Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Cavan have an accent?

• 09-07-2009 6:44pm
    Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭

I'm from Cavan and people always talk about our accent, I don't think we have one at least not a thick one.

I suppose I percieve our way as normal and everyone else from different places have the accents...

Try and describe it for me....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭loloray

The worst thing I ever heard. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

You're in Caaaavan now so you are!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yeah. Its gack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭anonymousman

I would say its one of the most distinctive accents out there. Its really funny (no offence).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

What's Cavan?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Who did you borrow the computer from to post here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Hagar wrote: »

Ha, broadband became available in my area last year thank you.
    Even though I had to fight for 9 months to get it...:rolleyes:

And then I only got it because the engineer owed me a favour...

The-Rigger wrote: »

Seen that before, the man is clearly not from Cavan at all it doesn't sound natural to him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

that looks like like a map of Afghanistan

Abigayle wrote: »
    Yeah. Its gack.

If "gack" is what the women are calling sexy now, then you are correct....:D

Nah I really don't think it's strong at all.

I don't get the map either, it's not of Cavan. If you look closely we are in the top and not the green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

Talk about asking for trouble. Dont you know we are the laughing stock of the island for gods sake....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

DB10 wrote: »
    ...describe it for me....:D

It is very small, kind of insignificant, can be used to descride many things, very useful if you don't want to tip people off as to what your talking about and it is used very regularly in most conversations. IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

keh-yaaaaaaaaaaa-van

bicardi19 wrote: »
    Talk about asking for trouble. Dont you know we are the laughing stock of the island for gods sake....

I'm suprised no one has mentioned "tight" in a post yet.

I really have heard some women say the Cavan accent is sexy but I never really thought it was so thick to outsiders. I just feel it is neutral .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

:DI'm suprised no one has mentioned "tight" in a post yet.

O'RLY ? Subtlety is wasted around here. :D

You didn't mention "tight" in the post though.

Fooled by a Cavan man, put that down on your CV...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm from qeeeaavannn.

Thats how it sounds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Kyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaavan, LAD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

Ah ye do have a distinct accent now, hei.

Maybe it was just my ex-flatmate but he used to call everyone Horse. Apparently that was a Ceeeeeaaaaaaaavvaaaaaan thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

If "gack" is what the women are calling sexy now, then you are correct....:D Nah I really don't think it's strong at all.

Come to think of it, isn't Pornapster from up that neck of the woods? none to shabby. Always imagined he'd have a "hellooooo its meeee, de guy frm de barrrr" though.

Anyway guilty until proven innocent and all that. Pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Search youtube for cavan farmer. I'm on mobile, so i can't find it, but its cavan down to a tee, so it is, lad.

Abigayle wrote: »
    Come to think of it, isn't Pornapster from up that neck of the woods? none to shabby. Always imagined he'd have a "hellooooo its meeee, de guy frm de barrrr" though.

Anyway guilty until proven innocent and all that. Pics.

Haha,only 2 pages in and there's a women chatting me up...:D

And that is without hearing my sexy accent. I think that says something to all ye jealous Cavan bashers..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭hardcore

Is cavan in the republic? I think its the forgotton county or Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

hardcore wrote: »
    Is cavan in the republic?
    It's in Ulster but most definitely in the Republic. Cavan people are actually quite sound. Not dissimilar to those in neighbouring Monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭28064212

The-Rigger wrote: »
    That's not even close to a Cavan accent, sounds like someone attempting to do some kind of children's bear, except they're mildly retarded. For a proper Cavan accent (as in from deep in the heartland of West Cavan, never gone further from home than the nearest pub/cattle market):

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Cavan people always seem to say Cyavin ....well that's what it sounds like to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

The cavan accent is horrible. It's not as strong as say northern accent but it's not neutral. It should NEVER be described as sexy.

My aunt used to be a nurse and she was working in Dublin. She went to a patient, who she said was really sexy, great body but then he started talking and in a cavan accent, my aunt was very disapointed. (She was young at the time and I've no idea why she told me this).

Where the cavan accent rests on likability with other Irish accents (my opinion) just going use a few accents from best to worst
    1.Donegal
    2.Cork
    3.midlands
    4.scumbag limerick
    5.cavan
    6.scumbag dub (but I have very good reason to detest this accent)

Oh and my aunt also said that it makes people sound stupid.

Ah now sure, lookit we have no accent at all apart from a few of the older men that work in the agricultural sector.

May I ask Orla what region you are from,so I can pass judgement on your own accent..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Orla K wrote: »
    The cavan accent is horrible. It's not as strong as say northern accent but it's not neutral. It should NEVER be described as sexy.

My aunt used to be a nurse and she was working in Dublin. She went to a patient, who she said was really sexy, great body but then he started talking and in a cavan accent, my aunt was very disapointed. (She was young at the time and I've no idea why she told me this).

Where the cavan accent rests on likability with other Irish accents (my opinion) just going use a few accents from best to worst
    1.Donegal
    2.Cork
    3.midlands
    4.scumbag limerick
    5.cavan
    6.scumbag dub (but I have very good reason to detest this accent)

Oh and my aunt also said that it makes people sound stupid.
    Dublin has so many different accents. Anyone care to rattle them off!

Ah now sure, lookit we have no accent at all apart from a few of the older men that work in the agricultural sector.

May I ask Orla what region you are from,so I can pass judgement on your own accent..;)

You have an accent, I went to college with someone who was far from an older man that worked in the agricultural sector, she was infact a pink haired lesbian she had a bad accent but lucky for her 4 years in a city died it down.

I'm from midlands but I don't really have a midlands accent most people think I'm scottish but there is a bit of a mix in there another two common ones are a limerick accent or southern american. The last two are only certain words. I sound like a scot that's been living in kildare for a number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

i'll tell ya lad there isnt one iota wrong with the cavan accent , we're proud of it , its them meath wans ya should be laughing at that ternan flute and yon clown hector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The cavan accent doesn't make people sound intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

Kinda sounds like a Monaghan man getting stretched.

I always thought that if a copper coin could talk (like a penny or something), it would have a Cavan accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

I don't get the map either, it's not of Cavan. If you look closely we are in the top and not the green.

You don't even have to look closely. It's not like anyone at all could possibly think that Athlone was in Cavan
    Could they? :eek:
    Are there really people who might think that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

I'm from Cavan and people always talk about our accent, I don't think we have one at least not a thick one.

I suppose I percieve our way as normal and everyone else from different places have the accents...

Try and describe it for me....:D

Navan, if Navan was a crack-whore.

cavan4sam wrote: »
    i'll tell ya lad there isnt one iota wrong with the cavan accent , we're proud of it , its them meath wans ya should be laughing at that ternan flute and yon clown hector

I agree sir. My opinion is that other counties like Meath,Dublin,Longford and Fermanagh are jealous of us and like to pretend we are all stingy feckers with an aul farmers accent. Those Meath wans threw stones at us.

I tell ya, the young wans in towns about Cavan these days have no culchie accent. Some of them are even a bit posh.

You have an accent, I went to college with someone who was far from an older man that worked in the agricultural sector, she was infact a pink haired lesbian she had a bad accent but lucky for her 4 years in a city died it down.

I'm from midlands but I don't really have a midlands accent most people think I'm scottish but there is a bit of a mix in there another two common ones are a limerick accent or southern american. The last two are only certain words. I sound like a scot that's been living in kildare for a number of years.

So you have a Scottish/South American/Limerick accent.
    Jaysus,I'd hate to think what you sound like after a few drinks...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Answer to question=yes!

kmart6 wrote: »
    Answer to question=yes!

Do you like it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

There was a lad in the gaeltacht spoke irish with the "ceavin" accent,always amused me. I'm from north meath so i cant really judge,hi,

So you have a Scottish/South American/Limerick accent.
    Jaysus,I'd hate to think what you sound like after a few drinks...:D

I have an Irish accent but it sounds more like a soft scottish one. And some words/sentances I say come out in either a Limerick or southern american(not south american) accent.

Also I don't drink anymore, but when I did it was just Irish/scottish. I hadn't picked up the american or limerick one then.

Also with my mix of accents I still think it would sound better than the cavan one.

I have an Irish accent but it sounds more like a soft scottish one. And some words/sentances I say come out in either a Limerick or southern american(not south american) accent.

Also I don't drink anymore, but when I did it was just Irish/scottish. I hadn't picked up the american or limerick one then.

Also with my mix of accents I still think it would sound better than the cavan one.
    Its like when some people try the welsh accent and it ends up sounding like the indian accent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭This_Years_Love

I used to work in the office of a transport company and we sub-contracted a few areas out and one of those was Cavan. I used to have to phone the Cavan driver several times a day. He did have a VERY thick accent and he used a lot of slang terms that must be only used in Cavan... sometimes it was hard to understand what he was talking about.

Its like when some people try the welsh accent and it ends up sounding like the indian accent!

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Yes we definitely have an accent.

When I first moved to dubland mine was probably a lot stronger than it is now and I got complimented on it all the time!

What?
    two accents in one. Try doing a welsh accent. harder than you think

I used to work in the office of a transport company and we sub-contracted a few areas out and one of those was Cavan. I used to have to phone the Cavan driver several times a day. He did have a VERY thick accent and he used a lot of slang terms that must be only used in Cavan... sometimes it was hard to understand what he was talking about.

What were some of these terms?

"Horse"? Or the Monaghan equivalent " Horsebox"!