Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

accounting or geography??

• 19-06-2009 6:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭

hi!:D
    im just after finishing TY and have to pick my subjects for the lc..so far ive picked ..eng,irish,maths,french,biology and business.
    i dont know what to do about my 7th sublect..my two options are geog or accounting(outside of school with my brother teaching me!-yes he's a teacher!!)some ppl say that geog is an easy points subject but i wouldn't have the best teacher in the world?others have recommended accounting to me cause im good at figures and am a constant worker!?
    teachers have said to me to do geog and accounting but whats the point of the stress of 8 subjects?
    ne ideas on what i should do??:confused:
    thanks!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Mario007

hey dude, i've just finished my leaving and back in fifth year i actually chose geography, cos i thought it'd be easy. but then we got a pretty bad teacher so after getting my junior cert results back i used them to get out of geography and went into accounting. and it proved excellent and i can tell you i was enjoying the three hour exam this year.
    Accounting is nice, it does make your head hurt for the first time you start a new topic, but if your teacher is any good at explaining it's gonna be ok. there's not a lot of theory, its more about knowing the rules of accounting and applying them to basically every account. plus the layout of the accounts stays always the same and that makes it easy for the leaving cert preparation. for example i can tell you right now that if you'll get a tabular statement question there will be a catch in may, where you'll receive rent and pay for insurance....thats how predictable the accounts are...its really an easy a, if you put the work in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭gaeilge-abú

so u recommend accounting rather than geog?? is accounting not one of those subjects that you either have a good or bad day in though??
    thanks 4 the advice!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Claypigeon

Geog is a joke

Do a good project, do exam questions year round and hand them in for correction

Enjoy your B or A

okay,,now im confused..:confused:

accounting or geog?!?!?!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Claypigeon

Are you good at accounting?

well my brother was my teacher for the jc and he'll b teaching me if i do it 4 the lc..he reckons id b very good at it cuz im a hardworker and have a good understanding of commerce in general..avnt actuali done it yet tho so i duno??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

geography. i hated accounting! picked the same subjects as u actually. bus,french,bio and accountin... only one i liked was biology. pick geography.

what did u hate about accounting though?aww im confused!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭davestar

geo is easy points . no need for accounting unless you want to do a business course in college . geo = easy points .

ye but is accounting nt an easy A subject??

of course . as long as your good at it . if your good at accounting i would defiently pick that over geo .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭ynwa_17

Having just finished the LC, and done both subjects i may be of some use. I personally am extremely business minded, but i found Geog a very easy subject. We had a very good teacher though, that could not be said for Accounting. My teacher was terrible, never pushed us to work, didnt really know hot to teach us. I would definitely recommend Geog.

I would recommend Accounting over Business though if you can do it. Accounting is far easier, theres so much learning in business

ynwa_17 wrote: »
    Having just finished the LC, and done both subjects i may be of some use. I personally am extremely business minded, but i found Geog a very easy subject. We had a very good teacher though, that could not be said for Accounting. My teacher was terrible, never pushed us to work, didnt really know hot to teach us. I would definitely recommend Geog.

I would recommend Accounting over Business though if you can do it. Accounting is far easier, theres so much learning in business

sounds like my accounting teacher :D

thanks ynwa_17 !:D..so after doing them,,you would recommend geo over accounting??..
    in my case..i have a good accounting teacher and not so good geo teacher?
    is geo a subject that i could sit down and learn myself if my teacher wasnt doing a good job??:rolleyes:..
    what do u think ull get in both subjects in the leaving??
    see my option lines are
    -history,business,hme ec
    -biology,music
    -geo,physics,art..

so im definitely gonna do business,its just a matter of deciding whether i should do geo r accounting...or should i do both?:confused:

thanks ynwa_17 !:D..so after doing them,,you would recommend geo over accounting??..
    in my case..i have a good accounting teacher and not so good geo teacher?
    is geo a subject that i could sit down and learn myself if my teacher wasnt doing a good job??:rolleyes:..
    what do u think ull get in both subjects in the leaving??
    see my option lines are
    -history,business,hme ec
    -biology,music
    -geo,physics,art..

so im definitely gonna do business,its just a matter of deciding whether i should do geo r accounting...or should i do both?:confused:

Geog is a subject that you can teach yourself yes, but only if you have decent enough notes. Alot of the questions in the paper you can use common sense and make stuff up.

Im hoping for an A1 in geog, would settle for an A2 though. If i had've worked in accounting sicne the pres never mind the start of 5th year i'd have been aiming for an A1, now hoping for a B but it was a grand paper so i may have gotten higher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭blue-army

Accounting is far from easy! I suppose it depends on the teacher, but I found it hard, and very boring. Very few people get A's.

Geog is 70% about common sense tbh. You get to do a project worth 20% beforehand. Most people get close to full marks for that.
    The economic geography is pretty easy too tbh. You get away with making up facts! Also, the global interdependence option is very predictable, and is worth 20% of the total marks. Global Warming comes up nearly every year, and most of that is common knowledge!

blue-army wrote: »
    Accounting is far from easy! I suppose it depends on the teacher, but I found it hard, and very boring. Very few people get A's.

Geog is 70% about common sense tbh. You get to do a project worth 20% beforehand. Most people get close to full marks for that.
    The economic geography is pretty easy too tbh. You get away with making up facts! Also, the global interdependence option is very predictable, and is worth 20% of the total marks. Global Warming comes up nearly every year, and most of that is common knowledge!

did you do both of them for your leaving?do you reckon geog is an easier subject to get an A in than accounting?
    the thing is..im goin have a good accounting teacher and a bad geo teacher!:confused:

Didnt come up this year lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

what did u hate about accounting though?aww im confused!:confused:

amazingly boring.. go for it if your interested in doin business after school but otherwise....... be prepared to fall asleep a lot.

oh ok...well yeah i am very good at all that business stuff and have been told that i have a 'flaire' for business subjects so i dont think id find it boring!

I'm in the same boat azs you and i found it extremely boring

ok ****!!...so do you think i should go for geog then?!?!:D

dude if your brother will be teaching you accounting(i think you mentioned this earlier in the thread) then pick accounting. its actually very easy once someone is there to explain it to ya. as i said its all the same layout and same tricks all the time.
    also dont confuse your business in jc to accounting to lc. i hated all the ledgers in jc and didnt do question1 paper 2(the pure accounting question) cos i found it hard, but when i tried accounting i found ti much easier and manageable-just common sense applied to principles of business(ie the double entry system)

Mario007 wrote: »
    dude if your brother will be teaching you accounting(i think you mentioned this earlier in the thread) then pick accounting. its actually very easy once someone is there to explain it to ya. as i said its all the same layout and same tricks all the time.
    also dont confuse your business in jc to accounting to lc. i hated all the ledgers in jc and didnt do question1 paper 2(the pure accounting question) cos i found it hard, but when i tried accounting i found ti much easier and manageable-just common sense applied to principles of business(ie the double entry system)

yep,,my brother will be teaching me..es an accountancy teacher in my school actualy but accounting isnt going to be an option inn my yr due to lack of demand!
    ye,,that Q 1 is reli tough!didn do it for the jc but had a good understanding of the othe accounting things for the jc..not sure wat the accounts are called in english cause i do my subjects through irish!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭galway.gaa

i did both subjects and i much preferred accounting so if your good with numbers id pick it. with a bit of work it can be an easy A. sayin that if you are a worker geography isnt too bad. alot of people say geog is easy for points but it has one of the lowest %s of A1, i think

galway.gaa wrote: »
    i did both subjects and i much preferred accounting so if your good with numbers id pick it. with a bit of work it can be an easy A. sayin that if you are a worker geography isnt too bad. alot of people say geog is easy for points but it has one of the lowest %s of A1, i think

okay!thank you!still not sure what to pick though?:rolleyes:should i do both?!!

i enjoyed accounting. i did NOT enjoy geog. so i know what id pick. dont do both theres no point doin extra subjects

yep,,my brother will be teaching me..es an accountancy teacher in my school actualy but accounting isnt going to be an option inn my yr due to lack of demand!
    ye,,that Q 1 is reli tough!didn do it for the jc but had a good understanding of the othe accounting things for the jc..not sure wat the accounts are called in english cause i do my subjects through irish!!:p

ha see back in the junior cert i didnt even know what the double entry really was and i always got those short questions wrong that asked me to fill up the t accounts with regards to the info they gave. oh but be prepared to do final accounts, a lo of accounting revolves around profit and loss account and balance sheet. there are also budgets and ratios...from the stuff you'd be familiar on the jc course
    i enjoyed accounting. i did NOT enjoy geog. so i know what id pick. dont do both theres no point doin extra subjects

i agree...no point in an extra subject unless you take particular interest in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Since I did both Geography and accounting, I'll give you advantages to both of them:

Geography
    - You get to go out for 1 day in 6th year for a field study project.
    - The project you write up for the field trip counts to 20% of your overall mark
    - If your teacher is cool, he/she'll bring you out to look at the flora of your school :pac:

Accounting
    - Accounting questions tend to be repetitive. i.e. If you look at past papers and look at the same type of question but in different years, you'll notice that only the figures have changed. The way of working it out is the same.
    - All accounts are layed out the same.
    - If you like working with numbers and calculating fractions of percentages of numbers, then you'll love it :pac:

Personally, I would take Geography because a lot of the questions in the exam can be general and you can write about different aspects which will get you marks. Also there isn't as much pressure on the exam because 20% is already done from the field project.
    Accounting is not general. If you're told to do a published account in a question, then you have to do a published. There's no way aroound it. And if you don't like published accounts, then it's tough. :eek:

Larkin501 wrote: »

Accounting is not general. If you're told to do a published account in a question, then you have to do a published. There's no way aroound it. And if you don't like published accounts, then it's tough. :eek:
    i loved publised accounts:D they were so easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

i loved publised accounts:D they were so easy

Yeah, I loved it :D

I was off the balance sheet by about €5,000 so I was happy enough :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 menta

hi!:D
    im just after finishing TY and have to pick my subjects for the lc..so far ive picked ..eng,irish,maths,french,biology and business.
    i dont know what to do about my 7th sublect..my two options are geog or accounting(outside of school with my brother teaching me!-yes he's a teacher!!)some ppl say that geog is an easy points subject but i wouldn't have the best teacher in the world?others have recommended accounting to me cause im good at figures and am a constant worker!?
    teachers have said to me to do geog and accounting but whats the point of the stress of 8 subjects?
    ne ideas on what i should do??:confused:
    thanks!:D

Look nothing is a simple A so don't mind people who say "oh you're bound to get an A in Geography", that's bullsh*t. If you a) don't have an excellent teacher or b) don't have the aptitude for it, you're in trouble.

If I was you in your boots, I'd pick the Accounting. It's a hard subject but you're good with figures and you have you're brother on tap if you're struggling.

Good Luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭!

Would HL maths be needed with accounting? I doubt it. It's not about the maths, it's the method.

I chose Geography, Business and Accounting. Didn't want to do accounting but had no choice. It was either that or Construction etc.

Didn't do Art at JC. Wanted to try it. Was told Art was easy and would be able to do it in my own time. Doesn't make much sense. Why would I do it at home when I could do it at LC. I don't think there is much to art at JC anyway but I was somewhat "forced" into choosing something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

I was in the exact same position and im just finished fifth year now after picking geography instead of accounting
    I honestly think Geography is easier, its not a doss subject theres work involved but its an intresting subject and things just come naturally

But I'd say to do the subject you like more, most people think that if a subject is easy to do it but end up hating it and not putting much work in

Good Luck :rolleyes:

I was in the exact same position and im just finished fifth year now after picking geography instead of accounting
    I honestly think Geography is easier, its not a doss subject theres work involved but its an intresting subject and things just come naturally

But I'd say to do the subject you like more, most people think that if a subject is easy to do it but end up hating it and not putting much work in

Good Luck :rolleyes:

What does the geography lc course entail?is there alot of learning and physical geo?some say it's just the jc course but in more detail??is that the case??

It's very very similar.

Part A's are worth 20marks, and most JC Students would get 20/20 in them.
    Part B is usually question on 'The Rock Cycle' or 'Plate Techtonics'... Know a bit about each really.
    Every year, without fail, Part C is a 30mk question - "Describe the formation of an Irish landform." eg. Waterfall. Easy guaranteed 30marks really!

ynwa_17 wrote: »
    Didnt come up this year lol
    Global Warming was up twice in the paper!

Once as a part C.... and in the option question it was hidden in the question - Describe how decisions in one part of the world affect another..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

I'm just finished and I did the exact same subjects as you, and chose Geography. Tbh, it all depends on what you're good at. The Business, Geography and Biology courses are all quite long, and you just have to learn them, whereas I imagine the majority of the accounting course is more theory based, like how to do the accounts. I didn't do it though, so I don't know.

I found Geography grand, and tbh a lot of it can be done on your own, if your teacher is that terrible. There's a new book out for this year - Exam Skills Geography or something (it's published by Mentor, that's all I know really....EDIT: and I thiiiink it was written by Sue Honan, but I may have made up that name off the top of my head...), which does out answers to heaps of exam questions, with your SRPs (Significant Relevant Points) sort of outlined. I was using it just before the exams and it was really helpful. If you choose Geography, I'd totally get that.

I don't know that it's the 'easy A' it's made out to be, but if you do a good project, and intend to put some work into the rest of it, you're well on your way. :)

I'm just finished and I did the exact same subjects as you, and chose Geography. Tbh, it all depends on what you're good at. The Business, Geography and Biology courses are all quite long, and you just have to learn them, whereas I imagine the majority of the accounting course is more theory based, like how to do the accounts. I didn't do it though, so I don't know.

I found Geography grand, and tbh a lot of it can be done on your own, if your teacher is that terrible. There's a new book out for this year - Exam Skills Geography or something (it's published by Mentor, that's all I know really....EDIT: and I thiiiink it was written by Sue Honan, but I may have made up that name off the top of my head...), which does out answers to heaps of exam questions, with your SRPs (Significant Relevant Points) sort of outlined. I was using it just before the exams and it was really helpful. If you choose Geography, I'd totally get that.

I don't know that it's the 'easy A' it's made out to be, but if you do a good project, and intend to put some work into the rest of it, you're well on your way. :)

thank you!:D..on a different note then,,what did you think of the combination of subjects you had??..did you like them and how do u think you'll do in them?!

It's very very similar.

Part A's are worth 20marks, and most JC Students would get 20/20 in them.
    Part B is usually question on 'The Rock Cycle' or 'Plate Techtonics'... Know a bit about each really.
    Every year, without fail, Part C is a 30mk question - "Describe the formation of an Irish landform." eg. Waterfall. Easy guaranteed 30marks really!

And is that the whole exam??:eek:seems kinda easy to me!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

thank you!:D..on a different note then,,what did you think of the combination of subjects you had??..did you like them and how do u think you'll do in them?!

I hated Business. I liked it at JC, but it was mainly the Accounting bit I liked. Didn't like it at LC at all.... But that's probably more just me. Loved Biology and Geography though! :)

As for the combination, meh. It was grand like. When it came to the exams it was pretty intense, because I had no days off at all, but I was completely finished after 7 days of exams, so it was kinda nice that way. If you just keep fairly on top of the work, it's managable - I crammed my way through the exams. I'd say I did well enough, but I was looking for 500+ points, and I don't know if I'll get them. Definitely do some work throughout the year on them all if you're looking for particularly high points, but otherwise they're fairly okay.
    And is that the whole exam??:eek:seems kinda easy to me!:D

That's not the whole exam. That's just the physical question. There's also a regional question, an elective (I did population/human geography) and an option (I did Geoecology).

The exam itself is fairly predictable and the same(ish) questions do come up year after year. If you just practice exam questions, you'll do fairly well. :)

I hated Business. I liked it at JC, but it was mainly the Accounting bit I liked. Didn't like it at LC at all.... But that's probably more just me. Loved Biology and Geography though! :)

As for the combination, meh. It was grand like. When it came to the exams it was pretty intense, because I had no days off at all, but I was completely finished after 7 days of exams, so it was kinda nice that way. If you just keep fairly on top of the work, it's managable - I crammed my way through the exams. I'd say I did well enough, but I was looking for 500+ points, and I don't know if I'll get them. Definitely do some work throughout the year on them all if you're looking for particularly high points, but otherwise they're fairly okay.

That's not the whole exam. That's just the physical question. There's also a regional question, an elective (I did population/human geography) and an option (I did Geoecology).

The exam itself is fairly predictable and the same(ish) questions do come up year after year. If you just practice exam questions, you'll do fairly well. :)

thanks for your help!:D..
    weve already our business course started and we have done all the 'so called' hardest stuff on the course..i.e.the acts and laws..and i love it!:Dhav gottn an A1 in every test this yr! i dont have to learn it,,it's just like common sence to me!
    aww no doubt ull get your 500+ neways;)..what you hopin 2 do in college?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Accounting > Geography for points. Especially is you work relatively hard at it.

omg,,:confused:?!..really dont know which one to go for!!..did u do either/both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

omg,,:confused:?!..really dont know which one to go for!!..did u do either/both?

I did Accounting, and loved it. Had a fantastic teacher who stimulated my interests and gave us reams of information on the subject. She was a Goddess tbh.

On the other hand I have mates who did Geography this year, and and had prepared answers left right and centre from the beginning of the year and apparently were left floundering on the day.

I always thought doing Accounting was the best decision I made on regards subject choice for the Leaving, as it a subject that one can excel in very easily and with a little effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Blondiegirl2009

I would def advise u to do geography! Its a really nice, interesting subject. U hav 20% of it done before you go in= a little bit less pressure. I didnt do geog, but i did acc. It was terrible. Even if you know ur stuff, on the day they totally turn things arseways and change them hugely. now theory is big on it, u barely have enough time for the accounts not to mention the theory! I had a teacher who couldnt communicate and told us to do things, yet never explained why. Go for geog. Go for points. okaaay rant over:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

some ppl say that geog is an easy points subject but i wouldn't have the best teacher in the world?

Geography is not necessarily an easy points subject.
    It has one of the lowest %s of As, actually.

Saying that, if you're a good rote learner it's quite nice.

Personally, I liked it (Did it for 3 years, as I repeated) because I'm able to learn off big chunks of essays and such with little effort (Sorry SligoBrewer! Sorry!) but a lot of people find it quite difficult.
    It's tedious enough, but if you're able to learn essays, facts and figures, it's definitely a nice one to choose.

As for accounting, I can't actually give an opinion as I didn't take it myself, but yeah...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭GVNDNN

I say you should do both (:

do accounting. you wont regret it, thank me later:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Crotchety

I'd say you should do both as they are both easy enough. Geography is more or less the same as JC. Obviously there's a bit extra but not that much more really.

I'd drop the biology and take these two. Biology is not an easy subject. Easier of the science subjects but it is still a hard subject. Anyway if you want to do medicine why are you not doing Chemistry or Phys/Chem or Physics? Would that not make more sense?

If I were you I would be choosing Business, Geography and Accounting. Three nice subjects really.