took sip of the drink and left it on the table behind me. When I turned back to get it it had disappeared. I had a quick scan of the area and saw the drink robber standing a a few metres away with a glass containing a suspiciously familiar purple liquid in her hand. I was pretty pissed off about this, and way too drunk to act the carebear, so I let her finish it off. When I told my mates what'd happened they were pretty concerned but afraid to say anything for obvious reasons. They told me it was BZP, not ecstasy, that they'd put in my drink (so I'd actually dodged a bullet there). Thirty minutes later the girl staggered to her knees in the middle of the smoking area and puked all over the ground, before her friends picked her up and ushered her off to the bathroom, while my friends looked on in horror and I roared with laughter.

When I woke up the next day I was fairly disgusted with what I'd done, but at least I know the 48 hours of insomnia the girl endured from that foul chemical probably ended her drink-robbing career.

Note that I also believe drink spiking is an extremely rare occurrence.

Kipperhell wrote: »
    I would think it would hit the media if it was proven. Did anything happen to him? Just don't see why anybody would drug somebody randomly for no reason. It just seems pointless. It equates to somebody is just randomly doing it. If the stories were to be believed it is actually a ton of people doing it this way. Yet the police here don't have any evidence?

I should add that he doesnt think it was targeted at him. They were aware of some persistant guy who kept offering to get one of the girls a drink everytime she went to the bar. They were working in rounds so drinks could have got mixed up.

Anyway i dont really care if you believe it or not. Fact is he has a toxicology thing that proves it, and I was only throwing in my two cents for interest's sake.

Maybe you just want to dispell the rumours so you can keep getting away with doing it. Creep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Maybe you just want to dispell the rumours so you can keep getting away with doing it. Creep.

that's a bit uncalled for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭olaola

I've heard a rep from the Dublin Rape Crisis centre on the radio basically backing up that article. People get trollied, are embarassed and then blame it on date rape drugs.

wudangclan wrote: »
    that's a bit uncalled for.

Ah, you read it wrong. Add a *wink wink, nod nod* onto the end and it changes the tone of that comment. Also I should also explain that "creep" is a term we commonly use with our friends jokingly.

Kipperhell, i dont actually think you're a creep :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

olaola wrote: »
    I've heard a rep from the Dublin Rape Crisis centre on the radio basically backing up that article. People get trollied, are embarassed and then blame it on date rape drugs.

Why oh why can't they say SOME people do

Its hard enough to prove rape as it is even in the most genuine of cases and then we have stories like this

It just ultimately makes it harder for the real victims to get their stories heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

eviltwin wrote: »
    Why oh why can't they say SOME people do

Its hard enough to prove rape as it is even in the most genuine of cases and then we have stories like this

It just ultimately makes it harder for the real victims to get their stories heard

can you explain how? I thought every case is taken serious and they test for the presences of drugs.

Not attacking you, I just want see what you think will happen if more reports like this come out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I cant believe no one has mentioned the irony of the name of the doctor who published it yet!

Dr Adam Burgess from the School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research.

Ring any bells?

No? Ok. Do you remember Roddy Doyles "The Snapper"?
    And do you remember when the young one gets locked and ends up having sex with some randomer on some random car, and then cant remember what happened, who she was with etc?
    Do you remember who knocked her up?

It was Mr Burgess!!!!!

There was obviously no rohypnol(Rohyphenol??) in Dublin in the eighties, because when asked about it she just says she was locked and doesn't remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Rape is an emotional topic so it's nearly impossible to have a proper conversation about it.

For example, I will no doubt get flamed for posting the following paragraphs:

Many (note to retards: I haven't said "all") of the women who claim they were drug raped actually just drank too much, had sex with a sleaze, and woke up with very little memory of what happened. Rather than accept personal responsibility for her actions (she had a very drunken one night stand) she takes the easier route and claims she was drugged and possibly raped.

Sorry I'm confused, are you for some reason under the impression that rape only happens to women?

And who are these 'many' women who are using drug rape claims as an excuse for drunken mistakes? You have extensive acquaintance with bogus rape victims do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

ScumLord wrote: »

There's no need for these drugs when there's a ready supply of alcohol. With drink the predator doesn't need to try and sneak around he can simply offer it to his victim and she will more than likely take it. Want to knock out her memory start giving her shots, when I drink shots of tequila along with pints I can't remember a thing the next day. Why should any one with badness in their mind run the risk or put the effort into getting fancy drugs when alcohol does it better.

You might as well just ask why you or anyone else would knowingly take sufficient quantities of a drug to ensure you can't remember where you are or what happened to you.

Cadiz wrote: »
    Sorry I'm confused, are you for some reason under the impression that rape only happens to women?

And who are these 'many' women who are using drug rape claims as an excuse for drunken mistakes? You have extensive acquaintance with bogus rape victims do you?

Yes, you're confused.