Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whos the brainiest, men or women???

• 13-08-2009 11:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭

Open a can of worms here and say men...... BY MILES:D
    only one person in Ireland to get 9 A1s i the leaving cert, 1-0 to the boys:cool:

whos brainiest? 73 votes

The boys
    0% 0 votes
    The girls
    73% 54 votes
    im neutral
    26% 19 votes

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

He was a ginger though, so it really doesn't count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Gingers don't count alright but when you look at Noble prizes and great inventions and discoveries Men do far better.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Men of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Super Chimps.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Exactly,they were what we call symphaty As.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

In fairness, we women have to do the same work as men and still get dinner ready, give us a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Whos the brainiest, men or women???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Men are generally smarter. Although the girls do generally work a lot harder in school, theres no denying that.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

If you actually want an actual answer, a good bit of evidence shows that women tend to bunch together intelligence wise, whereas men tend to either excel or fail.

Thats why most genius's have been men, men tend to be outliers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

When you say "im neutral" does that mean "I'm an hermaphrodite" ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭DenMan

pffft....men of course.

How many women do you know who can multi-task. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

When you say "I'm neutral" does that mean "I'm a hermaphrodite" ?

if you like! are you one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Albert Einstein
    Stephen Hawking
    Bertrand Russell
    Thomas Edison
    Charles Darwin
    Nikola Tesla
    Hans Wilhelm Geiger
    Isaac Newton
    Samuel Morse
    Benjamin Franklin

And many, many other geniuses like the abote, were by and large not women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Albert Einstein
    Stephen Hawking
    Bertrand Russell
    Thomas Edison
    Charles Darwin
    Nikola Tesla
    Hans Wilhelm Geiger
    Isaac Newton
    Samuel Morse
    Benjamin Franklin

In fairness though, women were excluded from formal education for a huge amount of human history. Aren't there more women than men going into law and medicine and stuff now?

Another point is that, in my opinion, women may not appear smart for the same reason they don't appear funny. We don't need to be, we have tits. Girls do tend to play dumb around lads as well, the simpering sex kitten is a lot more appealing (ie less threatening to the fragile male ego) than the smart chick. Smarts don't get you a ride if you're a wimmin.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Albert Einstein
    Stephen Hawking
    Bertrand Russell
    Thomas Edison
    Charles Darwin
    Nikola Tesla
    Hans Wilhelm Geiger
    Isaac Newton
    Samuel Morse
    Benjamin Franklin

What about Nikola there. Fair play to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Albert Einstein
    Stephen Hawking
    Bertrand Russell
    Thomas Edison
    Charles Darwin
    Nikola Tesla
    Hans Wilhelm Geiger
    Isaac Newton
    Samuel Morse
    Benjamin Franklin

Can you prove that they weren't women?

Also Nikola is a girl's name

• Registered Users Posts: 10,973 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Albert Einstein
    Stephen Hawking
    Bertrand Russell
    Thomas Edison
    Charles Darwin
    Nikola Tesla
    Hans Wilhelm Geiger
    Isaac Newton
    Samuel Morse
    Benjamin Franklin

Also existed in a time when women were not allowed an education.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Google has sorted this "conundrum"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

The only thing this thread will prove is that there's more men on boards then women!

Incidentally many famous female authors had to publish under male names to even get published. This was true for the Bronte sisters for example, who all published under the male names Currer, Ellis and Acton until they were well established.

Nelle Lee was told to use her middle name Harper when she wrote To kill a mockingbird, so people wouldn't know she was a woman.

Even in the present day, JK Rowling wanted to publish under her name Joanne Rowling, but her publishers told her she had to publish under a gender neutral name as boys 'wouldn't buy wizard books written by a woman'.

Also existed in a time when women were not allowed an education.

True.
    What have women invented lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

The-Rigger wrote: »
    True.

Ann Summers. There's no need for men anymore! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

So is Lady Gaga some sort of best of both worlds genius?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Women are cleverer, end of.

But us men use indicators on roundabouts.

True.

I'll look it up. What have men invented lately?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Ann Summers. There's no need for men anymore!

Is mr Dildo gonna fix your car??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Agreed, he counts as a girl so I voted for them.

Edit: Cancel that! A Breakthrough!

Ann Summers. There's no need for men anymore! ;)

Ann Summers:

The company was named after the female secretary (Annice Summers) of the male founder (Caborn Waterfield)

Source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

True.

A quick internet search would suggest that disposable nappies, an alteration to the ironing board, and a couple of things to do with nappies number among our contributions to the world. Oh lordy.

However, genius doesn't automatically mean "inventor".

Brainy doesn't automatically mean "genius". As was pointed out, men may have the corner on genius, but women may have the corner on basic cop on type intelligence.