Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Imagine launch Midband Ripwave Replacement - WiMAX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Why so many new posters signing up just to promote Imagine wimax, I smell a schill.

Can a mod please compare ip's for matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭jellies

The Fool wrote: »
    Suppose that would depend on if they went down the road of outdoor units similar to breeze/vls. That would extend range a fair bit...

2 miles would be about right for a mobile dongle or indoor unit. This could be extended to about 10k with outdoor units, but 12 miles is probably pushing it...
    Rain has negligible impact on radio links at WiMAX frequencies - in this case 3.5GHz. It's usually only considered above 10GHz.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Antoh your post is nothing but an advert, any more of this nonsense earns you a warning.

Also if you must post use your FULL KEYBOARD!, text speak is not allowed in this forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Why so many new posters signing up just to promote Imagine wimax, I smell a schill.

They launched dsl some years back and shilled boards like bitches for a few days . This was one of the main threads

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=280675

It was fun. Their launch got shredded on Boards....most especially when they had a surcharge of €3.50 a minute for their timed product while they were trying to tweak their website :)

We never saw that Imagine shill 'Dublinmonk' since that day , I wonder which of the current lot is Dublinmonk ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭godskitchen

Wow, just wow, either Imagine have some seriously bad "PR" company working for them or the posters registered this month, telling us to wait and see and "point being stop bitchin and start living" are working for Eircom or some rival.

If it is the first, they have just lost a potential customer/number of customers in my area.

Coming to a forum like this, trying to pull this crap, you need to be fired, if indeed you do work for a PR firm, if not, do we have our very first Imagine fan boy? I dont know what is more sad.

As simple as that. I am pointing the finger at Antoh here, dude I sincerly hope your writing style is trying to mimic a member of the general public and not how you communicate every day. You sound like a 12 year old, no I take that back, an 8 year old would be embarased to write as badly as you.

If it was a PR bunny then I would check how many similar '0 count' boards users were registered from Antoh s IP address for future use ....and ban the lot with extreme prejudice .

But a few years back it was an inhouse operation , I remember it well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭godskitchen

It is a disgusting practice.

I can see how the meeting would have panned out when discussing shilling boards.ie, I have sat in on many a boring buss word meeting.

Antoh - Boss you know what we need to do, we need a viral marketing campaign, we need twitter, we need facebook, we need youtube, we need to name drop Google whenever we can, even though they have nothing to do with our product, other than we use a tech they have considered using. I will infiltrate boards.ie and act like a 10 year old, innit, lol. They wont know what has hit them!

Boss - That is just the type of outside the box creative thinking we need, I am glad we have you on our team.

I am glad we have you on our team.

Morkeshing and PR in a web 2.0 world is very team oriented GK and they do want to be seen putting in the effort from home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭swoofer

@ Antoh have a look at the imagine website and then post back and you may regain some crediblity.

gb--

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

had imagine service before and wouldnt go back to them if they where the only broadband provider in ireland regardless what they say and now seeing cheap advert poster ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Surely wrote: »
    It's not possible to guarantee a particular speed due to contention ratio etc. .........

wow...and how much are you getting paid to post this waffle?... My mum has.. If we contact imagine....saying bad things about eircom... tut..tut..:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Ha ha that is brilliant :D I see they changed the coverage map on the Imagine website from the google one its now even more crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭Scruff

Ah Downfall, is there nothing the Nazis cant promote?

Actually Wimax will end up delivering pretty much the same as this once Imagine overload their network. I will concede that Imagine have better customer service though :D

Still by far the best EVER Irish Techology 'Downfall' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭daithicarr

Imagine seem to work on the grounds that the general public are idiots,
    making unsubstantiated reports of speed and price etc and presume people will swallow it.
    not to mention thinking people wont notice if they log on to public forums and talk up their product.

just reinforces my impression that the whole thing is a load of bull.

slightly off topic , imagine are not the only ones who treat you like that, most of them do, from eircom being insanely rude repeatedly on the phone to others asking when i ring for support if i have my moden switched on .
    should have an option, press 1 if your an idiot , press 2 if you have turned the power on and know what your doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Antoh

I am not now or have I ever been working for imagine or any company associated with imagine. I work in a completely different line of work I’m on here just like all of you expressing my views which I have as much a right as you lot. Difference is I’m not as big of an asshole to assume stuff I have no idea about. What I said was from my experience with the product. I’m not bloody advertising anything. I couldn’t care less if anyone got the wimax. As is my connection is one of the best in the country so I won’t be getting it. I just think it’s a good idea that their trying to get broadband around the country. I don’t see any of you guys trying to do anything. If all you can do is sit on your computer and try to make everyone as sad as you then you have a very crap life. If you have never tried something how can you comment on it? Realistically you have no idea otherwise.

Punctuation and grammar . nnNiiiIIIIce !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Antoh

see i can spell just as well as everyone else. its hard to concentrate after a 14 hour shift. are you happy now that i don't work for them.

On what objective grounds do you consider this service to be 'better' than the Clearwire service.??

( corrected on spectrum by Jellies , thx)

Lads in fairness, none of you have a clue as yet.

It's a new product in it's very early stages, maybe it will suck, maybe it won't. But until it's up and running, why not just quit fúcking whining?

At the moment, there is a huge amount of people who can't even get broadband in this country while everyone's being raped by Eircom, and now we have a company who are promising a high quality, fast, cheaper, wireless phone & broadband minus line rental with 90% coverage by 2012.

Can someone please explain to me what there is to complain about?

and now we have a company who are promising a high quality, fast, cheaper, wireless phone & broadband minus line rental with 90% coverage by 2012.

Don't be daft. No technology running at 3.5ghz provides 90% coverage in Ireland today and some of them have been rolling out for more than 3 years .

In 2012 Imagine will provide neither 90% Geographic coverage nor 90% POPULATION coverage ( which amounts to 20% geographic coverage ) at 3.5ghz and if you are not prepared to buy me my barrel of porter for being right then shuddup :p

gigahertz schmigahertz:D

Too high a frequency for decent range and penetration , too many base stations required = too expensive to roll out .

I would be amazed if 90% fo DUBLIN could get a decent signal by 2012 . It will most likely end up somewhat better than Clearwire and it will most likely have its own sticky in this very forum by this time next year :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Lads in fairness, none of you have a clue as yet.

It's a new product in it's very early stages, maybe it will suck, maybe it won't. But until it's up and running, why not just quit fúcking whining?

At the moment, there is a huge amount of people who can't even get broadband in this country while everyone's being raped by Eircom, and now we have a company who are promising a high quality, fast, cheaper, wireless phone & broadband minus line rental with 90% coverage by 2012.

Can someone please explain to me what there is to complain about?

Well if your like Sponge Bob you probably know the facts on what exactly they can provide and when people come on here bragging about it at first and he explains it won't last and gets told he's wrong and then a month later they come back saying my god, its gone to ****e and you explain why again and this process repeats itself, I guess it wears thin after a while ,,, (not enough commas in that sentence).

Anyway we'll see, it will probably be below expectations after a while because they are promising the sun and the moon and that is usually a bad sign.

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Too high a frequency for decent range and penetration , too many base stations required = too expensive to roll out .

I would be amazed if 90% fo DUBLIN could get a decent signal by 2012 . It will most likely end up somewhat better than Clearwire and it will most likely have its own sticky in this very forum by this time next year :(
    Maybe, no point in people just assuming so though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Maybe, no point in people just assuming so though.

Can we not assume its bullshít until they prooove its good, they've not got a great track record

They have the same amount of 3.5ghz spectrum in Dublin that Clearwire do and Clearwire are to announce this 4g wimax stuff soon , they have just announced their first 4g wimax rollout in the EU , see

How are Imagine supposed to do a lot better with no more spectrum than Clearwire ...who are utterly dreadful , frankly :(
    I have no idea, I'm not even going to pretend that I know all the techy stuff.

But if clearwire are awful (I don't know if they are, never used them), then how in the same spectrum is Imagine able to offer breeze? Which is perfectly good for home and business alike?

how in the same spectrum is Imagine able to offer breeze?
    They don't :(

Breeze is spanking technology.

1. It uses outdoor fixed aerials not tiny indoor dongly yokes .
    2. It runs at 5Ghz+ with clear line of sight ( LOS) and where there is quite a lot of spectrum .

( amended to remove incorrect assumption on Imagine spectrum

Now stop trolling, we KNOW you know nothing and you told us so :)

They don't :(

Breeze is spanking technology.

1. It uses outdoor fixed aerials not tiny indoor dongly yokes .
    2. It runs at 5Ghz+ with clear line of sight ( LOS) and where there is quite a lot of spectrum , not like the anorexic 3.5ghz band where they have around 20mhz or less and iffy or no LOS .

Now stop trolling, we KNOW you know nothing and you told us so :)
    Grand so, why not email Imagine then and ask how they're going to provide something that you seem to imply is impossible? Who knows, maybe they haven't realized the error of their ways? You obviously know something they don't. While you're at it, get onto the media to point out this blatant lie, because they haven't picked up on it yet it seems.

Then again, maybe Imagine know something you don't?