Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Annoying things for runners .....

1235»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

Dogs
    Havin to go for a pitstop in the middle of a run:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Ahhh memories of the funniest thread to ever be posted on here.

Linky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Students from St Pats who get out of a bus, walk onto footpath without looking where they are going, then stop, walk back to where they came from, turn around, throw their bag on the ground and take up the whole footpath.

While the running person (me) is wearing a hi-vest and a light and yet when i shout at them that they are blocking the road, they claim they can't see me. And they are the future teachers of the country!!

Doomed we are as a nation, doomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

PWEI wrote: »
    For what it's worth my pet hate is runners who run in cycle lanes.

Mine is cyclists who cycle on foorpaths!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

RayCun wrote: »
    Linky?
    Like some Swedish national dishes, some threads are best left buried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭BennyMul

Probably the worst for me is stomach problems, forgive me rudeness a dose of the trots and not a toilet in sight.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Runners on cycle paths annoys me as you'd think they would appreciate the hassle they are causing. Equally cyclists on footpaths.

Most annoying thing is waiting for the garmin to get a signal. Not so bad in the summer. But in the winter, brrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Right now DOMS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Being injured. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Being injured. :(

+1, it's a pain in the ar$e, stomach, calf, quad, itb, shin, achilles...................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Ouchette

‘Sports’ shops where the assistants give you a blank look if you mention gait or pronation when you’re trying to get a new pair of runners, even though they hardly sell anything else.

Stepping in a puddle and getting blisters from having wet feet

Treadmills

No problems at all with dogs though. I do my running in and around a busy London park these days, where there are always loads of dogs, almost all off the lead, and about the same number of runners and joggers, but I have never once seen a dog chase, trip or attack anyone. The dogs are off the paths busy sniffing and chasing each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

a year wasted due to injury and a cheep pair or runners fixing it....mmmmmm if i think about it i'll just get angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Ouchette wrote: »
    Treadmills.

Don't knock treadmills - in the depth of Winter when everyone is a slippin' and a slidin' - I'll be watching Sky player and getting in a few double sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

Ouchette wrote: »
    ‘Sports’ shops where the assistants give you a blank look if you mention gait or pronation when you’re trying to get a new pair of runners, even though they hardly sell anything else.

+ 1 here.
    asked about 'saucony' runners once and assistant told me 'no, never heard of them' we only do well known brands'.
    *rolls eyes* and goes home without a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Getting abuse thrown at me by people standing outside pubs smoking.

When the smoking ban was first introduced and proper 'smoking areas' weren't too common, this happened a lot.

"Look at the f**king idiot running in the rain!! What a w**ker!" (actual quote from a heavily oberweight guy with a cigarette)

Apparently going for a run on a Monday night was crazy but standing in the p*ssing rain engaging in an activity that will definately lower your life extectancy is perfectly fine.

Idiots.

Also, the one time somebody shouted "Go on you Meath wh*re" at me. That was random. Why Meath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

catching someone with really heavy breathing , and them sticking with you even though their fecked , i find the heavy breathing really breaks my concentration and saps my energy

Running along side someone with really bad BO , and im not talkin bout fresh BO either , definitely no chance of that when they have it at the start of the race !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Jnealon

I too find it hard to concentrate when someone with heavy breathing is close by.
    That and the clown feet, on there own they are bad enough but together it's a nightmare.
    I tend to up the pace if at all possible just to get away from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I hate screwing up with eating and finding myself about to run but kind of bloated...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Sorry for reactivating this thread lads, misread the dates on it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭webpal

forgetting toilet paper

crappy cotton t-shirts in goodie bags with I love xxxx half marathon etc on it

after training for months - watching some muppet wearing rugby socks, bermudas and above mentioned crappy t-shirt run past you during a half marathon - how do they do that????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭havetoquit

I stayed in relative's house whilst in UK on holiday and their dog bit me on the face requiring stitches. It was a young guard dog who had been up to that point very friendly,frolicking about and playful with everyone in the room.

At no point had we been warned that he can change without as much as a growl or bark of warning.

My flight home had to be changed and cost me a lot of money owing to fact that aerlingus charged the cost of the flight on that given day plus the charge for changing the date.

The dog's owner is obviously still distraught and has not made any reference to whether he had insurance or not,so I cannot even expect help to reimburse the heavy cost of flight and having to cancel a further two booked flights as unfit to travel yet.

I have tried to contact my travel insurance company in case they may be able to help, but am unable to reach them as yet.

Does anyone know if there is a possibility that I may be covered for such eventualities?

Thanks if so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Were you running at the time?! Slightly bizarre place to post this.

If you had to travel home as a result, and your insurance covers medical emergencies like this I'd imagine there shouldn't be a problem.

Get the dog put down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

havetoquit wrote: »
    I stayed in relative's house whilst in UK on holiday and their dog bit me on the face requiring stitches. It was a young guard dog who had been up to that point very friendly,frolicking about and playful with everyone in the room.

At no point had we been warned that he can change without as much as a growl or bark of warning.

My flight home had to be changed and cost me a lot of money owing to fact that aerlingus charged the cost of the flight on that given day plus the charge for changing the date.

The dog's owner is obviously still distraught and has not made any reference to whether he had insurance or not,so I cannot even expect help to reimburse the heavy cost of flight and having to cancel a further two booked flights as unfit to travel yet.

I have tried to contact my travel insurance company in case they may be able to help, but am unable to reach them as yet.

Does anyone know if there is a possibility that I may be covered for such eventualities?

Thanks if so.

You now know not to do laps of the sitting room with a guard dog also in same room.:D

All the best on your recovery.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

lightening wrote: »
    I can't believe people wouldn't stop to give directions, amazing, I couldn't run by, not in my nature, not the way I was reared and I have never had someone refuse to give me directions.

If I'm running and I'm stopped for directions its generally on a long slow run as I'm out on back country roads, I always give directions.

HOWEVER, many motorists are complete idiots and the most recent person I had to try to stop me for directions pulled up along side me and started shouting at me to stop.....at the time i was cycling at around 35km/hour on my bike!

Needless to say I didn't stop,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭havetoquit

Please accept my apologies for my thread landing in your space, but I was actually on an appropriate forum where others wrote of similar issues.

Following editing, my message landed here, so sorry about that ok, but thanks for the response nevertheless.