Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Party set their sights

• 01-10-2009 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭

I would say that coursing is the most secure of all Irish fieldsports but it gives an indication, if it was needed of the greens intentions. Obviously Fianna Fail need them onside to get NAMA through so it might be worth sending a few small emails to any and every FF TD.
    The Greens seem to be using the normal tactic of going around issues and picking off what they perceive as easy targets.
    Bryan

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2009/1001/1224255614249.html

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Make sure you never give them a vote no matter what they promise. They got wiped out in the last local elections so it would great to see them disappear altogether in the next general election. They are no friends to those of us who enjoy country pursuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

If FF holds tight on NAMA their way or the highway.The greenies will throw a hissy and hopefully pull out of Govt,result general election,and a chance to finally rid ourselves of this gun banning,corrupt lot for once:mad:.
    Start tomrrow,and give them a message in the ballot box that you wont be duped by their BS anymore.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

'An animal welfare Bill that would ban hare coursing, stag hunting, fur farming and the importation of wild animals to be used in circuses is another objective.'

I don't really care about the fur farming or the circus animals, I don't participate in hare coursing or stag hunting but its in the interest of all shooters to stand up for the rights of other people who participate in country sports. I can see them going the same way as the PD's in the next election and rightly so. They have mismanaged any of their green policys by forcing them on us and in doing so have turned people against environmental policies. They have done more to harm the environment than anyone else.

Bunch of city slickers the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Start tomrrow,and give them a message in the ballot box that you wont be duped by their BS anymore.

Tomorrow shouldn't be about the Government.

As for the Green Party. Well, let me see, I'm a farmer and shooter, oh yes, I love them I do.

As said, never give them a vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

I just think it show how far from the real world they exist.
    They demand we vaccinate badgers but not women against cancer?
    they demand rights for animals but not Children's rights?
    Circus animals? I'm more concerned about bankers,politicians and developers you have bankrupted the country.

Let them eat cake , springs to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

absolutly hate them!!!!! flaming tree hugging interfering so and so's who come from cities and think they know best about the country:mad::mad: dont think theyll ever come to my door though.......not with a big jeep parked outside:eek::D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

johngalway wrote: »
    Tomorrow shouldn't be about the Government.

As for the Green Party. Well, let me see, I'm a farmer and shooter, oh yes, I love them I do.

As said, never give them a vote.

it shouldn't be about the government but it is , instead of standing aside and calling a general election like the public wants they hang around and every week there is another scandal , o'donaghue , roddy malloy ,sweetheart deals with the builders and bankers etc . if ff said the sky was blue i'd disagree with them . i'm voting no hoping that next week fattie cowen will be signing on or emigrating and if we're lucky ahern too .

as for the green party they've never been anything except a bunch of upper middle class bunny huggers and hopefully they'll be extinct after the next election too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

The greens are dead as a political party, they dont realise it, but they are. Fianna Fail, are equally scuppered.

Now to get the green vote in the dail they are going to try ban hare coursing etc.

Well fair flookes to the greens for getting their priorities right in the middle of this recession. You can always count on them to think about the people of this country first and foremost

12% unemployment and they want to ban hare coursing.:confused:

Put the following words into a sentence "heads," "ar..ses", "up"

frightening thing is if they werent such a shower of Tofu eating,composters, you might give them a vote.

They love wildlife, and we love widlife........ smoothered in onions with a bouqet of fresh organic vegetables on the side and an equally nice red wine:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Originally Posted by rowa

it shouldn't be about the government but it is.......

Have to agree with rowa. It shouldn't be about government but it will be. The Greens are "trying to save the environment" but face it, who does more the Greens on their bikes in Dublin or the lads in gun clubs. Fixing fences, breeding and releasing game, upkeep of lands, etc. The hypocracy of it is staggering.

You have Cowen and his puppet Leninhan storming ahead with changes contrary to better judgement and advice. Whats their answer. Pick on minorities. Crime out of control, ban the legally held firearms and claim to have gotten 20 - 30,000 guns off "the street". Can't maintain even a basic standard of health care, give the Greens a "Green light" to initiate foolhardy, misguided and downright stupid laws regarding who, you guessed it the shooting community. We are the whipping boys for the government and a good distraction on many fronts.

In short the Lisbon treaty, if we had a government we could believe and trust in, should be a chance for reform and change for the better (or not) but its our only chance to strike back and as foolish as that may seem its gives a little satisfaction to people who ordinarily are voiceless.

Anyway enough politics talk, back to shooting.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

successive governments have given away all our natural resources,our fishing fleet is gone and now they practically hand away our gas and it is our gas ie yours and mine as citizens of this fair land .Europe has fu**ed the farmers and now with this yes vote magically all the now unemployed people will get their jobs back,politicians as far as i can see only want to feather one nest and you know whose nest that is,and the greens are the thickest shower of ass***es that personally i have ever come across.If they had their way i wouldnt be able to bring my kids fishing, nor go out on a sunday with the dog and my gun.I know what way im voting

Summed up nicely Ez.
    They were told in the local elections to start shaping up and flying straight.Obviously they didnt hear us,So I'm afraid it is now time to load up the Tactical Nukes and hopefully drop them on Fatty Cowen & Co tomrrow.Not to mind the EU,who lets face it have been no great friends of gun owners or hunters either EU wide..:( Put it like this if we think D'Ahernia was bad...We aint seen nothing yet coming from Brussells.:eek::(

As for the Greens,the sooner they are consigned into the dustbin of Irish history the better.:mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭pedroeibar

Don't confuse Greens, FF, FG and Labour with Lisbon.
    FF are arrogant, totally out of touch with the electorate, FG & Labour are just as bad, whinging and whining, not a decent suggestion put forward between them. Lenihan is bad but Burton is worse. As for the Greens? In the week (almost exactly a year ago) the world's financial markets were in meltdown, Lehmans was going under, gob$hite Gormley tried to hold centre stage with his radical plan for banning lightbulbs.
    Talk shooting, it's depressing enough already!
    P.

Speaking of hare, it tastes lovely but dont over cook it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

for the sake of our shooting, our countryside sports, our farms and countryside our natural heritage and natural resources VOTE NO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

i hear if you cook it under a 100 Watt bulb forever it is quite Nice,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,a Green that is:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

hmm, looking at the green's web page, most of the other stuff is there, but not the animals welfare bill? Anyway, stag hunting I assume they mean par force? Abolishing that and hare coursing is fine with me ...

lordarpad wrote: »
    Abolishing that and hare coursing is fine with me ...

I do mean this in the nicest way. Seriously, OK? Personal likes or dislikes set aside.

It's important people involved in shooting/hunting/country sports stick together. Once the dominos start falling it's just a matter of time before the loonies close in on something that you or I value.

It's worth listening to Christy Moore singing "Yellow Triangle". Right, they may not come for you, but they might very well come for your sport, and there'll be no one left to speak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 monarch

johngalway wrote: »
    I do mean this in the nicest way. Seriously, OK? Personal likes or dislikes set aside.

It's important people involved in shooting/hunting/country sports stick together. Once the dominos start falling it's just a matter of time before the loonies close in on something that you or I value.

It's worth listening to Christy Moore singing "Yellow Triangle". Right, they may not come for you, but they might very well come for your sport, and there'll be no one left to speak!

well said,everyone involved in the countryside no matter in what way must come together and protect the sports and freedom of the countryside that we all enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

yes, OK. I am aware of the concept of solidarity, but there are forms of hunting that I am not OK with. I have been asked before on this forum not to slag the way others hunt, so I am leaving it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Bunch of city slickers the lot of them.

Hello you bunch of redneck hillbillies! ;)

The Green party have alienated themselves from a lot of people, rural and urban. With their proposed reduction of speed limits and the insane proposed ban on patio gardens, practically banning us from driving in to our cities, etc... You never know, if you stop and think about it, your city cousins might actually be with you on this one.

I really thought the greens would go after the big boys, large polluters, large farmers... I thought they would promote green energy in a big way, bring the bogs back to what they were, with wind farms on them, invest in tidal energy, regarding animal welfare target the circuses, fur trade etc.

So, you are not on you own lads! Try not alienate yourselves by name calling.

The anti's organised a "huge" protest at the Clonmel coursing meet last season, less than 20 turned up.
    Lordapard have you ever been coursing?
    In ,Open coursing it's a bit like rough shooting, you walk all day and get one or 2 runs for your dogs, Hares are given ,Law, and very very rarely caught.
    Coursing clubs look after "their" Hares like fishing clubs mind Salmon.
    In , enclosed coursing the mortality level (from a study by Queen's University last year) was less than 1%.

Is that too high for you?

Or do you perscribe to the view that all animals are defenceless creatures? If so, maybe you've never seen a hare sit tight and be walked past, never noticed theirs eyes and ears or never seen the magic of a hare turn a dog inside out, leaving a sommersaulting dog as it canters away.

Yellow triangle is some song
    Bryan

Oh it also looks like those Greens can pedal their bikes forwards and backwards.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/green-party-backpedals-on-demands-in-new-wish-list-1902418.html

Bryan

[
    quote=BryanL;62360135]The anti's organised a "huge" protest at the Clonmel coursing meet last season, less than 20 turned up.

Cancelled due to the bad weather!!!From the ICABS website. The poor dears couldnt manage the awful minius 2 degrees snow showers.:rolleyes::rolleyes:Thats T shirt and shorts weather for us shooting folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 gavinO668

I wonder how many points id get in the next vermon count for cowens fat head?!

I attach a link to the NARGC website which has an article on the Green Parties last ditch attempts to stay in power.

http://www.nargc.ie/site.aspx

Time to start writing again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

they have fianna failure and cowen by the short hairs , they can demand pretty much anything now with the threat of pulling out of government if they don't get there way , the greens know they're finished in the next election just like the p.d.'s were .

Did my bit and wrote off to Brendan Smith, Ned o Keefe and a couple more back benchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

If FF go along with this animal rights bill proposed by Greens it would be suicide for them, more so than what they have done to the shooters even

Not to mind that they are taking on coursing and about half of the blood stock industries of Ireland.55 million euros in the greyhound industry is nothing to be trifled with even by the F F party.Plus a good few FF TDs are dog men so it will be going up the chain to lay off on this.[Would that we had had a few shooting men in FF,this disaster would never happen:(].Hopefully the more loonier section of the greens will prevail demanding their agendas and gormless Gormley will pull out and take FF with them.
    To parapharse Cromwell
    You have been here long enough..In the name of God GO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭gentleman jim

lads, i'm just woundering if you's could help me out?
    the N A R G C and other hunting lads are writing letters to FF TD'S giving out about the green partys plan to ban hunting!
    i want to do my bit to show my support that we wont stand by and let the green party win!
    i was woundering if any one of you's would write up a letter that we all could download and sign and post it to the FF TD'S!
    just like the letter we had for sinn fein when they were going to ban hunting!
    my problem is that i'm not the greatest of putting my thoughts onto paper!
    anyone willing to help??

I have been asked by a couple of lads to post my letter to give people some idea of what I wrote so here goes.

Dear Minister,

I write in relation to the above. I note from articles that your partners in Government wish to seek the banning of hare coursing, Fox hunting, carted stag hunting and fur farming etc as a pre cursor to remaining in a Fianna Fail led Government.

While I do not partake in coursing,or any of the above, I am Secretary of a Local Game Association and actively fish the lakes and rivers of Cavan and as an individual a keen field sports enthusiast.

The Greens have close links to The Irish Council Against Bloodsports an organization that have stated repeatedly that shooting and hunting sports are a target of their organisation and should be banned. Field sports now seem to be the trade off for you guys to remain in power.

Our members are active in the community and have a game release program and vermin control program in place to ensure adequate stocks for hunting. We supplement the population of Duck and Pheasant by buying in, rearing and release programs.

We hunt in a traditional manner using dogs to flush. In fact if it were not for our association and more like them, conservation of duck and pheasant habitat would not occur as we work hard with the Farmers to ensure this. Next year we intend to release partridge into the locality a bird that, according to some Farmers hasn't been seen in the locality since the 1960's.

There are 43 members of our club, that is not to mention the 300,000 members of the NARGC (National Association of Regional Game Councils) countrywide. who would fear for our sport if the Greens get their way.

We voted "Yes" to Lisbon,
    Many voted for Fianna Fail in the Council elections,
    Many of our members vote for Fianna Fail, and where we/I may become annoyed/frustrated with the current state that the Country is in, One would always consider the work a local Fianna fail TD/Councillor has done for the community.

I will promise this however, the Fianna Fail Government that gives in to the Greens and bans field sports or starts on the road to banning field sports will not get my vote again and I'm sure the 43 other votes in our Game Association.

Regards etc

cheers cavan shooter for your reply! i can use your letter and change some things in it and put in some points of my own! cheers

Would also stick in there somwhere the point that NARGC made,that as a gunowner,we havent forgotten the shoddy treatment handed out to us this year by Dermot Aherne,and FF action or inaction to this matter will not be forgotten or forgiven as the case may be at the next election ..

No more mr nice guys, people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

rowa wrote: »
    they have fianna failure and cowen by the short hairs
    You have to admire Fianna Fail in some ways y'know. They sit in power for the guts of 20 years, but manage to take almost all of the blame and the ire and offload it first onto the PDs and now onto the Greens.

I mean, think about it for a moment - FF have 75 TDs, 27 Senators, 3 MEPs, and 218 councillors. The Greens have 6 TDs, 2 Senators, 0 MEPs and 32 councillors. FF has all the authority and control - they're the 800lb gorilla. Yet they've portrayed themselves as mostly harmless and the Greens as being the problem and we've eaten it up.

Does anyone really think the Greens could go after coursing or carbon taxes unless FF thought that those policies would make the Greens really unpopular? It's a case of giving the Greens enough rope to hang themselves, and once that happens, FF will go on to the next minority partner in government scapegoat. The real protest vote wouldn't be to put the Greens out of office. They're like a four-year-old who wants to steal your wallet. The real protest vote would be to not vote for Fianna Fail - they're the ones pointing the gun at your head so that the four-year-old can rifle through your pockets.

Wrote this out Saturday evening and updated a bit. Just another exmple. It may or may not be what some of you would write but its a start.

Green Party proposed animal health and welfare Bill incorporating a ban on fur farming, a ban on the importation of wild animals to be used in circuses, badger vaccination in place of culling, and a ban on stag hunting and hare coursing.

Dear Sir,

I write to you with a sense of alarm and disgust at the planned proposals of the Green party to push forward legislation with regard to the above. As an active participant of fieldsports and a member of the N.A.R.G.C. i wish to object to this in the strongest manner possible.

There are approximately 300,000 people who actively participate in some form of fieldsport. The majority of these people are members of game clubs and as such, members of the N.A.R.G.C. ( National Association of Regional Game Councils). As members we are constantly working for the conservation and upkeep of the environment around us. All game clubs run a breed and release programme to maintain the number of animals within their area. This breed and release programme in conjunction with the annual maintenance of the lands used by the clubs (with the aid and support of the local farming community) goes above and beyond any guidelines or expectations.

There is a vast social and economic benefit to game clubs which bring revenue and trade to all businesses within the locality. We are all very active in the communities in which we practice our sport as we are members of these communities. We run charity and benefit programmes and lend our support for all other functions. The bonding and friendships which are created through these game clubs helps reinforce and strenghten community.

It is a known fact that the Green Party, with it's ties to anti fieldsport organisations, has used the current political climate to push it's own misguided and misinformed agenda on the shooting community. Your party relied on people including the shooting community to help pass the recent Lisbon Treaty Referendum. To ensure the continued support of the shooting community in future elections we would ask that you seriously consider your support for any legislation that would seek to introduce such provocative and inflamatory measures without proper consultaion of those who have dedicated their lives to ensuring the preservation and continuation of our environment and sport as a whole.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and i look forward to hearing a favourable response from you in the near future.

Yours in sport,

Joe Bloggs,
    Joe Bloggs.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Think NARGC membership stands at approx 27,000. Hardly a majority of 300,000 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

29,000 I think, but agreed.
    Mind you, the 200,000 shooters and the almost €19 million they'll contribute to the exchequer in licence fees alone this year isn't to be sneezed at. You could nearly cover the entire expenses bill for the Dail TDs on that...

Ah pedantic Pat welcome back.

300,000 looks better on paper/e-mail than 27,000. They (FF, FG, Greens etc) look at it as voters not people so the higher the number the better. Don't commmit to specifics unless contacted back and pressed. There are a few hundred thousand sports persons out there. The fact that only 27,000 are members of the NARGC does not exclude the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 monarch

I have been asked by a couple of lads to post my letter to give people some idea of what I wrote so here goes.

Dear Minister,

I write in relation to the above. I note from articles that your partners in Government wish to seek the banning of hare coursing, Fox hunting, carted stag hunting and fur farming etc as a pre cursor to remaining in a Fianna Fail led Government.

While I do not partake in coursing,or any of the above, I am Secretary of a Local Game Association and actively fish the lakes and rivers of Cavan and as an individual a keen field sports enthusiast.

The Greens have close links to The Irish Council Against Bloodsports an organization that have stated repeatedly that shooting and hunting sports are a target of their organisation and should be banned. Field sports now seem to be the trade off for you guys to remain in power.

Our members are active in the community and have a game release program and vermin control program in place to ensure adequate stocks for hunting. We supplement the population of Duck and Pheasant by buying in, rearing and release programs.

We hunt in a traditional manner using dogs to flush. In fact if it were not for our association and more like them, conservation of duck and pheasant habitat would not occur as we work hard with the Farmers to ensure this. Next year we intend to release partridge into the locality a bird that, according to some Farmers hasn't been seen in the locality since the 1960's.

There are 43 members of our club, that is not to mention the 300,000 members of the NARGC (National Association of Regional Game Councils) countrywide. who would fear for our sport if the Greens get their way.

We voted "Yes" to Lisbon,
    Many voted for Fianna Fail in the Council elections,
    Many of our members vote for Fianna Fail, and where we/I may become annoyed/frustrated with the current state that the Country is in, One would always consider the work a local Fianna fail TD/Councillor has done for the community.

I will promise this however, the Fianna Fail Government that gives in to the Greens and bans field sports or starts on the road to banning field sports will not get my vote again and I'm sure the 43 other votes in our Game Association.

Regards etc

your letter is spot on except that as far as i know the nargc has 30,000 members not 300,000 but i suppose it does not matter that much as 300,000 sounds a lot better ,

keep up the good work

ezridax wrote: »
    Wrote this out Saturday evening and updated a bit. Just another exmple. It may or may not be what some of you would write but its a start.

Green Party proposed animal health and welfare Bill incorporating a ban on fur farming, a ban on the importation of wild animals to be used in circuses, badger vaccination in place of culling, and a ban on stag hunting and hare coursing.

Dear Sir,

I write to you with a sense of alarm and disgust at the planned proposals of the Green party to push forward legislation with regard to the above. As an active participant of fieldsports and a member of the N.A.R.G.C. i wish to object to this in the strongest manner possible.

There are approximately 300,000 people who actively participate in some form of fieldsport. The majority of these people are members of game clubs and as such, members of the N.A.R.G.C. ( National Association of Regional Game Councils). As members we are constantly working for the conservation and upkeep of the environment around us. All game clubs run a breed and release programme to maintain the number of animals within their area. This breed and release programme in conjunction with the annual maintenance of the lands used by the clubs (with the aid and support of the local farming community) goes above and beyond any guidelines or expectations.

There is a vast social and economic benefit to game clubs which bring revenue and trade to all businesses within the locality. We are all very active in the communities in which we practice our sport as we are members of these communities. We run charity and benefit programmes and lend our support for all other functions. The bonding and friendships which are created through these game clubs helps reinforce and strenghten community.

It is a known fact that the Green Party, with it's ties to anti fieldsport organisations, has used the current political climate to push it's own misguided and misinformed agenda on the shooting community. Your party relied on people including the shooting community to help pass the recent Lisbon Treaty Referendum. To ensure the continued support of the shooting community in future elections we would ask that you seriously consider your support for any legislation that would seek to introduce such provocative and inflamatory measures without proper consultaion of those who have dedicated their lives to ensuring the preservation and continuation of our environment and sport as a whole.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and i look forward to hearing a favourable response from you in the near future.

Yours in sport,

Joe Bloggs,
    Joe Bloggs.

cheers lads for putting up your letters! with these letters i can use both of them to get the best out of them!
    lads keep them coming! and lads if you's love your sport do your part too! send them letters!

........and lads if you's love your sport do your part too! send them letters!

Done and done.

In relation to the numbers I quoted in the letter a big "Whoops", guess I read the figures wrong, there are around 29,000 NARGC members and in total about 330,000 shooters hunters etc:o I'd hate to be accused of spreading misinformation,

I got a nice reply from Brendan Smiths secretary who said that the Minister will contact me on his return from Brussells.

By the way look at the ICABS site http://www.banbloodsports.com/
    and see where they want people to report "breaches of the wildlife acts". Is that a veiled threat against legitimate shooters???:confused:

I read shooting times and apparently a similiar campaign was ran in the UK.

Wonder if we can report them for releasing Mink etc into the wild.

There is a lady renting a house near me and she has threatened to get the "Ranger" on me because I was trapping Mink in the lake near by. The lake is crawling with the blighters

I really despair with these so called conservationists and animal lovers:(:(

ezridax wrote: »
    Ah pedantic Pat welcome back.

300,000 looks better on paper/e-mail than 27,000. They (FF, FG, Greens etc) look at it as voters not people so the higher the number the better. Don't commmit to specifics unless contacted back and pressed. There are a few hundred thousand sports persons out there. The fact that only 27,000 are members of the NARGC does not exclude the others.

Facts are better than bull****e ;)

Enough of that from other side :)

And for the record we are on the same side :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

There is a lady renting a house near me and she has threatened to get the "Ranger" on me because I was trapping Mink in the lake near by. The lake is crawling with the blighters

Let her call the local NPWS ranger, If they are like my local one they will pat you on the back and say good job!
    I take no notice of nutters, better build up a good working relationship with the local ranger and you will be better off in the long term.
    Conservation is one thing, Preservation is entirely a different animal.

CJ when I see the word preservation used I always remember the old car stickers

"Preserve nature, pickle a beaver":D

I sent a simple letter to every TD today and out of 8 replies so far only one has been negative. It seems a few are well verse with hunting and shooting and the growing lobby.
    Bryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

In relation to the numbers I quoted in the letter a big "Whoops", guess I read the figures wrong, there are around 29,000 NARGC members and in total about 330,000 shooters hunters etc:o I'd hate to be accused of spreading misinformation,

I got a nice reply from Brendan Smiths secretary who said that the Minister will contact me on his return from Brussells.

By the way look at the ICABS site http://www.banbloodsports.com/
    and see where they want people to report "breaches of the wildlife acts". Is that a veiled threat against legitimate shooters???:confused:

I read shooting times and apparently a similiar campaign was ran in the UK.

Wonder if we can report them for releasing Mink etc into the wild.

Let her get the ranger. He/she will be delighted with some numpty wasting their time reporting someone trying to do something about a serious problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

wait till one crawls up and bites in the ass I wonder who she will be looking for then you or thr ranger???

Give the woman a couple of hens as a present. When the mink come to savage them, watch the attitude change in front of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

new program for government agreed with the green party.holy fucx is there noting these bastxxds wont do to look good in the public view.

we as field sports people may step up to the plate ,forget any differences and pull together .

we will only have once chance ,if its gone its gone for ever.