Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are ES and Public Sector Going To Get Hammered In Upcoming Budget

• 21-10-2009 3:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭

Well its that time of year again guys and girls........ The Budget.

Hearing so much from people that are thinking its going to be 10% pay cut, rent allowance gone, cut in allowances etc etc

So thought id see what people on her are thinking.....
    What should we expect in the budget?????

*and before this starts, please no comments about sure us in the private sector have loads of pay cuts, at least you have a job, bla bla bla etc etc*
    Its not public sector vs private sector... we're all in this big mess together

I expect cuts but i'm just curious to know what people on here think will be coming for us ES and public service workers in the upcoming budget.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1021/budget.html

"Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan has said there will be no new taxes in the forthcoming Budget - apart from a carbon tax.

He said that two thirds of Government expenditure is on salaries and social welfare and that is where the cuts will have to be.

The minister was speaking before addressing the Leinster Society of Chartered Accountants pre-Budget lunch. He said the Government will talk to the social partners and the Opposition but there may come a point where Government has to take decisions on its own and will do so for the sake of the country.

He also said that the Government had listened to the unions' analysis of the situation.

Mr Lenihan said it was important for people to understand that the adjustments in spending have nothing to do with the banking crisis.

He said the adjustments were due to the gap between receipts and expenditure.

Ireland is currently borrowing 12% of its annual wealth and if nothing is done the country would be borrowing 14 to 15% its annual wealth next year, according to the Minister.

He said that is not sustainable and that we have to stabilise the deficit"

Im gonna start off by saying i think we're gonna get 10% pay cut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

MODS fell free to delete/edit or add poll if ye wish.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

All of the public sectors are going to be hit.

Carbon tax will be only new tax in Budget
    Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan has said there will be no new taxes in the forthcoming Budget - apart from a carbon tax.

He said that two thirds of Government expenditure is on salaries and social welfare and that is where the cuts will have to be.

Should be interesting to see how they go about the budget though all the same. Im guessing the current levy will be going up anyhow.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

If they go for more cuts i can see another rise in the amount of Gardai retiring at 50. A lot of experience that is in there will be lost and it will be to the detriment of the force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Relevant wrote: »
    If they go for more cuts i can see another rise in the amount of Gardai retiring at 50. A lot of experience that is in there will be lost and it will be to the detriment of the force.

Id say your spot on there, anymore cuts and anyone that can retire will.
    Most people i have been talking to that can retire said that if more cuts come in their retiring..
    A lot of these members are long serving members with a wealth of knowledge, members like these are needed badly with AGS being very junior at the moment, we need to keep our senior members

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Personally I think I'd be cutting welfare payments to anyone convicted of crimes. Followed by legal aid being slashed, social housing being taken from anti-social elements etc. More prison spaces would save somuch on criminals constantly being free and creating more crime/garda/court/expenses.

But maybe its time for AGS to make cuts in areas other than wages?

Where could we make savings?

Zero tolerance on road offences = increase in income
    (Seizure of foreign illegal vehicles etc.)

Cut down of non essential gear? Do we need tunics? Wellies for everyone?
    Public order helmets? (Obviously some stations do)

Ministerial drivers (in those lovely mercs and bmw's?) Cant the ministers drive?

Escort riders for politicians? C'mon another easy saving.

Escorting prisoners? How often have we driven across the country with a prisoner.... only to discover a prison van doing th same run?

Streamline court and paperwork... huge savings.
    F.C.P.S.'s for more Road traffic offences, again cuts down on summons/court expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Some great ideas there.

Anyway, I wouldn't be surprised to see salary -10% and further cuts to travelling expenses (which, coupled with carbon tax increases on fuel, will suck).

Talk of striking is pointless - a few decent strikes and the resultant pay savings will suit the Dept. of Finance nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Rumour coming from our union is the pension levy will go, and be repaced by a 10% pay cut initially, with another 7% down the road.

General strike anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

they've said on the 9pm news that it's going to be just less than 7%..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

mcguiver wrote: »
    Escorting prisoners? How often have we driven across the country IN A FREAKIN' TAXI!!!!:confused::eek: with a prisoner.... only to discover a prison van doing th same run?

Hope you don't mind a little edit, there.

I hope Mr Lenihan gives me a kiss. I like to be kissed before I get screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

mcguiver wrote: »
    Cut down of non essential gear? Do we need tunics? Wellies for everyone?
    Public order helmets? (Obviously some stations do)

OT, but is this the hi viz one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Rumour coming from our union is the pension levy will go, and be repaced by a 10% pay cut initially, with another 7% down the road.

General strike anyone?

10% cut replacing 7.5% (which is tax deductible)..Means what..about a 5% cut?

To be honest I'd prefer the 'pension levy' to be removed from my pay slip. It's exceptionally frustrating to look at.

I take it that any increments will be put on hold; in addition to all of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

would be very unfair, on probationers especially to freeze increments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

The way things are going, we won't be able to afford to get hammered after the next budget!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Some interesting information here:

Frontline unions to ballot for action.
    The four unions who are members of the Frontline Service Alliance and are permitted to ballot for industrial action will begin carrying out ballots by the end of the week.

Is it only the Gardai who cannot go on strike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Smokey Bear

In relation to the possibilty of strike action by ES it will be more of a protest because emergency cover is still provided.So the threat of the withdrawl of labour does not exist for essential services it seems.
    Very strange why this was not said at 24/7 Alliance meetings as the union's know about this clause that withdrawl of labour is not an option if you are an essential service.
    So that rules out Fire ,HSE Emergency ambulances,Nurses and Prision Officers.A lot of members do not know about this.
    So all this rallying of the troops for strike that cant take place unless ICTU and unions walk away from National Wage agreements seems strange.

Are the union going to walk away from these agreements??

So yeah we will be working 24 hrs a days 7 days a week while we are on strike.

Few Doc relating to this

Local Government Sector Voluntary Code of Practice On Dispute Procedures With Particular Regard ToThe Maintenance Of Essential Services (December 2003)

(Discussions on a draft Code commenced in July 2003. The Code was agreed at a meeting of the Local Authority National Council held on 1st October 2003 and was formally signed off in December 2003. Copies of the Code have been lodged with the Labour Court, the ICTU, the Dept. of Finance and copies have also been forwarded to individual local authorities for implementation at local level.)

Code of Practice on Dispute Procedures
    5.1 Under paragraphs 19.12 and 19.13 of Sustaining Progress the Parties committed to agreeing voluntary codes of practice to address in particular the maintenance of essential services. These codes were to reflect the Code of Practice (Dispute Procedures Including Procedures in Essential Services) prepared by the Labour Relations Commission (S.I. No. 1 of 1992). The agreement provided that these codes should be agreed by September 2003.[/font]

Link below is from SIPTU web site in regards to the document.
    http://www.siptu.ie/PressRoom/NewsReleases/ArchivedNewsReleases/2003/Name,2495,en.html

"Local authorities are committed to progressing further the core principles of Government policy in relation to the local government sector. The focus will continue to be on serving the customer better and further enhancing local democracy and this agreement will have to be seen as building upon the changes already provided for under Better Local Government and as part of PPF. The key elements of this Agreement are the putting in place of a stable industrial relations environment, the finalisation of a code of practice for the maintenance of essential services during times of industrial unrest, the management and measurement of performance, including the need to put in place quantitative and qualitative measurement indicators to ensure that the changes agreed can be measured and achievement verified."

What is an essential service is covered here S.I. No. 1/1992 — Industrial Relations Act, 1990, Code of Practice on Dispute Procedures (Declaration) Order, 1992.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1992/en/si/0001.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

Well i suppose when your pay is unilaterally cut without agreement, then agreements are not exactly worth a whole lot.

And in relation to maintaining essential services,what exactly is classed as an emergency ?I'm sure that's open to serious interpretation.

I'm already stating the obvious but the Government hasn't honoured the pay agreement one bit. I'm surprised that the unions are still entertaining it at all; especially when the likes of the 24/7 alliance are pushing for action and results.

I just hope it doesn't die in a cloud of smoke. I want to see something done about this as it's getting ridiculous at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/public-sector-earnings-up-32-in-year-to-june-431383.html

Dunno bout everyone else here but my wages are certainly not up by 3.2% in the last year. On the contrary they are down several grand. I suppose at least this report acknowledges we are down in our net apy. First time I've seen that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I'm already stating the obvious but the Government hasn't honoured the pay agreement one bit. I'm surprised that the unions are still entertaining it at all; especially when the likes of the 24/7 alliance are pushing for action and results.

I just hope it doesn't die in a cloud of smoke. I want to see something done about this as it's getting ridiculous at this stage.

I hope something does get done for ye. Just don't expect the unions to be any use. The top brass look after themselves first and foremost. They didn't fight for my job and now I have none, and they got quite enough out of me through contractual contributions..

Just remember folks, when your struggling to pay your car insurance, road tax, mortgage, credit union/bank loans, kids school/college fees, medical insurance, rent etc etc etc The lads and lassies in the Dail and Seanad will have your best interests at heart for the 93 days they turn up to argue with each other. They'll be thinking of your hardships when they're in that lonely Mercedes back seat on the way to the airport for their annual Paddy's day trip.. and while they are sitting in the corporate box at the Superbowl, at your expense, they will be thinking of the citizens they represent and how things are quite bleak for them.. ''sure aren't the likes of Mr.Carroll and his friends an example of the hardships people face?''

Have a good one folks.. eroo out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

brayblue24 wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/public-sector-earnings-up-32-in-year-to-june-431383.html

Dunno bout everyone else here but my wages are certainly not up by 3.2% in the last year. On the contrary they are down several grand. I suppose at least this report acknowledges we are down in our net apy. First time I've seen that.

Its a total figure, and typically, quite misleading. The Public sector wage bill has increased by 3.2% because nobody new is being taken on, while those who remain have an increased GROSS wage, as their increments increase, and they work longer hours to do work in understaffed offices.
    My Nett wage dropped by 7.2% in the last 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

When he says no new taxes, I presume that still leaves him the option of raising the old ones.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

If the gardai are going to strike, can I just say this - it will have much more impact if you don't turn up for court than if you don't turn up for other more essential functions such as policing the streets and keeping charge of the stations. Would certainly catch the newspaper's attention if no gardai at all turned up in the Richmond next week. Just saying.

Not to suggest that I have any kind of sympathy or fellow feeling for the gardai, but realistically cutting garda pay is one of the worst decisions that the government can do. Cut other ps wages and the worst that happens is that you get worse service from the various government sectors. But cut police wages and you erode the fabric of democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭pauldaly1888

10% cut replacing 7.5% (which is tax deductible)..Means what..about a 5% cut?

To be honest I'd prefer the 'pension levy' to be removed from my pay slip. It's exceptionally frustrating to look at.

at least with the pension levy your gross is still higher which is what your night duty etc is worked out from. if they replace pension levy with wages cut you will be hit badly in allowances :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Would certainly catch the newspaper's attention if no gardai at all turned up in the Richmond next week.

What day you up?:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

While it hasnt happened yet.....I must warn posters that the thread is asking a question. Reply to the question thats it.

This wont become a public vs private section thread.

Trolls will be banned.

Thanks folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TeaTowel

But cut police wages and you erode the fabric of democracy.

Hi Johnnyskeleton, Can you elaborate on this? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭OMD

The answer to original question is yes, but not in the way you may think. Public servants need to wake up and fight the real battle which is not wage cuts. If you earn €40k a year, a cut of 6% will cost you about €60 a month in your take home pay after pension levy and taxes etc.(53% tax, 14% pension + levy).
    If you have a couple of kids taxing child benefit will cost about €200 a month in take home pay, changes to medical expenses could effect you greatly, changes to pension relief will cost average public sector worker hundreds a month. likewise changes to other tax reliefs. The unions are spinning a tale that they are fighting pay cuts. When they eventually win and the government appear to back down you will all think weren't the union great yet ignore the fact that the government simply sneaked in huge hidden cuts to your take home pay and the unions never batted an eye.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

TeaTowel wrote: »
    Hi Johnnyskeleton, Can you elaborate on this? Cheers

Having an underpaid police force can lead to corruption and apathy towards the detection of offences. Above all other government departments, if this happens in the police force it has much worse consequences for the rest of society.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Having an underpaid police force can lead to corruption and apathy towards the detection of offences.

Can you back this up with empirical evidence or is this merely your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Empirically, the state of policing in many Third World countries would back that assertion up well.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

civdef wrote: »
    Empirically, the state of policing in many Third World countries would back that assertion up well.

I was hoping the poster would be able to provide a like-for-like comparison, or point to a study or something that was done, preferably in a First World country to maintain some sort of perspective.

I know it's of no use but I remember the Chicago PD had to drastically improve Police Officer's pay in order to counter corruption in the 1950's. The mafia 'foothold' significantly declined when officers could afford normal lives without need for other incentives.

I referenced it in my dissertation but for the love of me I can't remember it.

It has been four years though since I did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Maybe if ministers and their departments started doing the job they are vastly overpaid for articles like the following might not be necessary. Neither might further cuts in pay for those who are not part of the "Old Boys" network.:mad:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jobs-for-the-boys-soar-over-10-years-1822018.html

Jobs for the boys' soar over 10 years

Wednesday July 15 2009

THE number of quangos, or state agencies, operating countrywide has escalated to almost 1,000 over the last 10 years.

The proliferation of authorities, boards, advisory committees, strategy groups, agencies, state-owned limited companies and state-sponsored bodies ended up costing taxpayers €13bn in 2006 alone.

Between 1998 and 2006, the staffing levels at 39 agencies increased by 13pc, while the budget levels at 45 agencies increased by 74pc, according to Fine Gael research.

Some 2,416 people were appointed to serve on the boards of quangos on the direct nomination of Government ministers-prompting Opposition claims that Fianna Fail was simply creating "jobs for the boys".

In a major OECD report published last year, the Government was criticised for creating so many "arms-length bodies" and claimed that the situation now amounted to an "organisational zoo".

Months later, the Government announced new proposals to axe 41 quangos.

However, as briefing notes from the Department of Health have shown, it will take up to two years to complete the merging of 15 health quangos which are costing the State €122m annually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

ART6 wrote: »
    Maybe if ministers and their departments started doing the job they are vastly overpaid for articles like the following might not be necessary. Neither might further cuts in pay for those who are not part of the "Old Boys" network.:mad:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jobs-for-the-boys-soar-over-10-years-1822018.html

Jobs for the boys' soar over 10 years

Wednesday July 15 2009

THE number of quangos, or state agencies, operating countrywide has escalated to almost 1,000 over the last 10 years.

The proliferation of authorities, boards, advisory committees, strategy groups, agencies, state-owned limited companies and state-sponsored bodies ended up costing taxpayers €13bn in 2006 alone.

Between 1998 and 2006, the staffing levels at 39 agencies increased by 13pc, while the budget levels at 45 agencies increased by 74pc, according to Fine Gael research.

Some 2,416 people were appointed to serve on the boards of quangos on the direct nomination of Government ministers-prompting Opposition claims that Fianna Fail was simply creating "jobs for the boys".

In a major OECD report published last year, the Government was criticised for creating so many "arms-length bodies" and claimed that the situation now amounted to an "organisational zoo".

Months later, the Government announced new proposals to axe 41 quangos.

However, as briefing notes from the Department of Health have shown, it will take up to two years to complete the merging of 15 health quangos which are costing the State €122m annually.

And people wonder why frontline workers are going mental. Maybe this might give them a bit of a clue ? waste waste and more waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 medimad

deadwood wrote: »
    The way things are going, we won't be able to afford to get hammered after the next budget!
    But by god we'll give it a good try. The public demand it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭OMD

And people wonder why frontline workers are going mental. Maybe this might give them a bit of a clue ? waste waste and more waste.

Lets face facts. We have the highest number of gardai ever in this country being paid more money than ever before. Do the gardai as a force do a much better job than say 20 years ago? To the outside viewer it appears no.

We have the highest number of nurses employed in the Irish Health Service than ever before (and one of the highest in the world per patient number) they are paid substantially more than ever before (and are one of the highest paid in the world). Is the health service substantially better as a result of this. Again to the outside viewer it appears no.

We have the numbers of "frontline workers" (which in itself is a stupid term) they are being paid more than ever before. Why are they not providing a better service.

OMD wrote: »
    Lets face facts. We have the highest number of gardai ever in this country being paid more money than ever before. Do the gardai as a force do a much better job than say 20 years ago? To the outside viewer it appears no.

We have the highest number of nurses employed in the Irish Health Service than ever before (and one of the highest in the world per patient number) they are paid substantially more than ever before (and are one of the highest paid in the world). Is the health service substantially better as a result of this. Again to the outside viewer it appears no.

We have the numbers of "frontline workers" (which in itself is a stupid term) they are being paid more than ever before. Why are they not providing a better service.

Listen, the reason they are paid substantially more is becauase they stidy a lot harder than their european counteerparts. If you ascertain a drgree in ur area, then you re fully qualified in that area.. and should be paid highly as a reasult.

A plumber who spends 2 yrs leanring his/her trade earns his/her pay..... so does a Garda(even tho in the good aul days the plumber wud get more for less)
    !!!

To cut ES pay is an insult.. not just to them... but to does oof us who are looking for a new job.. I would rather have my money given to hardworking ES prsonnl than to boyos on the dole who do **** all because they haave 70+ previous convioctions and cant get a job. My heart bleeds on a daily basis... i dunno for hoe much longr tho!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

eroo wrote: »
    Listen, the reason they are paid substantially more is becauase they study a lot harder than their European counterparts. If you ascertain a degree in ur area, then you're fully qualified in that area.. and should be paid highly as a result.

A plumber who spends 2 yrs leanring his/her trade earns his/her pay..... so does a Garda(even tho in the good aul days the plumber would get more for less)
    !!!

To cut ES pay is an insult.. not just to them... but to those of us who are looking for a new job.. I would rather have my money given to hardworking ES personnel than to boyos on the dole who do **** all because they have 70+ previous convioctions and cant get a job. My heart bleeds on a daily basis... i dunno for how much longer though!!

There is a thread elsewhere on ES which puts forward the argument that the length of time before a Garda is qualified is much too long and is likely to be cut.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62763647&postcount=18

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62774725&postcount=27

Do you think if the time taken to train a Garda is bought in to line with the PSNI that the salary of AGS members could be justifiably cut?

(Looks like someone had a good night ;))
    Listen, the reason they are paid substantially more is becauase they study a lot harder than their European counterparts. If you ascertain a degree in your area, then you're fully qualified in that area.. and should be paid highly as a result.

A plumber who spends 2 years learning his/her trade earns his/her pay..... so does a Garda (even though in the good aul days the plumber would get more for less)!!!

To cut ES pay is an insult.. not just to them... but to those of us who are looking for a new job.. I would rather have my money given to hard working ES personnel than to boyos on the dole who do **** all because they have 70+ previous convictions and can't get a job. My heart bleeds on a daily basis... I don't know for how much longer though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

I hope something does get done for ye. Just don't expect the unions to be any use. The top brass look after themselves first and foremost. They didn't fight for my job and now I have none, and they got quite enough out of me through contractual contributions..

Just remember folks, when your struggling to pay your car insurance, road tax, mortgage, credit union/bank loans, kids school/college fees, medical insurance, rent etc etc etc The lads and lassies in the Dail and Seanad will have your best interests at heart for the 93 days they turn up to argue with each other. They'll be thinking of your hardships when they're in that lonely Mercedes back seat on the way to the airport for their annual Paddy's day trip.. and while they are sitting in the corporate box at the Superbowl, at your expense, they will be thinking of the citizens they represent and how things are quite bleak for them.. ''sure aren't the likes of Mr.Carroll and his friends an example of the hardships people face?''

Have a good one folks.. eroo out
    eroo it is not too often i agree with many of your posts but this one was so true and makes ya sick when you break it down to the terrible life style that they lead to run the country. They made such a song and dance over the other night when they stayed up until 5 am talking; And as you say I doubt they were thinking about the fire crews under attack that night either
    If the gardai are going to strike, can I just say this - it will have much more impact if you don't turn up for court than if you don't turn up for other more essential functions such as policing the streets and keeping charge of the stations. Would certainly catch the newspaper's attention if no gardai at all turned up in the Richmond next week. Just saying.

Not to suggest that I have any kind of sympathy or fellow feeling for the gardai, but realistically cutting garda pay is one of the worst decisions that the government can do. Cut other ps wages and the worst that happens is that you get worse service from the various government sectors. But cut police wages and you erode the fabric of democracy.
    Gardaí cannot go on strike and the thing is the govt are hitting people that are too proud of their job to just say NO, unfortunately. As it stands 40% iirc of the force are still on probation anyway so if something does happen "industrially" there is a huge chunk of folk there that can do, and will be told not to do anything
    It so true 244mil to wind this crap down; My god that would upgrade the entire countries fleet of aging Garda, Ambulance and fire vehicles and still have change over to jump onto tetra the fire and ambo's; Well wouldn't that just be terrible; But no the boyo's must still get paid for a couple of more years to maybe geab a pension or something.... (Greens)..... Oh yeah when is the next election? 2 yrs is it, is that why those orgs will then close down?
    NGA wrote:
    While it hasnt happened yet.....I must warn posters that the thread is asking a question. Reply to the question thats it.

This wont become a public vs private section thread.

Trolls will be banned.

Thanks folks

Yes we will be hit; Personally I'd rather see the 24/7 group going in and getting guarantees that VAT etc will come down too because the cost of living is not dropping no matter what the govt say; Petrol is back up around 120 now it costs me nearly 35 just to get to and from work for any working 7 day unit; Most of this 120 also goes govt bound; And unfortunately as I'm not a govt minister I can not claim a bonus hefty allowance to come to work.
    Do you think if the time taken to train a Garda is bought in to line with the PSNI that the salary of AGS members could be justifiably cut?
    Reduce cost of living, reduces ammount required to be paid out on dole everything will drop accordingly but we as a nation cannot see this and that is wht 3/4 billion is being lost from our economy this year to the North and that money is very much needed down here
    However this will not be secured 1st and we will be f00ked over

gerire wrote: »
    eroo it is not too often i agree with many of your posts

You aint the only one... there was a time where I made sense!:eek: That will be back soon.. :D

psni, I will be enquiring as to whether or not a mod can edit other factors of a good night... such as editing my wallet so that it's no longer empty!

Hope ye all had a safe Halloween folks.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

gerire wrote: »
    Reduce cost of living, reduces ammount required to be paid out on dole everything will drop accordingly but we as a nation cannot see this and that is wht 3/4 billion is being lost from our economy this year to the North and that money is very much needed down here
    However this will not be secured 1st and we will be f00ked over

100%. The seeds for the current crisis were sewn within the last ten years and it is not going to be easy to undo the damage.

Dole and public servants are easy to point the finger at because the government controls that flow of money directly and people are looking to the government for answers.

It's not fair though to promise people a certain amount of money, have them budget for it and then reduce that whether they are on the dole, Gardai or anything else.

Your point about the money escaping to the North is very good and I expect to see the cars lined up from Drogheda to Newry this Christmas to buy cases of beer, wine and God knows what else. The UK's response to the financial crisis was to put tax down. The Irish was to put it up. For each can of Carlsberg bought in Newry, the country loses VAT on the product, income tax on the people who have sold, delivered and manufactured the product when compared with a can of Heineken made in Cork. Plus the money going in to the till escapes the country.

The only thing the government has done to stem this flow is to cry "poor us" and talk of patriotism.

Now they are trying to make some money up by taking it directly from peoples' pockets. No other description for pension and income levies are suitable. Just moved goalposts and a hand in the pocket.

There has been no attempt to make the country more attractive, efficient, competitive. Why can the Irish government not have people queuing from Belfast to Dundalk for cheap beer?

With the track record of the politicians and no clear plans other than to take take take, it's going to get worse.