TequilaMockingBird wrote: » There is something happening. Something bad. The spiders are getting bigger because the flies have become Super Flies. I have spent the day battling one. He just won't die. I have tried to hit him with a newspaper while he was stationary, but no, a split second before the paper strikes he's off. I have successfully hit him a few times, he hits the floor, then shakes himself off and flies off again. It's like fly tennis, I hit him, he comes back, I hit him.. I caved and went and bought fly spray (hate the stuff), got a direct hit, he looked a bit dazed (stoned I think), then flew off again. He is currently mocking me by occasionally landing on my mouse hand right hand.
Latchy wrote: » Simple way to get rid of spiders and insects without harming them is cover said insect with a pint glass or even an ordinary plastic top ,ie shaving foam ,hair conditioner one , it's then trapped .Slide a piece of paper such as an envelope under glass/top .You then take it to front / back door and it's gone . dont reccomend killing spiders :pac:
copacetic wrote: » I'm gonna respectfully suggest that if you can only stun a fly with a newspaper then it might be time to take a leaf out to the spiders book and hit the gym.
Thoie wrote: » Because they're only practising on flies, and once they've passed their level 9 fly trapping exams, they start on us. Don't blame me if you wake up some morning tied to your bed in a way you weren't expecting!I usually drop them out a 6 story window and assume that their l33t spidy-skills will save them.
benj wrote: » op just said they put him out twice but the cheeky bastard came back ....he deserved what he got
gurramok wrote: » Why would a human(assuming you are) kill spiders who protect you against disease ridden flies? Hint: it will save you a term in Cherry Orchard Hospital for gastroenteritis!!
Thoie wrote: » Also, I took all those food safety authority ads to heart, and I'm not inclined to eat food that's been casually lounging around in the open. I also do odd things like "cleaning worktops before and after use" and "washing my hands" and "cooking food properly". But I'm just a bit peculiar that way - it must be by non-human ancestry.
gurramok wrote: » If you have a lack of flies, just open those windows!
Thoie wrote: » It's odd - all the windows have been open permanently since late April (except for one of the bedrooms that sometimes gets closed), but still not a fly so far. While I was being silly about the 2nd storey web, I do wonder if flies have some kind of altitude ceiling that they rarely wander above. My last place, which was equally clean, was a lot closer to ground level, and got flies all the time.
anniehoo wrote: » Im definitely an insect "rascist"..probably not the right word but work with me.:D
worded wrote: » Biker spider Spider catcher - Woodies have themhttp://www.iwantoneofthose.com/spider-catcher/index.html
darkman2 wrote: » Spiders are all right - till the babies hatchhttp://www.breakitdownblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/spider-hell.jpg Yoiu don't want to be in the gaff when that happens!
karlog wrote: » I would have a lighter and a can of lynx at the ready if i saw that
Payton Noisy Cargo wrote: » yeah but they all eat each other so by the time they're full grown you just end up with 5. That's why they can't breed spiders for medical research on their poisons and stuff, it's a case of "yay 2000 new specimens..wait 1800..1200..feck"
darkman2 wrote: » Like the guy in arachnophobia? He got his ass kicked. Seriously if you have an abnormally large house spider and you spot the web - by fcuk destroy it and the eggs or hundreds of relations are coming to visit.
darkman2 wrote: » Spiders are all right - till the babies hatchhttp://www.breakitdownblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/spider-hell.jpg
darkman2 wrote: » They don't eat them all. Most scatter well before the parent can devour. If they are lazy they get eaten. Perhaps that should be applied to our society? Though I would recommend not eating our young - merely torturing them to death.
allandanyways wrote: » could someone describe that picture for me please? too much of a chickenpoop to open the link