Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share something you like/find interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

My introductory biochemistry lecturer kinda had the same effect on me. He's like a ridiculous success though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

This, it's awesome.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

A mans worst nightmare.

EDIT: Oops, right video, wrong thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost was the only poem in JC that I ever really liked (I enjoy the LC poetry course more though tbh). It's about choices...
    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that, the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    two roads diverged in a wood, and I --
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

It's my lifetime goal to learn the dance and do it for a group of people/talent show!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

jumpguy wrote: »
    The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost was the only poem in JC that I ever really liked (I enjoy the LC poetry course more though tbh). It's about choices...

I haven't read much poetry at all, but I've always meant to look into Robert Frost more. The Road Not Taken, Fire and Ice, and Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening are all very simple, and oddly beautiful...
    Whose woods these are I think I know.
    His house is in the village though;
    He will not see me stopping here
    To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
    To stop without a farmhouse near
    Between the woods and frozen lake
    The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
    To ask if there is some mistake.
    The only other sound's the sweep
    Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.

That last verse makes me warm and fuzzy. Road Not Taken ftw though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

May have posted this before.
    It's a proof that the Halting Problem is undecidable... in Rhyming poem form.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

The Brain, its pretty cool hey.

A Neurotic wrote: »
    I haven't read much poetry at all, but I've always meant to look into Robert Frost more. The Road Not Taken, Fire and Ice, and Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening are all very simple, and oddly beautiful...
    Robert Frost is probably my favourite LC poet...he had the only JC poem I liked so I was delighted when he was on the LC course. :D His poems are so pleasingly simple, no metaphors or anything, very humble. It also revolves a lot around country life and farm work (where Frost himself spent a lot of his life).

Mending Wall in another poem of his that's very good, and although written in the 1910's (can't remember exact year), is used as a metaphor for the Cold War. Kennedy used some quotes from it in a speech to the USSR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Arcade Panda

goya_charles_iv.jpg

I love Goya, I'd say he was a gas man back in the day:)

Goya hated the King and Queen of Spain but he had to paint him or else he'd be shot.. so he had a little bit of fun doing their family portrait;) See how ugly they are? But it doesn't stop there...Goya knew that the queen was having an affair with the first minister(second from the left). Take a look at him, now look at all the kids...simaler eh? And the cheeky bastard even painted himself into the shadows on the left.

For a man risking getting shot, painting himself into the shadows might've been the least subtle cheeky thing ever!

jumpguy wrote: »
    For a man risking getting shot, painting himself into the shadows might've been the least subtle cheeky thing ever!

He was a bit mad....totally lost his marbles a few years later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

A Neurotic wrote: »

That last verse makes me warm and fuzzy. Road Not Taken ftw though!

I love this one:

Acquainted With The Night by Robert Frost

I have been one acquainted with the night.
    I have walked out in rain -- and back in rain.
    I have outwalked the furthest city light.

I have looked down the saddest city lane.
    I have passed by the watchman on his beat
    And dropped my eyes, unwilling to explain.

I have stood still and stopped the sound of feet
    When far away an interrupted cry
    Came over houses from another street,

But not to call me back or say good-bye;
    And further still at an unearthly height,
    A luminary clock against the sky

Proclaimed the time was neither wrong nor right.
    I have been one acquainted with the night.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

I wandered over to the anime forum and found this little beauty,it's amazing how talented some people can be:

linkage

Watch in full screen, HD, turn up the volume...

Developmental Neuroscience
    researchhome.jpg

I just found this over in Expand your Horizons:

Circus Trees
    As a hobby, bean farmer Axel Erlandson shaped trees – he pruned, bent, and grafted trees into fantastic shapes and called them "Circus Trees." For example, to make this "Basket Tree" arborsculpture, Erlandson planted six sycamore trees in a circle and then grafted them together to form the diamond patterns.

basket-tree.jpgtwo-leg-tree.jpgladder-tree.jpgaxel-erlandson.jpg

Erlandson was very secretive and refused to reveal his methods on how to grow the Circus Trees (he even carried out his graftings behind screens to protect against spies!) and carried the secrets to his grave.
    The trees were later bought by millionaire Michael Bonfante, who transplanted them to his amusement park Bonfante Gardens in Gilroy in 1985.

How cool is that??!

The ISS is passing over Ireland again in the evening for the first time in a long while now (last time was in early December I think). This means you can catch a glimpse of it as it passes over Ireland in it's orbit around the Earth. Physics in action...

Anyway, it'll look like a very bright, rather fast moving star to the naked eye. I've seen it pass-over in Dublin myself despite the serious light-pollution up there, so most of ye will be grand I reckon.

Times and directions and magnitude (brightness, the lower it is, the brighter) coming up...

Bolded is the best one today, it will rise from the SW at 8:10PM and set SSW at 8:13PM. It is not a very high pass and there is better, but it's good enough!
    Okay then that's gone, highlighting the rest of the good ones then...(watch the mag, the lower the better)

Date Mag Time Start Alt Az Max. Alt Alt AZ Time End Alt Az

6 Mar -0.8 18:38:23 10 SSE 18:38:57 10 SE 18:39:31 10 SE

6 Mar -2.2 20:10:51 10 SW 20:12:55 32 SSW 20:12:55 32 SSW

7 Mar -1.7 19:01:18 10 SSW 19:03:35 21 SSE 19:05:44 11 E

7 Mar -1.6 20:35:37 10 WSW 20:37:15 29 WSW 20:37:15 29 WSW

8 Mar -2.6 19:25:37 10 SW 19:28:21 38 SSE 19:29:57 20 E

8 Mar -0.6 21:00:31 10 W 21:01:28 19 W 21:01:28 19 W

9 Mar -3.2 19:50:20 10 WSW 19:53:13 60 S 19:54:05 37 ESE

9 Mar 0.1 21:25:27 10 W 21:25:36 11 W 21:25:36 11 W

10 Mar-2.6 18:40:17 10 SW 18:43:02 39 SSE 18:45:47 10 E

10 Mar -3.4 20:15:12 10 W 20:18:06 70 S 20:18:09 69 S

11 Mar -3.1 19:04:58 10 WSW 19:07:50 61 S 19:10:39 10 E

11 Mar -2.1 20:40:05 10 W 20:42:09 39 WSW 20:42:09 39 WSW

12 Mar -3.3 19:29:46 10 W 19:32:39 70 S 19:34:36 19 E

12 Mar -0.8 21:04:58 10 W 21:06:06 20 W 21:06:06 20 W

13 Mar -3.1 19:54:35 10 W 19:57:27 59 S 19:58:32 32 SE

13 Mar 0.1 21:30:02 10 W 21:30:02 10 W 21:30:02 10 W

14 Mar -3.2 18:44:13 10 W 18:47:06 69 S 18:49:59 10 E

14 Mar -2.4 20:19:25 10 W 20:22:09 37 SSW 20:22:27 36 S

15 Mar -3.0 19:08:58 10 W 19:11:50 57 S 19:14:41 10 ESE

15 Mar -1.2 20:44:26 10 W 20:46:22 20 SW 20:46:22 20 SW

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

http://www.edwardmonkton.com/

This guy is a legend. Quirky, philosophical thoughts. I'd have loved to hve had this stuff when I was a teenager!

On I always remember is:

Beware the Deadly Donkey
    Falling slowly from the sky
    You may CHOOSE the way
    You LIVE, my friend
    But not the way you DIE

There's just something very uplifting about it. An easy reminder that we're in control up to the moment we pass and that we should make full use of that control!

There are lots more like this and I think everyone is better off for seeing his stuff!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Ooh, I have one of his little books! Very cool indeed :)

Thought I'd remind you all, there's a pass at 7:00PM today (keep watching SSW, or just keep scanning roughly around south west, give it a few minutes!) and 8:35PM (WSW, keep scanning around south west). The 8:35 one is better than the 7 one, they're not the brightest passes but still okay!

Go out and have a look!

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

This made my jaw drop. We're so small, and yet there's so much smaller. Humbling and awesome stuff.

Scale of the Universe

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    This made my jaw drop. We're so small, and yet there's so much smaller. Humbling and awesome stuff.

Scale of the Universe

Wow, that looks familiar...very similar to post number 205....

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

This is the most amazing game of all time... ever. The concept is so deep, there's so much going on ideology wise. Incredible tbh...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    This is the most amazing game of all time... ever. The concept is so deep, there's so much going on ideology wise. Incredible tbh...

Wow that really is amazing.

I was just having a gander around last.fm and I saw that Arcade Fire are using this as their photo.I didn't know where to put it so I said I'd shove it here...

Arcade+Fire+07830_114426_arcadefirereading.jpg

Just think it's a great photo of them:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Just spent a couple of hours watching documentaries about North Korea. "Welcome to North Korea" being the best one.

Anyone with a spare hour to kill, I'd seriously recommend watching this, it really is fascinating. Almost disturbing at times how little these people have, and how they live in constant fear.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica] [/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica] [/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica][FONT=Arial, Helvetica]I do not love you as if you were salt-rose or topaz,
    or the arrow of carnations the fire shoots off.
    I love you as certain things are to be loved,
    in secret, between the shadow and the soul.

I love you as the plant that never blooms,
    but carries in itself the light of hidden flowers.
    Thanks to your love a certain fragrance,
    risen darkly from the earth, lives darkly in my body.

I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where,
    I love you straightforwardly, without complexities or pride,
    so I love you because I know no other way than this:
    where "I" does not exist, nor "you,"
    So close that your hand on my chest is my hand,
    So close that your eyes close and I fall asleep.

-Pablo Neruda[/FONT][/FONT]