Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrestling Sites: Pinch Of Salt?

• 18-10-2009 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭

i dont really believe any wrestling site to be honest always take there stories with a pinch of salt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

flahavaj wrote: »
    Observer?

Yes. See as soon as I read an insider said, locker room heat, a source etc I take it to be lies, guesswork and speculation. A kind of scattergun approach telling a good few stories and hope one of them comes true.

We bit off topic but here is an example from the Observer this week

Credit: Wrestling Observer Newsletter

Quote:
    The McIntyre push is largely inspired by HHH as well as Michaels. Both have gotten behind the idea that this guy is going to be a guy to build the company around in the future. Several have noted the similarity of McIntyre as an Irish version of HHH from 1995, similar height and physique, similar hair, looks and somewhat similar working ability at the same stage of the game. As you can imagine, there is a lot of resentment because a whole slew of guys who have been there for five years that they say they are going to elevate but have to get their games to a certain level or they can’t headline see this. Right now on Raw, unless you get the personal stamp of approval from HHH, Michaels, Cena or Orton, the feeling is you can’t get past a certain level.

Complete nonsense.

Surely a journalist worth his money would know McIntyre is Scottish and the reason he is being pushed as a heel just now is the bad press Scotland are getting in the states just now for releasing the Lybian bomber. A Scottish heel at the same time the US media is highlighting the Scottish government as the bad guys. Its obvious the wwe are playing off this publicity but you man thinks its because an "irish hhh"

Stories like this do wrestling journalism no favours.

I know its miles off topic but trying to show why i dont trust any wrestling sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

davrho wrote: »

Quote:
    The McIntyre push is largely inspired by HHH as well as Michaels. Both have gotten behind the idea that this guy is going to be a guy to build the company around in the future. Several have noted the similarity of McIntyre as an Irish version of HHH from 1995, similar height and physique, similar hair, looks and somewhat similar working ability at the same stage of the game. As you can imagine, there is a lot of resentment because a whole slew of guys who have been there for five years that they say they are going to elevate but have to get their games to a certain level or they can’t headline see this. Right now on Raw, unless you get the personal stamp of approval from HHH, Michaels, Cena or Orton, the feeling is you can’t get past a certain level.

What was the actual source for that piece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Yes. See as soon as I read an insider said, locker room heat, a source etc I take it to be lies, guesswork and speculation. A kind of scattergun approach telling a good few stories and hope one of them comes true.

Quote:

Complete nonsense.

Surely a journalist worth his money would know McIntyre is Scottish and the reason he is being
    pushed as a heel just now is the bad press Scotland are getting in the states just now for releasing the Lybian bomber. A Scottish heel at the same time the US media is highlighting the Scottish government as the bad guys. Its obvious the wwe are playing off this publicity but you man thinks its because an "irish hhh"

I know its miles off topic but trying to show why i dont trust any wrestling sites.

Is that actually from The Observer? Lots of stupid sites do stick Dave's name on their rubbish to give it some credibility. PW Insider who I rate highly have the same problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Quote:

Complete nonsense.

Surely a journalist worth his money would know McIntyre is Scottish and the reason he is being pushed as a heel just now is the bad press Scotland are getting in the states just now for releasing the Lybian bomber. A Scottish heel at the same time the US media is highlighting the Scottish government as the bad guys. Its obvious the wwe are playing off this publicity but you man thinks its because an "irish hhh"

at the end of the day dude the iwc is like a giant game of chinese whispers, someone says this.. someone says that.. but at least with the observer and pwinsider there not the ones getting the 2nd or 3rd hand information and printing it as fact or else making up an email and posting it as fact!

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Is that actually from The Observer? Lots of stupid sites do stick Dave's name on their rubbish to give it some credibility. PW Insider who I rate highly have the same problem.

It was posted on the wrestling 24 site. I have pm'd the poster to get the direct link. Hopefully he will get back to me by the morning.

The problem is not just people posting rubbish its the amount of folk who believe it.

I trust dirtsheets and wrestling websites as much as i trust the Sun for publishing actual news.

It was posted on the wrestling 24 site. I have pm'd the poster to get the direct link. Hopefully he will get back to me by the morning.

The point was that it didn't come from The Wrestling Observer, the gist of it did but then whoever decided to take that out of the Observer added their own crap. PW Insider and The Wrestling Observer meticulously research anything they post and they only report something if they can verify it with a reliable source.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Split for the Shane McMahon topic, as that thread was twisting and turning a bit. Besides, the whole issue of wrestling journalism could make for a decent topic.

making up an email and posting it as fact!

Is this e mail the same one in the Wrestling Observer? It was not a fact either. It was an opinion alledgedly made by an ex employee.

You have just highlighted one of the problems with wrestling journalism and wrestling fans. Peolpes opinions are not facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Quote:

Complete nonsense.

Which observer are you claiming that this is from cause I can check. I subscribe to F4Wonline because the podcasts are amazing for less than 2 euro a week. Bruno was on yesterday, Heyman will be on today and they have two great MMA shows as well and a phenomenal board. Rarely read the newsletters unless I'm bored in college.

Also, a mistake like that doesn't make him a bad journalist. He has alot more important things to do than get Drew's nationality right. He has a valid story so he put it up. I'd trust it. The editor is meant to notice mistakes like that. Not the journalist

Is this e mail the same one in the Wrestling Observer? It was not a fact either. It was an opinion alledgedly made by an ex employee.

You have just highlighted one of the problems with wrestling journalism and wrestling fans. Peolpes opinions are not facts.

absolutely thats a great point, wrestling journalism is an industry of opinion and half truths, and i always believed that most of those half truths are feed to the dirt sheets by the wwe themselves.. because sometimes the backstage stories are more interesting than the actual onscreen storylines.. and the gossip good or bad is good for their business

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Which observer are you claiming that this is from cause I can check. I subscribe to F4Wonline because the podcasts are amazing for less than 2 euro a week. Bruno was on yesterday, Heyman will be on today and they have two great MMA shows as well and a phenomenal board. Rarely read the newsletters unless I'm bored in college.

Also, a mistake like that doesn't make him a bad journalist. He has alot more important things to do than get Drew's nationality right. He has a valid story so he put it up. I'd trust it. The editor is meant to notice mistakes like that. Not the journalist

It was posted on the 10th October on wrestle 24 if that helps and credited to the wrestling obsever newsletter. I am still waiting on a reply from the guy who sourced it and posted it.

Its not really the scots irish mix up thats the issue. Scotland is high on the agenda in current affairs in the states and this is the reason your man is getting pushed as a heel not because McIntyre looks like HHH. Its hardly a new tactic by Vince using whats in the news to bring attention to wwe. The journalist surely must know this. Is it coincidence Drew's push started when the scots government released the Lockerbie bomber causing uproar and condemnation in the US.

I would agree with you there Waltersobchac that the wwe deliberately give false information out too to discredit journalists but keep attention to the brand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Is meltzer alays 100% corect on every little fact he posts? Not at all, in fact he has a BIG problem differentiating between the British isles and Ireland it seems to me anyway.

But is he by far the most credible and prolific journalist currently commentating on wrestling, if not ever? Absolutely. His credentials are absolutely impeccable and he wouldn't post a story on his site unless he genuinely believed its validity. 99.9% of the time hes spot on and if hes not he'll put his hands up and say so. I never believe any rumour I hear about wrestling until its confirmed in the Observer. Its also not his fault that other sites constantly take his stories, mangle them into a warped version of the truth and try to pass it off as their own.

Anyone who thinks otherwise is dealing in generalisations as per usual *cough davrho cough*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,085 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Is meltzer alays 100% corect on every little fact he posts? Not at all, in fact he has a BIG problem differentiating between the British isles and Ireland it seems to me anyway.

Ireland is a part of the British Isles. It's a geographical term, nothing else.

Come on Flahavaj if this is credited to Meltzer its a major feck up.

Scotland and the release of the Lockerbie bomber has been headline news state side for a month now. McIntyres push is playing off this. It has nothing to do with him looking like HHH or back stage cliques. Thats lazy to say the least.

I have no doubt people steal his work and twist it and fair play to you for pointing it out. That rajah piece they just stole the whole email.

I just dont have faith in wrestling journalism. If thats a generalisation then so be it.

Scotland and the release of the Lockerbie bomber has been headline news state side for a month now. McIntyres push is playing off this. It has nothing to do with him looking like HHH or back stage cliques. Thats lazy to say the least.

How is it a major **** up. It's a running joke on that site that Alvarez refuses to acknowledge Irish independance to piss of a former notorious member of this forum.

Also, it has not been headline news in at least 6 weeks and even when it happened it was far bigger news here than there. Nothing is pushing Obama of the top of the card these days apart from letterman's cock.

So you reckon McIntyre is being pushed because he looks like a young HHH?

McIntyre had disappered off the screens till these events kicked off.

The Libyian leader at the UN was never out the news too. It is high on the agenda in current affairs and the outrage at the release of a "terrorist" did hit the headlines. Vince is playing off this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

If there was ever a thread that could tempt Rovert back. :pac:

I have no doubt people steal his work and twist it and fair play to you for pointing it out. That rajah piece they just stole the whole email.

I just dont have faith in wrestling journalism. If thats a generalisation then so be it.

its not just meltzer that they do it too, pwinsider is practically raped by rajah etc etc..they take portions out of mike johnson and the other guys hotlines and rewrite them completely out of context and then credit them.. to be honest this shows how lazy wrestling journalism is.. that was also proven recently when a rumour was starting on a gamefaq forum and then spend to the news sites as fact.. also and i think its also unfair to be hung up on nationalities as most americas dont know the difference between english, scottish or welsh..

So you reckon McIntyre is being pushed because he looks like a young HHH?

McIntyre had disappered off the screens till these events kicked off.

The Libyian leader at the UN was never out the news too. It is high on the agenda in current affairs and the outrage at the release of a "terrorist" did hit the headlines. Vince is playing off this.

He's not. The events happened a good two months ago. They don't even push McIntyre's scottishness that much. if they did he'd be given a highlander gimmick. McIntyre's being pushed because Hunter likes him.

A tartan terrorist? Interesting:pac: So quickly after the highlander gimmick failed you reckon they would use it again?

How come he just started liking him now as Scotland hit the news with controversy? Why not in the last year or so?

A tartan terrorist? Interesting:pac: So quickly after the highlander gimmick failed you reckon they would use it again?

How come he just started liking him now as Scotland hit the news with controversy? Why not in the last year or so?

mohammad tartan makes perfect sense quick call davairi

You do know what developmental is for yeah. To develop talent. Hence not the last year or something and I doubt Hunter started liking him because of a terrorist debacle. And do you really think that they would have been as subtle to not mention it if that was the reason? And that they would cosy up to something like that during Linda's senate run and their PG13 way? Not to mention Muhammed Hussan? Seriously. You can't be serious about this

but seriously though Mcintyre was on the road with Raw and Smackdown around the same time as Sheamus which is about 6 months ago.. so they obviously cant be related. its purely coincidental maybe it allowed them to be more decisive in calling him up, but do you really think vince would have bigged him up if HHH hadn't have done it to vince first??

Its not as if Vince has not used this tactic before. On the American boards there is the feeling that Vince is using the Scots card as its a popular topic over there.

He may not be directly linking it but there surely bad press for Scotland then a Scottish heel suddenly comes out from developement is more than just a coincidence?

I honestly think there is more to it than HHH suddenly taking a liking to the boy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

That Drew McIntyre piece was pretty poor looking but the idea that HHH or HBK like his look is not a wild idea.

I'm not convinced Drews promotion was sudden or to do with the bomber talk. He was given the FCW title like most guys before being promoted to dark matches. Drew was working dark matches with Ricky Steamboat, Jamie Noble and Jimmy Yang. Its two years since he was on smackdown the first time.

Whats your source for this Lockerbie bombing theory then davrho? Or have you just made it up? As others have said, McIntyre's Scottishness hasn't even ben emphasisied on TV.

And whats so outlandish about HHH liking the look of a young talent and wanting him pushed anyway? Even if he thinks the guy reminds him of himself when he started out is that really THAT outrageous a story?

But hey, why let common sense get in the way of a sweeping generalisation.

As for rovert, I f*cking wish he would come back, the forum needs him now more than ever. Although some of the outrageous stuff that davrho says does cefrtainly have an f4w wind-up kinda feel about it tbh.

Can we rename this thread "davrho: pinch of salt?"

Either hes totally deluded or a particularly gifted WUM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

When I was younger around 1999/2000 I used to go on wrestling websites for all the news and scoops. There was something happening all the time with WCW, ECW and the WWF all still around. Today, I never really feel that's the case on a daily basis.

Today I stick with the Observer and Torch website, not so much for the news and the rumour mill but more so for their coverage and analysis on things. They help me keep up to date with what's going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Proof?

Source?

ROVERT~!

I'm in the same boat as Vinnienumbers. I crossed the line bout 4 months ago for the radio shows to listen to while out jogging and of course to post on the board to wind up the foreign folk.

Roverts still a hero, but I'd say you'll have to pay up if you wanna be reading his ingenious posts and time soon.

Whats your source for this Lockerbie bombing theory then davrho? Or have you just made it up?

So the double standards begin. Maybe an insider said this or locker room gossip. Any chance of some names of the witnesses of these insider says and locker room heat stories?

Is it realy that crazy to suggest a Scottish wrestler has suddenly from going nowhere has been propelled to the second show status because scotland is now a topic of conversation in the states?

Proof? lol. Where is the need for proof as all you take HHH stories as gospel.

Insults? Possibly a wind up? You could be onto something here?;)

At least i am getting folk talking more than the norm here.

A few links to sites that have posted this story:

http://www.wrestlezone.com/news/arti...ete-rose-88127

http://www.lordsofpain.net/news/wwe/4545.html

http://www.wrestleview.com/news2009/1255897689.php

So the double standards begin. Maybe an insider said this or locker room gossip. Any chance of some names of the witnesses of these insider says and locker room heat stories?

Is it realy that crazy to suggest a Scottish wrestler has suddenly from going nowhere has been propelled to the second show status because scotland is now a topic of conversation in the states?

Davrho bai would you goway home for yourself.

pingu_girl wrote: »
    Davrho bai would you goway home for yourself.

ah come on now he's entitled to his opinions whether hes right or wrong..

Another question.

In JR's blog not too long ago he openly questioned McIntyres commitment ,atitude and abilities. Surely he would have known if this was HHH's next big push?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Lads keep it civil please, no need to bait each other. Both sides make a valid point.

Another question.

In JR's blog not too long ago he openly questioned McIntyres commitment ,atitude and abilities. Surely he would have known if this was HHH's next big push?

your gonna need proof for that, thats a fairly wild accusation otherwise..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Whats your reasoning for them pushing Sheamus then, The Lisbon Treaty?

LOUL gerard.

Now that I think of it, Mark Henry's big push on RAW has co-incided with the first black man taking control of the White House.

Maybe Evan Bourne will be Main Eventing soon seeing as how another scrawny streak of misery has taken over the Late Late recently?

Maybe they'll debut a gay Corkman on Smackdown next week now that Donal Og has come out of the closet?

I'll give you credit davrho, quality wind-up, you had me going there for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Here's my opinion of Wrestling "reporters"

Dave Meltzer
    He is probably the main reporter that I would think of. He is well respected by all forms of journalism (Some guy in Sports Illustrated said he was the best journalist in the world). He writes for Yahoo on MMA. Observer is the best newsletter in PW.

Wade Keller
    PWTorch is a good site. He is a good writer and does good shows. Bruce Mitchell is good too.

Bryan Alvarez
    He is a cool guy. He loves the whacky side of pro wrestling and does great shows with his co-host Vinny Verhei. His newsletter is the Observer-light IMO but he is great when it comes to entertaining his subscribers. Merger with Wrestling Observer was the best thing that could have happened to him.

Loved Ger and Flahaveys replies here

Bryan Alvarez
    He is a cool guy. He loves the whacky side of pro wrestling and does great shows with his co-host Vinny Verhei. His newsletter is the Observer-light IMO but he is great when it comes to entertaining his subscribers. Merger with Wrestling Observer was the best thing that could have happened to him.

Vinny is the man, I love his take on things and how dare you forget to mention almighty Granny when talking about the B&V show.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

When was the lockerbie bomber released?

After Drews Entrance Video appeared on the net? To be honest I have no idea if that was his actual entrance video but if it was "Leaked" before the bomber release its shows us he was already in line for a debut.

Dave Meltzer
    He is probably the main reporter that I would think of. He is well respected by all forms of journalism (Some guy in Sports Illustrated said he was the best journalist in the world). He writes for Yahoo on MMA. Observer is the best newsletter in PW.

Wade Keller
    PWTorch is a good site. He is a good writer and does good shows. Bruce Mitchell is good too.

Bryan Alvarez

TBH, I think Meltzer needs Alvarez as much as the other way round. Dave would be lost without him on the radio shows and Alvarez makes that site like a big comunitee by interacting so much making it harder to unsubscribe. the board is one of the best things about F4W

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

TBH, I think Meltzer needs Alvarez as much as the other way round. Dave would be lost without him on the radio shows and Alvarez makes that site like a big comunitee by interacting so much making it harder to unsubscribe. the board is one of the best things about F4W
    The Board~! is the best thing about F4W now that Dr.Keith's show finished. Alvarez has made a good community spirit there no matter how annoying the Yanks are.

Alvarez needs Dave more though. Without Dave he wouldn't have the radio shows and a lot of subscriptions have come from Dave joining up full-time.

His feud with rovert was a million buys.

Also I've been a member well over a year now but I still only understand about 25% of what goes on. Though I enjoy the sh*t out of that 25% I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

I was 1 of the original online subscribers to the Figure Four site in June 2005. I used to listen to Bryan and Dave on Eyada back in 2000/01 and decided to give it a shot.

I subscribe to the Torch but really just for Bruce Mitchell. I don't always agree with him but I like his take on things.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Whats your reasoning for them pushing Sheamus then

Pushed? He is on the developement show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭smilerf

i like www.wrestling101.com
    they only report fact from what i can see

The development show that's been the launchpad for the likes of Kofi, Punk, Swagger, Bourne, and The Hart Dynasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

He is fueding with Shelton, Drew is fueding with R-Truth. Shelton is a bigger star quite frankly, so technically Sheamus is getting a bigger rub from it. Drew just got dropped from the PPV match too, is the media after cooling down on the Scotish lad over there or something?

The development show that's been the launchpad for the likes of Kofi, Punk, Swagger, Bourne, and The Hart Dynasty.

Yes. Thats its purpose.

Why did Drew not take this route, yet?

Yes the media is cooling with Scotland. Rumours the guy they released died today so it could rekindle.

Why are folk denying that wwe use current affairs to push wrestlers?
    American /French problems .French heels
    Middle East problems. Loads of heels through the years
    Russia, Japan. Its happened for years. Why would they stop it now with the Scots pissing them off.

Maybe because its not been reported that much in Irish press but companies have removed pipers and tartan and stuff like that from their products. Maybe a few months stay in the states for a few on here would open your eyes to the lunatic patriotism you get in the states. The scottish press is reporting it quite heavily.

Earlier in the thread mentioned JR's blog. I have confused two seperate articles. The article was talking about Drew and Seamus saying they were doing well but had a lot to learn. JR also reckoned they would have a run on ecw. Sure it was discussed here at the time too. My mistake.

Gerard. With Drew getting dropped from the ppv does this not blow apart the argument that he is getting a push because HHH likes him too? Why would they drop HHH's new best mate?