Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting with local Sergeant/Inspector and Superintendent

• 14-05-2007 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭

Hi, Just wondering how long it took you from the time you first applied till you graduated. Would welcome a private chat sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭geo1212

freddiew wrote:
    Hi, Just wondering how long it took you from the time you first applied till you graduated. Would welcome a private chat sometime.

Applied the day after the original adverts in the press, around august I think. Passed out 15-12-06. The application process happened pretty quick, I had the initial call three days after the application, then gr2 arrived the next day with the local Sgt. Had the interview and entry test about two weeks later, followed by the medical few days after that, then another interview with a Super a day or two after that. Started actual training about three/four weeks after initial application I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭freddiew

Hi, I am going to see Super. next week and then medical, I wonder if we did interview and test in dublin around the same time then, seems ages now.

Hi Ian, I have to see the Super. first and then wait till they call me for medical. Was your test a cartoon about a Fire.

Hi again, yes 1:30 did we speak i winder while waiting for interview, I went first, did you say you were studying this year. Are you around Rathgar area. I think the delay is until the Super, sees us then depending how long they take to send remarks back to HQ, some are quicker than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭iandromiskin

freddiew wrote:
    yes 1:30 did we speak i winder while waiting for interview, I went first, did you say you were studying this year. Are you around Rathgar area. I think the delay is until the Super, sees us then depending how long they take to send remarks back to HQ, some are quicker than others.

Hi. No I didn't really speak to anyone really, maybe except one person just to break the tension. I'am from Dromiskin in Louth too. I remember sitting in the middle row about three seats from the front. I was wearing a black suit, red hair (probably gelled), goatie beard thing freckles, and I was carring a computer bag and a copy of the Indo. Ps I'am 34.

God it already sounds like were in and I'am giving you a description of a suspect !!!.

Hi Ian, tks for that no it wasn't you.

I had my interview today with the Super. in Pearse Street, they have 13 Garda Reserve already and that's where I would be. He was really nice and I am really looking forward to get through the Medical and down for the weekend to Templemore.

Well I am waiting to be called for my Medical as I have been for the Interview with the Super. and everything went very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 on standby

Is there anyone waiting for a medical in the dublin area who has already been interviewed at their local station. My interview in the station was in July and i presume my next step is a medical and i am just curious to see if anyone else is in the same boat.

on standby wrote:
    Is there anyone waiting for a medical in the dublin area who has already been interviewed at their local station. My interview in the station was in July and i presume my next step is a medical and i am just curious to see if anyone else is in the same boat.

Yes I am, are you full time or reserve.

freddiew wrote:
    Yes I am, are you full time or reserve.
    I'm reserve.
    Where in Dublin are you. Maybe its a particular area thats taking longer than others.

on standby wrote:
    I'm reserve.
    Where in Dublin are you. Maybe its a particular area thats taking longer than others.

Hi, Back in June the Serg. from Harcourt Terrace came to see me in my Apartment then I went to see the Super. in Pearse Street where I will be attached to. The Super was a very nice guy but since then nothing and I phoned and they said they were still waiting for the Agency to come back with my security check. They also said that they have to wait for a Batch of people for the medical and then it moves fast enough. I am trying to loose some weight at the moment just in case. I am 6ft but 14st would be good to loose 1/2 stone before Medical, the trouble is I enjoy my food too much and I don't smoke so the weight goes on. I will let you know when I hear.

freddiew wrote:
    Hi, Back in June the Serg. from Harcourt Terrace came to see me in my Apartment then I went to see the Super.

Hi Freddie, Ye Thats in or around he same time I met the superintendent.
    I met the Super in Blanchardstown Garda station But I don't think I would be attached their because I am local. From reading this Thread it seams that all areas are taking different time frames to Recruit. It brings back what I read in the papers at the beginning of the year. Recruitment has changed from its original formality were it was centralized but now they handed it over to local superintendents were they would be more keyed into an applicants application and community. Guess all we can do really is wait, good to see im not alone though. By the way 14 stone at six foot, I cant see that been a problem. Im 13 at 5'8 with maybe a little over the belt but never stopped me from running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 andy1971

Hi I just have 2 questions, I had an interview with the super and he informed me that reserves do not have the power of arrest? Is this true?
    Secondly, I am expecting to be called for a medical and I know that I have a slight colour deficency, now this does not mean that I cant see colours, but it says it may be a bar to passing. I wonder how much emphasis is placed on the word "may"????

andy1971 wrote: »
    Hi I just have 2 questions, I had an interview with the super and he informed me that reserves do not have the power of arrest? Is this true?
    Secondly, I am expecting to be called for a medical and I know that I have a slight colour deficency, now this does not mean that I cant see colours, but it says it may be a bar to passing. I wonder how much emphasis is placed on the word "may"????

Hi, when I had my interview the Super told me that if I arrest someone I have to remember that next day I go to court and if I have my day job then there is a problem but I know some stations have the policy that the Reserves do not arrest, leave it to the full-time but as far as I am aware yes the reserves do have the power of arrest. Regarding the colour test the onlt test I was given was a Traffic light through the screen red was on top orange in the middle and green on the bottom. Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Mountain Man

Did the interview, completed GR2 form and have met the local Sergeant & Super early/mid last year. So, just waiting for word on the GR2 and medical, if successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

Did the interview, completed GR2 form and have met the local Sergeant & Super early/mid last year. So, just waiting for word on the GR2 and medical, if successful.

Do you meet the Sgt and the Super at the same time or do they talk to you each seperately ?

CO19 wrote: »
    Do you meet the Sgt and the Super at the same time or do they talk to you each seperately ?

Met them seperately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Met them seperately.

ah, didn't realise that you would be interviewed while they were still doing the background checks, I thought the GR2 would have to check out OK first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

Hi like i said i sent off my Gr2 last sat week, is there any chance that they call peolpe for the interview with the superintindent before the Gr2 is cleared?? I also was woundering what is the interview with the super... like?? Is it the same as the first interview with the super and the public jobs person & does he ask you the ame questions??:D:D Thanks in advance;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭leinsterdude

Hi, its a little less formal than first, will be some questions , but generally looking to see how you come across and I guess with being a super they are fairly clever and would get a fair idea of what you are like even through an informal chat....as someone else said here before the Gardai learn a sixth sense for things that dont add up, therefore if you are ok and your GR2 looks like clearing you will be fine, I think at the stage of meeting super the GR2 is almost complete but not fully, I could be wrong.

Best of luck.

Just curious if you get into the Garda Reserve, then you apply for the full time Gardaí must you go through all the same tests as if you werent a Garda Resere, what i mean is must you fill out the Gr2 again, Must you do the medical again ect.......:):rolleyes: Thanks.....

Hi like i said i sent off my Gr2 last sat week, is there any chance that they call peolpe for the interview with the superintindent before the Gr2 is cleared?? I also was woundering what is the interview with the super... like?? Is it the same as the first interview with the super and the public jobs person & does he ask you the ame questions??:D:D Thanks in advance;)

just had my interview with the super, very different from the first one, more of a formal chat with him "sizing" you up.

lasted more than half an hour though, the deeper you get into the process it seems, the less you can say about it on the web..

he was very realistic about the whole thing, which was refreshing after seeing the video in garda.ie, there's more to it than showing the lovely American girls where Eyre Square is etc:cool:

I met the local seargent yesterday, went very well, does anyone know how long the wait is then to meet the superintendent??;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

hi all im going to apply for the reserves, it seems to be going pretty fast these days. can you decide when the interview is, i.e. if you apply now and say i wont be available until june?

just to confirm is it

interview report writing

gr2

medical

start training???

cheers guys:)

shakin wrote: »
    hi all im going to apply for the reserves, it seems to be going pretty fast these days. can you decide when the interview is, i.e. if you apply now and say i wont be available until june?

just to confirm is it

interview report writing

gr2

medical

start training???

cheers guys:)

interview / report writing
    fill out GR2
    interview with super or inspector
    sometimes interview with local sargeant (had mine via phone!)
    medical
    start training

lehanemore wrote: »
    interview with super or inspector
    sometimes interview with local sargeant (had mine via phone!)

What does the Sergeant/Inspector talk to you about ? the same with the superintendent ? surely meeting one of them is enought also.

sergeant just said he had read over the GR2 and it was fine, should be no problem etc but.......

asked me 3 times if I was sure I still wanted to go through with it??????

didn't know what he meant by it but the GRA's calling for the GR to be scrapped the following week at their conference kind of had me thinking..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 kilkcat

lehanemore wrote: »
    sergeant just said he had read over the GR2 and it was fine, should be no problem etc but.......

asked me 3 times if I was sure I still wanted to go through with it??????

didn't know what he meant by it but the GRA's calling for the GR to be scrapped the following week at their conference kind of had me thinking..

hi everybody,long time since i've been on board,i work nights so only catch up when its too late for every1 else to be awake.my son had medical thursday morn last,got call friday mornin to be in Templemore on week'nd 7th/8th june.:D:D:D

When you have your meeting with the Sgt and Super do either of them have your GR2 form with them ?

I met super yesterday, and i met the seargent ages ago, i don know where my gr2 is now he didnt mention it yesterday .......:confused:

Thanks Tommy ;) just remember reading a post sayin that when someone had their meeting with the Super that he had a copy of their form with him but I think it was from the Garda thread not from this one so maybe they don't use your form for the reserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭gilly0512

I meant it would be an inconvenience for some reserve members with work etc ;)

There are very few Reserve members who want to have powers just so that they can start arresting people. As you say that then possibly means a court appearance, plus loads of paperwork which is not really what reserve members want, but as things stand we are little more than civilians wearing a Garda uniform. If members of the public were aware that you were a reserve, they could tell you to f**k off if you directed them to say move along, could ignore all your instructions etc etc, and you are powerless to do anything about it. Having more powers is about our standing within An Garda Siochana, its about been able to stand on your own two feet, and not having to be watched and babysat everytime your on duty!! Even the GRA bless them, said at their recent annual conference that we served no purpose as we had no powers, and while the GRA would still like to see the back of us, until such a time that we get more powers, we will never be a proper part of An Garda Siochana.

the super I met had mine, he was then going to send it to hq after our meeting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭sfhawke7w

had my meeting with the sergeant on saturday morning, waiting to hear about medical date now

the process does seem quite slow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭sfhawke7w

it was grand, i know him and have spoken to him before regarding neighbourhood watch etc so was just a chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Story1970

I have my meeting with the super next week ! Is this a good sign ? :(

Story1970 wrote: »
    I have my meeting with the super next week ! Is this a good sign ? :(

It certainly is, it will be another box ticked and one step closer to completion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭ZoneAlarm

I am waiting for my interview had it with Sargent already so waiting game now

I myself have put in for exemption as well so here`s hoping they except it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Trebor35

Hi everyone this is my first post. I had my interview on the 3rd of September and got my letter this morning to say l passed amd lm on to the next stage. I couldn't believe it. Does the process take long after getting the letter.

Regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭tashamc

Trebor35 wrote: »
    Hi everyone this is my first post. I had my interview on the 3rd of September and got my letter this morning to say l passed amd lm on to the next stage. I couldn't believe it. Does the process take long after getting the letter.

Regards
    It really depends, it's different for everyone.. I had my interview dec '07 & found out 2 weeks after the interview that i passed that stage, then i had to wait for my GR2 form to be sent to me which took a while cause i didnt receive the first email :( , so that was in may '08, i completed it (no easy task with a large family!!) then got it signed off, sent it back for head office to do their background check, was waiting on a date for meeting in my local station, that was taking forever to arrange so got back in contact with head office, thay arranged it for me, now we're talking July '08, then got the call the friday before last for my medical, which i had last thursday, they tell you on the day if you pass, which is a gift, all the waiting is soul breaking! And now, sept '08, like 29 others, i finally got my training date, which is next weekend in templemore.. All the waiting around & filling up forms is a right pain in the bum, it's like applying for the KGB (i'm sure!! :)) but when you get your training date, its well worth it.. Happy days!

Hi just had my Interview with the Super yesterday went very well he told me that he would have no hesitation in putting me forward

So where is the next step now is it the medical and after you have had the interview is that the background checking done when you get the all clear from him

He said he did not know when the next intake was but prop November but i would say i will miss that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

ZoneAlarm wrote: »
    Hi just had my Interview with the Super yesterday went very well he told me that he would have no hesitation in putting me forward

So where is the next step now is it the medical and after you have had the interview is that the background checking done when you get the all clear from him

He said he did not know when the next intake was but prop November but i would say i will miss that one

Your meeting with the Super would have been an informal meeting and therefore just a way for him to guage your characteristics & general suitability really, glad to hear it went well for you :)
    All of your immediate family would still have to be screened though and that's where the background checks are carried out (which may or may not take some time, pending numbers & locations etc).

You will have the interview first and then upon successful completion of that, you will receive a date for your medical...hope this helps in some way and good-luck with your process :)

Thanks for the reply

Which interview are you referring to and where do you go to do this one i thought the first was with the Sargent in the local station then the next one was with the Inspector or Super of that division

Am i missing something i have done the written test and the interview with the public jobs one as well

I was not aware there was another can you tell me more thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

ZoneAlarm wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply

Which interview are you referring to and where do you go to do this one i thought the first was with the Sargent in the local station then the next one was with the Inspector or Super of that division

Am i missing something i have done the written test and the interview with the public jobs one as well

I was not aware there was another can you tell me more thanks

no once you have done those interviews your next step is the medical ... not long more to go by you now eh

<my bad...didn't know you had the written&formal interview done already>

Thanks for the reply i was not sure if there was another interview that i was missing was starting to get worried there

So the next step is the medical do you know how long after all the interviews that the medical takes by any chance thanks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 djpaddy

Just had interview with super today,seem to have went well took about 20 mins weather thats a good sign or not i dont know, its all just a waiting game now i expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

Hey folks,

Was just in the local station there meeting the Garda to verify my application. I have passed the written and interview, completed my GR2 form and sent it off so I think my next stage is the medical. The Guard said that they are doing a big push on to get people in early next year so I dont think anyone outstanding will be missed. She said "due to numbers for the full time force applications being dropped they are compensating by introducing more reserve members",

Sorry just thought I would give my 2 cents!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭doingmybit

Hey folks,

Was just in the local station there meeting the Garda to verify my application. I have passed the written and interview, completed my GR2 form and sent it off so I think my next stage is the medical. The Guard said that they are doing a big push on to get people in early next year so I dont think anyone outstanding will be missed. She said "due to numbers for the full time force applications being dropped they are compensating by introducing more reserve members",

Sorry just thought I would give my 2 cents!!

You have one more interview (meeting) with your local super.
    Maybe so, but still under the act that regulates the Garda Reserve the number can't exceed 10% of the regular force.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Abed

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on boards. However I have been a regular reader of this thread since I applied to join the Garda Reserve back in early 2007.

I did the interview/report back in February, filled the GR form and sent it in March and met the local sergeant last week.

I wonder how long would it take to meet the superintendent? and how do they contact you? is it by phone?

Also does anyone know about the coming intakes? it seems I would not be going to Templemore very soon ( Interview with Superintendent, medical and of course background checks)

Thanks a million