Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I-YAN BAAAAAAAARRRR, I-YAN BAR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

caffeine is my god.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x3, 120x2
    130x3x5

Lad in the rack.
    Decided that in the name of progress I would Deadlift first.
    And it feckin' flew up. Was gonna do 125 as I had sort of reset, but I slammed 120 so I went for 130 which was not too bad either. Maybe one rep a bit off.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 60x5, 75x3, 80x2
    82.5x3x5

Last set was too loose which was reflected in the last rep which I didn't think I would stop. Did though and finished it albeit a bit noisily.
    PR on Tuesday I think.

Squat

Snatch balances 20kgx5
    20x2x5, 60x5, 100x4, 107.5x3, 110x1
    115x5,3,2,4

So.
    Hard 5. Went well forward and lost tightness at the bottom of the 3rd rep of set 2. Pulled it off but scared the **** out of myself and took a wee break while a guy did raw "JoeAverageStrength" squats (I am not joking) and then finished the set.

No idea why I put the bar back on the last set. Really. It was tough, maybe I just quit. It felt right when I did it but I know I could and should have hit it.

The deadlift first thing took a lot out of the tank.
    Probably not as much as the squatting before Deadlifting.
    I wonder how I would get on a linear progression but swap Deadlifts in for squats one of the days.

Today I trained hard.

Squat

20x3x5. 60x5, 90x5, 105x3, 115x2
    117.5x3x5 PR

Better day today.
    Probably the extra days rest.
    I video'd the last set, which form wise was the absolute worst. It looked as bad as it felt. Eitherway, none of the reps were that bad, the forward curve on the way down was there in force.

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 55x2
    56x5,5,4 (no Attempt)

These felt off from the get go.
    Warm ups felt weak.
    Work sets were very slow and the 4th rep of the last set was such a grind that I decided to rack it. No point if failed reps.

Power Cleans

20x5, 40x3, 50x3, 60x3, 70x3, 75x1
    80x3,3,3,2 (Fail),1(fail)
    75x3

Basically turned into highpulls. Couldn't finish the pulls.
    Better than the last time though.

One arm DB Rows

35kgx25 each arm.

Good performance all the same.

Late to Gym late to rise.

Squat

20x3x5, 70x5, 95x5, 105x3, 117.5x2
    120x3x5 PR

Not pleasant.
    First set may have had a high rep.
    Second set was harder, Third was slaughter.
    Last rep I went forward, the bar rolled up everything went wrong.
    But I had a belly full of air so I just shouted pushed and pulled the bar back down and ground it out. Very angry boy after that.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 70x5, 75x3, 80x2
    82.5x5,5,4

Stormed through the warmups.
    Work sets went as press worksets.
    Fast, fast, less fast, slow, SLOOOOOOOW.
    Didn't take any chances with the last rep, it stopped and I called the spotter. I'll get it next session.

Pendlay Rows
    Or not, bad thoracic mobility.

60x5, 70x5

While I was waiting for the chin station.

Chins

Woeful.
    Just woeful.

Oh and Hip Pathology PR: My right knee is moving forward in the bottom of the squat.

The good, the bad and the Middling.

Did the sticky rib thing on two points on each side, sets of 15 passes

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 115x3, 130x2
    135x3x5

****ing flying around. Probably done in 20min. Little hitch on the last rep but mostly good.

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 55x2
    56x3x5

Hammered this too. Although the bar might be light I'm not sure, its a funny bar. Either way the lock out felt sooo much easier. And the slight lean back off the shoulders wasn't as uncomfortable as usual. Thoracic mobility for the win.

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 95x5, 105x3, 115x1,F

Just pinned. Couldn't get the last warm up out of the hole.
    Probably could have gone after my sets but nah......

Front Squats

20x5, 60x3, 70x3, 75x3, 80x3, 85x3.

85's were a bit difficult but there was more there.
    Probably just dicking around.

Also one of the good bars is gone from the gym. Apparently the bearings broke on one sleeve.

**** all on telly and I don't want to go to bed yet.

I'm going to the osteo tomorrow so I'm going to lay out what is wrong with my hip.

1) Really Tight in flexion with external rotation. This subsides a bit with myofacial release on the Hip Flexors.
    Needless to say this causes hassle in my squat where I have to very consciously drive my knees out on the way up.

2) Have starter rotating slightly from left to right at the bottom.

3) Tend to get tightness down the outside of the thigh when lying down/in bed. Sometimes outside of calf too. Usually happens after training.

4) Get sudden darting pinch? (not quite pain or at least not for more than a second) Down the inside of my leg when I turn with a planted left foot. I.e in stair wells, turning to walk away. Usually morning after training.

5) Similar discomfort to 4) when rolling over in bed.

6) S.I. joint probably restricted. I had this pointed out to me last visit, but it feels tight when deadlifting. Maybe just cos I know its there.

7) Much difficulty getting depth in a spiderman lunge with left foot forward. Also leg sweeps very hard to outside on left leg.

8) Hip feels like its in the wrong place, Like a stuck hinge or something. When I flex it and rotate it externally whilst sitting or lying on my back, it feels like its jammed against something preventing it from doing what the right one does.

9) most prevalent in LBBS, not a problem when doing front squats.
    Probably due to flexion & external rotation combined with lengthening the adductors at the bottom.

That all I can think of.
    Most of them the same thing. I have basically had 6 weeks of thinking about it. Interested to see what he makes of it. Also glad I made it this far cos when I told him the invitational workouts he said he expected a call the next week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I usually just point and grunt...

I probably won't think of much of that when I'm sitting infront of him.

Y'know what, I don't care.

Sticky rib work.

Squat

20x2x5, 70x5, 95x5, 110x3, 120x2, 125x4, 125x1 CLANG.
    110x2x5

Warm ups felt alright, First 4 reps were very slow and hard. Probably not the finest form. Racked it after four to regather and kop the **** on.
    Second set rep one slow, rep 2 BURIED ME.
    Walked around thinking about it for a bit. Backed off to 110 which was still pretty hard.

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 52.5x3, 55x2,
    57x5,4,5,1

1st set was sweet, second set rep 4 I sort of involuntarily stepped forward. Next rep got to forehead where my right arm continued pressing and my left just started shaking. Ditch to rack.
    Set five I ****ing murdered. Then did one more to make up. Odd stuff, but adequate to move on. Overhead was just frickin awesome after the rib work I did today.

Chins

3,2,1,2,2,2,1,1,F (14 total)

New strategy is to pick a total and just do as many sets as it takes to get there. 15 to start off. Biceps are definatly the weak point in the chain. Get to about 90 degree curl and stick there. Needs work.

Not a satisfactory session, probably under-ate today, was very well rested. Honestly I just don't care tonight.

125....Cormac you ****ing idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

d'Oracle wrote: »
    125....Cormac you ****ing idiot.

i agree of course..

but :confused:

:P

i agree of course..

but :confused:

:P

I was meant to do 122.5kg.

Half-assery

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 120x3, 130x2
    140x5 PR

Grand really. Lot of breathing inbetween reps 3-5 but I didn't let go of the bar or anything. So its a bona fide PR.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 70x5, 80x3
    85x5,2,4
    75x5

Lost my back at rep 3 of the second set, Bar was too high got stuck, spotter came in. Probably the same thing on rep 5 of set 3. Also Wasn't focusing on speed. 75 set to make up volume.

Quitting

Few front squats empty bar, hip flexor stretches, back squats with empty bar and I just walked out. Like a blouse.
    Not sure what to do with the 3rd exercise on this day and my hip flexors are like cables.

NEarly forgot.

Kelly Starrets shoulder stuff.
    IP Warmup.

Squat

20x2x5, 70x5, 95x5, 110x3, 120x2
    122.5x4,1
    120x4,3 FAIL

Just too heavy. Prolly not enough food I dunno.
    I'm sure mobility issues are affecting it too.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 55x2
    58x5,5,4,1

Damn. Got stuck at forehead level

Chins

Bit better.

One arm DB ROws

35x25 Each arm.

Hard but a bit **** all in all.
    Mobility work is going to have to be a big factor going forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Hi, is a warm up set of 120 not a lot when you are doing a work set at 122.5?

Molly wrote: »
    Hi, is a warm up set of 120 not a lot when you are doing a work set at 122.5?

Eh....maybe.
    I have always kept those last two sets fairly high, but now that I look into it
    you may be right.

Thanks for pointing that out.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

I think he's right too, your press is the same 55x2 up to 58 for the work sets.

Tbh even 110x3 is probably too much if your going for 122, personally I go for a single as the last warm up set, no need to bust your balls in the warm ups.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

I like to employ the Uncle Rip warmup formula of

(working set - weight of bar) / 4 = Warmup increment

(120 - 20) / 4 = 25kg

2x5 20kg
    1x5 45kg
    1x3 70kg
    1x2 95kg

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    I think he's right too, your press is the same 55x2 up to 58 for the work sets.

Possibly, although I wouldn't feel that it has affected the press.
    Scuba Ste wrote: »
    personally I go for a single as the last warm up set, no need to bust your balls in the warm ups.

I'm gonna stick with Rip on that one.
    Thanks though.

token wrote: »
    I like to employ the Uncle Rip warmup formula of

(working set - weight of bar) / 4 = Warmup increment

(120 - 20) / 4 = 25kg

2x5 20kg
    1x5 45kg
    1x3 70kg
    1x2 95kg

I'm inclined to think that that formula was retroactively applied.
    It just sounds too unriplike....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Makes too much sense like? :D:D

Hanley wrote: »
    Makes too much sense like? :D:D

Its not in stark contradiction to anything else he has output.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

I'm inclined to think that that formula was retroactively applied.

You'd be right but that's the gist of it

Deadlift

60x2x5, 80x5, 100x3, 120x2
    145x5 PRish

Let go of the bar between 4 and 5. Also rep 5 was nothing to be proud of.
    Calling that a PR is a little dubious.

BEnch

20x2x5, 40x5, 55x3, 75x2,
    85x3x5 PR

Grip might be a bit wide.
    I'm not really feeling anything in my chest, but I don't care.

Inverted rows

So ****ing what. No bars to do rows.
    Not sure if I was even trying.

Back was really stiff going in today.
    Interfered with my deads.
    Going to stretch.

Shoulder mobility work
    IP Warmup 10
    +clock lunges
    +20kg OHSx5
    +17.5kg Gobelet squatsx5

Wating for the rack.

Squat

20x5, 50x5, 70x3, 100x2
    122.5x5,4,5,1

Felt more solid, and actually possible. Racked the last rep in set 2 cos my grip was off. Definite benefit to the less self destructive warmups. Still not calling it a PR. And I need a frickin video session cos I'm not sure of the depth.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 40x3, 50x2
    59x3x5 PR

Hell Yeah.
    Been a fair while waiting for that.
    Felt good too, Last set was the firmest, bar the last rep which took ages and sounded like an orgasm.

Chins

Which is an improvement.

IP Warmup 10
    Gluteal activation.

Deadlift

60x2x5, 80x5, 100x3, 120x2
    150x2, 145x3x1

Low Back was tight starting out as it has been all week.
    Did some leg swings and sweeps. All sorts. Warm ups were grand, quick.
    Got my glutes firing.
    Came to the work set and I felt my back was flexing.
    Forgot to bring a camera so I don't know for sure, but It was no way like Monday.

Bench

20x2x5, 55x5.

Had to quit. No spotters at all.

Press

20x5, 30x5, 40x3, 50x2
    60x3x5 PR :D

And I had loads in the tank too.
    Happy boy. I can now clean and press a wheel.
    Probably more.

Chins

Meh.

One Arm Bent Over row

37.5kgx20 E.a.

Probably a back exercise too far.

NNNYyyerr arrgh

Squash

20x2x5, 60x5, 80x3, 100x2
    122.5x3x5 PR

Last rep was rough.
    I was like ARRRRGH, but I got it.
    I was training in with someone which kept me ticking over.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 60x3, 75x2,
    87.5x3F
    85x5,4F

Some grunting here too.
    Might try again but I think it may be time for the 1kg increments.

Pendlay Rows

50x5, 55x5, 60x5
    62.5x3x5

The whole contraction from both ends malarky is tough to get down. I keep opening the hips.

Power Cleans

62.5x3x3

Just for the craic.

****ing need to sort this goddamn bar situation in Laughlinstown

I can't think of anything to type to start this post.

Deadlift

60x2x5 (And 5 Power Cleans)
    80x5, 100x3, 120x2
    145x2,1,1,1

Noticed a friendly and strong bloke watching my reps.
    I walked away after dropping rep 5 at the knee and said I was having trouble setting my back. His reply [south african accent]"You're using too much back"
    I figure he is so big he is worth listening too. So It turns out that I'm pushing my hips through too late. It also turned out he competed at powerlifting through most of the 90's at worlds level. Didn't go into details as to what federation or that. Totalled around 900kg at one stage Nice fella very simple and easy to take on advice.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 40x3, 50x2
    61x5,5,4,1

Tried the weightlifting shoes for the first set. Barpath was forward to fcuk.
    Changed back to my chucks and went to work. Failed rep five, took a break and Grouuuunnnd out a single.

Chins

Bad night for the chins.
    Sticking at the top.

Had my new weightlifting shoes with me. Deadlift felt so much more stable on the floor. Useless for the OH Press. Interested to see what the little feckers are like on the squat. That will be friday.

Adventures is kitland

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 80x3. 100x2
    125x3x5 PR

First time with both a belt and shoes.
    Not sure that was a great idea.
    The shoes seem to be making me sit down more.
    Need to practice a bit or maybe get a video on me.
    Belt chafed the **** out of my big fat love handles.:D

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 40x3, 50x2
    61x5,4,4

Disappointed, I was really on for hitting 2 PR's today.
    I should have benched but was stuck for time so went for the press.
    I have little idea what went wrong. My legs weren't tight in the second set but I was stable. Didn't feel heavy in the initial reps. The only thing I can think of is that I didn't do any mobility work before hand.

Time out, no pulls.
    Home for dinner.

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 80x3, (Belt) 100x2
    125x3x5

Sorta didn't go for 127.5 for next to no reason.
    These were a little inconsistant and the last reps of set 2 and 3 were slow but nothing was in any danger.

Pendlay Rows

20x5, 50x5, 60x5,
    65x3x5

Also 3x65kg Power Cleans.
    While waiting for the dude to finishing on the bench.
    Little difficult to get the motor pattern for these. I keep opening my hips later in the sets. Its just hard to fire both ends of the lats with the bar hanging off them.

Bench

20x2x5, 45x5, 60x3, 72.5x2
    87.5x5,3,2
    60x6
    Heavy.
    If I miss it the next time I will reset.
    Nuff said. Stupid Bench press.

Edit: The belt seems to have left bigger welts on the right side than the left.
    This is a bit worrying as it did so the other day and might suggest that I am compensating for my **** hip.
    Video session needed.