Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Growing up in Navan!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

i heard she wasnt allowed into any of those shops because she'd always steal stuff by putting it in her pram! has anyone seen her house recently? its beside the balreask arms or whatever its called nowadays, last time i saw her house it was a mad pink colour with loads of random garden knomes and things like that in the front garden. that was a good while ago though!

Edit: also heard she was supposed to be one of navans prettiest girls back in her day! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

i heard she wasnt allowed into any of those shops because she'd always steal stuff by putting it in her pram! has anyone seen her house recently? its beside the balreask arms or whatever its called nowadays, last time i saw her house it was a mad pink colour with loads of random garden knomes and things like that in the front garden. that was a good while ago though!

Edit: also heard she was supposed to be one of navans prettiest girls back in her day! :eek:

Poor Chrissie's brother passed away in the passed few months. You'd see him walking the bike along the Trim Road, buy never cycle it, even though he had bicycle clips.

Checked with the father-in-law re. Beggys', it was Molloy's since the 1930's, and according to him Mrs Molloy is still alive and lives on Brews Hill.......

yeah heard her brother passed away, something got to do with his noggin i think! bit mad!

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭donmaga1

Poor Chrissie's brother passed away in the passed few months. You'd see him walking the bike along the Trim Road, buy never cycle it, even though he had bicycle clips.

Checked with the father-in-law re. Beggys', it was Molloy's since the 1930's, and according to him Mrs Molloy is still alive and lives on Brews Hill.......

Miss Molloy is living on Brews hill I know the house. Drank in there a couple of times. The first time I was in there was a leaving do for work. No one at the table had a watch. We said out loud about the time and a guy behind he said 1am (Thursday morning). I turned around at there was a garda dressed in the uniform telling me the time as he ordered another pint.

Remember about 20-25 years ago there was a shop Where there was a pub out the back on the square. I think it was where hollies is know?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭washiskin

donmaga1 wrote: »
    Remember about 20-25 years ago there was a shop Where there was a pub out the back on the square. I think it was where hollies is know?

Walsh & Kealys....omg.....is it that long ago? Used to be known as "The Clinic" for some reason. It was where that bookies is now - Bruce Betting - I think. Lynch's sweet shop is where Hollies is.

I remember that there was a Heatons there where the AIB is now.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭donmaga1

washiskin wrote: »
    I remember that there was a Heatons there where the AIB is now.

Just about. There were steps at the back. My mam would leave me there when she was shopping in the place. All the staff knew my parents and I could look around and see who was around.:D:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

So many memories being brought back here. The embassy and the maze were where I lived practically as a kid and renting games out of video vision and blackwater videos. Tommy's minimarket buying out of date date sweets for cheep. Wrecking Old Mrs. Duignan's head by asking for 100 penny sweets.
    As mentioned elsewhere if you want to experience "old skool" head down to the Oriel. There are milk trays in there that are probably older than me and you but you can get quarters of sour apples that are gorgeous.
    You know you've lived here too long when you refer to places by their old names.
    "I was in Quinnsworth then dropped into valueland before heading over to stauntons"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

ShooterSF wrote: »
    "I was in Quinnsworth then dropped into valueland before heading over to stauntons"

lol - yea i tend to call tescos quinnsworth every once in awhile!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I called it Quinnsworth the other day by accident! and my son looked at me as if I had 10 heads!:)

My dad still calls it quinnsworth!! although he called supervalu quinnsworth the other day :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Wiley1

Do i know you, everything you said here i was involved in, freaky, and the good oul days, Friday and Saturday nights in Moriarity's and the biggest bar brawl i ever say one Paddy's day.

lukesmom wrote: »
    Saw another thread about growing up in Drogheda so I said I would start this one off. I grew up in Navan and am still here! Just wanted to see does anyone have any particular memories of the town. I will list a few of mine.

Every Saturday and after school - doin laps around the shopping centre! - Literally walking around the shopping centre in circles. Seems ridiculous now but I loved it.
    The maze in the shopping centre
    The machine in the shopping centre where you put in 20p and a parrot says 'I like the sound of money, here comes your present, bye bye'. And you would get a little cheap gift. - this was up near hartens.
    The steps outside the centre where everyone would sit and meet up

Nacker drinkin down the mollies, the ramparts, the kings belly and the railway tracks. - scrumpy jack, cans of Ritz and anything else we could get our hands on:D

The beechmount under 18 disco called the Hippodrome! the no name club and buses of Navaners going to buck mulligans in Athboy and the night always ended with the bus being pelted with rocks and fights galore (usually because of testosterone overdosed young fellas wanting to pep up their egos by getting the first box in) Ah lads, what were yis like!!!

Chrissy Weldon (a navan legend who walks around with a childs pram filled with all her belongings and shopping) asking my mother if she could buy me for 5 pounds as she needed a child to help her do her washin!:eek:

BC Diner where McDonalds is now, and my favourite - Burger Express!:)
    Ah the nostalgia!!!

The blue was a great spot for going down and having a cup of tea and a fag without anyone seeing you.

Army value was great too.

I remember just after foxes pub was knocked, i used to walk out to Kilcarn on the building site that is now the ringroad. My Aunt lived in Ultan's terrace and i remember her garden down to the river...

What about lads with the dock boots on and the St Pat's trousers tucked or tightened at the bottom all throwing the bags down and pacing the shopping centre....

There was a bike rack too at the enterance to the shopping centre, i don't remember ever locking the BMX down there....

Yeah the leisure! Parents didnt want me in it for some reason :D Ah army value! Combats and Guns n'Roses t-shirts! Loved it. The blue (down the steps cafe on cornmarket). Barney Reillys pub, best pub ever and they closed it! And now its ryans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Loved it. The blue (down the steps cafe on cornmarket).

Is that in the same alleyway where Home Decor is now? I remember a cafe where you had to go down a few steps and i always thought of it as an underground cafe. They did lovely apple tart!

Wiley1 wrote: »
    Do i know you, everything you said here i was involved in, freaky, and the good oul days, Friday and Saturday nights in Moriarity's and the biggest bar brawl i ever say one Paddy's day.

We probably know each other very well if you remember doing all that too!

The blue was a great spot for going down and having a cup of tea and a fag without anyone seeing you.

Army value was great too.

I remember just after foxes pub was knocked, i used to walk out to Kilcarn on the building site that is now the ringroad. My Aunt lived in Ultan's terrace and i remember her garden down to the river...

What about lads with the dock boots on and the St Pat's trousers tucked or tightened at the bottom all throwing the bags down and pacing the shopping centre....

There was a bike rack too at the enterance to the shopping centre, i don't remember ever locking the BMX down there....

Ah forgot about the doc boots tucked into the trousers, throwing the bags down. All day long we'd be thinkin about who we had a crush on and would he be doin laps at lunch or after school! and yeah the bike rack remember that too. Do you remember who the so called 'hard people' in the town were. Id better not name anyone! Ah you gotta love navan

Yeah, those hard men are still about doing the same thing, great lads really compared to some of the hoards of "hard men" now.

What about drinking up on that big hill down the Molly's before the apartments and new bridge, or the track that ran along the by Silverlawns straight to the bottom of Flower hill...some buzz on a BMX.

I remember the Barry Indian family had a clothes shop where Ben Garry's is now, and up Brews hill was the original bike shop..

Ah now, did you ever go into the chipper across from the showgrounds when Toni Macari had it and there was a snooker table in the back, Lovely curry chips and a smoking area with a snooker table...Brilliant....

We probably know each other very well if you remember doing all that too!

Same as that...good idea putting up that post, There's more out there that needs mentioning too...

Remember Cuffe's on Flower hill and your man selling the news papers out of the back of the car outside St Mary's.

Murphy's cab office down Bridge St, only taxi rank in Navan at the time.

Moate bridge before they put in the proper halt site...Mad

I'm old

Same as that...good idea putting up that post, There's more out there that needs mentioning too...

Remember Cuffe's on Flower hill and your man selling the news papers out of the back of the car outside St Mary's.

Murphy's cab office down Bridge St, only taxi rank in Navan at the time.

Moate bridge before they put in the proper halt site...Mad

I'm old

Yes I remember Cuffe's well. My mam was born in a house on flower hill beside the lodge!!! And murphy's cab office yes and now there are too many bloody taxis!

Do you remember when the Valley Cafe was called Mallocas? I dont but my mother does. Willie Fagan sometimes sells newspapers outside St. Olivers church on a sunday after mass. Anything for a buck! The two rival gaelic teams Simonstown and O'Mahony's depends on what side of the lights on the bottom of Flower hill you from. Im the Northside! I remember Tommy's used to sell a few blue movies at one stage! I have a friend from Navan who has moved away now but back in the mid 90's he was attacked by a big gang of scumbags and got an awful doing. His name was graffiti'd all over the walls of the town and he couldnt wait to see the back of it. That was a big story at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭blueovalmk2

can any one name all the supermarkets that were up at beechmount i can think of hm willams,carlons now super valu,was tesco there at one stage?

used to buy ex army boots in army valu:D

Yes I remember Cuffe's well. My mam was born in a house on flower hill beside the lodge!!! And murphy's cab office yes and now there are too many bloody taxis!

Do you remember when the Valley Cafe was called Mallocas? I dont but my mother does. Willie Fagan sometimes sells newspapers outside St. Olivers church on a sunday after mass. Anything for a buck! The two rival gaelic teams Simonstown and O'Mahony's depends on what side of the lights on the bottom of Flower hill you from. Im the Northside! I remember Tommy's used to sell a few blue movies at one stage! I have a friend from Navan who has moved away now but back in the mid 90's he was attacked by a big gang of scumbags and got an awful doing. His name was graffiti'd all over the walls of the town and he couldnt wait to see the back of it. That was a big story at the time.

I don't really remember that with your mate and the graffitti, but if you said his name I'd know probably. (Don't say his name), So you're North Navan, ah well everyone has a cross to bare, I'm the 3rd team in Navan, Bective. But used to be in Silverlawns....

I remember Tommy's blues, that's still a good shop. can you still get the oul porn in it, Ha....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

,was tesco there at one stage?

Yes, Tesco was there for a couple of years- before that it was Gubays.

What happened to Army Valu? My brothers used to buy their scouts gear from there.
    I remember the Barry Indian family had a clothes shop where Ben Garry's is now, and up Brews hill was the original bike shop..

God, I remember Barry's. Even though their shop was named Barry's, their surname was actually spelt "Bari". They had a stall in the market on Fridays. Whatever became of them?

kelle wrote: »
    Yes, Tesco was there for a couple of years- before that it was Gubays.

What happened to Army Valu? My brothers used to buy their scouts gear from there.

God, I remember Barry's. Even though their shop was named Barry's, their surname was actually spelt "Bari". They had a stall in the market on Fridays. Whatever became of them?

I don't know where the Bari's went, they were a nice family, there was a rake of them if i remember...they probably knew hard times were coming and moved back to sunnier climates....

I think Army valu is still down that alley way but they painted it with camouflage paint so it's really hard to find now....(sorry...brutal)

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭blueovalmk2

Brilliant, I love Tommy's freaked head when the 2 boys come over...Ah he's been out of Navan too long...

Good post though cheers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Dáibhí

Was reading Éamonn Mallie's and Patrick Bishop's Provisional IRA (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Provisional-I-R-Patrick-Bishop/dp/055213337X) many years ago and it stated that in the 1970s there was an IRA unit in Navan, The book specifically attributed bomb attacks in Newry on this unit. Anybody know anymore about it?

A relative of my own pointed out a truck driver in the town one day and said to me "See that bas tard, he's a dead man walking" - it transpired that he had, allegedly, informed on local IRA members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Even Flow

This is a brilliant thread! Lukesmom I remembered every bit of your first post! God it brought back so many memories. I forgot all about the BC diner! They did nice milkshakes!
    Army Valu! :D
    Ahh jayz those were the days.

How old are you guys - I'm just turning 30 so I'm figuring you guys are about the same??

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭jinxycat

Hiya, 25 so i've a bit of catching up to do with you :p:D

Even Flow wrote: »
    This is a brilliant thread! Lukesmom I remembered every bit of your first post! God it brought back so many memories. I forgot all about the BC diner! They did nice milkshakes!
    Army Valu! :D
    Ahh jayz those were the days.

How old are you guys - I'm just turning 30 so I'm figuring you guys are about the same??

Well i'm 33 so you've a good memory, yeah BC Diner, does anyone remember burger express???

POP QUIZ: Do you remmeber who the guy behind the counter was??? He is a fairly well known figure in politics now??

Answers on a postcard to www.boards.ie lol...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Saw another thread about growing up in Drogheda so I said I would start this one off. I grew up in Navan and am still here! Just wanted to see does anyone have any particular memories of the town. I will list a few of mine.

Every Saturday and after school - doin laps around the shopping centre! - Literally walking around the shopping centre in circles. Seems ridiculous now but I loved it.
    The maze in the shopping centre
    BC Diner where McDonalds is now, and my favourite - Burger Express!:)
    Ah the nostalgia!!!

Grew up in Trim and Athboy area so I knew Navan pretty well as a kid. Worked there for a few years in later life as well....

The maze in the shopping centre was brilliant. I remember running around this with my brother and cousins when we were small when my mum and aunt were in Quinnsworth doing the shopping. There was a cafe beside it as well which used to do good business out of us in Coke sales as running around the maze was thirsty work! :D

The BC Diner was usually visited afterwards alright. No McDonalds in those days. Had to go to Dublin for that!

I remember the original Colm O'Rourke sports shop in the shopping centre as well at the old front entrance. I remember going into it for football boots etc over the years and seeing Colm in there and thinking to myself "oh my god, that is Colm O'Rourke!!!" :p Wasn't even the biggest Meath fan as my parents are both from the North, but still, he was a massive football star in Meath at that time...

The giraffe centre in Navan was also somewhere we went to as kids. Just beside the back entrance of the shopping centre. Not sure if its still there.