Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Huge spider keeps coming back

• Subscribers Posts: 16,578 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

There is something happening. Something bad.

The spiders are getting bigger because the flies have become Super Flies.

I have spent the day battling one. He just won't die. I have tried to hit him with a newspaper while he was stationary, but no, a split second before the paper strikes he's off. I have successfully hit him a few times, he hits the floor, then shakes himself off and flies off again. It's like fly tennis, I hit him, he comes back, I hit him..

I caved and went and bought fly spray (hate the stuff), got a direct hit, he looked a bit dazed (stoned I think), then flew off again.

He is currently mocking me by occasionally landing on my mouse hand right hand.

I'm gonna respectfully suggest that if you can only stun a fly with a newspaper then it might be time to take a leaf out to the spiders book and hit the gym.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

Latchy wrote: »
    Simple way to get rid of spiders and insects without harming them is cover said insect with a pint glass or even an ordinary plastic top ,ie shaving foam ,hair conditioner one , it's then trapped .Slide a piece of paper such as an envelope under glass/top .You then take it to front / back door and it's gone .

dont reccomend killing spiders :pac:

op just said they put him out twice but the cheeky bastard came back
    ....he deserved what he got :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

copacetic wrote: »
    I'm gonna respectfully suggest that if you can only stun a fly with a newspaper then it might be time to take a leaf out to the spiders book and hit the gym.

The spiders may go to the gym. The flies go to the Taliban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Thoie wrote: »
    Because they're only practising on flies, and once they've passed their level 9 fly trapping exams, they start on us. Don't blame me if you wake up some morning tied to your bed in a way you weren't expecting!

I usually drop them out a 6 story window and assume that their l33t spidy-skills will save them.

Why would a human(assuming you are) kill spiders who protect you against disease ridden flies?

Hint: it will save you a term in Cherry Orchard Hospital for gastroenteritis!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

benj wrote: »
    op just said they put him out twice but the cheeky bastard came back
    ....he deserved what he got :D
    Spiders take eviction personally ....specialy if it's a nasty eviction

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

gurramok wrote: »
    Why would a human(assuming you are) kill spiders who protect you against disease ridden flies?

Hint: it will save you a term in Cherry Orchard Hospital for gastroenteritis!!

Oddly enough, I've only ever seen two flies in this place since I moved in 3 years ago. I can only assume that all the spider webs stretch from the 2nd floor of the building and prevent the flies from reaching this altitude. And as we all know, spider webs are stronger than kevlar, so I'm going to test this theory by leaping out the window.

Also, I took all those food safety authority ads to heart, and I'm not inclined to eat food that's been casually lounging around in the open. I also do odd things like "cleaning worktops before and after use" and "washing my hands" and "cooking food properly". But I'm just a bit peculiar that way - it must be by non-human ancestry.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Im not a big spider-lover (would freak if strolling around on my pillow), but i do think their webs etc are pretty cool. I had one for ages in behind my car wing mirror and was fascinated by her attempts at fixing her web everyday until i accidentally blasted it with a power washer one day and felt soo guilty ( im a sap i know).

Theres a whole host of them now, all different sizes on my balcony and its not too long before its either i turn into the Mad Spider Lady or get rid of them. God damn Dave Attenborough and his sunday hangover docs...

Also, I took all those food safety authority ads to heart, and I'm not inclined to eat food that's been casually lounging around in the open. I also do odd things like "cleaning worktops before and after use" and "washing my hands" and "cooking food properly". But I'm just a bit peculiar that way - it must be by non-human ancestry.

Well you know, to be hygienic is to kill flies not kill their killers!

If you have a lack of flies, just open those windows!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

gurramok wrote: »

If you have a lack of flies, just open those windows!

It's odd - all the windows have been open permanently since late April (except for one of the bedrooms that sometimes gets closed), but still not a fly so far. While I was being silly about the 2nd storey web, I do wonder if flies have some kind of altitude ceiling that they rarely wander above. My last place, which was equally clean, was a lot closer to ground level, and got flies all the time.

This is very very weird. I live in the heart of South Dub inner city and once i open the window of the ground floor apt, the blooming flying invaders come in!!

You know what, i was hoovering earlier and i said to a spider who was running away from me...'no fear, i trust you to kill all those flies'! so i didn't hoover him up.

He then cocked one of his 8 legs in approval :D

After reading Karlogs thread on Spiders it got me thinkin'. Im definitely an insect "rascist"..probably not the right word but work with me.:D Im an animal lover and i appreciate the majority of what the natural world has to offer. Now...before the pedantics begin i know insects arent classified as "animals" but in the general gist of nature stick with me.

Flies!! I feckin hate them and their little fly baby maggots. I understand in the grand scheme of life every species has a right to life....but c'mon these little feckers are gross. Throw a bit of leftover dinner in the bin..cue the little wrigglers poppin out of your black bin bag 2 or 3 days later :eek::eek:.

I had one little buzzy missus tearin around my place all mornin tryin to find a way out. Knowing the consequences i had to get up at 9.30am to make sure the bin was covered. If they'd stay still long enough (like spiders) id catch them and let them out.

Oh no! These yokes are on their own little demented mission...maggots=baby flies! I want to like them...but..???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

HIYA MATE YEAH THEY ARE DISGUSTING CREATURES

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Come into my parlour, said the spider to the fly.

Thread merged.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,352 ✭✭✭✭Victor

anniehoo wrote: »
    Im definitely an insect "rascist"..probably not the right word but work with me.:D
    Speciesist.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭worded

Biker spider

Spider catcher - Woodies have them
    http://www.iwantoneofthose.com/spider-catcher/index.html

worded wrote: »
    Biker spider

Spider catcher - Woodies have them
    http://www.iwantoneofthose.com/spider-catcher/index.html

"wouldn't hurt a fly", bloody cheek!

Why kill those that protect us? Sicko's :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Spiders are all right - till the babies hatch

http://www.breakitdownblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/spider-hell.jpg

Yoiu don't want to be in the gaff when that happens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

darkman2 wrote: »

I would have a lighter and a can of lynx at the ready if i saw that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

yeah but they all eat each other so by the time they're full grown you just end up with 5. That's why they can't breed spiders for medical research on their poisons and stuff, it's a case of "yay 2000 new specimens..wait 1800..1200..feck"

karlog wrote: »
    I would have a lighter and a can of lynx at the ready if i saw that

Like the guy in arachnophobia? He got his ass kicked.

Seriously if you have an abnormally large house spider and you spot the web - by fcuk destroy it and the eggs or hundreds of relations are coming to visit.

yeah but they all eat each other so by the time they're full grown you just end up with 5. That's why they can't breed spiders for medical research on their poisons and stuff, it's a case of "yay 2000 new specimens..wait 1800..1200..feck"

They don't eat them all. Most scatter well before the parent can devour. If they are lazy they get eaten. Perhaps that should be applied to our society? Though I would recommend not eating our young - merely torturing them to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Like the guy in arachnophobia? He got his ass kicked.

Seriously if you have an abnormally large house spider and you spot the web - by fcuk destroy it and the eggs or hundreds of relations are coming to visit.

Your right if that film has thought me anything its that i need a big ass nail gun to take one of these fcukers down.

Oh FFS i defy anone who could sleep with that on their ceiling..:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

They don't eat them all. Most scatter well before the parent can devour. If they are lazy they get eaten. Perhaps that should be applied to our society? Though I would recommend not eating our young - merely torturing them to death.

... ... ...kay

also

http://pix.motivatedphotos.com/2008/6/27/633502077689708248-curiosity.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Nuke the entire site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭worded

Gather your spiders and send them on a holiday

http://www.iwantoneofthose.com/light-a-lanterns/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

I killed a moth with a copy of 'Twilight'.

It felt good to take my rage out on something small and defenseless! Go me! :pac:

No really, I just hate moths fluttering about the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I'd rather a spider than a bluebottle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

could someone describe that picture for me please? too much of a chickenpoop to open the link :o

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

could someone describe that picture for me please? too much of a chickenpoop to open the link :o

Amazonian scat porn