Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Must Have Android Apps and Games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,233 ✭✭✭Keith186

Hey.

Here's a screen grab of my phones dialling screen. The camera option is at the bottom left of the screen.

Ha, I had it all along and never noticed it until I checked after your post. Must see if it works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭emo72

jeffk wrote: »
    Tried it twice with herself, she said she can hear herself and is very echoey

is that because of feedback because yous are in the same room? yeah its crap if you get feedback because yis are too close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭markc91

Lads whats the best app to get football weekly podcast on an android phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭jeffk

emo72 wrote:
    is that because of feedback because yous are in the same room? yeah its crap if you get feedback because yis are too close.

No she was in her house and i was in mine

Hopefully when it's officially out stuff like that will go away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,666 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Pique wrote: »
    Prisma is now free on Android. It applies some funky effect filters to your photos. I've found a few that make some of my 'meh' photos into something that I want a big print of to hang on the wall.
    dulpit wrote: »
    Prisma seems promising, but the length of time it takes to process an image is awful. Does it do it locally or over network?
    Patww79 wrote: »

Prisma got offline support on iOS yesterday (for some filters anyway). Android coming soon. Video support coming soon too.

http://www.theverge.com/2016/8/23/12610240/prisma-offline-photo-processing-ios-app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,602 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Spotted this on Reddit over the weekend... created by an Irish lad. Good fun!

Not Golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭nedd

Basq wrote: »

Found this the other day as well, good fun and challenging.

That's great... installed!

No offense to Ronan, but I'm glad for that "Music Off" setting. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭paska

Whats the best app to lock only some things on your phone. I want to lock memo with a password.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,016 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Basq wrote: »

Not Golf

Great game .. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

just got Not Golf and its a very enjoyable but frustrating game, this will keep me amused on the plane :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭nedd

just got Not Golf and its a very enjoyable but frustrating game, this will keep me amused on the plane :)

VERY frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

nedd wrote: »
    VERY frustrating.

From the trailer it looks a lot like a desert golf rip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭ongarite

Patww79 wrote: »
    I downloaded it for a plane trip too but that near impossible hole (9 maybe?) had me uninstall it and go back to Stickman Golf 3.

Don't forget you can hit the ball while it's in motion.
    So hit it too far last the pin thingy and then back towards it while ball is still in the air.
    It's not golf...

I'm on the 6th course in Not Golf. The score requirements to unlock later courses are getting steep - I'm not sure I have the patience to go to the end.

Some other games I got recently that I enjoyed.

Deux Ex Go - more like Hitman Go than Lara Croft Go but it's a great puzzle game with lots of content (Link - €4.99)

Brain It On - Awful name but clever little physics puzzle game. Bloody hard too (lots of solutions on youtube if you're stuck) (Link - Free).

Reigns - A story-based king simulator wrapped in Tinder mechanics (swipe left for no, swipe right for yes). I thought it was a bit naff when I started it (despite the great reviews it has been getting), but I've found myself playing it a lot over the last few days. New content is unlocked the more you play it, so there is plenty of variety and it's pretty funny. (Link - €3.29)

Super Dangerous Dungeons - a great little platform game with over 50 levels (plus some hidden levels). It's just good fun and has a couple of hours of content. Only 3 or 4 levels gave me any real trouble. The developer has just added a new world in the last week, so I'll be leaving this on my phone indefinitely while I wait for more content. The one negative is that the ads can be a bit overbearing (Link - Free)

Seen - Hard to describe, so here is the official description - "What if life gave you another chance to learn to love again? Seen is an interactive story set in high school where you play as Mark Blythe, a student who fell in love with the new fellow student, Nicole Tyler. Do you have what it takes to catch her heart? Get to know Nicole, Mike, Jake, Jenny, and Valerie. Explore various outcomes based on your decisions in a world where change is inevitable." Its all done through a facebook-y chat interface and there is a small bit of interactivity. The story is great and it's very compelling (and pretty realistic). (Link - Free)

There You Go - A very short "Escape the room" type game which will take you from 10-20 minutes to play through (time dependent on how long it takes you to figure out a colour puzzle!). Nice little time waster. FYI the text is absolutely tiny if you have a high res smartphone - hopefully they'll fix that on a future release (Link - Free)

Lumines just came out for Android and iOS and it's a great version.

It's one of those "easy to play, hard to master" games. It takes a bit of practice to learn how to play properly, but stick some headphones on and time will fly past.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mobcast.lwt.intl (€3.50).
    There are 2 albums of music included (and it's very good music)
    Looks like more will be added via IAP later.

Gamezebo's Review: http://www.gamezebo.com/2016/09/02/lumines-puzzle-music-review-block-droppin-beats/

Just started playing mekorama,great game.similar-ish to monument valley.its a relaxing game that needs a bit of thinking and really nice graphics too,recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

where can i get splix.io ? it doesn't seem to be on the play store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

paska wrote: »
    Whats the best app to lock only some things on your phone. I want to lock memo with a password.

I use AppLock, by DoMobile Lab, very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

dragona wrote: »
    I use AppLock, by DoMobile Lab, very good

Norton App has very good rating. I have not yet used but going to give it a try.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.symantec.applock

I don't suppose there's an app which if you hum a tune into it can identify the song? :D I tried Shazam and SoundHound but didn't get much joy. I'm probably asking for too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

I don't suppose there's an app which if you hum a tune into it can identify the song? :D I tried Shazam and SoundHound but didn't get much joy. I'm probably asking for too much.

They work sometimes. Might be a reflection of your musical ability! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

write out the hum their and we'll have a guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

write out the hum their and we'll have a guess

is it the crash test dummies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Anyone know of any apps that would let me transfer an ebook from phone to ereader (kobo touch) wirelessly?

Say for example I download an .epub on my phone, but want it on the kobo?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

coldfire1x wrote: »
    Norton App has very good rating. I have not yet used but going to give it a try.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.symantec.applock

Thanks, none of the other app lockers worked for me, but Norton is working fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Downloaded it, seemed quite complicated tbh.

However, share it did my job.

Basically, you select what it is you want to share, the app gives you a link.

Then it turns your phone into a Wi-Fi hotspot, which you connect with (using the ereader) then you go to said link, and it downloads it in seconds.

Very nifty.

Highly recommended.