Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Movie Identification (Post here if you're looking for the name of a movie)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Gam3Mast3r

Hey guys. I saw a movie recently and I don't remember much of it. But I will try to mention all that I can.There is a guy who has this crush on this girl from school who has perfect grades and she is miss perfect. Then she moves away and later on he sees her and tries to get her. The guy lives in an apartment with another guy. Their apartment manager has a thing for dogs, this guy has a sister who works in a flower store. Later on into the movie we find that the girl actually is very sloppy and messy [I mean she leaves her clothes on the floor in her room and her room is like very bad with cans of beer lying around and stuff]. I don't remember clearly but I think she wants to be a singer or something because in the movie I remember some scenes of her singing in a club. And our main guy does a job where he takes money and convinces others to do things. Like he gets a job from a lady to convince her daughter into not marrying a guy and marry some other guy that her mother likes. So he studies the person, their habits and stuff. I don't know if this is all enough to identify a movie. [P.s Its not coyote ugly]

• Registered Users Posts: 13 RebeccaY

Anyone remember an old kids film that was shown on Nickelodeon about these 2 girls that have frogs turn into boys for them to go to prom with, it had something to do with this older woman who was a witch or something and trying to help them out. I remember there being a scene where one of the girls has to go to the dentist and gets that stuff on your teeth that highlights all the plaque when a guy she fancies sees her, her teeth are all black, super weird I know!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I vaguely remember this prison drama dating from maybe the 70's and this scene where the inmates are getting their meal in the canteen. One guy says to the fella serving the food "Hey man these eggs stink". Yer man laughs at him in reply and says something mocking to which the other guy throws the tray of food at him. The guy serving who I remember was tall and gangly jumps over the counter and fights with yer man. I kind of remember it having a made for TV movie feel to it. I'm sure it was based on a true story and the main character was a fish out of water inmate, middle class older man who'd never been in jail before.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Thanatosgratus

If its eggs its cool hand luke :)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAkzEusQLBw

• Registered Users Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

darkdubh wrote: »
    I vaguely remember this prison drama dating from maybe the 70's and this scene where the inmates are getting their meal in the canteen. One guy says to the fella serving the food "Hey man these eggs stink". Yer man laughs at him in reply and says something mocking to which the other guy throws the tray of food at him. The guy serving who I remember was tall and gangly jumps over the counter and fights with yer man. I kind of remember it having a made for TV movie feel to it. I'm sure it was based on a true story and the main character was a fish out of water inmate, middle class older man who'd never been in jail before.

maybe this;

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

If its eggs its cool hand luke :)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAkzEusQLBw

100% not that.
    maybe this;

No wasn't that. I don't think there were any name actors on it or at least none I recognised. Timeline I'd say was mid to late 70's. Another thing I remember is during the fight scene I mentioned there's this very 70's piano led boogie incidential music.

Found it! The film is called Born Again, about one of the jailed Watergate conspirators. Clip starts at the eggs fight scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭jh79

BOHtox wrote: »
    Mad random I know but three movies came in to my head today and I can't for the life of me identify either of them.

First one, there's a scene where there's a knock on the door of an apartment, the lady goes, who I believe is in distress, goes to answer it. She looks through the peephole and the scene switches to looking through the peephole. There's a guy pointing a gun and he shoots her through the peephole. Think they were looking for the boyfriend. Pretty sure the boyfriend is then captured.

Second one, equally random. Remember seeing this as a kid. Bag guys call to a big house, proper mansion, and there's a big blonde guy (good guy), hulk hogan looking guy, made wear a tutu. Pretty sure it might be a kids' movie but it was terrifying seeing it as a kid.

Third movie, there's a guy on a boat going around killing people. The guy is entirely covered in a gold spandex looking outfit. I think he has a knife.

That's all I can remember. If yous have any questions I'll try answer them.. Cheers lads.

EDIT: The first two are probably at least ten years old, the third at least 20 I'd guess

Amsterdamned is the 3rd one.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0094651/l

jh79 wrote: »

Above link not working.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0094651/

Reminded of another US prison set movie that I can only remember one scene from in detail. Looked like it was made in the 70's. Main character was a young black guy late teens/early twenties who has just been sent to an adult prison. The scene had him sitting down in the canteen and an older black inmate sits down opposite him, think he was offering him stuff like chocolate and cigarettes for sexual favours. The younger lad I think stabs him in the face with a fork and then stands up on the table and to cheers from the other inmates shouts what I think is "I ain't nobodys poof". At least it sounded like poof, which is not a term you'd expect to hear in a US film but it sounded like it. Deffo wasn't a British film. Can't really remember the rest of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

jh79 wrote: »

Good effort but that's not it. The movie seems a bit older than Amsterdamned and the boat seemed like a big ferry, as opposed to a canal boat. Cheers for the guess though.

It's such a vague description I'd be surprised if anyone remembers it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭rekluse

This should be pretty easy as it's released in the last year or two, just can't think of the name or how I would find it. Basically , I think it's 2/3 guys and maybe a girl staking out this house to break into. The house is owned by this older blind guy(maybe - or deaf!?) think they break into the house thinking it will be easy pickings, then it turns out the guy is some kind of bad ass physco dude and they end up in a world of ****. Cheers!

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭ratoath25

Don't breathe

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭rekluse

ratoath25 wrote: »
    Don't breathe

That's the one, cheers !

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭ps3lover

Mad random I know but three movies came in to my head today and I can't for the life of me identify either of them.

First one, there's a scene where there's a knock on the door of an apartment, the lady goes, who I believe is in distress, goes to answer it. She looks through the peephole and the scene switches to looking through the peephole. There's a guy pointing a gun and he shoots her through the peephole. Think they were looking for the boyfriend. Pretty sure the boyfriend is then captured.

EDIT: The first two are probably at least ten years old, the third at least 20 I'd guess

Opera?

https://youtu.be/aFsVIYAcItE

• Registered Users Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭ozmo

Been bothering me for a long time - this was a made for tv movie or pilot episode that never got a series. RTE showed it several times on saturdays.

Real B movie stuff.

Made in the very early 1980s - It's was made to cash in on the starwars/battle star etc. and was outer space themed.

The main Han Solo type character had a smaller, squarer, version of the R2D2 character which lives in a holster in his belt, that he would take out ocassionally - possibly brown or golden - I think it beeped to talk as well.

The scene that stands out most for me was they had to escape from one space ship and they basically just open a hatch and floated without suits from one ship to another...

It was so bad I remember it and would love know what it was.

“Roll it back”

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

New Home wrote: »

Thanks - along the same lines - but the Robot/Android that lived in his belt holster was something distinctive I remember - and I don't think buck had that.

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭jasonb

Ok, this had been driving me mad. I don’t have a plot or anything like that, just a couple of lines in one scene. In my mind at least it’s a scene between the good guy and the bad guy. At first I thought the movie was an 80s or 90s action film, but now I’m also thinking it might be Sci-Fi? This scene popped into my head a couple of nights ago and I just can’t get it.

I think the bad guy is asking the good guy to give him something, or to do something, and the conversation is something like this:

Bad guy: Will you do this/give me this?
    Good guy: No
    Bad guy: Why not?
    Good guy: You didn’t say the magic word/You forgot to say the magic word/You didn’t say please/You forgot to say please.
    Bad guy (while grinning and thinking, wow, this guy is an idiot, but I’ll humour him) Will you *please* do this/give me this?

Not a lot to go on really, the bad guy reacting to having to say please is the kicker of the scene in my head. I tried googling ‘you forgot the magic word’ or ‘You forgot to say please’, but that gives me Jurassic Park or Terminator 2, and it’s neither of them. I keep thinking it might be Bruce Willis as the good guy. Or maybe Jason Statham?

Any ideas?

jasonb wrote: »
    I think the bad guy is asking the good guy to give him something, or to do something, and the conversation is something like this:

Bad guy: Will you do this/give me this?
    Good guy: No
    Bad guy: Why not?
    Good guy: You didn’t say the magic word/You forgot to say the magic

giphy.gif

Ghostbusters?

Plus mentioned in a number of other films - Die hard and Jurassic Park?

“Roll it back”

ozmo wrote: »
    Made in the very early 1980s - It's was made to cash in on the starwars/battle star etc. and was outer space themed.

The main Han Solo type character had a smaller, squarer, version of the R2D2 character which lives in a holster in his belt...
    It was so bad I remember it and would love know what it was.

Ohh - sorry to spoil the hunt and answer it myself - but I think I just found it after years of it knocking round in my head- description was pretty accurate - except the date was a slightly earlier 1979...

Jason of Star Command

c7ca82a4f8235079d7bfedf3b66dd373--s-style-saturday-morning.jpg

Yes - thats Startreks Scotty as one of the cast...

And this was basically his IPhone/Android - was called W1K1 aparently - wonder if its what Wikipedia's named after....? :D

wiki.jpg

ta.

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭jasonb

ozmo wrote: »
    giphy.gif

Ghostbusters?

Plus mentioned in a number of other films - Die hard and Jurassic Park?

Yep, Ghostbusters is the one I was thinking of, with Peck's snarky way of reacting to being asked to say please! Thanks so much, I just couldn't place it.

Curious about when something similar was used in Die Hard?

Thanks!

Movie 1: A mother is driving with her young son in an SUV type vehicle. She glances out the rear-view mirror and suspects the similar car behind her is following her on the motorway. She switches lanes and observes the following car also switch lanes to follow her. Then she switches back and the following car switches back and she realises that the car is in fact following her.

Movie 2: Pretty sure this is a movie about robbing casinos. One robber, a black guy (No racist), suggests it would be economically smart to create another christmas to stimulate the economy.

Cheers

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Movie 1: A mother is driving with her young son in an SUV type vehicle. She glances out the rear-view mirror and suspects the similar car behind her is following her on the motorway. She switches lanes and observes the following car also switch lanes to follow her. Then she switches back and the following car switches back and she realises that the car is in fact following her.

Movie 2: Pretty sure this is a movie about robbing casinos. One robber, a black guy (No racist), suggests it would be economically smart to create another christmas to stimulate the economy.

Cheers

The first one reminds me of the film in which Geena Davies is a killer/spy who has lost her memory - I think at one stage she threw a knife at a fly, and both the dead fly and the knife that killed it get stuck against the door.

Movie 2: ...suggests it would be economically smart to create another christmas to stimulate the economy.

Long shot - but bad guy suggests Christmas 2 to increase sales
    Santa Claus 1
    http://m.imdb.com/title/tt0089961/synopsis

“Roll it back”

Cheers

Second one sounds like Bad Santa. The black lad was a midget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Cheers

Reindeer Games
    Jumpy: It says here the retail industry does 50% of its business between December 1st and December 25th. That's half a year's business in one month's time. It seems to me, an intelligent country would legislate a second such gift giving holiday. Create, say, a Christmas 2, late May, early June, to further stimulate growth.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0184858/quotes/?tab=qt&ref_=tt_trv_qu

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

New Home wrote: »
    The first one reminds me of the film in which Geena Davies is a killer/spy who has lost her memory - I think at one stage she threw a knife at a fly, and both the dead fly and the knife that killed it get stuck against the door.

The Long Kiss Goodnight

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116908/

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Chinese/Hong Kong martial arts movie that I saw the first ten minutes or so of in a friends house in the 80's. The opening titles sequence had the two main actors doing kung fu moves in front of a backdrop, one of them might have been Jackie Chan or at least someone who looked like him. It was not a Bruce Lee film. The start of the film had an old man in sterotypical Chinese coolie outfit including one of those big conical hats asleep outdoors. There was a swarm of flies around him and in his sleep he shoots out his hand very fast and catches a load of the flies. Think next bit had him fighting a load of guys. He might have been a younger guy disguised as an old man.