Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Cavan have an accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Does cavan have an accent? No, yer too mean. Ye borrowed monaghans one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

Having read this entire thread the word 'Cavan' has lost all meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Odd how they pronounce "Virginia" as "Veer-gin-ee"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

dlambirl wrote: »
    I have to agree that the lower side of Cavan has a WOEFUL accent! Although east cavan accent that borders monaghan is pretty neutral

thats cause lower cavan borders meath and the meath accent is pretty awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Orla K wrote: »
    I have an Irish accent but it sounds more like a soft scottish one. And some words/sentances I say come out in either a Limerick or southern american(not south american) accent.

Also I don't drink anymore, but when I did it was just Irish/scottish. I hadn't picked up the american or limerick one then.

Also with my mix of accents I still think it would sound better than the cavan one.

How on earth does an Irish person have a Scottish/American tint to their accent? That's ridiculous. Give me a Queeeeeevan accent any day.

But, yes Cavan people have a really really strong accent. Take a look at that bloke on Dragons Den.

If you want to hear a Cavan accent download that infamous "Phone tap" from an American radio program where they prank this Cavan lad (living in America) by putting on an Indian Accent. He uses all the Cavan insults ("Ya annoying Bastard" and "Proper Genius"!!!")

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3k2ZyQjUhA&feature=PlayList&p=8CAFE8CEBCCC1885&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=29

A

That fella is brilliant.

Jeez, yer very racist boy! Jesus Christ of Almighty!

Classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭masonman

DB10 wrote: »
    I'm from Cavan and people always talk about our accent, I don't think we have one at least not a thick one.

I suppose I percieve our way as normal and everyone else from different places have the accents...

Try and describe it for me....:D

I'm sorry...but I have no idea what you just said ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

How on earth does an Irish person have a Scottish/American tint to their accent? That's ridiculous. Give me a Queeeeeevan accent any day.

But, yes Cavan people have a really really strong accent. Take a look at that bloke on Dragons Den.

It's more of a scottish accent than any other and I got the american one because I lived with a guy from virginia and when drunk/stoned he used to get me to say things in his accent. (he also used to do an impression of a limerick knacker woman on a sex line - funnest thing ever)

And anyway this tread is about the cavan accent, which is horrible, much worse than my own.

Well I'd much rather an Irish person with an Irish accent than an Irish person with a put on Scottish/American accent.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

That fella is brilliant.

Jeez, yer very racist boy! Jesus Christ of Almighty!

Classic.

Just listened to that there...:D

Hilarious , the guy made a fool of the pranker. No evidence that he is a Cavan man though..

Well I'd much rather an Irish person with an Irish accent than an Irish person with a put on Scottish/American accent.

Don't we all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I do have an Irish accent, just most people think I'm scottish by the way I talk. It is not something in which I "put on" and as for the american there are very few words that I say with that accent, only words the most common words that the virginia guy said and I don't say them much. It's still miles better than the cavan one.

Orla K wrote: »
    I do have an Irish accent, just most people think I'm scottish by the way I talk. It is not something in which I "put on" and as for the american there are very few words that I say with that accent, only words the most common words that the virginia guy said and I don't say them much. It's still miles better than the cavan one.

Are you talking about Virginia, County Cavan...:D

Nice place I must say. **** at football though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

I'm from Cavan and people always talk about our accent, I don't think we have one at least not a thick one.

I suppose I percieve our way as normal and everyone else from different places have the accents...

Try and describe it for me....:D

everyone missed the point its not that he has a cavan accent, he's also from Cavan. Its right there in the first line!!!!!!!!!!!!

May god be with you in all your future endeavours out of Cavan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Q: Why did the Cavan Man put double glazing to the front of his house only and not the back or sides?

A: So the kids wouldn't hear the ice cream van pass by!

Q How was copper wire invented?

A Two cavan Men fighting over a penny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

I'm from Cavan .... our accent, I don't think we have one .... describe it for me....:

You're not from Dublin and thus you have a bogger accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

The really thick Cavan accent is pretty distinctive alright. Kind of sounds like a sheep going baaaa! :) Although we had a Cavan lad in our school a few years back and his wasn't particularly strong, not much different to any other Northern county. He was a bit mean though come to think of it ;)

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    You're not from Dublin and thus you have a bogger accent.

Rather that than a scanger accent.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Or a Cork accent for that Matter. Imagine coming from Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭unclebill98

I'm a dub in cavan and they defo have an accent..... but not as bad as Drogheda folk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Like most other counties there are many different accents in Cavan, tending towards the county which is adjacent.

Virginians kinda Meathy, Gownaens sorta Longfordy, Ballyconnellians maybe either Fermanaghish or Leitrimy.

The true Cavan accent is that of Cavan town and immediate surrounding hinterland. Harsh, uncomprising, and like the humour there, black as a boghole. Brilliant stuff - love it.

It's quite different to the stereotyped Niall Tobin uber redneck/culchie accent. A bit scummy, but again uncompromising, and not looking to pander to any homogeneous mid-atlantic tripe offa da telly hi.

And as for Orla K - a mix of 5 different accents doesn't make one any less boring, bland and banal.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

hardcore wrote: »
    Is cavan in the republic? I think its the forgotton county or Ireland.
    yeah the treaty negotiations dragged on over that till for a while but we got stuck with it in the end

orourkeda wrote: »
    Or a Cork accent for that Matter. Imagine coming from Cork.

The Cork accent is great, easily one of the best in the country! :)

Roy Keane or Robbie Keane? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

CYAAAAAAAAAAAA-van

I'm a dub in cavan and they defo have an accent..... but not as bad as Drogheda folk...

I'm surprised it's taken so long for someone to mention Drogheda. :pac: As an outsider that's been living there for almost 6 years I still haven't got my head around it. The vast majority of people have quite a mild accent which I don't mind at all, but the really strong accent that some younger people have can be very harsh on the ears - but no worse than a strong Dublin accent really.

Anyway before anyone attacks me, I've really enjoyed living there - friendly people with a good sense of humour and they're a lot more helpful than most parts of the country. I'd much prefer a person with any Irish accent than these **** who talk with abnormal foreign accents to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 dolmen

hardcore wrote: »
    Is cavan in the republic? I think its the forgotton county or Ireland.

Was'nt it BERTIE dat taut dat Cavan was in de six co cocounties !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 dolmen

(pinch your nose and read this aloud)
    I tink dat de slum dub speek like is de f**ckin best like 'gnow wha i meawn like' deey speak wih a truuue accent- like gnow wha a meean like coz deey speak f**kin proper like an everywan can understan dem especially since dey moved to 'Ballymunduff' like gnow wha a meeean like coz dats why deeey have to say 'gnow wha a meeean like all de bleedin while an not a comma or full stop until ya get to 'Varginy'.
    Enjoy de craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

The-Rigger wrote: »

OMG I'm actually in that video and no I'm not the hairy fella with the guitar ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Like most other counties there are many different accents in Cavan, tending towards the county which is adjacent.

Virginians kinda Meathy, Gownaens sorta Longfordy, Ballyconnellians maybe either Fermanaghish or Leitrimy.

The true Cavan accent is that of Cavan town and immediate surrounding hinterland. Harsh, uncomprising, and like the humour there, black as a boghole. Brilliant stuff - love it.

It's quite different to the stereotyped Niall Tobin uber redneck/culchie accent. A bit scummy, but again uncompromising, and not looking to pander to any homogeneous mid-atlantic tripe offa da telly hi.

And as for Orla K - a mix of 5 different accents doesn't make one any less boring, bland and banal.

superb synopsis