Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare characters #1: old beardy homeless guy in Ennis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 icewitch

You could have used a different adjective there.

Ah, why?????????????

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

You could have used a different adjective there.

http://tinyurl.com/y3dqmpl

• Registered Users Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I know a guy from Cratloe who drinks on average 119 pints a week and you'd never tell he was in any way drunk. I once brought him back to his farm at about 2 in the morning after he drank 28 pints of heineken and watched him deliver a calf, it was probably the most surreal experience of my life. He's quite the character, real old school. While I may not agree with some aspects of his character, I think it's great to see an old fashioned Irish eccentric.... they are a dieing breed.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭firesidechat

icewitch wrote: »
    Ah, why?????????????

Maybe so we do not come across as ignorant and racist, unless you feel comfortable with that label.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

the champ has his own facebook page now !!

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=122246127792281&v=info

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Jafin

Oh god....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Sandvich

gerrimac wrote: »
    Bobby says: nut job always waving by that roundabout in cc

Bowsie Casey says: He's a regular fruitcake....

Claregirl says: Don't wave back!!!

Insulting B**** says: Take her advice...DO NOT WAVE BACK.

drunken Munky 52 says: yeah a bit cracked.

Blitz Molloy says: Mullet guy from Clarecastle is kind of obnoxious. I think that's the main reason not to wave back.

I have no problem with discussing 'Characters' - we all know one or two.

However, it seems to me that the other 'Characters' spoken about, were spared the personal insults...

Perhaps you need to ask yourselves why you feel it necessary to pass these comments about this man (who is related to me), or indeed anyone else for that matter.

"Whom they fear, they hate"
    Quintus Ennius

Don't like some of the things implicated at the "trannies" either. These threads are always a bit iffy with me.

The Champ is an old familiar face for me alright. Always see him outside that coffee place near the tourist office whenever I go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

BOBBY wrote: »
    the champ has his own facebook page now !!

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=122246127792281&v=info
    A bit much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

There should be a Sheffield Wednesday Ennis Supporters Club.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Don't know what your problem is with the Champ. I like him more than all those prejudiced self-righteous people who think they are better only because they are grumpy and dismissive and sometimes even downright rude.
    Rest assured, it's just a sign for feeling inferior.

The Champ is at least a friendly face in Ennis. He always makes me smile, even if it is pouring down and I'm in a rush. And he always reminds me that being just sunny and friendly is way better than being cool.

Why are you so afraid of people who are a little bit different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Carry wrote: »
    Don't know what your problem is with the Champ. I like him more than all those prejudiced self-righteous people who think they are better only because they are grumpy and dismissive and sometimes even downright rude.
    Rest assured, it's just a sign for feeling inferior.

The Champ is at least a friendly face in Ennis. He always makes me smile, even if it is pouring down and I'm in a rush. And he always reminds me that being just sunny and friendly is way better than being cool.

Why are you so afraid of people who are a little bit different?
    He is cool.In a wierd way.Thats what everyones saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Silentbut

The Champ is some man, a real gent! Always happy, cheery and very entertaining!

Just yesterday I saw him and he wished me good luck with my leaving cert results!

He makes ennis unique!

Another character: Does anybody know that man that calls himself jack but his name is actually paschal?

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭babygirlz

Does anyone know what became of Aaron Esley, the elvis impersonator? I haven't seen or heard anything about him in an age.

He has moved to Dublin, there was a photo of him in The Daily Star recently leaving a rose outside Gerry Ryans house.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

babygirlz wrote: »
    He has moved to Dublin, there was a photo of him in The Daily Star recently leaving a rose outside Gerry Ryans house.

His brother told me he resides in John of Gods up in Dublin. He's originally from the Craggaunowen area near Quin and as far as i can remember, his wife changed her name to Priscilla. Mad!

Check this out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Mastema

buck65 wrote: »
    The champ is a legend alright , how come he lost his job?

My favourite guy around town is the busker on Parnell st with the guitar and the black hair. He lives in Quin and cycles into town with his axe on his back. I love just to stand and listen to him play guitar - he can't - but he acts like some troubled genius who just can't get that Rachmaninov piece off! Really he actually can't play - like really can't.
    Fact Richard Terfry, he cant play ive spoken to him a few times when i was workin in an offy and he is so full of his own crap its ridiculous and he really thinks he is a troubled genius but he is really a lonely loser, mean i know but stop talking to me guy!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Mastema

bomlane wrote: »
    I lived next door to Michael Tierney for 20 odd years and remember well the ballet shows he put on with Dodo Quinn and Josie Cronin.
    Michael also organised Mystery Tours round the county and I would ask Michael sometimes "Wheres the Mystery Tour going this weekend, Michael"?
    He would often reply with "Kilkee but dont tell no one".
    haha i lived near him too classic guy!! kids around the place used to give him an awfull hard time though!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭carmel27

Silentbut wrote: »
    The Champ is some man, a real gent! Always happy, cheery and very entertaining!

Just yesterday I saw him and he wished me good luck with my leaving cert results!

He makes ennis unique!

Another character: Does anybody know that man that calls himself jack but his name is actually paschal?

Totally agree. The Champ is harmless! I used to work in Tesco when he was there, and although he used to roar "CHAMP" at me every time I walked past him/accidently looked in his direction, he was grand! If some of what Ive heard is true, he has had a troublesome kinda life, and hes still smiling, so fair play I say!

Is that Paschal guy French by any chance? If so, hes a waiter in the Old Ground, and is the most impatient little man Ive ever come across. Hes lucky hes a pure character, and likeable (possibly inspite of himself!) because otherwise, he'd never get away with it! Was there for dinner with my family one day, and when my dad asked him what the duck was like, his reply was "dead".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭WolfeIRE

Silentbut wrote: »

paschal kearney from Connolly. walks around the town every day. he used to run kearney's pub in connolly. a character alright

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭carmel27

WolfeIRE wrote: »
    paschal kearney from Connolly. walks around the town every day. he used to run kearney's pub in connolly. a character alright

Never knew he calls himself Jack! Have never yey been up town and NOT seen him about! Does he not still have the pub?

• Registered Users Posts: 16 mrsnib

BOBBY wrote: »
    and what about georgie meehan, and his infamous shop of treasures
    he used sell us single fags and stink bombs when we were 12
    i dunno is he still at it, sometimes i drive past and the shop door is closed, this is during school lunch, his busiest, i heard he's made close at lunch cos he's still up to his old antics, i dont know how true that is tho !

hi George was the father, Pat runs it now, one of the nicest guys you could come across, he only opens when he feels like it at the moment because he is gone into semi - retirement, so any of that other stuff isn't true, I know the guy for years, but I also know Ennis and how rumours get around and mixed as they go.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 inurface

Anyone remember these two 'characters' that used to make regular appearances in the Queens nightclub?

1) this guy used to wear black leather (spandex?) pants, black vest and boots, tried to look like he belonged to a gang of hells angels bikers but you just knew he didnt, more likely he drove into town in a 1988 Ford Escort.

2) guy at least 50 years old, down from the mountains, always wore a shirt and jumper, just stood around (sometimes holding his glass of mineral), sucking on his buck teeth while staring at the teenage girls.

surprisingly, i never saw either of these two guys with anyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

All the lonely people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

bomlane wrote: »
    I lived next door to Michael Tierney for 20 odd years and remember well the ballet shows he put on with Dodo Quinn and Josie Cronin.
    Michael also organised Mystery Tours round the county and I would ask Michael sometimes "Wheres the Mystery Tour going this weekend, Michael"?
    He would often reply with "Kilkee but dont tell no one".

He was some charather. My sister in law was visiting her mother in law in hermitage across the road one Christmas only to see Michael give her a cherry wave sporting the same outfit she had on. It got changed pretty quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭thebigleap

It's been years since I lived in Ennis but I've been reading this thread with great interest. Of course I remember Michael Tierney from the 80's, the greatest character of them all! He used to deliver newspapers to some of the shops, with his dog in tow. He was a good friend of my mother's hairdresser and loved to gossip; he had all the news!

As for the champ, I was trying to figure out if I knew him from the description, but was drawing a blank until someone mentioned his name! What a shock! Gabriel was the security guard in Quinnsworth when my sister worked there in the 80's. I got to know most of the staff from visiting her, and Gabriel seemed like a really nice guy. I know my sister liked him. At some point I think he got demoted to janitor, though I don't know why, but I always felt bad for him after that when I saw him sweeping the floors. He was always friendly though, never seemed to let it bother him at all.

I feel bad to think that his life has unrivalled since then. I hope he has people in his life looking out for him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Carly55

Mullet man used to always cheer me up by sayin hello when i was havin a bad day, but then there were the days when he used to get on my wick altogether when i just wanted to be left alone and not smiled at. Harmless tho as far as i know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Carly55

As for Michael Tierney I had forgotten all about him until I read through this, my dad used to always buy a paper off him n stop n say hello to him. I always remember my dads famous sayin for Michael Tierney " My brazeer is killing me" and i often heard him sayin it...:D Good ol days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Gabrielle, Thats Mullet man or as ye like to call him. Hes lovely. My uncle every time hes in the car with someone and passes Gabrielle he blows the horn like mad. great craic. cause the driver is not expecting it. and He gives a big salute:D. He stopped wearing his yellow jacket for awhile thought he was gone mad, but He brought it back. With his umbrella and Sandles. That brown jacket. wasn't him. Someone should really document him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

inurface wrote: »
    Anyone remember these two 'characters' that used to make regular appearances in the Queens nightclub?

1) this guy used to wear black leather (spandex?) pants, black vest and boots, tried to look like he belonged to a gang of hells angels bikers but you just knew he didnt, more likely he drove into town in a 1988 Ford Escort.

2) guy at least 50 years old, down from the mountains, always wore a shirt and jumper, just stood around (sometimes holding his glass of mineral), sucking on his buck teeth while staring at the teenage girls.

surprisingly, i never saw either of these two guys with anyone

If you are talking about a few years ago then I would hazard a guess that I know both those guys.
    Leather guy could be Aaron Easely (sp)? Elvis impersonator and rock god, used play Brandon's regularly.
    Jumper guy could be a guy I was once introduced to who was a major cattle dealer and mega loaded, just caught in a bit of a time warp..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Clareboy

Does anyone remember a guy who used to travel regularly on the Ennis to Galway bus carrying a large umbrella even in fine weather? He was dressed in an old fashoned suit and he was always chatting up the passengers on the bus. He also attended all the funerals in Ennis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

James Breen?