Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Annoying things for runners .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭WhitestBoyAlive

People that have their watches making noises the whole way through a race!

fair enough garmin runners that beep every mile but i've run next to people that have it going every 0.1 and
    even worst people that have their BPM bleeping away. Craziness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

People spitting and 'snotting' during races - stop it - its disgusting. During the half marathon last year I had a guy on my shoulder for about a mile who kept making the most disgusting noises, almost got sick, eventually got away from him. Happened again last week at the 5 mile. I can excuse farting but this gozzing, snotting, spitting - just STOP IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I got hit with a spit int the BOI beach race last year, the guy in front spat and the strong sea breeze got hold of it and directed it straight into my face.

I see Marlay park have built a dog play area that is fenced in, a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

People who put on a spurt in races, cut in too soon and then slow down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

Walkers in races who start to run as you get to them, only to slow to a walk again, until you get to them when they start to run, only to slow to a walk again, until you get to them when etc etc etc............................................:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

People shouting out of car windows baffles me.

Had this happen to me for the 1st time in ages yesterday, car was stuck in traffic and I just kept going. Funny thing was that I met a Garda that I know about 100 yards further down the road who was pulling people over for using bus lanes, so stopped to have a chat with him. The car was a hell of a lot quieter when they passed me standing next to the Guard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

People shouting out of car windows baffles me.

Have had this happen to me a few times in the Phoenix Park of all places. It doesn't really annoy me though, no point in worrying about brainless muppets.

One thing that did annoy me in the Park about two years ago was a bunch of the above brainless muppets sitting on the bonnet of their standard edition souped up hatchbacks throwing stones at me as I ran up one of the grassy banks near the car park at the bottom of the Khyber road. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Walkers in races who start to run as you get to them, only to slow to a walk again, until you get to them when they start to run, only to slow to a walk again, until you get to them when etc etc etc............................................:confused:

lol:D and then the feckers take off and finish before you too :mad: I suspect that there may only be a select few of us who.. em...place ourselves at the latter section of the field who understand that one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

What do they shout out the car at you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

lightening wrote: »
    What do they shout out the car at you?

"Ger up aoura dat"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

People running alongside you/behind you thinking they're maaaaaaad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,856 ✭✭✭plodder

One thing that bugs me, is people offering running advice during races :( Happened to me twice last year during the DCM and the race series 1/2 mara. Both times, they told me I was running too fast, and maybe I was (based on the amount of puffing and panting) and I don't mind it really, but in the marathon, the guy stuck at my side for about ten minutes, trying to improve my running style. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Running a while ago and on this large path some douchebag on a mountain bike is cycling on the side of the path. That's grand room for both of us. Looks at me and then decides to swerve into the center of the path leaving the path completely inaccessible for me as id have to jump on the road as he left no room. He did this on purpose as he did when he saw me. Well **** that i didnt move.

In the end he swirved out onto the road (where he should have been) and i gave him the finger. Not something id generally do at all and this dude was big so i was lucky he didn't retaliate.

Wtf though - manners costs nothing.

/ rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

There is just the odd fool and the odd trouble maker.

Amen to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Backmarker

goofygirl wrote: »
    All this arguing over dogs is hilarious.
    Agreed.
    There is just the odd fool and the odd trouble maker.
    .............anyone remember that BBC program 'One Man and His Dog' ?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Two more for ya's;

Me Ma asking me how I did in the 'mini-marathon' (ok I know it's only a half but it's twice a mini).

Marathon pee-ers. Nothing like the sight of the Irish Male not even bothering to get a little bit off the road for that pee that could have been avoided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭beamgirl

People who cant tell the difference between ks and miles e.g if it takes me 45 mins to run 5 miles you're not walking it in 45 mins, 5k yes but not 5 miles. But I checked it on the car - yes but is your car clock thingy in miles or km!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

beamgirl wrote: »
    People who cant tell the difference between ks and miles e.g if it takes me 45 mins to run 5 miles you're not walking it in 45 mins, 5k yes but not 5 miles. But I checked it on the car - yes but is your car clock thingy in miles or km!

Ahhh memories of the funniest thread to ever be posted on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

I'm getting seriously annoyed at the lack of hedge cutting going on this year. Where I usually run the uncut hedges are making it near impossible to pull in for a car and not get stung by a nettle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Foxx92 wrote: »
    I'm getting seriously annoyed at the lack of hedge cutting going on this year. Where I usually run the uncut hedges are making it near impossible to pull in for a car and not get stung by a nettle!

so true... got stung on the face by a bunch of nettles last week.. having to find a docking leaf and then run along with it held on your face is not good... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

OK
    I hate

1 runners who have an attitude and looking for a reason to shout at ya about your dog or anything else.I love dogs!

2 walkers taking up the path.

3 verbal assults from kids or passing motorists

4 overpriced races

5 silly early morning races in Dublin (for us country folk travelling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭hawkwing

jinka wrote: »
    OK

5 silly early morning races in Dublin (for us country folk travelling)
    I like the early starts in Dublin -being one of the country folk who can go back down home after it and still have most of Saturday off.A later Saturday start would mean being up all weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

hawkwing wrote: »
    I like the early starts in Dublin -being one of the country folk who can go back down home after it and still have most of Saturday off.A later Saturday start would mean being up all weekend.

God no,

Means getting up at some crazy hour and running with the taste of Sugar puffs in your gob!

nice 2pm race will do me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

1. Seem to be a lot of slugs out at the moment, god knows how many I've trampled on my runs. Runners feel slimey at the end. Better than dog sh1t though.

2. Smelly armpits (my own) when I get back from the run.

3. Side stitches

4. When the heavens open up when you're already too far from home to be able to get back & not be drenched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

In no particular order:

Dogs not on leashes - unaccompanied/wandering around. With owners I don't mind.
    Dogs on 30ft leashes - you never know what way to go to avoid them
    Water logged grass - you never see it until you're up to your knees in it
    Torrential Rain - it gets into your eyes so you're squinting. LLike last night
    Midgies - especially if you swallow one or get one in your eye. Swarms of them aren't too pleasant either
    People shouting abuse at you - why? If it's complimentary I don't mind :)
    People throwing things from cars at you - why???
    Two or more people coming towards you and they won't move a little to give you room to pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

dislike-

Dog **** - Cork seems to be Mecca/Jerusalem/Rome all in one for the stuff.

Slow starters at the front of races - dangerous

Shouters - 'run forrest run!', etc.

Throwers - generally teenage drinkers -

Bonking - as in going for a 10k with sugar for a 5k on board - normally after a long day at work - so having a bit of a wobble at 5k as you switch fuel supplies.

Like -

running in the rain

Racing small kids who are out walking with their parents....and letting them win (of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Corners. After 18 miles, the last thing I want to do is go around a corner. Who invented bloody corners? Who needs 'em? I'm buying a treadmill.

Also treadmills. I hate treadmills..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 dokter

SKOBES in corsa / civic / de-badged 3 series with M3 all over it....

I mean whats the deal, they wear tracksuits, they must do some sort of training too right?

The SKOBES usually, shout / beep / throw something at you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Shin pain :mad::mad::mad::mad:

Closely followed by people asking you directions in the middle of a 10 miler. The last person got a "**** off, can't you see I'm runnning?". I felt slightly bad afterwards :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭PWEI

One year old Thread,let's see how long this will last. :rolleyes:

For what it's worth my pet hate is runners who run in cycle lanes.
    Athletes from Clonliffe Harriers are always doing this around the Santry area.