Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Licence for silencer for .22

• 20-05-2009 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

Lads does anyone on ere have a licence for there silencer on there .22lr. what reason did ye give, was it complicated?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Hey fiestaman,

Was curious about something. Since when do you need a licence for a silencer. Not being condescending, am genuinely curious. The reason i ask is that 2 - 3 years ago i went to buy one for my .22 and the dealer would not give it to me unless i got a licence. When i went to my local FO he was more puzzled than me. Said that there are no licences for silencers and that a dealer does not need one or even a note from the gardai to sell them as it is completely up to the person buying the silencer to make the local FO aware that he/she has purchased one. The Garda did not ask for a reason for getting it but i voluntarily told him it was for reducing noise levels so as not to disrupt or upset locals. He printed me out a note there and then, signed it and stamped it. Job done.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

sorry my mistake, i meant a note not a licence. was just woundering like if i went in to ask about one from my local FO would there be hassle as i hear they dont want you with them...even though i have one id like to be able to carry the gun without having to screw it off all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

To follow the letter of the law you need a license for a mod BUT a letter of permission from you Super will do.

seach for "moderator not allowed here" on the forum for more info.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Hey lads,

Looking over some things and you do not need a licence for a silencer/moderator. You cannot get one as they do not exist. All that can be got is a note/letter of authorisation from your super. Possesion of such a note/letter will inform any person that needs it, that you have informed your local Gardai that you have a silencer/moderator and that the Gardai deem your ownership and use of it as necessary and allowed.

According to the N.A.R.G.C. site they state that under the new three licence system a silencer/moderator will be noted on the new licence as an endorsement and must be applied for as justification of ownership will be required.

Read it at http://www.nargc.ie/site.aspx under "Clarification regarding sound moderators (silencers)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo