Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Must Have Android Apps and Games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Are you a school teacher?? Explain!!! LOL
    batistuta9 wrote: »
    do you think it's worth €7.35?

If a game was €7.35 you'd ask what's so good about it to make it worth that

He has a point, i wouldn't buy it for €1.35 or install it for free even, looks tacky as fúck
    Liamalone wrote: »
    I was just looking to know what sets it apart from the normal launchers available, to do that means someone would have to explain it lol.

All I got from the video was that you could move icons about and horizontal and vertical lines appeared. Hardly worth the price so I hoping someone would explain the features that go with the price.
    Yeah why are people getting so upset? It was just a suggestion. I'd be afraid to post a recommendation seeing that reaction! :)
    Seems fair enough to ask someone to explain a recommendation when it costs a bit, no?

The over reaction came from a poster who for some unknown reason had an issue with the word explain.

Sorry Thats my fault.I take it back i didn't mean to sound so rude.. Peace:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Just to weight in on the google reader thing. Ironically all the fuss has only opened up rss feeds & readers to me now. I initially tried netvibes but it doesn't have an app, just a android version of its website which was kinda crap. Feedly is the business though. The app is very good & adding the likes of rte, bbc, bbc sport, sky sports, arseblog etc etc has made all the apps for those unnecessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Super Stickman Golf 2 is out,, and better than the original

addicted already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

Hi all, I'm looking for a good voicemail notification app. Basically I just want something to flash up on my screen to tell me when I have a new message, at the moment I have a tiny little notification icon that I never see(xperia mini). Something that would speak to me and say 'you have a new voicemail' would be ideal :) Any recommendations please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

HulloMail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭PapaQuebec

Anyone having hassle with the paddy power app?
    Last few days it's been crap. I thought it was just Cheltenham but even today it's brutal.

I'm not a gambling man at all, but I have a neighbour who's constantly presenting his Android Smartphone to me and requesting that I install the "Paddy Power" app.

I can't find any mention of it in the play store!

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

PapaQuebec wrote: »
    I'm not a gambling man at all, but I have a neighbour who's constantly presenting his Android Smartphone to me and requesting that I install the "Paddy Power" app.

I can't find any mention of it in the play store!

Any ideas?

Its not on the store.
    https://support.paddypower.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/318/~/downloading-the-paddy-power-android-app

Yup removed from the Play Store I think because Google sees gambling as evil (as opposed to harvesting the data of millions of internet users and doing God knows what with it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭PapaQuebec

Yup removed from the Play Store I think because Google sees gambling as evil (as opposed to harvesting the data of millions of internet users and doing God knows what with it).

I'm 54 years of age and I wouldn't have a clue how to write a betting slip!I've never even bought a lottery ticket, or put a red-cent in a fruit-machine.
    Not that I have any moral objection to gambling, it just doesn't interest me!:)

Certain events (especially sporting ones) are a little more "entertaining" with a gentlemanly wager placed on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Google's new note-taking app, Google Keep.

Nice interface, simple functionality, probably not great for power users of Evernote and the like, but I like it. Integrated with Drive for web access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Normally I would hate any loss of internet freedom, but really betting/gambling is such a dumb thing to do.
    I went to a wedding once and one of the lads from Paddy Power was there.
    He was laughing at anyone who bet, thought they were such losers.

I don't bet but it's good for people that the temptation isn't there with their App.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

TheUsual wrote: »
    Normally I would hate any loss of internet freedom, but really betting/gambling is such a dumb thing to do.
    I went to a wedding once and one of the lads from Paddy Power was there.
    He was laughing at anyone who bet, thought they were such losers.

I don't bet but it's good for people that the temptation isn't there with their App.

Gambling may not be very sensible but its 100% legal, and people should be able to choose to download an app or not. Google have no problem with people spending 10s of euros on game upgrades and add-ons, people sad enough to become addicted to building their fake little worlds, I don't think those apps should be banned though. I also find some of the "pretty girl" wallpapers and apps listed on the market unpleasant but don't think they should be removed from the market if they are legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

Haven't used this clock app myself but the demo video that shows the phone/smart phone/super phone and tablet time line is fantastic!
    A must watch.... Eh get it?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.norbsoft.android.talking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Google's new note-taking app, Google Keep.

Nice interface, simple functionality, probably not great for power users of Evernote and the like, but I like it. Integrated with Drive for web access.

Not much point in using it though as you can use Evernnote ignoring the features you don't need until you might need them and then all your notes are still on the one platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,335 ✭✭✭G1032

TheUsual wrote: »
    Is this a wind up or something?

What is so dumb about it? What's wrong with putting a 5 or 10 euro bet on the football at the weekend? Better than p!ssing it away down in the pub for sure. At least there is a potential return on your fiver as opposed to the sore head you'd have after the few pints.

Anyway its just another way for people to have a bit of craic. It sure as hell isn't as dumb as spending it on drink or cigarettes.

Or the lotto. That's gambling, no matter what way you butter it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,180 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

G1032 wrote: »
    Is this a wind up or something?

What is so dumb about it? What's wrong with putting a 5 or 10 euro bet on the football at the weekend? Better than p!ssing it away down in the pub for sure. At least there is a potential return on your fiver as opposed to the sore head you'd have after the few pints.

Anyway its just another way for people to have a bit of craic. It sure as hell isn't as dumb as spending it on drink or cigarettes.

Or the lotto. That's gambling, no matter what way you butter it up.
    Sure if people are just putting a one off bet on Ireland in a world cup match or Man U at the weekend then thats fine but you know thats not how it works and Granny putting a fiver down once a year at the Galway Races is not the reason theres Paddy Power shops and Ladbrokes etc lining the streets in every socially deprived area in the country, they're toxic and destructive parasites who's business models are geared towards keeping people addicted to extract maximum profit at the expense of their families already slim chances at a bit of prosperity.

Their marketing should be curtailed every bit as much as the tobacco companies so fair play to Google for forgoing profits to take a socially responsible stance that the government is too spineless to take.

Thargor wrote: »
    Sure if people are just putting a one off bet on Ireland in a world cup match or Man U at the weekend then thats fine but you know thats not how it works and Granny putting a fiver down once a year at the Galway Races is not the reason theres Paddy Power shops and Ladbrokes etc lining the streets in every socially deprived area in the country, they're toxic and destructive parasites who's business models are geared towards keeping people addicted to extract maximum profit at the expense of their families already slim chances at a bit of prosperity.

Their marketing should be curtailed every bit as much as the tobacco companies so fair play to Google for forgoing profits to take a socially responsible stance that the government is too spineless to take.

So should they also then remove apps from alcohol companies? Tens of thousands are killed and families destroyed by alcohol each year. How about Apps that objectify women, because these apps could also be considered parasitic or unwelcome in modern society, how about hunting, would you remove hunting apps? I don't like any of these apps, but don't think they should be removed from the market, where exactly do you want to draw the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,180 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Yes alcohol apps should definitely be removed along with all alcohol advertising especially the pathetic attempts to link alcohol to sports which is basically direct marketing an addictive and destructive substance to children for the sake of corporate profits. Objectifying women is a trickier issue, looking at pictures of Kate Upton and the like is harmless but if DublinProstitutes.com tried to release an app Id want that banned aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Lads this is a thread about must have android apps, not the wrongs and rights of gambling. Their is other forums for that, so back on topic please.

Sorry about that!

Anyhooo, for those users concerned by permissions some apps look for, there's a great Unit Converter app with no permissions at all.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.wopnersoft.unitconverter.lite#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDIxMiwib3JnLndvcG5lcnNvZnQudW5pdGNvbnZlcnRlci5saXRlIl0.

That version doesn't have a currency converter, he does a version that has a currency converter included but that needs internet permission.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.wopnersoft.unitconverter&feature=more_from_developer#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEwMiwib3JnLndvcG5lcnNvZnQudW5pdGNvbnZlcnRlciJd

I have bought this app, though I think the price has gone up a bit since I bought it. None of the versions have ads which is nice too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭natnifnolnacs

dashclock. I've just installed it, allows you to have all sorts of info on your lock screen which is really handy. You must be on android 4.2 for it to work though...

I want to find as many cool widgets as possible - ever since installing Go Dev's Next Launcher, I've been having so much fun. So far the widgets I have are Beautiful Widgets (love the customizability of it), Flipboard, Digical+, and Poweramp. Can anyone recommend any more?

One of the apps I've found incredible is Airdroid, especially Version 2, where you no longer need to be on the same WiFi network. It makes transferring of data to and from unbelievably easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Airdroid's not the best for transferring a large number of files at once though, like an album or series of a TV show. It drops some of the files

better off using the USB cable for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Is there an app out there that lists all the sky channels and what's on them .looked at a few of them and there very poor apps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Anyone tried the ALIVE video wallpapers yet, have few free's one on the nexus 7 don't drain battery either better than most live wallpapers too

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.alivewallpaper.free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭nedd

Is there an app out there that lists all the sky channels and what's on them .looked at a few of them and there very poor apps.

The sky plus app?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

nedd wrote: »
    The sky plus app?

When searching on the market for this, it is important to search for sky + using the '+' symbo as opposed to the word plus.

(i find that anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

SamHall wrote: »
    When searching on the market for this, it is important to search for sky + using the '+' symbo as opposed to the word plus.

(i find that anyway)

Or just give the poster the DIRECT LINK ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,335 ✭✭✭G1032

Try this one
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tdb.tv.ireland