Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THIS IS NOT A OXEGEN THREAD. But.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Don't knock Oxegen - It fulfills an important role in keeping the kiddies and gobsh!tes away from other such events :pac:

Exhibit A:

1224250387309_1.jpg

You the maaan

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sports wellies??? Yea you got conned there dude... should have went to pennies.
    They only cost a fiver, JJB have been doing a closing down sale for about a year now :pac:

The ones in Penneys cost 11, so actually you got ripped off

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

markpb wrote: »
    News at 11! People in having different tastes shocker!

Yea, Like oxegen caters for different tastes in music:rolleyes:, well known for it diversity.

The day I see a Real band such as ACDC headline oxegen will be the day I go camp in a field in the pissing rain, surrounded by drunk scumbags.

IMO 99% of bands that have their name "The <insert stupid name here>" are **** and should be put down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I've never been to Oxegen, or any other music festvial. Anyone I know always tell stories coming back of having drunk a lot and vandalised somebody else's tent. :rolleyes: What a load of bollocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We're all missing the point, the scumbags are gone so lets reclaim the streets, even if its just for one weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Awful, awful standard of performing acts this year. To think, just a few years back Oxegen meant your €200 + would get you in to see James Brown, The Who etc...

Now we've got Lady fookin' GaGa. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Even then half of the 'big names' played there last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Ah here, you big bunch of moaning minnies need a bit of positivity. This year's lineup sounds waaaay better than last year! Killers, Snow Patrol, Katy Perry, Lady GaGa....brilliant.

[POSITIVE NOTE]I was @ Oxegen last year for the first, tbh was kinda forced into it by the OH, as he was dying to go - but i was a being a bit girly about it at first: "Whaaaa? No hair straighteners? Portaloos? No beds? Eh thanks but no thanks...." And of course I was quite worried about it being a wash-out like the previous year...

But my mind was soon changed, as I can say, hand on heart, that it was probably the most enjoyable weekend I've ever had! Funfair, decent food, no scumbags that I saw, meeting total randomers and having the craic, making money from all the plastic glasses lying around ;) And of course the MUSIC: I remember my highlights being Mundy, REM, Kaisers, Sugababes (who would ya believe had the roughest crowd), and the late night discos were great craic as well...Oh and hey, for the very vain, there's also a beauty/hair salon onsite, which i didn't use cos I didn't give a hoot after 1 day there!

I recommend Oxegen to EVERYONE and ye should all go at least ONCE :) It's an amazing weekend, and I don't really get people complaining about expensive tickets - I reckon €220 is pretty good for 3 days camping while seeing all your fave acts....[/POSITIVE NOTE]

The portaloos are quite smelly though. BRING YOUR OWN LOO ROLL...

And the drink is a rip off. Try get drunk before you head into the arena.

What is the deal with Kary Perry and Lady Gaga being on at the same time this year? What a bunch of imbeciles - those 2 would more or less have a very similar fanbase...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Awful, awful standard of performing acts this year. To think, just a few years back Oxegen meant your €150 + would get you in to see James Brown, The Who etc...

Now we've got Lady fookin' GaGa. :rolleyes:

FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

That_Guy wrote: »
    My thoughts:

Should've gone to a cheaper European festival with almost guaranteed good weather.

Suckers.

D. E. F. O.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This year's lineup sounds waaaay better than last year! Killers, Snow Patrol, Katy Perry, Lady GaGa....brilliant.

Sarcasm? I am afraid my sarcasm detector broken.

Mossy Monk wrote: »

HEHEHEHE GOOD 1 MATE BRING BACK ABBA ALL IS FORGIVEN HEHEHEHEHAHAHAHAA

Nope, not being sarcastic, you old cynic! The Killers are great.

ABBA? Great idea!! *starts writing letter to organizers of Oxegen 2010*

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus, why not get Kylie and a reformed Spice Girls? Rock on guys, yeaaaah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

I was at Oxegen in 2005 and ya it was full of scum, so I had reservations about going last year. But I must say last year was absolutely class, great atmosphere and a fantastic lineup. RATM were a bit disapointing, but I think that was because it was on the Sunday and everyone was wrecked, I saw them a few weeks before that headlining Rock Am Ring and they were far far better. I would love to have gone to Oxegen this year but the price of the tickets was far too dear.

Jesus, why not get Kylie and a reformed Spice Girls? Rock on guys, yeaaaah!

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH! Genius! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I didn't go cos the bands were shít.

Apparently that's not an excuse though. It's all about camping in a field drinking yourself stupid for four days. It only costs about 500 euro too.

I can do that in my backgarden for free.

Ah here, you big bunch of moaning minnies need a bit of positivity. This year's lineup sounds waaaay better than last year! Killers, Snow Patrol, Katy Perry, Lady GaGa....brilliant.

[POSITIVE NOTE]I was @ Oxegen last year for the first, tbh was kinda forced into it by the OH, as he was dying to go - but i was a being a bit girly about it at first: "Whaaaa? No hair straighteners? Portaloos? No beds? Eh thanks but no thanks...." And of course I was quite worried about it being a wash-out like the previous year...

But my mind was soon changed, as I can say, hand on heart, that it was probably the most enjoyable weekend I've ever had! Funfair, decent food, no scumbags that I saw, meeting total randomers and having the craic, making money from all the plastic glasses lying around ;) And of course the MUSIC: I remember my highlights being Mundy, REM, Kaisers, Sugababes (who would ya believe had the roughest crowd), and the late night discos were great craic as well...Oh and hey, for the very vain, there's also a beauty/hair salon onsite, which i didn't use cos I didn't give a hoot after 1 day there!

I recommend Oxegen to EVERYONE and ye should all go at least ONCE :) It's an amazing weekend, and I don't really get people complaining about expensive tickets - I reckon €220 is pretty good for 3 days camping while seeing all your fave acts....[/POSITIVE NOTE]

The portaloos are quite smelly though. BRING YOUR OWN LOO ROLL...

And the drink is a rip off. Try get drunk before you head into the arena.

What is the deal with Kary Perry and Lady Gaga being on at the same time this year? What a bunch of imbeciles - those 2 would more or less have a very similar fanbase...

Your right about one thing, you will have to be ****faced drunk to bear that line up.

You liked oxegen, because, now correct me if im wrong, you like clubs like citibar and 21s and barcode, you think spin103.8 is great and you wouldnt be unfamiliar to too much fake tan?

kona wrote: »

You liked oxegen, because, now correct me if im wrong, you like clubs like citibar and 21s and barcode, you think spin103.8 is great and you wouldnt be unfamiliar to too much fake tan?

My oh my, how you like to stereotype :rolleyes:

Citibar - I've been there once, didn't mind.
    21s - Hole.
    Barcode - Never been.
    Spin 103.8 - Nah, prefer 98 myself.
    Fake tan - Never wear it, I embrace my paleness.

Now you correct me if I'm wrong - you would rather a festival like Castle Palooza as you enjoy "cool" music from unknowns rather than all that "commercialised" rubbish, you don't really like pubs/clubs - you would rather have a few cans at home and save your mula...oh and you hate fake tan.

HEHEHEHE GOOD 1 MATE BRING BACK ABBA ALL IS FORGIVEN HEHEHEHEHAHAHAHAA

hehehehe ABBA were **** hohohohoho

My oh my, how you like to stereotype :rolleyes:

Citibar - I've been there once, didn't mind.
    21s - Hole.
    Barcode - Never been.
    Spin 103.8 - Nah, prefer 98 myself.
    Fake tan - Never wear it, I embrace my paleness.

Now you correct me if I'm wrong - you would rather a festival like Castle Palooza as you enjoy "cool" music from unknowns rather than all that "commercialised" rubbish, you don't really like pubs/clubs - you would rather have a few cans at home and save your mula...oh and you hate fake tan.

Well judging by your music taste, thats how I stereotype you. Anybody who listens to manufactured music and thinks they are brilliant, is manufactured IMO.

Castle palooza what the **** is that, give me monsters of rock in donnignton.
    Motley Crue, Def Leppard,Whitesnake.

Yes I hate fake tan...Motley crue unknown? maybe to musical retards, I love going out fibber my gee anyday.

just to sum up:
    POP music= ****
    Indie music= Pure unadultered scutter

Ill let steel panther sing it:

hehehehe ABBA were **** hohohohoho

hiya mate learn how to do it right

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

this so is an oxegen thread

hiya mate learn how to do it right

I never realised there was a correct way to say hehehehehe. That is me looking foolish.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

It's gotta be hehehehehehehehohohohohohohohehhehehehhohoho.

I think anyway. Correct me if I'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Burkatron

kona wrote: »
    Well judging by your music taste, thats how I stereotype you. Anybody who listens to manufactured music and thinks they are brilliant, is manufactured IMO.

Castle palooza what the **** is that, give me monsters of rock in donnignton.
    Motley Crue, Def Leppard,Whitesnake.

Yes I hate fake tan...Motley crue unknown? maybe to musical retards, I love going out fibber my gee anyday.

just to sum up:
    POP music= ****
    Indie music= Pure unadultered scutter

Ill let steel panther sing it:

Lmfao. That song is cheesetastic, worth the listen alone for the line @ 2:03

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Witnness ftw.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

That_Guy wrote: »
    Was thinking about going this year but no mates

/thread derailed

FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭MrJetlag

Went by the rotunda and saw lots of dregs of society heading away to poxy-gen for the weekend.

Though to myself punchestown would be a great place to set of a small nuclear device or launch a nerve gas attack this weekend.

Might give Kim Jung Ill a call later and see if he's interested in conducting some testing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I hope it rains hailstones, locusts, fire, frogs and the plague, ALL AT THE SAME TIME :mad: